DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 12 discloses “further comprises a second motor” however a first motor is not claimed in any claim from which it depends. It is assumed that claim 12 should depend from claim 10 where the first motor is first introduced and will be examined as such. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 14 recites the limitation "the quick-connect connector" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The claim will be examined as best understood.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 6-7, 14-16, 19, 24-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hodel et al. (2022/0330469).
Regarding claim 1, Hodel et al. discloses a detachable deposition accessory (20) for depositing a material on a ground surface, wherein the detachable deposition accessory is operable to move in a first direction (direction of movement of vehicle), the detachable deposition accessory comprising:
Locomotion means (34), the locomotion means mounted on a chassis (22)
A deposition arrangement (100) comprising one or more spray nozzles (123)
A coupling (fasteners, bolts, straps etc.) capable of attaching the detachable deposition accessory to an autonomous mobile robot (the AMR is not positively claimed. The deposition accessory is capable of being mounted to an AMR)
A deposition material cartridge mount (120), wherein the deposition material cartridge mount is operable to receive a removable paint cartridge at a first end and ais fluidly coupled to the deposition arrangement at a second end (Figure 4)
Regarding claim 6, Hodel discloses that each spray nozzle is coupled to a separate respective deposition material cartridge mount (120) (Hodel – Figure 4).
Regarding claim 7, each spray nozzle is fluidly coupled to a separate respective deposition material cartridge mount via a spray assembly (Hodel - Figure 4 and 6).
Regarding claims 14-16, Hodel discloses that the deposition material cartridge mount includes a flexible guide/quick connector with retaining means (Hodel - 144), wherein the flexible guide is operable to guide a deposition material cartridge into the mount.
Regarding claim 19, Hodel discloses that paint is ejected from each spray nozzle under pressure to form small droplets of paint to uniformly cover the ground surface.
Regarding claim 24, Hodel discloses that the detachable deposition accessory further includes two stabilizing arms (144- Hodel).
Regarding claim 25, Hodel discloses a removable cartridge (122).
Regarding claim 26, Hodel discloses that the cartridge can include a marking material and/or paint.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-9, 14-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schroeder (EP3505682) in view of Hodel et al. (2022/0330469).
Regarding claim 1, Schroeder discloses a detachable deposition accessory (10) (detachable from vehicle surface (12) by removing element 20) for depositing a material on a ground surface, wherein the detachable deposition accessory is operable to move in a first direction (direction of movement of vehicle), the detachable deposition accessory comprising:
Locomotion means (42), the locomotion means mounted on a chassis (24,38)
A deposition arrangement (44) comprising one or more spray nozzles (48)
A coupling (fasteners, bolts, straps etc.) capable of attaching the detachable deposition accessory to an autonomous mobile robot (the AMR is not positively claimed. The deposition accessory is capable of being mounted to an AMR)
Schroeder discloses the invention as described above including that the deposition system can be used for depositing paint on a ground surface however it fails to disclose individual deposition material cartridge mounts for each nozzle, wherein the deposition material cartridge mount is operable to receive a removable paint cartridge at a first end and is fluidly coupled to the deposition arrangement at a second end. Like Schroeder, Hodel also discloses a paint marking device including a nozzle on a locomotive means. Unlike Schroeder, Hodel discloses the use of individual paint cartridges for each nozzle. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize removable individual paint cartridges in Schroeder in place of a single large tank as taught by Hodel to allow for quick replacement for each individual nozzle as the use of a known technique to improve similar devices in the same way (KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 USPQ2d 1385 (2007)).
Regarding claim 2, the combination discloses that the detachable deposition accessory further comprises a horizontal mounting rail (24) arranged in a second direction, substantially orthogonal to the first direction wherein the deposition arrangement is movably connected to the horizontal mounting rail (pgph 0017) and arranged in a third direction substantially orthogonal tot the first direction and substantially orthogonal to the second direction (Figure 2) and wherein the spray nozzles are aligned in a horizontal axis in the first direction (Figure 2).
Regarding claim 5, the combination discloses that the deposition arrangement is operable to move orthogonally to the horizontal mounting rail (24) in the third direction by attachment to a vertical mounting rail (22).
Regarding claim 6, the combination discloses that each spray nozzle is coupled to a separate respective deposition material cartridge mount (120) (Hodel – Figure 4).
Regarding claim 7, the combination discloses that each spray nozzle is fluidly coupled to a separate respective deposition material cartridge mount via a spray assembly (Hodel - Figure 4 and 6).
Regarding claims 8-9, the combination discloses that each spray nozzle is coupled to a separate material cartridge mount via flexible tubing (whatever mounting mechanism that holds the fluid pathway between the tank/cartridge and the nozzle can be considered a “carrier”) capable of accommodating movement of the spray nozzles relative to the respective deposition material cartridge (Schroeder discloses adjustable/moveable frame elements, therefore the fluid pathway between the nozzles and the tank/cartridges must be flexible).
Regarding claims 14-16, the combination discloses that the deposition material cartridge mount includes a flexible guide/quick connector with retaining means (Hodel - 144), wherein the flexible guide is operable to guide a deposition material cartridge into the mount.
Regarding claims 17-18, the combination discloses that the spray assembly includes a pump (32). Schroeder fails to specifically disclose a valve, however, it does mention multiple types of pumps that usually do utilize check valves (pgph 0014). The examiner takes Official Notice that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize a valve and controller in conjunction with the pump to effectively control the dispersal of fluid from the nozzles at the desired times/locations.
Regarding claim 19, the combination discloses that paint is ejected from each spray nozzle under pressure to form small droplets of paint to uniformly cover the ground surface.
Regarding claims 20-22, the combination discloses a data connection and a power connection for control of the deposition accessory (pgph 0022).
Regarding claim 23, It would have been an obvious matter of art recognized equivalence to utilize magnets in the coupling device, as Applicant has not disclosed that it solves any stated problem of the prior art or is for any particular purpose. It appears that the invention would perform equally well as the invention disclosed by the combination of Schroeder and Hodel.
Regarding claim 24, the combination discloses that the detachable deposition accessory further includes two stabilizing arms (144- Hodel).
Regarding claim 25, the combination discloses a removable cartridge (122).
Regarding claim 26, the combination discloses that the cartridge can include a marking material and/or paint.
Claim(s) 3-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schroeder (EP3505682) in view of Hodel et al. (2022/0330469) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hundley et al. (2015/0250089).
Regarding claims 3 and 4, the combination discloses the invention as described above including a motor and carriage mechanism for moving the deposition accessory along a horizontal rail. The combination fails to specifically disclose a sensor and stop mechanism. Like the combination, Hundley also discloses an agricultural toolbar with a mechanism for controlling lateral spacing. Unlike the combination, Hundley discloses the use of position sensors to monitor and control the positioning of the laterally moved elements. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the sensor of Hundley in the combination of Schroeder and Hodel as it would be combining prior art elements according to known methods to obtain predictable results (KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 USPQ2d 1385 (2007)). The combination would further disclose sensor “stops” since the control system would not allow the motor/actuator to continue to move the accessories off the ends of the rails.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10-11 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 12-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. This assumes that claim 12 should depend from claim 10. See rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112 second paragraph above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Grant (2021/0045379) discloses a control system for field spraying. Batcheller (2018/0111148) discloses a cartridge system for a sprayer.
/JAMIE L MCGOWAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3671