DETAILED ACTION
Joint Inventors
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/07/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). A certified copy of this document has been placed in the file wrapper. As such, the effective filing date of the instant application is considered 04/06/2022, coinciding with the filing date of the Great Britain application to which foreign priority was requested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Strien et al. (EP3263429B1, referred to as Strien).
Regarding claim 1: Strien discloses: A coupling arrangement for a coupling a detachable deposition accessory to an autonomous mobile robot (AMR), the coupling arrangement comprising: a first portion, the first portion is configured to be removably coupled to the AMR, and ([0030] said first coupling element 12 may comprise a pintle hook element or any other element of a coupling system known to the person skilled in the art and arranged to detachably connect said coupling unit 4 to said towing unit 1.) is operable to be pivotable about the pitch axis only; a second portion, the second portion is fixedly attached to the AMR and is configured to retain the first portion and limit movement of the detachable deposition accessory in the yaw axis, when coupled to the AMR; and a support arm, wherein the support arm extends between the first and second portions. ([0036] Figure 7 shows a perspective view of a vehicle coupling assembly comprising the coupling unit of Figure 3 and the blocking assembly mounted on a towing unit as in Figure 5a. The coupling unit 4 is detachably connected to said blocking assembly 21, in particular via the first coupling element 12 cooperating with the coupling member 25 on the blocking assembly 21. Rotation around the first pivotal axis 13 is blocked by the rotation limiting means 20 engaging the rotation limiting engaging members 23. Therefore, an axle 24 of the towing unit 1 is substantially in parallel with said at least one axle 16 of the coupling unit 4 due to the blocking of the rotation of the coupling unit 4 with respect to the towing unit 1. The protruding bar 19 is shown in a non-extended position. A pitching movement of the coupling unit 4 with respect to the towing unit 1 is possible due to the elongated shape, both of the rotation limiting means 20 as of the rotation limiting engaging members 23, comprising a longitudinal axis substantially in parallel with said at least one axle 16 of said coupling unit 4 and/or with an axle 24 of the towing unit 1. This pitching movement may however be limited by the shape of the towing unit's chassis, which may include a groove or channel, in which the protruding bar 19 of the coupling unit 4 may be inserted, as shown in Figure 6.)
Regarding claim 2: Strien discloses: A coupling arrangement as claimed in claim 1,
Strien further discloses: wherein movement in the yaw axis is limited to less than a 5-degree angle between the first and second portions. ([0036] Figure 7 shows a perspective view of a vehicle coupling assembly comprising the coupling unit of Figure 3 and the blocking assembly mounted on a towing unit as in Figure 5a. The coupling unit 4 is detachably connected to said blocking assembly 21, in particular via the first coupling element 12 cooperating with the coupling member 25 on the blocking assembly 21. Rotation around the first pivotal axis 13 is blocked by the rotation limiting means 20 engaging the rotation limiting engaging members 23.)
Regarding claim 3: Strien discloses: A coupling arrangement as claimed in claim 1,
Strien further discloses: wherein either the first and/or second portions are comprised of metal plates. ([Fig. 4] metal plate 26 [0036] Figure 7 shows a perspective view of a vehicle coupling assembly comprising the coupling unit of Figure 3 and the blocking assembly mounted on a towing unit as in Figure 5a. The coupling unit 4 is detachably connected to said blocking assembly 21, in particular via the first coupling element 12 cooperating with the coupling member 25 on the blocking assembly 21. Rotation around the first pivotal axis 13 is blocked by the rotation limiting means 20 engaging the rotation limiting engaging members 23.)
Regarding claim 5: Strien discloses: A coupling arrangement as claimed in claim 1,
Strien further discloses: wherein the second portion further comprises a mechanical clamp arrangement, and wherein the mechanical clamp arrangement is configured to retain the first portion and limit movement of the autonomous deposition accessory in the yaw axis, when coupled to the detachable deposition accessory. ([0036] Figure 7 shows a perspective view of a vehicle coupling assembly comprising the coupling unit of Figure 3 and the blocking assembly mounted on a towing unit as in Figure 5a. The coupling unit 4 is detachably connected to said blocking assembly 21, in particular via the first coupling element 12 cooperating with the coupling member 25 on the blocking assembly 21. Rotation around the first pivotal axis 13 is blocked by the rotation limiting means 20 engaging the rotation limiting engaging members 23.)
Regarding claim 6: Strien discloses: A coupling arrangement as claimed in claim 1,
Strien further discloses: wherein the second portion further comprises a retaining seat, operable to retain the first portion in a planar alignment with the second portion. ([Fig. 6] rotation limiting engaging member 23 [0034] Said rotation limiting engaging member 23 may include a conventionally present element on a rear side of a towing unit 1, for example a bumper, or include a dedicated member. In the preferred embodiment of Figure 4, said rotation limiting engaging member 23 comprises at least two spaced apart rotation limiting engaging members 23, which may preferably be spaced apart in a direction substantially in parallel with an axle 24 (see Figure 7) of the towing unit 1, to which said blocking assembly 21 may be mounted, or in any other direction. Said at least one rotation limiting engaging member 23 advantageously has a substantially elongated shape comprising a longitudinal axis substantially in parallel with said at least one axle 16 of said coupling unit 4 and/or with an axle 24 of the towing unit 1, to which said blocking assembly 21 may be mounted. In particular, said at least one rotation limiting engaging member 23 can comprise a substantially concave recess arranged to receive and guide a cooperating substantially convex element of said rotation limiting means 20 on said coupling unit 4.)
Regarding claim 7: Strien discloses: A coupling arrangement as claimed in claim 1,
Strien further discloses: wherein the support arm maybe pivotable about a second single pivot axis, also limited in the yaw axis. ([0001] The invention relates to a coupling unit and blocking assembly of a vehicle coupling assembly for coupling a towing unit of a compound vehicle to a trailing unit of said compound vehicle. [0002] Such a coupling unit is commonly known, for example from US 5,407,221, disclosing a converter dolly for connecting tandem trailers or compound vehicles. The towing unit may be an integral truck cab assembly or may be connected to a powered tractor unit using for example a fifth wheel and kingpin arrangement commonly known in the art. The trailing unit may be conventionally attached to the towing unit using a converter dolly carrying for example another fifth wheel assembly. These arrangements can provide pivot points between the tractor unit and the first towing unit, between the first towing unit and the converter dolly, and between the trailing unit and the converter dolly. [0034] a coupling member 25 arranged to cooperate with said first coupling element 12 of said coupling unit 4 to detachably couple said coupling unit 4 to said towing unit 1. In this embodiment, the coupling member 25 includes a pintle hook arranged to engage the ring hitch element 18 of the coupling unit 4 of the embodiment shown in Figure 4. As will be clear to the person skilled in the art, any other suitable coupling member may be used. Said at least one rotation limiting engaging member 23 may preferably be mounted in alignment with said coupling member 25 in a direction in parallel with said at least one axle 16 of said coupling unit 4, but a different alignment, or even no alignment, is possible as well. Moreover, in case of at least two spaced apart rotation limiting engaging members 23, said of at least two rotation limiting engaging members 23 may be mounted on either side of said coupling member 25, again preferably in a direction in parallel with said at least one axle 16 of said coupling unit 4. It will be evident to the person skilled in the art that the mounting and spacing of said at least one rotation limiting engaging member 23 and said coupling member 25 will have to be adapted to the corresponding rotation limiting means 20 and the first coupling element 12 of the coupling unit 4.)
Regarding claim 8: Strien discloses: A coupling arrangement as claimed in claim 1,
Strien further discloses: wherein the support arm may be formed of metal. ([0001] The invention relates to a coupling unit and blocking assembly of a vehicle coupling assembly for coupling a towing unit of a compound vehicle to a trailing unit of said compound vehicle. [0002] Such a coupling unit is commonly known, for example from US 5,407,221, disclosing a converter dolly for connecting tandem trailers or compound vehicles. The towing unit may be an integral truck cab assembly or may be connected to a powered tractor unit using for example a fifth wheel and kingpin arrangement commonly known in the art. The trailing unit may be conventionally attached to the towing unit using a converter dolly carrying for example another fifth wheel assembly. These arrangements can provide pivot points between the tractor unit and the first towing unit, between the first towing unit and the converter dolly, and between the trailing unit and the converter dolly.)
Regarding claim 9: Strien discloses: A coupling arrangement as claimed in claim 1,
Strien further discloses: wherein either of the first or second portions further comprise movement stoppers, operable to limit the movement of the either of the first or second portions in the pitch axis. ([0034] a coupling member 25 arranged to cooperate with said first coupling element 12 of said coupling unit 4 to detachably couple said coupling unit 4 to said towing unit 1. In this embodiment, the coupling member 25 includes a pintle hook arranged to engage the ring hitch element 18 of the coupling unit 4 of the embodiment shown in Figure 4. As will be clear to the person skilled in the art, any other suitable coupling member may be used. Said at least one rotation limiting engaging member 23 may preferably be mounted in alignment with said coupling member 25 in a direction in parallel with said at least one axle 16 of said coupling unit 4, but a different alignment, or even no alignment, is possible as well. Moreover, in case of at least two spaced apart rotation limiting engaging members 23, said of at least two rotation limiting engaging members 23 may be mounted on either side of said coupling member 25, again preferably in a direction in parallel with said at least one axle 16 of said coupling unit 4. It will be evident to the person skilled in the art that the mounting and spacing of said at least one rotation limiting engaging member 23 and said coupling member 25 will have to be adapted to the corresponding rotation limiting means 20 and the first coupling element 12 of the coupling unit 4.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Strien (EP3263429B1, referred to as Strien) in view of Abels (EP2130698B1, referred to as Abels).
Regarding claim 10: Strien discloses: A coupling arrangement according to claim 1,
Strien does not explicitly disclose the following limitaitons, however Abels, from an analogous field of endeavor, further teaches: wherein the coupling further comprises a data connection, wherein the data connection is operable to send data between the detachable deposition accessory and the AMR. ([0177] The energization of a light of the motor vehicle 19, preferably a tail light, can also be a starting condition for starting the time interval for the active switching of a drive switch 100 and/or 100 b. For this purpose, the controller 69 preferably evaluates signals or current flows of tail lamps, for example a rear fog lamp 127 and/or a reversing headlight 128 and/or flashing lamps 129. The controller 69 is connected to power supply lines 130 of an on-board power supply system 131 of the motor vehicle 19 in order to check an energization of the lamps 127- 129. Because of the connection to power supply lines 130 for tail lamps, the line paths are short. If the operator of the motor vehicle 19 now engages a reverse gear, for example, the reversing headlights 128 are activated and the controller 69 consequently starts the time interval. This is preferably followed by a second triggering condition which the controller checks, for example "terminal 15 switched on", as a rule the second latching of the engine start switch 126.)
Strien and Abels are analogous art to the claimed invention since they are from the similar field of coupling means in mobile robotics. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to modify the detachable deposition accessory disclosed in Strien to enable the data collection and transmission taught in Abels.
The motivation for modification would have been to provide the deposition method taught in the combination of Strien and Shroeder with data collection to enhance performance over time as taught in Abels.
Regarding claim 11: Strien discloses: A coupling arrangement according to claim 1,
Strien does not explicitly disclose the following limitaitons, however Abels, from an analogous field of endeavor, further teaches: wherein the coupling further comprises a power connection, wherein the power connection is operable to send electrical power between the detachable deposition accessory and the autonomous deposition apparatus. ([0177] The energization of a light of the motor vehicle 19, preferably a tail light, can also be a starting condition for starting the time interval for the active switching of a drive switch 100 and/or 100 b. For this purpose, the controller 69 preferably evaluates signals or current flows of tail lamps, for example a rear fog lamp 127 and/or a reversing headlight 128 and/or flashing lamps 129. The controller 69 is connected to power supply lines 130 of an on-board power supply system 131 of the motor vehicle 19 in order to check an energization of the lamps 127- 129. Because of the connection to power supply lines 130 for tail lamps, the line paths are short. If the operator of the motor vehicle 19 now engages a reverse gear, for example, the reversing headlights 128 are activated and the controller 69 consequently starts the time interval. This is preferably followed by a second triggering condition which the controller checks, for example "terminal 15 switched on", as a rule the second latching of the engine start switch 126.)
Strien and Abels are analogous art to the claimed invention since they are from the similar field of coupling means in mobile robotics. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to modify the detachable deposition accessory disclosed in Strien to enable the data collection and transmission taught in Abels.
The motivation for modification would have been to provide the deposition method disclosed in Strien with power transmission as taught in Abels.
Claims 12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Strien (EP3263429B1, referred to as Strien) in view of Shroeder (EP3505682A1, referred to as Shroeder).
Regarding claim 12: Strien discloses: A detachable deposition accessory for coupling to an autonomous mobile robot (AMR), the detachable deposition accessory comprising: a locomotion arrangement; a deposition arrangement; at least one receptacle to hold a deposition material; a control unit, the control unit operable to receive at least one deposition instruction from the AMR; and the coupling arrangement according to claim 1.
Strien does not explicitly disclose, however Shroeder, from an analogous field of endeavor, further teaches:
Regarding claim 14: Strien discloses: A detachable deposition accessory according to claim 12,
Strien further discloses: wherein the detachable deposition accessory further comprises a chassis with a nozzle array on a traverse guide.
Claims 13, 15, 17, and 19- 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Strien (EP3263429B1, referred to as Strien) in view of Shroeder (EP3505682A1, referred to as Shroeder) and further in view of McMurtry et al. (US20050055142, referred to as McMurtry).
Regarding claim 13: The combination of Strien and Shroeder teaches: A detachable deposition accessory according to claim 12,
The combination of Strien and Shroeder does not explicitly teach, however McMurtry, from an analogous field of endeavor, further teaches: wherein the control unit operable to send data from the detachable deposition accessory to the AMR. ([0035] The vehicle 4 has marking means for marking the ground as it travels around the sports field 2 under its own power and guided by guidance means provided by an outboard computer which is responsive to the data generated by the detecting means 3 and the encoder 7. In the embodiment of FIGS. 3 to 8, the dispensing device 5 is adapted to deliver a liquid marking material.)
Strien, Shroeder, and McMurtry are analogous art to the claimed invention since they are from the similar field of coupling means in mobile robotics. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to modify the detachable deposition accessory taught in the combination of Strien and Shroeder to enable the data collection and transmission taught in McMurtry.
The motivation for modification would have been to provide the deposition method taught in the combination of Strien and Shroeder with data collection to enhance performance over time as taught in McMurtry.
Regarding claim 15: The combination of Strien and Shroeder teaches: the detachable deposition accessory according to claim 12.
The combination of Strien and Shroeder does not teach the following limitations, however McMurtry further teaches: An autonomous mobile robot (AMR), the AMR comprising: a locomotion arrangement; a control unit, the control unit operable to receive at least one deposition instruction; and a coupling arrangement capable of attaching to the detachable deposition accessory ([0036] In the embodiment of FIG. 3 the dispensing device 5 comprises a single nozzle 13 mounted on an arm assembly 11, 12 and 14 attached to the chassis 10. The arm 12 is adjustable about a pivot 14 relative to the arm 11, which is fixed to the chassis 10, thus allowing different settings. The nozzle 13 is connected to a material metering device 15 by a plurality of tubes 16(one of which is shown in FIG. 3). Different colored materials are dispensed through each of the tubes 16. A color image can be produced by using the different colors in turn, or a single color can be used to produce a monochrome image. The metering means 15 receives input from the guidance means 3A so as to control the delivery of material, and its color, from the nozzle 13 in accordance with the position of the vehicle on the sports field.)
Strien, Shroeder, and McMurtry are analogous art to the claimed invention since they are from the similar field of coupling means in mobile robotics. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to modify the detachable deposition accessory taught in the combination of Strien and Shroeder to enable the data collection and transmission of deposition data taught in McMurtry.
The motivation for modification would have been to provide the deposition method taught in the combination of Strien and Shroeder with the specific use case of deposition and instructions described in McMurtry.
Regarding claim 17: The combination of Strien, Shroeder, and McMurtry teaches: The method of claim 16,
Strien further discloses: further comprising the step of coupling a data and/or power cable between the detachable deposition accessory and the AMR. ([0036] In the embodiment of FIG. 3 the dispensing device 5 comprises a single nozzle 13 mounted on an arm assembly 11, 12 and 14 attached to the chassis 10. The arm 12 is adjustable about a pivot 14 relative to the arm 11, which is fixed to the chassis 10, thus allowing different settings. The nozzle 13 is connected to a material metering device 15 by a plurality of tubes 16(one of which is shown in FIG. 3). Different colored materials are dispensed through each of the tubes 16. A color image can be produced by using the different colors in turn, or a single color can be used to produce a monochrome image. The metering means 15 receives input from the guidance means 3A so as to control the delivery of material, and its color, from the nozzle 13 in accordance with the position of the vehicle on the sports field.)
Strien, Shroeder, and McMurtry are analogous art to the claimed invention since they are from the similar field of coupling means in mobile robotics. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to modify the detachable deposition accessory taught in the combination of Strien and Shroeder to enable the data collection and transmission of deposition data taught in McMurtry.
The motivation for modification would have been to provide the deposition method taught in the combination of Strien and Shroeder with the specific use case of deposition and instructions described in McMurtry.
Regarding claim 19: The combination of Strien, Shroeder, and McMurtry teaches: The method of claim 16,
McMurtry further teaches: wherein the moving step further comprises using position sensors located on either of the detachable deposition accessory or the AMR. ([0036] In the embodiment of FIG. 3 the dispensing device 5 comprises a single nozzle 13 mounted on an arm assembly 11, 12 and 14 attached to the chassis 10. The arm 12 is adjustable about a pivot 14 relative to the arm 11, which is fixed to the chassis 10, thus allowing different settings. The nozzle 13 is connected to a material metering device 15 by a plurality of tubes 16(one of which is shown in FIG. 3). Different colored materials are dispensed through each of the tubes 16. A color image can be produced by using the different colors in turn, or a single color can be used to produce a monochrome image. The metering means 15 receives input from the guidance means 3A so as to control the delivery of material, and its color, from the nozzle 13 in accordance with the position of the vehicle on the sports field. [0063] The vehicle 4 may be able to calculate its position and heading within its working environment (FIG. 1) by utilizing the sensor 3 that may be a rotating infra-red emitter/detector. An infra-red signal will be emitted from said sensor 3 and reflected back to said sensor from a plurality of reflective targets 1 a-1 f in known positions on the periphery of the vehicles 4 working environment.)
Strien, Shroeder, and McMurtry are analogous art to the claimed invention since they are from the similar field of coupling means in mobile robotics. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to modify the detachable deposition accessory taught in the combination of Strien and Shroeder to enable the data collection and transmission of deposition data taught in McMurtry.
The motivation for modification would have been to provide the deposition method taught in the combination of Strien and Shroeder with the specific use case of deposition and instructions described in McMurtry.
Regarding claim 20: The combination of Strien, Shroeder, and McMurtry teaches: A method of depositing a material using the AMR of claim 16,
McMurtry further teaches: the method comprising: a. an operator coupling the detachable deposition accessory to an AMR; b. receiving at least one deposition instruction from a user; c. the AMR controlling the detachable deposition accessory to deposit material according to the deposition instructions. ([0036] In the embodiment of FIG. 3 the dispensing device 5 comprises a single nozzle 13 mounted on an arm assembly 11, 12 and 14 attached to the chassis 10. The arm 12 is adjustable about a pivot 14 relative to the arm 11, which is fixed to the chassis 10, thus allowing different settings. The nozzle 13 is connected to a material metering device 15 by a plurality of tubes 16(one of which is shown in FIG. 3). Different colored materials are dispensed through each of the tubes 16. A color image can be produced by using the different colors in turn, or a single color can be used to produce a monochrome image. The metering means 15 receives input from the guidance means 3A so as to control the delivery of material, and its color, from the nozzle 13 in accordance with the position of the vehicle on the sports field.)
Strien, Shroeder, and McMurtry are analogous art to the claimed invention since they are from the similar field of coupling means in mobile robotics. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to modify the detachable deposition accessory taught in the combination of Strien and Shroeder to enable the data collection and transmission of deposition data taught in McMurtry.
The motivation for modification would have been to provide the deposition method taught in the combination of Strien and Shroeder with the specific use case of deposition and instructions described in McMurtry.
Regarding claim 21: The combination of Strien, Shroeder, and McMurtry teaches: A method as claimed in claim 20,
McMurtry further teaches: wherein after it is coupled to the AMR, the detachable deposition accessory sends data to the AMR. ([0036] In the embodiment of FIG. 3 the dispensing device 5 comprises a single nozzle 13 mounted on an arm assembly 11, 12 and 14 attached to the chassis 10. The arm 12 is adjustable about a pivot 14 relative to the arm 11, which is fixed to the chassis 10, thus allowing different settings. The nozzle 13 is connected to a material metering device 15 by a plurality of tubes 16(one of which is shown in FIG. 3). Different colored materials are dispensed through each of the tubes 16. A color image can be produced by using the different colors in turn, or a single color can be used to produce a monochrome image. The metering means 15 receives input from the guidance means 3A so as to control the delivery of material, and its color, from the nozzle 13 in accordance with the position of the vehicle on the sports field.)
Strien, Shroeder, and McMurtry are analogous art to the claimed invention since they are from the similar field of coupling means in mobile robotics. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to modify the detachable deposition accessory taught in the combination of Strien and Shroeder to enable the data collection and transmission of deposition data taught in McMurtry.
The motivation for modification would have been to provide the deposition method taught in the combination of Strien and Shroeder with the specific use case of deposition and instructions described in McMurtry.
Regarding claim 22: The combination of Strien, Shroeder, and McMurtry teaches: A method as claimed in claim 20,
McMurtry further teaches: wherein the user sends deposition instructions to the AMR via a cloud server or device, or an edge server or device. ([0036] In the embodiment of FIG. 3 the dispensing device 5 comprises a single nozzle 13 mounted on an arm assembly 11, 12 and 14 attached to the chassis 10. The arm 12 is adjustable about a pivot 14 relative to the arm 11, which is fixed to the chassis 10, thus allowing different settings. The nozzle 13 is connected to a material metering device 15 by a plurality of tubes 16(one of which is shown in FIG. 3). Different colored materials are dispensed through each of the tubes 16. A color image can be produced by using the different colors in turn, or a single color can be used to produce a monochrome image. The metering means 15 receives input from the guidance means 3A so as to control the delivery of material, and its color, from the nozzle 13 in accordance with the position of the vehicle on the sports field.)
Strien, Shroeder, and McMurtry are analogous art to the claimed invention since they are from the similar field of coupling means in mobile robotics. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to modify the detachable deposition accessory taught in the combination of Strien and Shroeder to enable the data collection and transmission of deposition data taught in McMurtry.
The motivation for modification would have been to provide the deposition method taught in the combination of Strien and Shroeder with the specific use case of deposition and instructions described in McMurtry.
Regarding claim 23: Strien discloses: An apparatus or method as claimed in claim 1,
Strien does not explicitly disclose, however McMurtry further teaches: wherein the material for deposition is a herbicide, pesticide, insecticide, plant growth aid, water or marking material, optionally wherein the marking material is a paint, ink, coloured material, powder. ([0063] The vehicle 4 may then move itself into the correct position (X-Y co-ordinate) and heading on the surface to be painted and the or each nozzle may dispense the color corresponding to the pixilated image held in the vehicle memory. The color required for a pixel may be dispensed by any of the nozzles 13, 20 and 21 individually for a single color or any combination of the nozzles 13, 20 and 21 may be used together to generate any color required (i.e. the sprays mix together). When one line is complete the vehicle may move on to the next position corresponding to the next line of pixels by using the infra-red emitter/detector and encoder devices to ensure the position is correct, the next line of pixels may then be dispensed.))
Strien, Shroeder, and McMurtry are analogous art to the claimed invention since they are from the similar field of coupling means in mobile robotics. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to modify the detachable deposition accessory taught in the combination of Strien and Shroeder to enable the data collection and transmission of deposition data taught in McMurtry.
The motivation for modification would have been to provide the deposition method taught in the combination of Strien and Shroeder with the specific use case of deposition and instructions described in McMurtry.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Strien (EP3263429B1, referred to as Strien) in view of Smith et al. (US11429099B2, referred to as Smith)
Regarding claim 4: Strien discloses: A coupling arrangement as claimed in claim 3,
Strien does not explicitly disclose, however Smith, from an analogous field of endeavor, further teaches: wherein the first and second portions are operable to be magnetised by an applied current. ([0202] an outer annular (or other shape) sleeve 892 comprises an electromagnetic coil (e.g.) a solenoid. This coil, when energized forces the magnetic sleeve 888 axially rearwardly (against the bias of the spring 887), and places the ball bearings 885 in alignment with an annular trough 893 within the front, inner surface of the magnetic sleeve 888. This trough allows the ball bearings 885 to pop radially outwardly from the holes 886 sufficiently to disengage them from the male fitting trough 882, thereby allowing axial movement of the male fitting relative to the female coupling. This unlocked state is shown in FIGS. 8C and 8D. [0203] In operation, an electrical current is delivered to the outer sleeve/solenoid 892 via a relay or other switch that receives a signal from (e.g. the AV yard truck controller). An onboard battery (not shown) of sufficient power can be included in the female coupling assembly. Alternatively, power can be supplied by the AV Yard truck's electrical system. The magnetic sleeve, thus, moves axially rearwardly as shown in FIG. 8C. This position allows the ball bearings 885 to move radially inwardly as the male fitting is moved axially inwardly relative to the inner sleeve 884 (shown in FIG. 8D). During this step, the outer sleeve/solenoid 892 remains energized by the switch and battery. Once fully engaged, the switch disconnects the battery and the spring 887 drives the magnetic sleeve forwardly (as it is now free of bias by the magnetic solenoid). The ball bearings 885, thus encounter the non-indented part of the magnetic sleeve's (884) inner surface and are driven radially outwardly into the male fitting's trough 882, thereby forming a sealed lock as shown in FIG. 8E.)
Strien and Smith are analogous art to the claimed invention since they are from the similar field of coupling means in mobile robotics. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to modify the detachable deposition accessory taught in Strien to enable the electromagnetic locking mechanism taught in Smith.
The motivation for modification would have been to provide the deposition method taught in Strien with the specific use case of electromagnetic locking as taught in Smith for the purpose of moving the lock from a locked to unlocked state via electrical charges.
Claims 16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Strien (EP3263429B1, referred to as Strien) in view of Shroeder (EP3505682A1, referred to as Shroeder) and further in view of Smith et al. (US11429099B2, referred to as Smith).
Regarding claim 16: The combination of Strien, Shroeder, and McMurtry teaches: A method of coupling a detachable deposition accessory to the autonomous mobile robot (AMR) of claim 15,
The combination of Strien, Shroeder, and McMurtry do not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Smith, from an analogous field of endeavor, further teaches: the method comprising: moving the detachable deposition accessory and the AMR into close proximity; locating a first portion of the coupling arrangement attached to the detachable deposition accessory into a housing seat located on the AMR; and switching on the electromagnet system([0202]an outer annular (or other shape) sleeve 892 comprises an electromagnetic coil (e.g.) a solenoid. This coil, when energized forces the magnetic sleeve 888 axially rearwardly (against the bias of the spring 887), and places the ball bearings 885 in alignment with an annular trough 893 within the front, inner surface of the magnetic sleeve 888. This trough allows the ball bearings 885 to pop radially outwardly from the holes 886 sufficiently to disengage them from the male fitting trough 882, thereby allowing axial movement of the male fitting relative to the female coupling. This unlocked state is shown in FIGS. 8C and 8D. [0203] In operation, an electrical current is delivered to the outer sleeve/solenoid 892 via a relay or other switch that receives a signal from (e.g. the AV yard truck controller). An onboard battery (not shown) of sufficient power can be included in the female coupling assembly. Alternatively, power can be supplied by the AV Yard truck's electrical system. The magnetic sleeve, thus, moves axially rearwardly as shown in FIG. 8C. This position allows the ball bearings 885 to move radially inwardly as the male fitting is moved axially inwardly relative to the inner sleeve 884 (shown in FIG. 8D). During this step, the outer sleeve/solenoid 892 remains energized by the switch and battery. Once fully engaged, the switch disconnects the battery and the spring 887 drives the magnetic sleeve forwardly (as it is now free of bias by the magnetic solenoid). The ball bearings 885, thus encounter the non-indented part of the magnetic sleeve's (884) inner surface and are driven radially outwardly into the male fitting's trough 882, thereby forming a sealed lock as shown in FIG. 8E.)
Strien, Shroeder, McMurtry, and Smith are analogous art to the claimed invention since they are from the similar field of coupling means in mobile robotics. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to modify the detachable deposition accessory taught in the combination of Strien, Shroeder, and McMurtry to enable the electromagnetic locking mechanism taught in Smith.
The motivation for modification would have been to provide the deposition method taught in the combination of Strien, Shroeder, and McMurtry with the specific use case of electromagnetic locking as taught in Smith for the purpose of moving the lock from a locked to unlocked state via electrical charges.
Regarding claim 18: The combination of Strien, Shroeder, McMurtry, and Smith teaches: The method of claim 16,
Smith further teaches: further comprising the step of attaching a break chain between the detachable deposition accessory and the AMR. ([0202]an outer annular (or other shape) sleeve 892 comprises an electromagnetic coil (e.g.) a solenoid. This coil, when energized forces the magnetic sleeve 888 axially rearwardly (against the bias of the spring 887), and places the ball bearings 885 in alignment with an annular trough 893 within the front, inner surface of the magnetic sleeve 888. This trough allows the ball bearings 885 to pop radially outwardly from the holes 886 sufficiently to disengage them from the male fitting trough 882, thereby allowing axial movement of the male fitting relative to the female coupling. This unlocked state is shown in FIGS. 8C and 8D. [0203] In operation, an electrical current is delivered to the outer sleeve/solenoid 892 via a relay or other switch that receives a signal from (e.g. the AV yard truck controller). An onboard battery (not shown) of sufficient power can be included in the female coupling assembly. Alternatively, power can be supplied by the AV Yard truck's electrical system. The magnetic sleeve, thus, moves axially rearwardly as shown in FIG. 8C. This position allows the ball bearings 885 to move radially inwardly as the male fitting is moved axially inwardly relative to the inner sleeve 884 (shown in FIG. 8D). During this step, the outer sleeve/solenoid 892 remains energized by the switch and battery. Once fully engaged, the switch disconnects the battery and the spring 887 drives the magnetic sleeve forwardly (as it is now free of bias by the magnetic solenoid). The ball bearings 885, thus encounter the non-indented part of the magnetic sleeve's (884) inner surface and are driven radially outwardly into the male fitting's trough 882, thereby forming a sealed lock as shown in FIG. 8E.)
Strien, Shroeder, McMurtry, and Smith are analogous art to the claimed invention since they are from the similar field of coupling means in mobile robotics. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to modify the detachable deposition accessory taught in the combination of Strien, Shroeder, and McMurtry to enable the electromagnetic locking mechanism taught in Smith.
The motivation for modification would have been to provide the deposition method taught in the combination of Strien, Shroeder, and McMurtry with the specific use case of electromagnetic locking as taught in Smith for the purpose of moving the lock from a locked to unlocked state via electrical charges.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record, and not relied upon, considered pertinent to applicant' s disclosure or directed to the state of art is listed on the enclosed PTO-892.
/ATTICUS A CAMERON/ /JASON HOLLOWAY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3658 Examiner, Art Unit 3658A