DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 7, 9-11, 14-16, 18, and 21-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Haustein et al. (US 2025/0039044 A1, “Haustein”).
Regarding independent claim 1:
Haustein discloses a method implemented in a wireless device (e.g., Fig. 1B, UE), WD, the method comprising:
receiving, by higher layer signaling from a network node (e.g., Fig. 1B, gNB), a first set of channel state information, CSI, feedback generation configuration parameters and a second set of CSI feedback generation configuration parameters (e.g., [0428]-[0429], [0434]-[0437], RRC IEs, CSI-ReportConfig, see Fig. 12A-12C, Fig. 13, any combination of the parameters 432-442 may be considered a set of CSI configuration parameters)
receiving, by control signaling from the network node, an updated set of CSI feedback generation configuration parameters to update the second set of CSI feedback generation configuration parameters (e.g., [0429], [0436]-[0437], IEs 434 and 442 are changed by DCI, Fig. 13, 428a/428b); and
determining a CSI feedback generation configuration based at least in part on the first set of CSI feedback generation configuration parameters and the updated set of CSI feedback generation configuration parameters (e.g., [0429], [0436]-[0437], Fig. 13, only IEs 434 and 442 are changed without changing other IE fields).
Regarding claim 2:
Haustein further discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: calculating CSI based on the determined CSI feedback generation configuration; and reporting, to the network node, the calculated CSI (e.g., [0429], [0434]-[0441]).
Regarding claim 4:
Haustein further discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising receiving, from the network node, at least one of a physical uplink shared channel, PUSCH, resource allocation and a physical uplink control channel, PUCCH, resource allocation for CSI reporting, adapted according to the updated set of CSI feedback generation configuration parameters (e.g., [0077]-[0082], [0091], [0428], [0453], CSI-reportconfig configures PUSCH and PUCCH for CSI reporting)
Regarding claim 5:
Haustein further discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the CSI feedback generation configuration is a codebook configuration (e.g., [0081]-[0082],[0100]-[0102], [0437]).
Regarding claim 7:
Haustein further discloses the method of claim 1, wherein one or more bits indicate which parameters from the second set of CSI feedback generation configuration parameters that are included in the updated set of CSI feedback generation configuration parameters (e.g., [0429]-[0431], [0436], [0437], the IE fields are modified by a specific DCI).
Regarding claim 9:
Haustein further discloses the method of claim 1, wherein one or both of the second set of CSI feedback generation configuration parameters and the updated CSI feedback generation configuration parameters include at least one of: a number of beams, a number of frequency domain basis vectors, a codebook parameter combination, a number of selected CSI-RS ports, a number of precoder matrix indicator sub-bands per channel quality indication sub-band, a codebook subset restriction, a rank restriction, a model ID, a quantity for a given feature, a compression ratio, and a loss function (e.g., [0077]-[0082], [0091], [0428], parameters configured by CSI-reportconfig).
Regarding independent claim 10:
Haustein discloses a method implemented in a network node (e.g., Fig. 1B, gNB) configured to communicate with a wireless device (e.g., Fig. 1B, UE), WD, the method comprising: signaling, by higher layer signaling to the WD, a first set of channel state information, CSI, feedback generation configuration parameters and a second set of CSI feedback generation configuration parameters; and signaling, by control signaling to the WD, an updated set of CSI feedback generation configuration parameters to update the second set of CSI feedback generation configuration parameters. (See detailed rejection for similar limitations with respect to claim 1.)
Regarding claim 11:
Haustein further discloses the method of claim 10, further comprising determining the updated set of CSI feedback generation configuration parameters based on channel information (e.g., [0429], [0436]-[0437]).
Regarding claim 14:
Haustein further discloses the method of claim 10, further comprising receiving, from the WD, CSI reporting (e.g., [0429], [0434]-[0441]).
Regarding claim 15:
Haustein further discloses the method of claim 10, further comprising determining at least one of a physical uplink shared channel, PUSCH, resource allocation and a physical uplink control channel, PUCCH, resource allocation for CSI reporting by the WD, based on the updated set of CSI feedback generation configuration parameters (e.g., [0077]-[0082], [0091], [0428], [0453]).
Regarding claim 16:
Haustein further discloses wherein the CSI feedback generation configuration is a codebook configuration (e.g., [0081]-[0082],[0100]-[0102], [0437]).
Regarding claim 18:
Haustein further discloses the method of claim 10, wherein one or more bits indicate which parameters from the second set of CSI feedback generation configuration parameters that are included in the updated set of CSI feedback generation configuration parameters (e.g., [0429]-[0431], [0436], [0437]).
Regarding independent claim 21:
Haustein discloses a wireless device (e.g., Fig. 1B, UE), WD, configured to communicate with a network node (e.g., Fig. 1B, gNB), the WD comprising one or both of a radio interface and processing circuitry (e.g., Fig. 19, 602, 610) to configure the WD to: receive, by higher layer signaling from the network node, a first set of channel state information, CSI, feedback generation configuration parameters and a second set of CSI feedback generation configuration parameters; receive, by control signaling from the network node, an updated set of CSI feedback generation configuration parameters to update the second set of CSI feedback generation configuration parameters; and determine a CSI feedback generation configuration based at least in part on the first set of CSI feedback generation configuration parameters and the updated set of CSI feedback generation configuration parameters. (See detailed rejection for similar limitations with respect to claim 1.)
Regarding claim 22:
Haustein further discloses the WD of claim 21, wherein the one or both of the radio interface and the processing circuitry further configure the WD to: calculate CSI based on the determined CSI feedback generation configuration; and report, to the network node, the calculated CSI (e.g., [0429], [0434]-[0441]).
Regarding claim 23:
Haustein discloses a network node (e.g., Fig. 1B, gNB) configured to communicate with a wireless device (e.g., Fig. 1B, UE), WD, comprising one or both of a radio interface and processing circuitry (Fig. 19, 602, 610) configured to configure the network node to: signal, by higher layer signaling to the WD, a first set of channel state information, CSI, feedback generation configuration parameters and a second set of CSI feedback generation configuration parameters; and signal, by control signaling to the WD, an updated set of CSI feedback generation configuration parameters to update the second set of CSI feedback generation configuration parameters. (See detailed rejection for similar limitations with respect to claim 1.)
Regarding claim 24:
Haustein further discloses the network node of claim 23, wherein one or both of the radio interface and the processing circuitry further configure the network node to determine the updated set of CSI feedback generation configuration parameters based on channel information (e.g., [0429], [0436]-[0437]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 12, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haustein in view of Cirkic et al. (US 2019/0140726 A1, “Cirkic”).
Regarding claim 3:
Haustein is silent regarding signaling, to the network node, recommended CSI feedback generation configuration parameters for the network node to update the second set of CSI feedback generation configuration parameters.
Cirkic teaches UE signaling to a network node recommended CSI feedback configuration parameters for the network node to update CSI feedback configuration parameters (e.g. [0051], [0053], Fig. 4, 403 and 404).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of Haustein based on the teaching from Cirkic to include the feature signaling, to the network node, recommended CSI feedback generation configuration parameters for the network node to update the second set of CSI feedback generation configuration parameters, in order to optimize CSI reporting and overall network performance.
Regarding claim 12:
Haustein is silent regarding the channel information is based on uplink channel measurements, or a CSI report received from the WD.
Cirkic teaches determining updated CSI configuration based on uplink channel measurements, or a CSI report received from the WD (e.g., [0051], [0053], Fig. 4, 403 and 404).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of Haustein based on the teaching from Cirkic to include the feature the channel information is based on uplink channel measurements, or a CSI report received from the WD, in order to optimize CSI reporting and overall network performance.
Regarding claim 13:
Haustein is silent regarding receiving, from the WD, recommended CSI feedback generation configuration parameters; and determining the updated set of CSI feedback generation configuration parameters based at least in part on the recommended CSI feedback generation configuration parameters.
Cirkic teaches receiving, from the WD, recommended CSI feedback generation configuration parameters; and determining updated set of CSI feedback generation configuration parameters based at least in part on the recommended CSI feedback generation configuration parameters (e.g., [0051], [0053], Fig. 4, 403 and 404).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of Haustein based on the teaching from Cirkic to include the features receiving, from the WD, recommended CSI feedback generation configuration parameters; and determining the updated set of CSI feedback generation configuration parameters based at least in part on the recommended CSI feedback generation configuration parameters, in order to optimize CSI reporting and overall network performance.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haustein in view of Lee et al. (US 12,223,421 B2, “Lee”).
Regarding claim 6:
Haustein is silent regarding wherein the CSI feedback generation configuration is a CSI feedback generation configuration for CSI feedback using autoencoders.
Lee teaches using a CSI feedback generation configuration using autoencoders (e.g., Abtract, Column 19, 36-56, Figs. 7-13).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of Haustein based on the teaching from Lee to include the feature wherein the CSI feedback generation configuration is a CSI feedback generation configuration for CSI feedback using autoencoders, in order to improve spectral efficiency and overall network performance.
Conclusion
/BO HUI A ZHU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465