DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5, 10, 16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Murray et al. (US-PGPUB 2023/0156583).
Regarding claim 1, Murray teaches a method of operating a communication device, the method comprising: determining a plurality of random access, RA, partitions configured by a network node in a communications network [Para 89, plurality of partitions for communication]; determining one or more features associated with each of the plurality of RA partitions [Para 89, features with each partition is determined]; determining a set of triggered features that includes one or more features the communication device intends to use to perform a RA procedure to connect to the network node [Para 119-120, determines how connection to network can be done using which partition]; selecting a RA partition of the plurality of RA partitions based on a priority associated with a feature of the RA partition or a priority associated with a feature of another RA partition of the plurality RA partitions [Para 108 and 119, RA partition is picked based on the priority of partition]; and performing the RA procedure using the RA partition [Para 119, random access procedure is done using the selected partition].
Regarding claim 5, Murray teaches determining a priority associated with each of the one or more features associated with each RA partition of the plurality of RA partitions [Para 108 and 119].
Regarding claim 10, Murray teaches determining a difference between the one or more features associated with the RA partition and the set of triggered features [Para 113 and 116]; and selecting the RA partition based on the difference [Para 113 and 116].
Regarding claim 16, Murray teaches a method of operating a network node in a communications network, the method comprising: determining a plurality of random access, RA, partitions configured by the network node [Para 89, plurality of partitions for communication]; determining one or more features associated with each of the plurality of RA partitions [Para 89, features with each partition is determined]; determining a priority associated with each of the one or more features [Para 108 and 119]; transmitting a message to a communication device indicating the plurality of RA partitions, the one or more features associated with each of the plurality of RA partitions, and the priority associated with each of the one or more features [Para 108 and 119]; and performing a RA procedure with the communication device using one of the RA partitions of the plurality of RA partitions, the RA partition selected by the communication device [Para 119].
Regarding claim 18, Murray teaches a communication device, the network node comprising: processing circuitry; and memory coupled to the processing circuitry and having instructions stored therein that are executable by the processing circuitry to cause the communication device to perform operations comprising: determining a plurality of random access, RA, partitions configured by a network node in a communications network [Para 89, plurality of partitions for communication]; determining one or more features associated with each of the plurality of RA partitions [Para 89, features with each partition is determined]; determining a set of triggered features that includes one or more features the communication device intends to use to perform a RA procedure to connect to the network node [Para 119-120, determines how connection to network can be done using which partition]; selecting a RA partition of the plurality of RA partitions based on a priority associated with a feature of the RA partition or a priority associated with a feature of another RA partition of the plurality RA partitions [Para 108 and 119, RA partition is picked based on the priority of partition]; and performing the RA procedure using the RA partition [Para 119, random access procedure is done using the selected partition].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-4, 6-9, 11-13 and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 14, 15, 26 and 27 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 14, Murray teaches a method of operating a communication device, the method comprising: determining a plurality of random access, RA, partitions configured by a network node in a communications network [Para 89, plurality of partitions for communication]; determining one or more features associated with each of the plurality of RA partitions [Para 89, features with each partition is determined]; determining a set of triggered features that includes one or more features the communication device intends to use to perform a RA procedure to connect to the network node [Para 119-120, determines how connection to network can be done using which partition].
However, Murray does not teach determining that none of the plurality of RA partitions are applicable to performing the RA procedure based on the set of triggered features and the one or more features associated with each of the plurality of RA partitions; and responsive to determining that none of the plurality of RA partitions are applicable to performing the RA procedure, performing at least one of: performing the RA procedure using a RA resource that is not associated with any feature; adjusting the set of triggered features; and classifying a cell of the network node as barred and avoiding connecting and/or camping on the cell.
Above taken with other limitations from the claim and dependent claims is considered novel and non-obvious.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure is cited on form PTO-892.
/Chandrahas B Patel/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2464