DETAILED ACTION
This is a NON-FINAL OFFICE ACTION in response to the present Application filed 10/02/2024. Claim 1-22 have been cancelled.
Claims 23-42 are new and pending in the Application, of which Claims 23, 33 and 39 are independent.
Continuity/ Priority Information
The present Application 18853475 filed 10/02/2024 is a National Stage entry of PCT/CN2022/094857, International Filing Date: 05/25/2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/02/2024 and 12/13/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the IDS has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 23-42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tallam et al. (Pub. No. US 20170091013) Pub. Date: 2017-03-30.
Regarding independent Claims 23, 33 and 39,Tallam discloses a system and method for error reporting in PCIe systems, comprising:
one or more processors; a baseband management controller (BMC) coupled to the one or more processors; [0020] FIGS. 1A and 1B. The PCIe system 100 includes a root complex 110 corresponding to “baseband management controller”, a central processing unit (CPU) 120 corresponding to “processor”, a first endpoint device 130, a second endpoint device 140, and a switch 150. The CPU 120 is coupled to a first root port RP1 of the root complex 110. [0021] The root complex 110 provides a logical point-to-point connection (e.g., “interconnect” or “link”) between devices coupled to its respective root ports RP1-RP4. For example, a PCIe link between root ports RP1 and RP2 may enable the CPU 120 to communicate with endpoint device 130 (e.g., as a “requester” or “completer” of a PCIe transaction).
after a burst of correctable errors reported by a device exceeding an error threshold, instructions to: disable correctable error reporting for the device, wherein the device comprises a peripheral component interconnect express (PCIe); FIG. 4. [0053] The interrupt counter (Count.sub.INT) is compared with a reporting threshold (R_Threshold) to determine whether an error reporting limit has been reached and/or exceed for the corresponding root port (440). If the count value 203 exceeds the reporting threshold (as tested at 440), the root complex 200 may disable interrupt signaling for the corresponding root port (445). For example, while interrupt signaling is disabled for a given root port, the interrupt throwing module 230 may throttle or ignore any BERs received for that root port (e.g., by preventing the signaling of interrupts 204 in response to the received BERs).
wherein the threshold-based error rate monitoring, includes: during periodic error monitoring keeping track of when a correctable error has been logged by the device; FIG. 2. [0032] The interrupt module 220 may receive error messages (EM) 201 via one or more of the root ports RP2-RP4 of the device interface 210. As described above, the error message 201 may include a requester ID and a description of the error. Upon receiving an error message 201, the interrupt module 220 may store the error message 201 in a corresponding partition of the error register 250 associated with the root port at which the error message 201 was received.
distinguishing between persistent and temporal errors associated with the device based on the correctable errors. [0050] As described above, the error message 201 may include a requester ID (e.g., identifying the error-reporting device) and/or a description of the error (e.g., whether the error is a correctable corresponding to “temporal error” or uncorrectable error corresponding to “persistent error”. In some aspects, the interrupt module 220 may store the error message 201 in a corresponding partition (e.g., “RP2,” “RP3,” or “RP4”) of the error register 250 associated with the root port at which the error message 201 was received.
Regarding independent Claims 33 and 39 and dependent Claim 24, Tallam additionally discloses decrementing an error counter in accordance with a leak rate of a leaky bucket implemented by the management controller (BMC) for the device; and incrementing the error counter when a new correctable error has been logged by the device; FIG. 2. [0034] The interrupt throwing module 230 receives the BER 202 and updates an interrupt count value 203 stored in the interrupt counter 260. More specifically, the interrupt throwing module 230 may update the count value 203 associated with the root port identified by the BER 202. For example, upon receiving the BER 202 identifying root port RP2, the interrupt throwing module 230 may increment the count value 203 stored in the “RP2” partition of the interrupt counter 260.
Regarding Claims 25, 26, 34, 35, Tallam discloses wherein after the error counter exceeds a persistent error threshold, identify existence of a persistent error, wherein the persistent error is predictive of an imminent uncorrectable error associated with the device; [0056] If the CE value 205 does not exceed the correctable error threshold (as tested at 470), or if the received BER 202 indicates an uncorrectable error “persistent error” (as tested at 450), the root complex 200 may store the BER 202 in a circular buffer (480) and signal an interrupt to a CPU (490). For example, the interrupt throwing module 230 may add the BER 202 to the back of a BER queue stored in the circular buffer 270. The interrupt throwing module 230 may further signal an interrupt 204 to the CPU. In response to the interrupt 204, the CPU may send a worker thread 212 to the root complex 200 to process (and clear) each BER 202 stored in the circular buffer 270.
Regarding Claims 27, 36, 40, Tallam discloses wherein after the error counter falls to zero: identify the burst of correctable errors as the temporal error; and re-enable correctable error reporting for the device. [0038] Upon clearing all error messages for a particular root port, the worker thread 212 may generate a reset signal 205. The reset signal 205 may identify the particular root port partition of the error register 250 that was recently cleared. The interrupt throttling module 230 receives the reset signal 205 and re-enables interrupt signaling for the corresponding root port (e.g., by unmasking the error register 250 for RP2).
Regarding Claims 28, 37, 41, Tallam discloses wherein correctable errors of the burst of correctable errors are individually reported to a system management interrupt (SMI) handler of a basic input/output system (BIOS) running on the one or more processors. [0051] The root complex 200 generates a basic error report (BER) for the error-detecting root port (420). For example, the interrupt module 220 may generate the BER 202 based on the received error message 201. In some aspects, the BER 202 may contain minimal information about the reported error. For example, the BER 202 may identify the root port (e.g., root port RP2, RP3, or RP4) that received the error message 201 and/or the type of error (e.g., correctable or uncorrectable) indicated by the error message 201. If the count value 203 exceeds the reporting threshold (as tested at 440), the root complex 200 may disable interrupt signaling for the corresponding root port (445).
Regarding Claims 29, 30, 38, 42, Tallam discloses correctable errors reported by the device to a desired notification rate, based on a configurable error monitoring interval that controls the periodic error monitoring. [0048] The root complex 110 selectively performs an interrupt routine based at least in part on the interrupt count for the given root port (330). For example, the interrupt throttling module 112 may compare the interrupt count for the given root port with a reporting threshold for that root port to determine whether an error reporting limit has been reached. If the interrupt count exceeds (or has reached) the reporting threshold, the interrupt throwing module 112 may disable interrupt signaling for the corresponding root port.
Regarding Claims 31, 32, Tallam discloses wherein the device comprises an integrated graphics processing unit (GPU). [0020] FIGS. 1A and 1B show a PCIe system 100a having a central processing unit (CPU) 120.
Prior Art References Cited
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See References Cited on PTO-892 form.
Kuo et al. US 20220334919 [0014] When an error that is correctable based upon a particular ECC scheme implemented by memory subsystem 100 is detected by correctable error detector 124, the correctable error detector provides an ALERT signal to RCD 130, and the RCD forwards the ALERT signal to DDR5 memory controller 110. Similarly, DRAM_B 162 includes a correctable error detector 128 that operates to detect correctable errors in the data received from controller-B 116 and in the data provided to the controller-B. When an error that is correctable is detected by correctable error detector 128, the correctable error detector provides an ALERT signal to RCD 130, and the RCD forwards the ALERT signal to DDR5 memory controller 110.
Habusha et al. US 10,402,252 (33) In some embodiments, events may be errors specified according to a host interface between the host system and the peripheral network processing device, such as PCIe, and may be provided as event indications 406 (e.g., transaction layer errors, data link errors, physical layer errors, and error classifications such as correctable or uncorrectable errors). (34) Event reporting 330 may implement event detection 410 to detect when reporting events have occurred.
Conclusion
/JAMES C KERVEROS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2111
Date: March 3, 2026
Non-Final Rejection 20260219
JAMES C. KERVEROS
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2111
James.Kerveros@USPTO.GOV