/UZMA ALAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2884 DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 6-9, filed 7/28/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 9, 11-13, 15-16, 18-19, 22-25, 27-29, 33-36, 38 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Dijksman et al (US 10481498 B2) and Webb et al (CZ 294252 B6). A Final Rejection is made necessitated by amendment.
Response to Amendment
The amendment submitted 7/28/2026 has been accepted and entered. Claims 9, 29 are amended. New claims 40-41 are added. No claims are further cancelled. Thus, claims 9, 11-13, 15-16, 18-19, 22-25, 27-29, 33-36, 38, 40-41 are examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 9, 11-12, 15-16, 18-19, 22-25, 27-29, 33-34, 36, 38, 40-41 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Dijksman et al (US 10481498 B2).
Regarding claim 9, Dijksman et al discloses a coupling assembly in an extreme ultraviolet EUV) light source target material generator (col. 6, lines 60-col. 7, lines 9), comprising: a first fitting coupled to a second fitting and forming a molten target (molten tin) (col. 12, lines 10-20) material flow conduit (360) (duct) (See Fig. 3 and col. 13, lines 4-29) therebetween that is within the EUV light source target material generator, wherein a seal (coating) (col. 17, lines 17-34) is formed between the first fitting and the second fitting; and a sleeve (coating) disposed along inner walls of the flow conduit and between the seal and the flow conduit (coating helps to reduce surface wear and/or make the surface chemically inert to fuel and any contamination) such that a contaminant trap is formed between the sleeve and the seal (col. 7, lines 56-col. 8, line 5).
Regarding claim 11, Dijksman et al discloses further comprising a sealing device disposed between the first fitting and the second fitting, the sealing device forming the seal between the first fitting and the second fitting (col. 10, lines 7-13).
Regarding claim 12, Dijksman et al discloses wherein the sealing device comprises a gasket placed between the first and second fitting (col. 10, lines 7-13).
Regarding claim 15, Dijksman et al discloses wherein the first and second fitting comprise a refractory metal (i.e. (e.g., titanium, tungsten, molybdenum and rhenium, in general all refractory metals), silicon or a silicon based compound, such as silicon nitride, silicon carbide or for very high pressure application diamond) (col. 9, lines 36-39).
Regarding claim 16, Dijksman et al discloses wherein the refractory metal of the first and second fitting comprises molybdenum (i.e. titanium, tungsten, molybdenum and rhenium) (col. 9, lines 36-39).
Regarding claim 18, Dijksman et al discloses wherein the sleeve is configured to trap contaminants within a region between the sleeve and the inner walls of the flow conduit, some of the contaminants being formed from the interaction between the seal and a target material flowing within the flow conduit (coating helps to reduce surface wear and/or make the surface chemically inert to fuel and any contamination) such that a contaminant trap is formed between the sleeve and the seal (col. 7, lines 56-col. 8, line 5).
Regarding claim 19, Dijksman et al discloses wherein the sleeve includes at least one protrusion that extends across the region and circumferentially contacts an inner wall of the flow conduit (See Fig. 3 and col. 7, lines 56-col. 8, line 5).
Regarding claim 22, Dijksman et al discloses wherein the seal is directly formed between a first conical surface of the first fitting and a second conical surface of the second fitting when the first conical surface and the second conical surface are frictionally engaged (conical inlet) (col. 16, lines 18-31).
Regarding claim 23, Dijksman et al discloses wherein the sleeve is an annular protrusion of the first fitting (col. 17, line 11-16).
Regarding claim 24, Dijksman et al discloses wherein the sleeve is an annular gasket positioned between the first and second fitting (See Fig. 3 and col. 10, lines 7-13).
Regarding claim 25, Dijksman et al discloses wherein further comprising a sealing gasket disposed between the first fitting and the second fitting, the sealing gasket forming the seal between the first fitting and the second fitting (See Fig. 3 and (col. 17, line 11-16).
Regarding claim 27, Dijksman et al discloses wherein the annular gasket is disposed concentrically inside the sealing gasket (See Fig. 3 and col. 10, lines 7-13, col. 17, line 11-16).
Regarding claim 28, Dijksman et al discloses wherein a width of the sealing gasket, when in a relaxed state, is greater than a width of the annular gasket, when in a relaxed state (col. 10, lines 7-13).
Regarding claim 29, Dijksman et al discloses a target material generator (col. 6, lines 60-col. 7, lines 9) for an extreme ultraviolet light source, comprising: a fluid flow path (360) (duct) (See Fig. 3 and col. 13, lines 4-29) between a reservoir system (375) and a nozzle system (383) (col. 10, lines 14-29; and a coupling assembly in the first flow path, the coupling assembly comprising: a first fitting coupled to a second fitting to thereby form a molten target material flow conduit (360) (duct) (See Fig. col. 13, lines 4-29) along the fluid flow path (molten tin) (col. 12, lines 10-20), wherein a seal (coating) (col. 17, lines 17-34 is formed between the first fitting and the second fitting; and a sleeve (coating) disposed along inner walls of the flow conduit and between the seal and the flow conduit such that a contaminant trap is formed between the sleeve and the seal (coating helps to reduce surface wear and/or make the surface chemically inert to fuel and any contamination) such that a contaminant trap is formed between the sleeve and the seal (col. 7, lines 56-col. 8, line 5).
Regarding claim 33, Dijksman et al discloses further comprising a sealing device disposed between the first fitting and the second fitting, the sealing device forming the seal between the first fitting and the second fitting (col. 10, lines 7-13).
Regarding claim 34, Dijksman et al discloses wherein the sealing device comprises a gasket placed between the first and second fitting (col. 10, lines 7-13).
Regarding claim 36, Dijksman et al discloses wherein the first and second fitting comprise a refractory metal (i.e. (e.g., titanium, tungsten, molybdenum and rhenium, in general all refractory metals), silicon or a silicon based compound, such as silicon nitride, silicon carbide or for very high pressure application diamond) (col. 9, lines 36-39).
Regarding claim 38, Dijksman et al discloses wherein the sleeve is configured to trap contaminants within a region between the sleeve disposed and the inner walls of the flow conduit, some of the contaminants being formed from the interaction between the seal and a target material flowing within the flow conduit and along the fluid flow path between the reservoir and the nozzle supply system (col. 7, lines 56-col. 8, line 5).
Regarding claim 40, Dijksman et al discloses wherein: the first fitting defines a first inner wall; the second fitting defines a second inner wall; the second fitting is coupled to and arranged axially relative to the first fitting (See Fig. 3); and the flow conduit (360) (duct) (See Fig. 3 and col. 13, lines 4-29) is formed by and defined by the first inner wall and the second inner wall.
Regarding claim 41, Dijksman et al discloses wherein the sleeve is non-hermetically-sealing, is at least partly inside of the seal, and is arranged inside one or more of the first fitting and the second fitting (col. 10, lines 7-13).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13, 35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dijksman et al (US 10481498 B2) in view of Webb et al (CZ 294252 B6).
Regarding claim 13, Dijksman et al discloses all of the limitations of claim 12, as describes supra however, Dijksman et al is silent with regards to a polyimide gasket. Webb et al discloses wherein the gasket comprises polyimide (i.e. impermeable, non-degradable plastic material such as nylon and polyethylene and other metal parts, etc.). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Dijksman et al of a coupling assembly in an extreme ultraviolet EUV) light source target material generator with Webb et al of a coupling assembly for connecting a dual-wall pipe. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this to improve sealing efficiency, thermal stability, or chemical resistance in high-stress environments.
Regarding claim 35, Dijksman et al discloses all of the limitations of parent claim 29, as describes supra however, Dijksman et al is silent with regards to press fitted or threaded seal as claimed. wherein the first fitting and the second fitting are press fitted together or are threaded together to thereby form the seal at the interface between the first fitting and the second fitting (See Abstract, Section: Detailed Description of the Invention, paragraph 9). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Dijksman et al of a coupling assembly in an extreme ultraviolet EUV) light source target material generator with Webb et al of a coupling assembly for connecting a dual-wall pipe. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this to improve security of seal between fittings.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Bykanov et al (US 8,519,366 B2) discloses a device comprising: a vessel; a material disposed in the vessel for creating an EUV light emitting plasma at a plasma site, the plasma generating debris; a near normal incidence EUV reflective optic disposed in the vessel; and a source of a magnetic field for deflecting debris in the vessel to protect the optic, the source positioned to interpose the optic between the source and the plasma site.
Algots et al (US 7122816 B2) discloses an EUV light source plasma source material handling system and method comprising: a droplet generator having a droplet generator plasma source material reservoir in fluid communication with a droplet formation capillary and maintained within a selected range of temperatures sufficient to keep the plasma source material in a liquid form; a plasma source material supply system having a supply reservoir in fluid communication with the droplet generator plasma source material reservoir and holding at least a replenishing amount of plasma source material in liquid form for transfer to the droplet generator plasma source material reservoir, while the droplet generator is on line; a transfer mechanism transferring liquid plasma source material from the supply reservoir to the droplet generator plasma source material reservoir, while the droplet generator is on line. The supply reservoir may comprise a solid form of the plasma source material used to periodically form from a portion of the material in solid form the material in liquid form.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/F.P.B./Examiner, Art Unit 2884
/UZMA ALAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2884