DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khait et al. (US 2021/0210856) in view of Ye et al. (US 2021/0234279).
In regards to claim 1, Khait discloses of an antenna assembly for an in-vivo device (for example see Paragraphs 0025-0026 and 0036), comprising: a carrier (see dielectric layers 850, 950 and unlabeled in Figs 8, 9A-B, 10, 11A-E, 15-16, 19A-B); a first metal trace (see 860, 870, 996, 994, 1510, 1522 in Figs 8, 9A-B, 10, 11A-E, 15-16) disposed on a first exterior surface of the carrier and including at least one electrical contact configured to electrically couple to a power source (see Paragraphs 0003, 0088); a second metal trace disposed separately from the first metal trace on a second exterior surface of the carrier, the second metal trace including: a plurality of loops coiled around the second exterior surface of the carrier to form a helical antenna (see 810, 820, 910, 920, and other unlabeled coils in Figs 15-16); a first feeding connection (see 802, 902, 1510 and Paragraphs 0064-0066, 0075-0076, 0103-0106, 0114) connected to a first loop of the plurality of loops of the helical antenna; and a second feeding connection (see 804, 904, 1520 and Paragraphs 0064-0066, 0075-0076, 0103-0106, 0114) connected to a second loop of the plurality of loops of the helical antenna, the first and second feeding connections configured to electrically couple the helical antenna to a radiofrequency (RF) power transmitter (816, 916, 1530, see Figs 8, 9A-B, 10, 11A-E, 15-16 and 19A-b)).
However, Khait does not explicitly disclose of wherein the antenna assembly is formed using a laser direct structuring (LDS) process.
Ye discloses of an antenna assembly, wherein the antenna assembly comprises a carrier (10), and wherein antenna coils are formed in a helical shape around the carrier (10, see Figs 1 and 4), and wherein the antenna assembly is manufactured utilizing a laser direct structuring process (see Paragraphs 0022 and 0038).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to before the effective filing date to utilize an LDS process when manufacturing a helical antenna as taught by Ye for improved precision and using a process that is simpler, more stable and reliable process for manufacturing of the antenna.
In regards to claim 2, Khait in view of Ye disclose of the LDS antenna assembly according to claim 1, wherein at least a portion of the second metal trace is disposed on an interior surface of the carrier (for example see 970, and other examples in Figs 9A, 10, 11A-E, 15-16, 19A-B).
In regards to claim 3, Khait in view of Ye disclose of the LDS antenna assembly according to claim 1, wherein the first and second feeding connections extend from a third exterior surface of the carrier (for example see Khait Figs 8, 9A-B, 10, 11A-B, 11D-E, 16).
In regards to claim 4, Khait discloses of the LDS antenna assembly according to claim 1, wherein the first and second feeding connections are configured to increase an impedance of the helical antenna for enabling the helical antenna to receive signals from the RF transmitter (for example see Khait Paragraphs 0059-0060, 0065, 0095, impedance of the feeds is improved, increased and optimized for the antenna assembly).
In regards to claim 5, Khait in view of Ye disclose of the LDS antenna assembly according to claim 1, wherein the first and second feeding connections are configured to electrically couple to a printed circuit board (PCB, for example see Paragraphs 0009-0034, 0059-0083, 0103) having an antenna loop configured to operate as one of the plurality of loops of the helical antenna (see Khait Figs 8, 9A-B, 10, 11A-E, 15-16, 16A-B).
In regards to claim 6, Khait in view of Ye disclose of the LDS antenna assembly according to claim 5, wherein the antenna loop of the PCB is configured to increase an electrical length of the helical antenna (see Khait Figs 8, 9A-B, 11A-E, 15-16, 19A-B).
In regards to claim 7, Khait in view of Ye disclose of the LDS antenna assembly according to claim 1, wherein the helical antenna includes: a first vertical step (see b1-b5 of Khait) interconnecting the first and second loops (see n1-n6 of Khait) of the plurality of loops and configured to vertically space the first loop from the second loop; and a second vertical step (another of b1-b5) interconnecting the second loop and a third loop of the plurality of loops (n1-n6) to vertically space the second loop from the third loop (see Khait Figs 15-16, 19A-B).
In regards to claim 8, Khait in view of Ye disclose of the LDS antenna assembly according to claim 7, wherein the plurality of loops (n1-n6) are parallel to each other and the first and second vertical steps (b1-b5) are perpendicular to the plurality of loops (n1-n6, see Khait Figs 15-16, 19A-B).
In regards to claim 9, Khait in view of Ye disclose of the LDS antenna assembly according to claim 1, wherein the helical antenna includes a via (see Khait 890, 892, 990, 992) received through the second exterior surface of the carrier and configured to couple the second feeding connection to the second loop of the plurality of loops (see Khait Figs 8, 9A-D, 10, 11A-E).
In regards to claim 10, Khait in view of Ye disclose of the LDS antenna assembly according to claim 1, wherein the first metal trace includes a via (see 890, 892 and 990, 992) received through the first exterior surface of the carrier and configured to electrically couple the at least one electrical contact to a mounting member (see 882, 884 and 982, 984) for mounting to a PCB (see Khait Figs 8, 9A-D, 10, 11A-E).
In regards to claim 11, Khait in view of Ye disclose of the LDS antenna assembly according to claim 1, wherein the first and second feeding connections are configured to be soldered to a PCB to electrically couple the helical antenna to the RF power transmitter (see Khait Paragraphs 0063, 0074, 0083, feeds are connected to the soldered mounting members).
In regards to claim 12, Khait discloses of an in-vivo imaging device (for example see Paragraphs 0025-0026 and 0036), comprising: a printed circuit board (PCB, for example see Paragraphs 0009-0034, 0059-0083, 0103); a radiofrequency (RF) transmitter (see 816, 916, 1530) electrically coupled to the PCB; a power source (see Paragraphs 0003, 0088) configured to power the PCB and the RF transmitter (see 816, 916, 1530); an antenna assembly electrically coupled to the PCB and the RF transmitter, the antenna assembly including: a carrier (see dielectric layers 850, 950 and unlabeled in Figs 8, 9A-B, 10, 11A-E, 15-16, 19A-B); at least one electrical contact disposed on a first exterior surface of the carrier and configured to electrically couple the power source to the PCB (see Figs 8, 9A-B, 11A-E, 13, 15-16, 19A-B); and a helical antenna (see 810, 820, 910, 920, and other unlabeled coils in Figs 15-16) having a plurality of loops disposed on and coiled around a second exterior surface of the carrier, the helical antenna including a first feeding connection (see 802, 902, 1510 and Paragraphs 0064-0066, 0075-0076, 0103-0106, 0114) connected to a first portion of the PCB and a second feeding connection (see 804, 904, 1520 and Paragraphs 0064-0066, 0075-0076, 0103-0106, 0114)connected to a second portion of the PCB, wherein the first and second feeding connections are configured to increase an impedance of the helical antenna for enabling the RF transmitter to transmit or receive RF signals through the helical antenna (see Paragraphs 0059-0060, 0065, 0095, impedance of the feeds is improved, increased and optimized for the antenna assembly); and an antenna loop embedded on the PCB and configured to operate as one of the plurality of loops of the helical antenna to increase an electrical length of the helical antenna (see Figs 8, 9A-B, 11A-E, 15-16, 19A-B).
However, Khait does not explicitly disclose of wherein the antenna assembly is formed using a laser direct structuring (LDS) process.
Ye discloses of an antenna assembly, wherein the antenna assembly comprises a carrier (10), and wherein antenna coils are formed in a helical shape around the carrier (10, see Figs 1 and 4), and wherein the antenna assembly is manufactured utilizing a laser direct structuring process (see Paragraphs 0022 and 0038).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to before the effective filing date to utilize an LDS process when manufacturing a helical antenna as taught by Ye for improved precision and using a process that is simpler, more stable and reliable process for manufacturing of the antenna.
In regards to claim 13, Khait in view of Ye disclose of the in-vivo imaging device according to claim 12, wherein the power source includes at least one battery (see Khait Paragraphs 0002-0003, 0025, 0058, 0088).
In regards to claim 14, Khait in view of Ye disclose of the in-vivo imaging device according to claim 12, wherein the antenna loop embedded on the PCB includes: a first feeding point (see 802, 902, 1510) configured to electrically interconnect the RF transmitter (816, 916, 1530) and the first feeding connection of the helical antenna; and a second feeding point (see 804, 904, 1520) configured to electrically interconnect the RF transmitter (816, 916, 1530) and the second feeding connection of the helical antenna (see Khait Figs 8, 9A-D, 10, 11A-E, 15-16 and 19A-B).
In regards to claim 15, Khait in view of Ye disclose of the in-vivo imaging device according to claim 12, wherein the PCB includes: a first connection pad (see Khait 882, 982) electrically coupled to the antenna loop embedded on the PCB, and configured to be soldered (see Khait Paragraphs 0063, 0073) to the first feeding connection (802, 902, 1510) of the helical antenna; and a second connection pad (see 982, 984) electrically coupled to the antenna loop embedded on the PCB, and configured to be soldered (see Paragraphs 0063, 0073) to the second feeding connection (804, 904, 1520) of the helical antenna.
In regards to claim 16, Khait in view of Ye disclose of the in-vivo imaging device according to claim 12, wherein the first exterior surface of the carrier includes at least one aperture therethrough configured to enable inspection of a portion of the PCB disposed underneath the LDS antenna assembly (for example see Figs 16 and 19A-B of Khait).
In regards to claim 17, Khait in view of Ye disclose of the in-vivo imaging device according to claim 12, wherein the helical antenna includes a via (see Khait 890, 892, 990, 992) received through the second exterior surface of the carrier and configured to electrically couple the second feeding connection to the plurality of loops (see Khait Figs 8, 9A-D, 10, 11A-E).
In regards to claim 18, Khait in view of Ye disclose of the in-vivo imaging device according to claim 17, wherein the second feeding connection is electrically coupled to the via (see Khait 890, 892, 990, 992) by a metallized trace disposed on an interior surface of the carrier (see Khait Figs 8, 9A-D, 10, 11A-E).
In regards to claim 19, Khait in view of Ye disclose of the in-vivo imaging device according to claim 12, wherein the first and second feeding connections extend from a third exterior surface of the carrier (for example see Khait Figs 8, 9A-B, 10, 11A-B, 11D-E, 16).
In regards to claim 20, Khait discloses of an antenna assembly for an in-vivo device, comprising: a carrier (see dielectric layers 850, 950 and unlabeled in Figs 8, 9A-B, 10, 11A-E, 15-16, 19A-B); a printed circuit board (PCB, for example see Paragraphs 0009-0034, 0059-0083, 0103); at least one electrical contact disposed on a first exterior surface of the carrier and configured to electrically couple the PCB to a power source (see Figs 8, 9A-B, 11A-E, 13, 15-16, 19A-B); and a helical antenna (see 810, 820, 910, 920, and other unlabeled coils in Figs 15-16) having a plurality of loops disposed on and coiled around a second exterior surface of the carrier, the helical antenna including a first feeding connection (see 802, 902, 1510 and Paragraphs 0064-0066, 0075-0076, 0103-0106, 0114) configured to connect to a first portion of the PCB and a second feeding connection (see 804, 904, 1520 and Paragraphs 0064-0066, 0075-0076, 0103-0106, 0114) configured to connect to a second portion of the PCB, wherein the first and second feeding connections are configured to increase an impedance of the helical antenna (see Paragraphs 0059-0060, 0065, 0095, impedance of the feeds is improved, increased and optimized for the antenna assembly); and an antenna loop embedded on the PCB and configured to operate as one of the plurality of loops of the helical antenna to increase an electrical length of the helical antenna (see Figs 8, 9A-B, 11A-E, 15-16, 19A-B).
However, Khait does not explicitly disclose of wherein the antenna assembly is formed using a laser direct structuring (LDS) process.
Ye discloses of an antenna assembly, wherein the antenna assembly comprises a carrier (10), and wherein antenna coils are formed in a helical shape around the carrier (10, see Figs 1 and 4), and wherein the antenna assembly is manufactured utilizing a laser direct structuring process (see Paragraphs 0022 and 0038).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to before the effective filing date to utilize an LDS process when manufacturing a helical antenna as taught by Ye for improved precision and using a process that is simpler, more stable and reliable process for manufacturing of the antenna.
In regards to claim 21, Khait in view of Ye disclose of the LDS antenna assembly of claim 20, wherein at least a portion of the helical antenna is disposed on an interior surface of the carrier (for example see 970, and other examples in Figs 9A, 10, 11A—E, 15-16, 19A-B).
In regards to claim 22, Khait in view of Ye disclose of the LDS antenna assembly of claim 20, wherein the first and second feeding connections extend from a third exterior surface of the carrier (for example see Khait Figs 8, 9A-B, 10, 11A-B, 11D-E, 16).
In regards to claim 23, Khait in view of Ye disclose of the LDS antenna assembly of claim 20, wherein the first and second feeding connections are configured to increase an impedance of the helical antenna for enabling the helical antenna to receive signals from a RF transmitter connected thereto (for example see Khait Paragraphs 0059-0060, 0065, 0095, impedance of the feeds is improved, increased and optimized for the antenna assembly).
In regards to claim 24, Khait in view of Ye disclose of the LDS antenna assembly of claim 20, wherein the helical antenna includes: a first vertical step (for example see b1-5 of Khait) interconnecting the first and second loops (for example see n1-n6 of Khait) of the plurality of loops and configured to vertically space the first loop from the second loop; and a second vertical step (for example another of b1-b5 of Khait) interconnecting the second loop and a third loop of the plurality of loops to vertically space the second loop from the third loop (for see steps b1-b5 and loops n1-n6 of Khait Figs 15-16, 19A-B).
In regards to claim 25, Khait in view of Ye disclose of the LDS antenna assembly of claim 24, wherein the plurality of loops (n1-n6 of Khait) are parallel to each other and the first and second vertical steps (b1-b5 of Khait) are perpendicular to the plurality of loops (see Khait Figs 15-16, 19A-B).
In regards to claim 26, Khait in view of Ye disclose of the LDS antenna assembly of claim 20, wherein the helical antenna includes a via (see 890, 892 and 990, 992) received through the second exterior surface of the carrier and configured to couple the second feeding connection to the second loop of the plurality of loops (see Khait Figs 8, 9A-D, 10, 11A-E).
In regards to claim 27, Khait in view of Ye disclose of the LDS antenna assembly of claim 20, wherein the at least one electrical contact includes a via (see Khait 890, 892 and 990, 992) received through the first exterior surface of the carrier and configured to electrically couple the at least one electrical contact to a mounting member (see 882, 884 and 982, 984) for mounting the at least one electrical contact to the PCB (see Khait Figs 8, 9A-D, 10, 11A-E).
In regards to claim 28, Khait in view of Ye disclose of the LDS antenna assembly of claim 20, wherein the first and second feeding connections are soldered to the PCB to electrically couple the helical antenna to a RF power transmitter (see Khait Paragraphs 0063, 0074, 0083, feeds are connected to the soldered mounting members).
Conclusion
/JASON M CRAWFORD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2844