CTNF 18/853,717 CTNF 87108 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 - Indefinite 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. 07-34-01 Claims 5, 6, 16, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 5 recites: 5. The pluggable device of claim 1, wherein the one or more optical components of the host network device comprise co-packaged optics. This claim appears to further limit the host device. However, the host device does not appear to be a required limitation of the claimed pluggable device (see claim 1). Therefore, this claim appears to recite only non-limiting intended use and, as a result, it is not clear how to interpret this claim. Claim 6 recites: 7. The pluggable device of claim 5, wherein the pluggable device supports a connection from the co-packaged optics of the host network device, through the O-E-O converter and the line-side external optical interface, to a remote network device of 500 meters or more without an external transponder interposed between the pluggable device and the remote network device . The underlined portion recites desired results with reciting particular structure for achieving these results. As a result, it is not clear what structure is within the scope of this claim. For the purposes of this Action, the underlined portion of the claim will be interpreted as non-limiting intended use. If something is required, then the Examiner suggests reciting the additional structure in the claim. Claim 16 recites: 16. The optical device of claim 9, wherein the first plurality of light-carrying media are coupled with co-packaged optics of the host network device. This claim appears to further limit the light-carrying media and optics of the host device. However, these elements do not appear to be a required limitation of the claimed pluggable device (see claim 9). Therefore, this claim appears to recite only non-limiting intended use and, as a result, it is not clear how to interpret this claim. Claim 18 , last two paragraphs recites: wherein when a first type of pluggable device is received into an inserted position in any of the plurality of receptacles, an electrical connector of the first type of pluggable device is electrically coupled with a corresponding host electrical connector of the plurality of host electrical connectors; wherein when a second type of pluggable device is received into the inserted position in any of the one or more optical-enabled receptacles ... It is not clear if the first type and the second type of pluggable devices are required elements. Based on the Examiner’s understanding of the application, these elements do not appear to be part of the claimed network device. Furthermore, if the first and second types of pluggable devices are required elements, then it is not clear what particular structure is required because the claim recites desired functionality and does not recite the particular structure for the first and second types of pluggable devices. For the purposes of this Action, the first and second pluggable devices, and the associated functionality, will be interpreted as non-limiting intended use. If this language is intended to recite particular structure that is required in the claim, then the Examiner suggests amending the claim to clearly recite that particular structure. If Applicant wants to claim the functionality but does not want to recite the particular structure, then the Examiner suggests writing the claim in means plus function form. Claim 19 recites: 19. The network device of claim 18, wherein the second type of pluggable device comprises a bidirectional optical-to-electrical-to-optical (O-E-O) converter coupled between the optical connector and a line-side external optical interface, the O-E-O converter to receive the electrical power from the network device via the host electrical connector. This claim appears to only limit the second type of optical device, which does not appear to be a required element of the network device. Therefore, this claim appears to recite only non-limiting intended use and, as a result, it is not clear how to interpret this claim. Claim 20 recites: 20, Coli teaches the network device of claim 19, further comprising: co-packaged optics optically coupled with the one or more host optical connectors, wherein the second type of pluggable device supports a connection from the co-packaged optics, through the O-E-O converter and the line-side external optical interface, to a remote network device of 500 meters or more without an external transponder interposed between the optical device and the remote network device. This is rejected for the reasons discussed in claim 6. For the purposes of this Action, the underlined portion of the claim will be interpreted as non-limiting intended use. Claims 19-20 are also rejected because they depend from claim 18 and they fail to further limit the scope in a manner to overcome the rejections. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 - Failure to Further Limit 07-36 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(d): (d) REFERENCE IN DEPENDENT FORMS.—Subject to subsection (e), a claim in dependent form shall contain a reference to a claim previously set forth and then specify a further limitation of the subject matter claimed. A claim in dependent form shall be construed to incorporate by reference all the limitations of the claim to which it refers. The following is a quotation of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, fourth paragraph: Subject to the following paragraph [i.e., the fifth paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112], a claim in dependent form shall contain a reference to a claim previously set forth and then specify a further limitation of the subject matter claimed. A claim in dependent form shall be construed to incorporate by reference all the limitations of the claim to which it refers. 07-36-01 AIA Claim 5, 16, and 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 5 only appears to further limit the host device. However, the host device does not appear to be a required limitation of the claimed pluggable device (see claim 1). Therefore, this claim does not appear to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 16 only appears to further limit the light carrying media and host optics. However, these elements do not appear to be a required limitation of the claimed optical device. See the 112(b) discussion of claim 16. Therefore, this claim does not appear to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 19 only appears to further limit the second type of pluggable device. However, the second type of pluggable device does not appear to be a required limitation of the claimed network device. See the 112(b) discussion of claim 18. Therefore, this claim does not appear to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends . Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 - Obvious 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 1, 2, 6, 7-12 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2013/0129340 ( Coli ) and US 2017/0295417 ( Chanclou ) and US 11,677,164 ( Fermelis ) . Regarding claim 1 , Coli teaches a pluggable device (FIG. 2: device 102) usable with a host network device (FIG. 1: device 102 with host card 104) , the pluggable device comprising: a housing; a host-side external optical interface (FIG. 2: optical interface 213, 215 at host side; FIG. 1: Host Card 104 illustrated with reference to O-E-O device 102; see also FIG. 3) at a first end of the housing to be removably inserted into a receptacle of the host network device, wherein when the first end of the housing is in an inserted position, the host-side external optical interface is optically coupled with one or more optical components of the host network device; a line-side external optical interface at an opposing second end (FIG. 2: optical interface 201, 227; see also FIGS. 1 and 3) of the housing; a bidirectional optical-to-electrical-to-optical (O-E-O) converter within the housing, the O-E-O converter coupled between the host-side external optical interface and the line-side external optical interface (FIG. 2: optical transmitters and receivers 211, 217, 202, 225) ; and a host-side external electrical interface at the first end of the housing, wherein when the first end of the housing is in the inserted position, the O-E-O converter receives electrical power from the host network device via the host-side external electrical interface (FIG. 2: electrical interface 233; [0039]) . FIG. 2 is reproduced for reference. PNG media_image1.png 562 772 media_image1.png Greyscale See also: [0031] The DOEC module 102 is configured to receive an optical signal from a fiber included in a corresponding fiber link 112 (FIG. 1) through a fiber-side optical port 201 at a fiber-side receiver 202. The fiber-side receiver 202 acts as an opto-electric transducer by transforming the optical signal into an electrical signal 204A. The electrical signal 204A may then be provided to one or more optional integrated circuits 203 including one or more of a receive post amplifier 205, a receive clock and data recovery 207 (CDR), and a receive laser driver 209. Alternately or additionally, the integrated circuit 203 may include a transmit post amplifier 219, a transmit CDR 221, and a transmit laser driver 223. The integrated circuit 203 including the receive post amplifier 205, the receive CDR 207, the receive laser driver 209, the transmit post amplifier 219, the transmit CDR 221 and the transmit laser driver 223 may be integrated in the same chip, may be implemented in separate chips, or any combination thereof. See also FIG. 3 which more clearly illustrates the OEO devices. PNG media_image2.png 506 700 media_image2.png Greyscale Removably Inserted . Coli at FIG. 1 illustrates of DOEC devices 102 inserted into the host device 104. PNG media_image3.png 452 882 media_image3.png Greyscale Furthermore, it was known that optical connections can be removable. See, for example, Chanclou : [0021] By virtue of this aspect, the device is an item independent of the port of the OLT, thereby enabling the use of existing standards of optoelectronic connection technology such as those available in plug-in optoelectronic modules of XFP or SFP+ type. Optoelectronic modules such as these are moreover inexpensive. ... [0056] Such a device XFPx comprises the following elements or modules: [0057] an optical connector OC1 able to connect an optical fiber OF1 in a removable manner ; [0058] an optical connector OC2 able to connect an optical fiber OF2 in a removable manner ; the connectors OC1 and OC2 are for example of LC type, thereby making it possible for the optical fibers OF1 and OF2 to be connected and disconnected easily and independently ; With this in mind, it would have been obvious that the interface can be of a known type, such as a removeable interface/receptacle. In particular, both references are in the same technical field (e.g., optical communications) and the results would have been predictable. Electrical Interface and Power Supply . FIG. 2 illustrates an electrical interface 233 on the host side (see FIG. 2). Coli also teaches that the electrical interface can be used for supplying power. See: [0039] Although not required, the DOEC module 102 illustrated in FIG. 2 may optionally provide a low-speed electrical interface including the one or more pins 233 as one component of the management interface. The pins 233 communicate low-speed data with the external host 100 to allow for digital diagnostic monitoring and readings of temperature levels, transmit/receive power levels, in addition to power supply . The pins 233 communicate with the host (see [0039]) and, to the extent it is not explicit, it would have been obvious that the pins are connected to the host. Therefore, it would have been obvious that the other functions of the pins (e.g., power) are also via the host. Housing . It was well-known that electrical and optical devices can include a housing and the Examiner takes Official Notice thereof. As a result, it would have been obvious that the device of Coli can be implemented in a known manner, such as with a housing. External Interfaces . To the extent it is not explicit, it would have been obvious that the interfaces can be external. In particular, external interfaces are easier to access than internal interfaces. Regarding claim 2 , Coli teaches the pluggable device of claim 1, wherein the O-E-O converter defines: a transmit path comprising: a transmitter comprising electronic circuitry (FIG. 2: electronic circuitry including post amp 219, CDR 221, and laser driver 223; see [0033]) ; a first optical-to-electrical (O-E) converter between the host-side external optical interface and the transmitter (FIG. 2: Rx 217; see [0035]) ; and a first electrical-to-optical (E-O) converter between the transmitter and the line-side external optical interface (FIG. 2: laser tx 225; see [0033]) ; and a receive path comprising: a receiver comprising electronic circuitry (FIG. 2: electronic circuitry including post amp 205, CDR 207, and laser driver 209) ; a second O-E converter between the line-side external optical interface and the receiver (FIG. 2: Rx 202) ; and a second E-O converter between the receiver and the host-side external optical interface (FIG. 2: Tx 211) . FIG. 2 is reproduced for reference. PNG media_image1.png 562 772 media_image1.png Greyscale Regarding claim 6 , Coli teaches the pluggable device of claim 5, wherein the pluggable device supports a connection from the co-packaged optics of the host network device, through the O-E-O converter and the line-side external optical interface, to a remote network device of 500 meters or more without an external transponder interposed between the pluggable device and the remote network device. Coli at FIG. 2 illustrates connections between a host device and a line-side device, through an OEO converter. See the discussion of claim 1 and 2. The Examiner notes that the “500 meters or more without an external transponder ...” is interpreted as non-limiting intended use. See the discussion under 112(b) above. Also, the “co-packaged optics of the host network device” language is also interpreted as non-limiting intended use because the optics of the host network device do not appear to be required elements of the claimed pluggable device. Regarding claim 7 , Coli teaches the pluggable device of claim 2, wherein the host-side external optical interface is configured to connect with the host network device via a first plurality of light-carrying media (FIG. 1: plural optical media between Host 104 and OEO TRxs 102) , wherein the first O-E converter comprises: a plurality of photodiodes corresponding to the first plurality of light- carrying media (FIG. 2: Rx 217) ; and amplifier circuitry between the plurality of photodiodes and the transmitter (FIG. 2: Amp 219) . FIG. 1 is reproduced for reference. PNG media_image3.png 452 882 media_image3.png Greyscale FIG. 1 illustrates plural OEO transceivers 102, each connected to the host and the line side devices with light carrying media (e.g., fiber). See also: [0021] In general, the host card 104 may be configured to transmit data to and receive data from a network over fiber links 112 , each of which may include one or more optical fibers . Alternately, in systems that implement wavelength division multiplexing (WDM), each of the fiber links 112 may include a distinct wavelength channel on the same optical fiber. The data communicated over the fiber links 112 may be variously embodied as high bandwidth electrical data signals 114 between the ASIC/PHY chip 106 and the e/o chip 108, high bandwidth optical data signals 116, 118 between the e/o chip 108 and the DOEC modules 102, and high bandwidth optical data signals (not shown) communicated on the fiber links 112. The high bandwidth optical data signals 116, 118 include receive optical signals 116 and transmit optical signals 118 [0023] The e/o chip 108 is configured to convert the electrical transmit signals received from the ASIC/PHY chip 106 to transmit optical signals 118 included in the high bandwidth optical data signals 116, 118. Optionally, each of the transmit optical signals 118 may be communicated via respective ports 110 and over an optical fiber or other waveguide (not shown) to respective DOEC modules 102. In other words, plural light-carrying media was taught. FIG. 1 also illustrates plural OEO transceivers 102 connected with plural light carrying media. From this it would ahve Regarding the PDs, see: [0035] Each of the fiber-side receiver 202 and the host-side receiver 217 may include any suitable optical receiver for converting optical signals to electrical signals. For instance, each of the fiber-side receiver 202 and the host-side receiver 217 may include, but is not limited to, a PIN photodiode, an avalanche photodiode, or the like . In other words, Coli teaches the use of light carrying media, PDs, and amps. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to duplicate components and connections of an OEO transceiver 102, or to combine two or more OEO Trx 102 devices, such as when more capacity is needed. This will result in a device with plural light carrying media, plural PDs, and plural amps as recited in the claim. Regarding claim 8 , Coli teaches the pluggable device of claim 2, wherein the host-side external optical interface is further configured to connect with the host network device via a second plurality of light-carrying media wherein the second E-O converter comprises: a plurality of laser diodes corresponding to the second plurality of light-carrying media (FIG. 2: laser 211) ; and laser driver circuitry between the receiver and the plurality of laser diodes (FIG. 2: laser driver 209) . Coli teaches the use of lasers. See: [0036] Each of the host side transmitter 211 and the fiber-side transmitter 225 may include any suitable optical transmitter for converting electrical signals to optical signals. For instance, each of the host-side transmitter 211 and the fiber-side transmitter 225 may include, but is not limited to, a Fabry-Perot (FP) laser, a distributed feedback (DFB) laser, a distributed Bragg reflector (DBR) laser, a vertical cavity surface emitting laser (VCSEL), or the like . Furthermore, lasers implemented as laser diodes were well-known and the Examiner takes Official Notice thereof. It would have been obvious that the lasers taught in Coli can be implemented in a known manner, such as a laser diode. Regarding the duplication of light carrying media, laser diodes, and driver circuits, this would have been obvious. See claim 7. Regarding claim 9 , Coli teaches an optical device usable with a host network device, the optical device comprising: a body; a host-side external interface to the body, the host-side external interface comprising: a first external optical interface to couple with a first plurality of light-carrying media of the host network device (FIG. 2: optical interfaces 213, 215; FIG. 1: optical ports 110 and fiber 116 connected to optical interface of OEO TRx device 102; see [0026]) ; and an external electrical interface (FIG. 1: electrical interface including pins 233) ; a line-side external interface to the body, the line-side external interface comprising: a second external optical interface to couple with a remote network device via one or more light-carrying media (FIG. 2: optical interface 201, 227; FIG. 1: OEO TRx 102 coupled to light-carrying media 112) ; and a bidirectional optical-to-electrical-to-optical (O-E-O) converter within the body and coupled between the first external optical interface and the second external optical interface, the O-E-O converter to receive electrical power from the host network device via the external electrical interface (FIG. 2: OEO converter 211, 217, 202, 225; see [0039] regarding electrical power via electrical interface 233) . PNG media_image1.png 562 772 media_image1.png Greyscale This device is similar to the device in claim 1. See the more-detailed discussion of the art in claim 1. Regarding the use of the “body”, this would have been obvious (see the discussion of the “housing” in claim 1). Regarding claim 10 , Coli teaches the optical device of claim 9, wherein the O-E-O converter comprises: a transceiver comprising electronic circuitry to receive electrical power from the host network device via the external electrical interface (FIG. 2: transceiver 203 and receiving power from pins 233; [0039]) ; a plurality of optical-to-electrical (O-E) converters within the body, wherein the plurality of O-E converters comprises a respective O-E converter between the transceiver and each of the first external optical interface and the second external optical interface (FIG. 2: Rx 202, 217) ; and a plurality of electrical-to-optical (E-O) converters within the body, wherein the plurality of E-O converters comprises a respective E-O converter between the transceiver and each of the first external optical interface and the second external optical interface (FIG. 2: Tx 211, 225) . Electrical Interface and Power Supply . FIG. 2 illustrates an electrical interface 233 on the host side, and Coli also teaches that the electrical interface can be used for supplying power. See: [0039] Although not required, the DOEC module 102 illustrated in FIG. 2 may optionally provide a low-speed electrical interface including the one or more pins 233 as one component of the management interface. The pins 233 communicate low-speed data with the external host 100 to allow for digital diagnostic monitoring and readings of temperature levels, transmit/receive power levels, in addition to power supply . The pins 233 communicate with the host (see [0039]) and, to the extent it is not explicit, it would have been obvious that the pins are connected to the host. Therefore, it would have been obvious that the other functions of the pins (e.g., power) are also via the host. Regarding claim 11 Coli teaches the optical device of claim 9, wherein the first external optical interface and the external electrical interface are included in separate host-side connectors. It was well-known that electrical and optical connectors can be integrated together or made in separate connectors, and the Examiner takes Official Notice thereof. It would have been obvious that the optical and electrical connectors or Coli can be implemented in a known manner, such as with the electrical and optical interfaces in separate connectors. Regarding claim 12 , Coli teaches the optical device of claim 9, wherein the first external optical interface and the external electrical interface are integrated in a single host-side connector. It was well-known that electrical and optical connectors can be integrated together or made in separate connectors, and the Examiner takes Official Notice thereof. It would have been obvious that the optical and electrical connectors or Coli can be implemented in a known manner, such as with the electrical and optical interfaces in a single connector. Regarding claim 17 , Coli teaches the optical device of claim 16, wherein the optical device supports a connection from the co-packaged optics of the host network device, through the O-E-O converter and the second external optical interface, to the remote network device of 500 meters or more without an external transponder interposed between the optical device and the remote network device. As discussed above, Coli teaches an optical device 102 that supports a connection between the host and the line device via the optical interface 215, PD 217, transceiver 203, Tx 225 and optical interface 227. The language “500 meters or more without an external transponder ...” is interpreted as non-limiting intended use . 07-22-aia AIA Claim (s) 3 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the art as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 11,677,164 ( Fermelis ) . Regarding claim 3 , Fermelis teaches the pluggable device of claim 1, wherein when the first end of the housing is in the inserted position, the host-side external optical interface is electrically coupled with one or more electrical components of the host network device. Fermelis at FIG. 3A illustrates a housing 300 including plural adaptors 320. PNG media_image4.png 600 638 media_image4.png Greyscale See also the middle of col. 5: (26) As shown in FIG. 3A, the exterior portion 300 includes a plurality of angled tiered platforms 310, with each platform configured to retain a row of adapters 320 . In this example, four angled platforms are shown, each with three adaptors per platform, but alternate embodiments may include more or fewer platforms, and more or fewer adaptors per platform. In this example, the plurality of angled tiered platforms 310 are angled toward the bottom of the enclosure. Among other things, this assists an installer (usually standing below the hybrid distribution unit 50 on a ladder or other support) to connect or disconnect cabling to the adaptors 320. FIG. 3C illustrates an embodiment of the adaptor 320 that includes connections for optical fiber and electrical power. PNG media_image5.png 406 436 media_image5.png Greyscale See also the middle of col. 5: (27) FIG. 3C illustrates a detailed view of the terminals of a hybrid adaptor 320 that may be used in conjunction with embodiments of the present disclosure. In alternate embodiments, hybrid distribution units of the present disclosure may operate in conjunction with adaptors of any suitable size, shape, and configuration . In the example depicted in FIG. 3C, adaptor 320 includes a pair of power terminals 350 , corresponding to an input power terminal and return power terminal as discussed above. The adaptor 320 further includes fiber optic connectors 360 . The power terminals 350 and fiber optic terminals 360 connect to the power cables and fiber optic cables, respectively , as shown in the interior view of the hybrid distribution unit 50 in FIG. 2A. For example, power jumper cables (e.g., power jumper cable 225) and fiber optic jumper cables (e.g., fiber optic jumper cable 226) plug into the ends of power terminals 350 and fiber optic terminals 360, respectively. FIG. 3D illustrates an example of a hybrid cable that may be used to connect to the adaptors 320. In this example, the hybrid RRU jumper cable includes supply power (−48) and return (RTN) power lines, along with fiber optic connectors 360. There are two pairs of fiber optic connectors 360 in this example, one pair for the top set of connectors 360 and one for the pair for the bottom set of connectors 360 shown in FIG. 3C. In other words, this teaches receptables/connectors with optical and electrical connections. As a result, when a connector is inserted, the both optical and electrical coupling will be accomplished. With this in mind, it would have been obvious that the device can be implemented in a known manner, such as with connectors as taught in Fermelis . In particular, Fermelis is in the same technical field (e.g., optical communications) and the results would have been predictable. Regarding claim 4 , Fermelis teaches the pluggable device of claim 3, wherein the host-side external optical interface and the host-side external electrical interface are integrated in a single host-side connector (FIG. 3C) . See the discussion of claim 3 . 07-22-aia AIA Claim (s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the art as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of US 4,709,414 ( So ) . Regarding claim 13 , So teaches the optical device of claim 9, further comprising: a pigtail extending from the body to the host-side external interface. Pigtails were known in the art to be fibers extending from a device. See, for example, So at col. 3: (2) With reference to FIG. 1 an order wire system is shown installed between two central offices 10. The system includes a dedicated optical fiber 11 which extends between the central offices 10, passing through splice enclosures 12 at predetermined locations on the way. Each splice enclosure includes a splice 13 comprising a first connector 14 terminating one portion of the optical fiber 11 and a second, mating connector 15, carried on the end of a fiber element 16 known as a pigtail which terminates an adjacent portion of the optical fiber 11 . When connectors 14 and 15 are mated the respective splice 13 simply interconnects adjacent portions of the optical fiber 11. However, if it is desired to tap into the optical fiber at specific locations, one simply disconnects the connectors 14 and 15 at those locations and connects at these locations interface boxes 17 each of which has a voice communication handset 18. More specifically, each interface box 17 has a connector 20 adapted to mate with connector 15 and a connector 21 on the end of a pigtail fiber 22 , which connector 21 is adapted to mate with connector 14. It would have been obvious that the device of claim 9 can be implemented in a known manner, such as by using a pigtail extending for a connection, as taught in So . In particular, So is in the same technical field (e.g., optical communications) and the results would have been obvious . 07-22-aia AIA Claim (s) 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the art as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of US 11,677,164 ( Fermelis ) . Regarding claim 14 , Coli teaches the optical device of claim 13, wherein the body is contoured to receive a connectorized optical cable at the second external optical interface. Fermelis at FIG. 3A illustrates a housing/body 300 including optical cable adapters/connectors 320. PNG media_image4.png 600 638 media_image4.png Greyscale See also the middle of col. 5: (26) As shown in FIG. 3A, the exterior portion 300 includes a plurality of angled tiered platforms 310, with each platform configured to retain a row of adapters 320 . In this example, four angled platforms are shown, each with three adaptors per platform, but alternate embodiments may include more or fewer platforms, and more or fewer adaptors per platform. In this example, the plurality of angled tiered platforms 310 are angled toward the bottom of the enclosure. Among other things, this assists an installer (usually standing below the hybrid distribution unit 50 on a ladder or other support) to connect or disconnect cabling to the adaptors 320. FIG. 3C illustrates an embodiment of the adaptor 320 that includes connectors for optical fiber and electrical power. PNG media_image5.png 406 436 media_image5.png Greyscale See also the middle of col. 5: (27) FIG. 3C illustrates a detailed view of the terminals of a hybrid adaptor 320 that may be used in conjunction with embodiments of the present disclosure. In alternate embodiments, hybrid distribution units of the present disclosure may operate in conjunction with adaptors of any suitable size, shape, and configuration . In the example depicted in FIG. 3C, adaptor 320 includes a pair of power terminals 350 , corresponding to an input power terminal and return power terminal as discussed above. The adaptor 320 further includes fiber optic connectors 360 . The power terminals 350 and fiber optic terminals 360 connect to the power cables and fiber optic cables, respectively , as shown in the interior view of the hybrid distribution unit 50 in FIG. 2A. For example, power jumper cables (e.g., power jumper cable 225) and fiber optic jumper cables (e.g., fiber optic jumper cable 226) plug into the ends of power terminals 350 and fiber optic terminals 360, respectively. FIG. 3D illustrates an example of a hybrid cable that may be used to connect to the adaptors 320. In this example, the hybrid RRU jumper cable includes supply power (−48) and return (RTN) power lines, along with fiber optic connectors 360. There are two pairs of fiber optic connectors 360 in this example, one pair for the top set of connectors 360 and one for the pair for the bottom set of connectors 360 shown in FIG. 3C. In other words, this teaches receptables/connectors with optical connections. As a result, when a connector is inserted, the both optical and electrical coupling will be accomplished. Fermelis at FIGS. 3A and 3C also illustrates that the housing is shaped or contoured to accommodate the connectors, and it would have been obvious that the body is contoured to receive the connectorized optical cable. With this in mind, it would have been obvious that the device can be implemented in a known manner, such as with optical connectors as taught in Fermelis . In particular, Fermelis is in the same technical field (e.g., optical communications) and the results would have been predictable. Regarding claim 15 , Coli teaches the optical device of claim 9, wherein the body is contoured to receive a first connectorized optical cable at the first external optical interface, and to receive a second connectorized optical cable at the second external optical interface. Fermelis teaches connectorized optical cables at a housing and it would have been obvious that the housing/body is contoured to receive those optical cables and connectors. See the discussion of Fermelis in claim 14 . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 18 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2013/0129340 ( Coli ) and US 2017/0295417 ( Chanclou ) and US 11,677,164 ( Fermelis ) . Regarding claim 18 , Coli teaches a network device comprising: a housing defining an interior volume; a plurality of receptacles extending from a surface of the housing into the interior volume; a plurality of host electrical connectors arranged at the plurality of receptacles (FIG. 2: electrical connectors 233) ; and one or more host optical connectors arranged at one or more optical-enabled receptacles of the plurality of receptacles (FIG. 2: host optical connectors 213, 215) , wherein when a first type of pluggable device is received into an inserted position in any of the plurality of receptacles, an electrical connector of the first type of pluggable device is electrically coupled with a corresponding host electrical connector of the plurality of host electrical connectors; wherein when a second type of pluggable device is received into the inserted position in any of the one or more optical-enabled receptacles: (1) an electrical connector of the second type of pluggable device is electrically coupled with a corresponding host electrical connector of the plurality of host electrical connectors such that the network device provides electrical power to the second type of pluggable device, and (2) an optical connector of the second type of pluggable device is optically coupled with a corresponding host optical connector of the one or more host optical connectors. This claim is rejected under 112(b) as discussed above. However, in the interests of compact prosecution, this rejection is presented. Host Electrical Connectors . Coli at FIG. 2 illustrates electrical connectors 233 to the Host. From this it would have been obvious that there are corresponding electrical connectors in the Host. See also the electrical connectors corresponding to the Control Module 229. Host Optical Connectors . Coli at FIG. 2 illustrates optical connectors 213, 215 to the Host. From this it would have been obvious that there are corresponding optical connectors in the Host. Housing and Receptacles. In addition to the teachings of Coli and Chanclou (see the discussion of claim 1), Fermelis at FIG. 3A illustrates a housing 300 including plural adaptors 320 allowing access to the interior of the housing. PNG media_image4.png 600 638 media_image4.png Greyscale See also the middle of col. 5: (26) As shown in FIG. 3A, the exterior portion 300 includes a plurality of angled tiered platforms 310, with each platform configured to retain a row of adapters 320 . In this example, four angled platforms are shown, each with three adaptors per platform, but alternate embodiments may include more or fewer platforms, and more or fewer adaptors per platform. In this example, the plurality of angled tiered platforms 310 are angled toward the bottom of the enclosure. Among other things, this assists an installer (usually standing below the hybrid distribution unit 50 on a ladder or other support) to connect or disconnect cabling to the adaptors 320. Furthermore, the housing obviously defines an interior volume. FIG. 3C illustrates an embodiment of the adaptor 320 that includes connections for optical fiber and electrical power. PNG media_image5.png 406 436 media_image5.png Greyscale See also the middle of col. 5: (27) FIG. 3C illustrates a detailed view of the terminals of a hybrid adaptor 320 that may be used in conjunction with embodiments of the present disclosure. In alternate embodiments, hybrid distribution units of the present disclosure may operate in conjunction with adaptors of any suitable size, shape, and configuration . In the example depicted in FIG. 3C, adaptor 320 includes a pair of power terminals 350 , corresponding to an input power terminal and return power terminal as discussed above. The adaptor 320 further includes fiber optic connectors 360 . The power terminals 350 and fiber optic terminals 360 connect to the power cables and fiber optic cables, respectively , as shown in the interior view of the hybrid distribution unit 50 in FIG. 2A. For example, power jumper cables (e.g., power jumper cable 225) and fiber optic jumper cables (e.g., fiber optic jumper cable 226) plug into the ends of power terminals 350 and fiber optic terminals 360, respectively. FIG. 3D illustrates an example of a hybrid cable that may be used to connect to the adaptors 320. In this example, the hybrid RRU jumper cable includes supply power (−48) and return (RTN) power lines, along with fiber optic connectors 360. There are two pairs of fiber optic connectors 360 in this example, one pair for the top set of connectors 360 and one for the pair for the bottom set of connectors 360 shown in FIG. 3C. In other words, this teaches receptables/connectors with optical and electrical connections. Furthermore, as stated in paragraph “(27)” reproduced above, Fermelis teaches that “any size, shape, and configuration” is contemplated. With this in mind, it would have been obvious that the device can be implemented in a known manner, such as that taught in Fermelis . For example, it would have been obvious to implement the device with a housing that defines an interior volume, and with different configurations of connector/receptables/pluggable devices, including those with both electrical and optical connections, and those with only electrical or only optical connections. In particular, Fermelis is in the same technical field (e.g., optical communications) and the results would have been predictable. Regarding claim 19 , Coli teaches the network device of claim 18, wherein the second type of pluggable device comprises a bidirectional optical-to-electrical-to-optical (O-E-O) converter coupled between the optical connector and a line-side external optical interface, the O-E-O converter to receive the electrical power from the network device via the host electrical connector. This claim is rejected under 112(b). However, in the interests of compact prosecution, the following rejection is presented. Coli at FIG. 2 illustrates a bidirectional OEO converter between the optical interfaces on the host and line sides. See the discussion of similar language in claim 1. Coli at FIG. 2 illustrates the OEO converter receiving electrical power via the host electrical connector (i.e., pins 233). See a more detailed discussion of Coli in claim 1 . 07-22-aia AIA Claim (s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the art as applied to claim 19 above, and further in view of US 2022/0328375 ( Schultz ) . Regarding claim 20 , Coli teaches the network device of claim 19, further comprising: co-packaged optics optically coupled with the one or more host optical connectors, wherein the second type of pluggable device supports a connection from the co-packaged optics, through the O-E-O converter and the line-side external optical interface, to a remote network device of 500 meters or more without an external transponder interposed between the optical device and the remote network device. Regarding the use of co-packaged optics, this was known. See Schultz : [0003] Fiber-optic communication are commonly used between systems within a data center, and they may also be used for communication between components within a system. In such implementations, optical modules can be coupled to silicon components (e.g., microprocessors, graphics processing units) and be mounted on the same surface of the same substrate that the silicon is connected to. This can be known as “co-packaged optics” . However, the operation of the optical module can produce heat, and with increasing bandwidth comes increasing heat loads. This heat can have negative effects on the components of a multi-chip module unless it is properly managed. In other words, co-packaged optics was known and it would have been obvious that the device of Coli can be implemented in a known manner, such as co-packaged optics as taught in Schultz . In particular, Schultz is in the same technical field (e.g., optical communications) and the results would have been predictable. Regarding the pluggable device supporting a particular connection through the OEO converter, this appears to be non-limiting intended use. However, in the interests of compact prosecution, the Examiner notes that Coli teaches connections from the Host, through an OEO converter, and to a line-side interface and a remote device. Regarding the “500 meters or more without an external transponder ...” language is interpreted as non-limiting intended use . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 2022/0236477 ( BOVINGTON ) at FIG. 8C illustrates the use of a host-side optical connector. PNG media_image6.png 182 452 media_image6.png Greyscale See also: [0068] In the diagram 850, a pluggable optical module is inserted into the host-side connector assembly. On the pluggable optical module, a blind mate optical connector 855 is attached to a top surface of a module PCB 865, and an electrical contact 870 is arranged at a bottom surface of the module PCB 865. The blind mate optical connector 855 is attached to an optical fiber 860. US 2011/0262146 ( Khemakhem ) at FIGS. 7 and 8 teaches a housing for fiber connectors and a spool for excess fiber. PNG media_image7.png 721 533 media_image7.png Greyscale PNG media_image8.png 658 508 media_image8.png Greyscale See, for example: [0056] In the subject embodiment, the optical fibers 132 are routed from the first and second fanouts 128a, 128b to the storage region 118. In one embodiment, the optical fibers 132 are routed around the first and second bend radius protectors 148a, 148b and routed to the termination region 114. In the depicted embodiment, a portion of the optical fibers 132 in the storage region 118 are disposed beneath the platform 125 of the fanout region 116. At the termination region 114, the fiber optic connectors 146 are engaged to the first side 122 of the fiber optic adapters 120. [0068] In one embodiment, the first axial end 238 of the cable spool 208 includes a passage. During engagement of the first axial end 238 and the back side of the base 214 of the housing 206, the first axial end 238 of the cable spool 208 is mounted to the base 214 such that the passage is aligned with the cable passage 226. With the passage of the cable spool 208 and the cable passage 226 of the base 214 aligned, incoming optical fibers, which are coiled around the spooling portion 242 of the cable spool 208 , can enter the housing 206. FIG. 3 illustrates a housing 32 with optical adapters 46 on the exterior surface. PNG media_image9.png 736 524 media_image9.png Greyscale See, for example: [0031] The first and second pieces 34, 36 are elongated along a central longitudinal axis 40 so as to extend generally from a first end 42 to an oppositely disposed second end 44 of the housing 32. The multi-service terminal 30 also includes fiber optic adapters 46 mounted to the first piece 34 of the housing 32. Each of the fiber optic adapters 46 includes an outer port 48 accessible from outside the housing 32 and an inner port accessible from the interior of the housing 32 . In the depicted embodiment, the second end 44 of the housing 32 defines a cable port 50 for allowing a fiber optic cable 52 to enter/exit the interior of the housing 32. PNG media_image10.png 769 461 media_image10.png Greyscale US 11,592,635 ( Vastmans ) at FIG. 2 illustrates a housing 131 with input and output ports 132, 133 that can be for optical or electrical connections. PNG media_image11.png 670 500 media_image11.png Greyscale See also the middle of col. 5: (44) The aggregation box 130 includes a housing 131 defining an interior 135. The housing defines an input port 132 and multiple output ports 133 . Each port 132, 133 defines an opening in the housing 131 that provides access to an interior 135 of the housing 131. For example, in some implementations, one or more cables may pass through each port 132, 133. In other implementations, one or more connecting structures (e.g., fiber optic adapters or electrical sockets) may be disposed at the ports 132, 133 for receiving cables . In certain implementations, the connecting structures are environmentally sealed (also known as ruggedized or hardened) . In some implementations, the input port 132 is defined at a bottom of the housing 131 and the output ports 133 are defined along one side of the housing 131. In certain implementations, additional output ports 133′ may be defined along a second side of the housing 131. US 11,677,164 ( Fermelis ) at FIG. 3A illustrates a housing 300 including adaptors 320. PNG media_image4.png 600 638 media_image4.png Greyscale See also the middle of col. 5: (26) As shown in FIG. 3A, the exterior portion 300 includes a plurality of angled tiered platforms 310, with each platform configured to retain a row of adapters 320 . In this example, four angled platforms are shown, each with three adaptors per platform, but alternate embodiments may include more or fewer platforms, and more or fewer adaptors per platform. In this example, the plurality of angled tiered platforms 310 are angled toward the bottom of the enclosure. Among other things, this assists an installer (usually standing below the hybrid distribution unit 50 on a ladder or other support) to connect or disconnect cabling to the adaptors 320. FIG. 3C illustrates an embodiment of the adaptor 320 that includes connections for optical fiber and electrical power. PNG media_image5.png 406 436 media_image5.png Greyscale See also the middle of col. 5: (27) FIG. 3C illustrates a detailed view of the terminals of a hybrid adaptor 320 that may be used in conjunction with embodiments of the present disclosure. In alternate embodiments, hybrid distribution units of the present disclosure may operate in conjunction with adaptors of any suitable size, shape, and configuration . In the example depicted in FIG. 3C, adaptor 320 includes a pair of power terminals 350 , corresponding to an input power terminal and return power terminal as discussed above. The adaptor 320 further includes fiber optic connectors 360 . The power terminals 350 and fiber optic terminals 360 connect to the power cables and fiber optic cables, respectively , as shown in the interior view of the hybrid distribution unit 50 in FIG. 2A. For example, power jumper cables (e.g., power jumper cable 225) and fiber optic jumper cables (e.g., fiber optic jumper cable 226) plug into the ends of power terminals 350 and fiber optic terminals 360, respectively. FIG. 3D illustrates an example of a hybrid cable that may be used to connect to the adaptors 320. In this example, the hybrid RRU jumper cable includes supply power (−48) and return (RTN) power lines, along with fiber optic connectors 360. There are two pairs of fiber optic connectors 360 in this example, one pair for the top set of connectors 360 and one for the pair for the bottom set of connectors 360 shown in FIG. 3C. This also teaches that the adaptors can be of any shape, size and configuration. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to DARREN WOLF whose telephone number is (571)270-3378. The examiner can normally be reached Monday through Friday, 7:00 AM to 3:00 PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, KENNETH N. VANDERPUYE can be reached at 571-272-3078. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /DARREN E WOLF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2634 Application/Control Number: 18/853,717 Page 2 Art Unit: 2634 Application/Control Number: 18/853,717 Page 3 Art Unit: 2634 Application/Control Number: 18/853,717 Page 4 Art Unit: 2634 Application/Control Number: 18/853,717 Page 5 Art Unit: 2634 Application/Control Number: 18/853,717 Page 6 Art Unit: 2634 Application/Control Number: 18/853,717 Page 7 Art Unit: 2634 Application/Control Number: 18/853,717 Page 8 Art Unit: 2634 Application/Control Number: 18/853,717 Page 9 Art Unit: 2634 Application/Control Number: 18/853,717 Page 10 Art Unit: 2634 Application/Control Number: 18/853,717 Page 11 Art Unit: 2634 Application/Control Number: 18/853,717 Page 12 Art Unit: 2634 Application/Control Number: 18/853,717 Page 13 Art Unit: 2634 Application/Control Number: 18/853,717 Page 14 Art Unit: 2634 Application/Control Number: 18/853,717 Page 15 Art Unit: 2634 Application/Control Number: 18/853,717 Page 16 Art Unit: 2634 Application/Control Number: 18/853,717 Page 18 Art Unit: 2634 Application/Control Number: 18/853,717 Page 19 Art Unit: 2634 Application/Control Number: 18/853,717 Page 22 Art Unit: 2634 Application/Control Number: 18/853,717 Page 23 Art Unit: 2634 Application/Control Number: 18/853,717 Page 25 Art Unit: 2634 Application/Control Number: 18/853,717 Page 26 Art Unit: 2634 Application/Control Number: 18/853,717 Page 28 Art Unit: 2634 Application/Control Number: 18/853,717 Page 29 Art Unit: 2634 Application/Control Number: 18/853,717 Page 30 Art Unit: 2634 Application/Control Number: 18/853,717 Page 31 Art Unit: 2634 Application/Control Number: 18/853,717 Page 32 Art Unit: 2634