DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending. Note that, the preliminary amendment filed October 3, 2024, has been entered.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 4-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yapici et al (US 2020/0115653).
With respect to independent, instant claim 1, Yapici et al a viscoelastic solid surfactant composition for textile treatment having, based on the total weight thereof, (i) a total amount of 30 to 70 wt % of at least one surfactant, wherein at least one anionic surfactant and at least one non-ionic surfactant are present, and (ii) a total amount of 0.01 to 1 wt % of at least one organic gelating compound having a molar mass <1,000 g/mol, a solubility in water of less than 0.1 g/l (20° C.) and a structure including at least one hydrocarbon structural unit having 6 to 20 carbon atoms and additionally an organic structural unit covalently bonded to the aforementioned hydrocarbon unit, which organic structural unit has at least two groups selected from —OH—, —NH— or mixtures thereof, and (iii) water, represents a readily soluble, aesthetically appealing and storage-stable form of a solid composition for preparing washing liquor including surfactant. See Abstract. Suitable gelators include benzylidene alditols, etc. See paras. 181-200. It is preferred according to the invention if the viscoelastic, solid surfactant composition of the first subject matter of the invention is in the form of a shaped body. A shaped body is a single body that stabilizes itself in the shape imparted to it. This dimensionally stable body is formed from a molding compound (e.g. a composition) in such a way that this molding compound is deliberately brought into a predetermined shape, for example by pouring a liquid composition into a casting mold and then curing the liquid composition, for example as part of a sol-gel process. All conceivable molds are possible here, for example spheres, cubes, cuboids, circular disks, wells, shells, prisms, octahedrons, tetrahedrons, egg-shaped, dog, cat, mouse, horse, torso, bust, pillow, car, oval disk with embossed trademark, and much more.
It is preferred according to the invention if the shaped body of the viscoelastic, solid surfactant composition of the first subject matter of the invention has a weight of at least 1 g, preferably at least 5 g, particularly preferably at least 10 g. See para. 228-230.
The viscoelastic, solid surfactant composition can be prepared by a liquid composition, containing, based on the total weight thereof, a total amount of from 0.01 to 1 wt. % of at least one of said organic gelator compounds (in particular at least one benzylidene alditol compound of formula (I) (vide supra)), in the presence of water, and 30 to 70 wt. % surfactant and at least one anionic surfactant and at least one non-ionic surfactant and possibly optional additives being brought to a temperature above the sol-gel transition temperature of the liquid composition, and subsequently the heated liquid composition being introduced into a mold, preferably into a cavity in a trough mold, and being cooled in said mold below the sol-gel transition temperature to form a viscoelastic solid shaped body. See para. 224. Note that, the Examiner asserts that one of ordinary skill in the art would optimize the mixing time of the surfactant and gelling agent and the mold filling time within a range as recited by the instant claims. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). See MPEP 2144.05.
Yapici et al do not teach, with sufficient specificity, a method for manufacturing a detergent portion unit comprising a dimensionally stable solid gel, the method comprising the steps of providing a first flowable surfactant-containing composition; providing a second flowable gelling-agent-containing composition different from the first flowable composition; feeding the first and second flowable compositions to a mold; introducing a first flowable surfactant-containing composition and a second flowable gelling-agent-containing composition different from the first flowable surfactant-containing composition compositions into the mold; mixing the first flowable surfactant-containing composition and the second flowable gelling-agent-containing composition compositions in the mold to form a surfactant-containing and gelling-agent- containing mixture as recited by the instant claims.
Nonetheless it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to manufacture a detergent portion unit comprising a dimensionally stable solid gel, the method comprising the steps of providing a first flowable surfactant-containing composition; providing a second flowable gelling-agent-containing composition different from the first flowable composition; feeding the first and second flowable compositions to a mold; introducing a first flowable surfactant-containing composition and a second flowable gelling-agent-containing composition different from the first flowable surfactant-containing composition compositions into the mold; mixing the first flowable surfactant-containing composition and the second flowable gelling-agent-containing composition compositions in the mold to form a surfactant-containing and gelling-agent- containing mixture as recited by independent, instant claim 1 and the respective dependent claims, with a reasonable expectation of success and similar results with respect to other disclosed components, because the broad teachings of Yapici et al suggest a method of manufacturing a detergent portion unit comprising a dimensionally stable solid gel, the method comprising the steps of providing a first flowable surfactant-containing composition; providing a second flowable gelling-agent-containing composition different from the first flowable composition; feeding the first and second flowable compositions to a mold; introducing a first flowable surfactant-containing composition and a second flowable gelling-agent-containing composition different from the first flowable surfactant-containing composition compositions into the mold; mixing the first flowable surfactant-containing composition and the second flowable gelling-agent-containing composition compositions in the mold to form a surfactant-containing and gelling-agent- containing mixture as recited by the instant claims.
Claims 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yapici et al (US 2020/0115653) as applied to claims 1 and 4-20 above, and further in view of Trinchera et al (US 2021/0301225).
Yapici et al are relied upon as set forth above. However, Yapici et al do not teach the use of an injector for introducing the gelling agent and surfactant into the mold as recited by the instant claims.
Trinchera et al teach a method for producing a multiphase washing or cleaning agent shaped body, including the steps of: a) providing a first free-flowing washing or cleaning agent; b) providing a second washing or cleaning agent; c) feeding the first and second washing or cleaning agent to an injector; d) introducing the first free-flowing washing or cleaning agent and the second free-flowing washing or cleaning agent into a mold by way of the injector; e) solidifying at least one of the free-flowing first and second washing or cleaning agents in the mold, forming a multiphase washing or cleaning agent shaped body; f) removing the multiphase washing or cleaning agent shaped body from the mold, wherein the first and second free-flowing washing or cleaning agent are introduced into the mold through outlet openings in the injector, which are separated. Trinchera et al also relates to multiphase shaped bodies produced by way of this method.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use an injector for introducing the gelling agent and surfactant into the mold in the method taught by Yapici et al, with a reasonable expectation of success, because Trinchera et al teach the use of an injector to introduce a gelling agent and surfactant into a mold in a similar process and further, Yapici et al teach the mixing a gelling agent and surfactant in a mold in general.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/854020 (reference application) or claims 1-20 of 18/854120. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1’20 of 18/854020 or claims 1-20 of 18/854120 encompass the material limitations of the instant claims.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to manufacture a detergent portion unit comprising a dimensionally stable solid gel, the method comprising the steps of providing a first flowable surfactant-containing composition; providing a second flowable gelling-agent-containing composition different from the first flowable composition; feeding the first and second flowable compositions to a mold; introducing a first flowable surfactant-containing composition and a second flowable gelling-agent-containing composition different from the first flowable surfactant-containing composition compositions into the mold; mixing the first flowable surfactant-containing composition and the second flowable gelling-agent-containing composition compositions in the mold to form a surfactant-containing and gelling-agent- containing mixture as recited by independent, instant claim 1 and the respective dependent claims, with a reasonable expectation of success and similar results with respect to other disclosed components, because claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/854020 (reference application) or claims 1-20 of 18/854120 suggest a method of manufacturing a detergent portion unit comprising a dimensionally stable solid gel, the method comprising the steps of providing a first flowable surfactant-containing composition; providing a second flowable gelling-agent-containing composition different from the first flowable composition; feeding the first and second flowable compositions to a mold; introducing a first flowable surfactant-containing composition and a second flowable gelling-agent-containing composition different from the first flowable surfactant-containing composition compositions into the mold; mixing the first flowable surfactant-containing composition and the second flowable gelling-agent-containing composition compositions in the mold to form a surfactant-containing and gelling-agent- containing mixture as recited by the instant claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Remaining references cited but not relied upon are considered to be cumulative to or less pertinent than those relied upon or discussed above.
Applicant is reminded that any evidence to be presented in accordance with 37 CFR 1.131 or 1.132 should be submitted before final rejection in order to be considered timely.
/GREGORY R DELCOTTO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1761
/G.R.D/June 4, 2026