DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/03/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: paragraph 66 recites “step S50” should be corrected to “step S150”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 4-9 are objected to because of the following informalities: the claims recite the term “and/or” in connection with claim limitations. The term “and” and “or” dictate exclusive and alternative limitations, respectively, and should only be limited using one or the other. The claims have been examined using only the “or” term in which the alternatives are given proper consideration. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “parking row recognition section”, “parking lot staying determination section”, “erroneous operation determination section”, and “control section” in claim 1; “travel path prediction section” in claim 2; “inter parking row corridor” in claim 3; “structure recognition section” and “provisional parking row recognition section” in claims 4-7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because it claims a “program” which is not one of the four statutory categories of patent eligible subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fukata et al. (US 2015/0321555 A1) (Fukata hereinafter).
Regarding claim 1, Fukata discloses a driving assistance apparatus comprising:
a parking row recognition section which detects a parking slot(s) and/or parked vehicle(s) around an own vehicle on the basis of image data of a captured image around the own vehicle and recognizes a parking row in which the detected parking slot(s) and/or the detected parked vehicle(s) are located in succession and adjacent to each other in a predetermined direction and the number of the parking slot(s) and/or the parked vehicle(s) is equal to or greater than a predetermined first threshold number ([0020] – [0022] and [0065], the reference discloses using captured images to detect its surroundings such as parking slots and other parked vehicles adjacent to each other);
a parking lot staying information section which determines whether or not the own vehicle is present in a parking lot having the parking row ([0099] – [0100], the reference discloses detection logic that determines the presence of the vehicle within a defined parking area based on sensors and image data);
an erroneous operation determination section which obtain an operation state of an acceleration operation element operated by an occupant of the own vehicle and determines, on the basis of the operation state, whether or not the occupant has performed an erroneous operation of erroneously stepping on the acceleration operation element ([0007], [0023] – [0025] and [0253], the reference describes detection of unintended pedal operation using sensor input and operation patterns to distinguish intentional vs erroneous inputs); and
a control section which executes driving power reduction control of reducing driving power of the own vehicle when the parking lot staying determination section determines that the own vehicle is present in the parking lot and the erroneous operation determination section determines that the occupant has performed the erroneous operation ([0010], [0023] – [0025] and [0253], the reference discloses a control module that reduces driving power reduction based on processing outputs from sensor inputs).
Regarding claim 2, Fukata discloses a driving assistance apparatus according to claim 1, as stated above, further comprising:
a travel path prediction section which predicts a travel path of the own vehicle on the basis of a travel state of the own vehicle, wherein the parking lot staying determination section determines that the own vehicle is present in the parking lot when the predicted travel path intersects with the parking row ([0246] – [0247], the reference includes direction of travel detection and steering angle measurement which is has path prediction capabilities).
Regarding claim 3, Fukata discloses a driving assistance apparatus according to claim 1, as stated above, further comprising:
an inter parking row corridor determination section which determines, as an inter parking row corridor, an area between a plurality of parking rows which are recognized by the parking row recognition section, face each other with the own vehicle intervening therebetween, and have a predetermined positional relation, wherein the parking lot staying determination section determines that the own vehicle is present in the parking lot when the own vehicle is located in the area ([0100] – [0102]).
Regarding claim 8, the elements contained in claim 8 are substantially similar to elements presented in claim 1, except that it set forth the claimed invention as a method rather than an apparatus and is rejected for the same reasons as applied above.
Regarding claim 9, the elements contained in claim 9 are substantially similar to elements presented in claim 1, except that it set forth the claimed invention as a program rather than an apparatus and is rejected for the same reasons as applied above.
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. Please see the attached form PTO-892.
Conclusion
/LUKE HUYNH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3667
05/21/2026