DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “a light device to project light parallel to the calibration target” (Claim 3, Claim 5, Claim 14, Claim 16); a polarizer (Claim 4, 15); an additive manufacturing process or device (Claims 10, 21) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“Controller is configured to” (Claim 12-14, 16-17, 21)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 6, 9, 11-13, 17, 20, 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ulrich et al. (2002/0014577) in view of JP 2017207520.
Claim 1
Ulrich et al. (2002/0014577) discloses method for scanning an object (See Fig. 1-2; a method in which devices are scanned to acquire three dimensional measurements, Para. 0075), comprising: providing a structured light three-dimensional scanner SLS (See Fig. 1-3; a high speed automated inspection system Ref. 100 in which device Ref. 99 is scanned with light to acquire three dimensional measurements, Para. 0074-0075, 0085), comprising: at least one imaging device having a lens (Fig. 3; scanning head Ref. 401 has an imaging lens Ref. 420, Para. 0082) and a controller (Fig. 1-3; computer controlled system Ref. 200, Para. 0078), wherein the at least one imaging device has a field-of-view (the field-of-view is 2.25 inches, Para. 0082, which is roughly 57.15 mm); capturing, by the at least one imaging device, images of the object to be scanned (Fig. 1-3; the computer controlled system Ref. 200 moves optical head Ref. 401 or device Ref. 99, Para. 0078, such that three images are taken of the same point on device Ref. 99, Para. 0080); and performing, by the controller, triangulation based on the images captured of the object to generate three-dimensional data of the object (Fig. 1-3; the computer controlled system Ref. 200 moves optical head Ref. 401 or device Ref. 99; Para. 0078, such that three images are taken of the same point on device Ref. 99 at different translations of the optical head Ref. 401 with respect to the device Ref. 99 so that the measured values can be shifted and converted to obtain the height of said point on device Ref. 99, para. 0080), wherein the three-dimensional data has a spatial resolution of 2 to 50 µm (the frequency of scanning and the magnification of the projection lens result in a three-dimensional scanning range resolution of 0.0001 inches (2.54 x 10-6), Para. 0083, which is roughly 2.54 µm and therefore between 2 to 50 µm).
Ulrich et al. (2002/0014577) substantially teaches the claimed invention except that it does not show at least one imaging device has a field-of-view less than or equal to 50 x 50 mm; capturing, by the at least one imaging device, calibration images of a calibration target having a predetermined pattern thereon; and calibrating, by the controller, the structured light three-dimensional scanner using the calibration images. JP 2017207520 shows that it is known to provide a method for scanning an object (a triangulation type shape measuring method, Pages 1-2, Para. 0001-0002), comprising: wherein the at least one imaging device has a field-of-view less than or equal to 50 x 50 mm (See Fig. 2; when the measurement object S is in the focal position of the system the visual field size is roughly 25 x 25 mm, Page 28, Para. 4, and is therefore less than or equal to 50 x 50 mm); capturing, by the at least one imaging device, calibration images of a calibration target (Fig. 2, Ref. S; measurement object) having a predetermined pattern thereon (Page 51-52; irradiation of the adjustment light to the measurement object S performed at regular intervals “images”); and calibrating, by the controller (CPU Ref. 210), the structured light three-dimensional scanner using the calibration images (Pages 51, Para. 6 thru Page 52, Para. 1; Changing the posture of the measurement object S based on the estimation of the difficult measurement region) for a device that measures a three-dimensional shape. It would have been obvious to modify the device of Ulrich et al. (2002/0014577) with the at least one imaging device that has a fields of view less than or equal to 50 x 50 mm; directing the at least one imaging device to capture calibration images of a calibration target, the calibration target having a predetermined pattern thereon; and calibrating the structured light three-dimensional scanner using the calibration images with the teachings of JP 2017207520 before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the purpose of ensuring the highest accuracy and precision of scanning by aligning the object to be scanned prior to measuring the three dimensional properties, therefore improving the quality of the measurement data.
Claim 2
Ulrich et al. (2002/0014577) discloses the at least one imaging device is a single imaging device (Fig. 3; detector 404 is the only imaging device in scanning head Ref. 401, Para. 0079);
the structured light three-dimensional scanner further comprises a projector (Fig. 3, Ref. 402; a method in which devices are scanned to acquire three dimensional measurements, Para. 0075, and comprises pattern projector Fig. 3, Ref. 402, Para. 0079); the method further comprises directing, by the controller (Fig. 2, Ref. 200), the projector (Fig. 3, Ref. 402) to project the predetermined pattern onto the target (Fig. 2, Ref. 99)(computer controlled system Ref. 200 directs the pattern projector Ref. 402 to emit a striped Moire-type pattern onto device Ref. 99, para. 0078-0079); and capturing, by the at least one imaging device (Fig. 3, Ref. 404), the images of the target (Fig. 3, Ref. 99) as the predetermined pattern (Fig. 3, Ref. 499) is projected on the target (Fig. 3, Ref. 99) by the projector (Fig. 3, Ref. 402).
Ulrich et al. (2002/0014577) substantially teaches the claimed invention except that it does not show the controller, the projector to project the predetermined pattern onto the calibration target; and capturing, by the at least one imaging device, the calibration images of the calibration target as the predetermined pattern is projected on the calibration target by the projector. JP 2017207520 teaches that it is known to provide the controller (CPU), the projector (Fig. 2, Ref. 110A, 110B) to project the predetermined pattern onto the calibration target (Fig. 2, Ref. S); and capturing, by the at least one imaging device (Fig. 2, Ref. 120), the calibration images of the calibration target (Fig. 2, Ref. S) (Page 51-52; irradiation of the adjustment light to the measurement object S performed at regular intervals “images”) as the predetermined pattern is projected on the calibration target (Fig. 2, Ref. S) by the projector (Fig. 2, Ref. 110A, 110B) for a three-dimensional shape measurement device. It would have been obvious to combine the device of Ulrich et al. (2002/0014577) with the projection pattern that is projected on the object for calibration as taught by JP 2017207520 before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the purpose of ensuring the highest accuracy and precision of scanning by aligning the object to be scanned prior to measuring the three-dimensional properties, therefore improving the quality of the measurement data.
Claim 6
Ulrich et al. (2002/0014577) further discloses wherein capturing the calibration images of the calibration target further comprises: adjusting an exposure time of the at least one imaging device to perform overexposure while capturing the calibration images (Para. 201; the charge coupled device that is image detector Ref. 422 accumulated charge as the photodiodes are exposed to light until the timing controller removes the charge at the end of an imaging cycle, but if the values of the intensity collected by the charge coupled device is below a specified value, then the device will increase the exposure time thus overexposing the charge coupled device to obtain a higher intensity reading).
Claim 9
Ulrich et al. (2002/0014577) when modified by JP 2017207520 discloses the claimed invention except for the calibration target is approximately 4.5x6.0mm to 15x20mm (e.g. 5%). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the teaches of Ulrich et al. (2002/0014577) in view of JP 2017207520 with the calibration target size listed above since it was well known in the art that such size is used for high-precision, small-field-of-view applications and its size ensures the target fills the camera frame, maximizing accuracy for mapping pixel coordinates. The examiner takes Official Notice that the elements listed above are well-known, or to be common knowledge in the art are capable of instant and unquestionable demonstration as being well-known.
Claim 11
Ulrich et al. (2002/0014577) discloses at least one imaging device is a first imaging device (Fig. 7, Ref. 704A) and a second imaging device (Fig. 7, Ref. 704B).
Ulrich et al. (2002/0014577) substantially teaches the claimed invention except that it does not show at least one imaging device has a field-of-view less than or equal to 50 x 50 mm. JP 2017207520 shows that it is known to provide the at least one imaging device has a field-of-view less than or equal to 50 x 50 mm (See Fig. 2; when the measurement object S is in the focal position of the system the visual field size is roughly 25 x 25 mm, Page 28, Para. 4, and is therefore less than or equal to 50 x 50 mm) for a three-dimensional shape measurement device. It would have been obvious to modify the device of Ulrich et al. (2002/0014577) with the at least one imaging device has a fields of view collectively 50 x 50 mm with the teachings of JP 2017207520 before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the purpose of ensuring a balance high-resolution with efficient coverage for small-to-medium sized objects, therefore improving the measurement data quality over different sized objects.
Claim 12
Ulrich et al. (2002/0014577) discloses a system for scanning an object (See Fig. 1-2; a system in which devices are scanned to acquire three dimensional measurements, para. 0075), comprising: providing a structured light three-dimensional scanner SLS (See Fig. 1-3; a high speed automated inspection system Ref. 100 in which device Ref. 99 is scanned with light to acquire three dimensional measurements, Para. 0074-0075, 0085); direct at least one imaging device having a lens (Fig. 3; scanning head Ref. 401 has an imaging lens Ref. 420, Para. 0082) and a controller (Fig. 1-3; computer controlled system Ref. 200, Para. 0078), wherein the at least one imaging device has a field-of-view (the field-of-view is 2.25 inches, Para. 0082, which is roughly 57.15 mm); direct the at least one imaging device, images of the object to be scanned (Fig. 1-3; the computer controlled system Ref. 200 moves optical head Ref. 401 or device Ref. 99, Para. 0078, such that three images are taken of the same point on device Ref. 99, Para. 0080); and performing, by the controller, triangulation based on the images captured of the object to generate three-dimensional data of the object (Fig. 1-3; the computer controlled system Ref. 200 moves optical head Ref. 401 or device Ref. 99; para. 0078, such that three images are taken of the same point on device Ref. 99 at different translations of the optical head Ref. 401 with respect to the device Ref. 99 so that the measured values can be shifted and converted to obtain the height of said point on device Ref. 99, para. 0080), wherein the three-dimensional data has a spatial resolution of 2 to 50 µm (the frequency of scanning and the magnification of the projection lens result in a three-dimensional scanning range resolution of 0.0001 inches [2.54 x 10-6], Para. 0083, which is roughly 2.54 µm and therefore between 2 to 50 µm).
Ulrich et al. (2002/0014577) substantially teaches the claimed invention except that it does not show at least one imaging device has a field-of-view less than or equal to 50 x 50 mm; direct the at least one imaging device, calibration images of a calibration target having a predetermined pattern thereon; calibrate the structured light three-dimensional scanner using the calibration images. JP 2017207520 shows that it is known to provide a system for scanning an object (a triangulation type shape measuring method, Pages 1-2, Para. 0001-0002), comprising: wherein the at least one imaging device has a field-of-view less than or equal to 50 x 50 mm (See Fig. 2; when the measurement object S is in the focal position of the system the visual field size is roughly 25 x 25 mm, Page 28, Para. 4, and is therefore less than or equal to 50 x 50 mm); capturing, by the at least one imaging device, calibration images of a calibration target (Fig. 2, Ref. S; measurement object) having a predetermined pattern thereon (Page 51-52; irradiation of the adjustment light to the measurement object S performed at regular intervals “images”); and calibrating the structured light three-dimensional scanner using the calibration images (Pages 51, Para. 6 thru Page 52, Para. 1; Changing the posture of the measurement object S based on the estimation of the difficult measurement region) for a device that measures a three-dimensional shape. It would have been obvious to modify the device of Ulrich et al. (2002/0014577) with the at least one imaging device has a fields of view less than or equal to 50 x 50 mm; directing the at least one imaging device to capture calibration images of a calibration target, the calibration target having a predetermined pattern thereon; and calibrating the structured light three-dimensional scanner using the calibration images with the teachings of JP 2017207520 before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the purpose of ensuring the highest accuracy and precision of scanning by aligning the object to be scanned prior to measuring the three dimensional properties, therefore improving the measurement data quality.
Claim 13
Ulrich et al. (2002/0014577) the at least one imaging device is a single imaging device (Fig. 3; detector 404 is the only imaging device in scanning head Ref. 401, Para. 0079);
the structured light three-dimensional scanner further comprises a projector (Fig. 3, Ref. 402; a system in which devices are scanned to acquire three dimensional measurements, Para. 0075, and comprises pattern projector Fig. 3, Ref. 402, Para. 0079); the system further comprises directing, by the controller (Fig. 2, Ref. 200), the projector (Fig. 3, Ref. 402) to project the predetermined pattern onto the target (Fig. 2, Ref. 99)(computer controlled system Ref. 200 directs the pattern projector Ref. 402 to emit a striped Moire-type pattern onto device Ref. 99, para. 0078-0079); and capturing, by the at least one imaging device (Fig. 3, Ref. 404), the images of the target (Fig. 3, Ref. 99) as the predetermined pattern (Fig. 3, Ref. 499) is projected on the target (Fig. 3, Ref. 99) by the projector (Fig. 3, Ref. 402).
Ulrich et al. (2002/0014577) substantially teaches the claimed invention except that it does not show the controller, the projector to project the predetermined pattern onto the calibration target; and capturing, by the at least one imaging device, the calibration images of the calibration target as the predetermined pattern is projected on the calibration target by the projector. JP 2017207520 teaches that it is known to provide the controller (CPU), the projector (Fig. 2, Ref. 110A, 110B) to project the predetermined pattern onto the calibration target (Fig. 2, Ref. S); and capturing, by the at least one imaging device (Fig. 2, Ref. 120), the calibration images of the calibration target (Fig. 2, Ref. S) (Page 51-52; irradiation of the adjustment light to the measurement object S performed at regular intervals “images”) as the predetermined pattern is projected on the calibration target (Fig. 2, Ref. S) by the projector (Fig. 2, Ref. 110A, 110B) for a device that measures a three-dimensional shape. It would have been obvious to combine the device of Ulrich et al. (2002/0014577) with the projection pattern that is projected on the object for calibration as taught by JP 2017207520 before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the purpose of ensuring the highest accuracy and precision of scanning by aligning the object to be scanned prior to measuring the three-dimensional properties, therefore improving the measurement data quality.
Claim 17
Ulrich et al. (2002/0014577) discloses at least one imaging device is a first imaging device (Fig. 7, Ref. 704A) and a second imaging device (Fig. 7, Ref. 704B).
Ulrich et al. (2002/0014577) further discloses the controller is further configured to adjusting an exposure time of the at least one imaging device (Fig. 3, Ref. 404) to perform overexposure while capturing the calibration images (Para. 201; the charge coupled device that is image detector Ref. 422 accumulated charge as the photodiodes are exposed to light until the timing controller removes the charge at the end of an imaging cycle, but if the values of the intensity collected by the charge coupled device is below a specified value, then the device will increase the exposure time thus overexposing the charge coupled device to obtain a higher intensity reading).
Claim 20
Ulrich et al. (2002/0014577) when modified by JP 2017207520 discloses the claimed invention except for the calibration target is approximately 4.5x6.0mm to 15x20mm (e.g. 5%). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the teaches of Ulrich et al. (2002/0014577) in view of JP 2017207520 with the calibration target size listed above since it was well known in the art that such size is used for high-precision, small-field-of-view applications and its size ensures the target fills the camera frame, maximizing accuracy for mapping pixel coordinates. The examiner takes Official Notice that the elements listed above are well-known, or to be common knowledge in the art are capable of instant and unquestionable demonstration as being well-known.
Claim 22
Ulrich et al. (2002/0014577) discloses at least one imaging device is a first imaging device (Fig. 7, Ref. 704A) and a second imaging device (Fig. 7, Ref. 704B).
Ulrich et al. (2002/0014577) substantially teaches the claimed invention except that it does not show at least one imaging device has a field-of-view less than or equal to 50 x 50 mm. JP 2017207520 shows that it is known to provide the at least one imaging device has a field-of-view less than or equal to 50 x 50 mm (See Fig. 2; when the measurement object S is in the focal position of the system the visual field size is roughly 25 x 25 mm, Page 28, Para. 4, and is therefore less than or equal to 50 x 50 mm) for a three-dimensional shape measurement device. It would have been obvious to modify the device of Ulrich et al. (2002/0014577) with the at least one imaging device has a fields of view collectively 50 x 50 mm with the teachings of JP 2017207520 before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the purpose of ensuring a balance high-resolution with efficient coverage for small-to-medium sized objects, therefore improving the measurement data quality over different sized objects.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-5, 7-8, 10, 14-16, 18-19, 21 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 3, the prior art fails to disclose or make obvious capturing the calibration images of the calibration target further comprises: directing, by the controller, a lighting device to project light parallel to the calibration target, and in combination with the other recited limitations of claims 1. Claim 4 would be allowed by the virtue of dependency on the allowable subject matter in claims 1, 3.
Regarding claim 5, the prior art fails to disclose or make obvious directing, by the controller, the projector to project light on the calibration target; and directing, by the controller, a lighting device separate from the projector to project light parallel to the calibration target, and in combination with the other recited limitations of claims 1, 2.
Regarding claim 7, the prior art fails to disclose or make obvious the calibration target is a substrate having the predetermined pattern formed thereon, and wherein the predetermined pattern is a checkerboard pattern, and in combination with the other recited limitations of claims 1. Claim 8 would be allowed by the virtue of dependency on the allowable subject matter in claims 1, 7.
Regarding claim 10, the prior art fails to disclose or make obvious generating the three- dimensional data of the object during an additive manufacturing (AM) process in which another object separate from the object being scanned is formed, and in combination with the other recited limitations of claim 1.
Regarding claim 14, the prior art fails to disclose or make obvious the controller is further configured to direct a lighting device to project light parallel to the calibration target, and direct the first imaging device and the second imaging device to capture the calibration images of the calibration target as the lighting device projects the light parallel to the calibration target, and in combination with the other recited limitations of claim 12. Claim 15 would be allowed by the virtue of dependency on the allowable subject matter in claims 12, 14.
Regarding claim 16, the prior art fails to disclose or make obvious the controller is further configured to: direct the projector to project light on the calibration target; and direct a lighting device separate from the projector to project light parallel to the calibration target as the calibration images are captured by the first imaging device and the second imaging device, and in combination with the other recited limitations of claims 12, 13.
Regarding claim 18, the prior art fails to disclose or make obvious the calibration target is a substrate having the predetermined pattern formed thereon, and wherein the predetermined pattern is a checkerboard pattern, and in combination with the other recited limitations of claim 12. Claim 19 would be allowed by the virtue of dependency on the allowable subject matter in claims 12, 18.
Regarding claim 21, the prior art fails to disclose or make obvious an additive manufacturing (AM) device, wherein the controller is configured to generate the three-dimensional data of the object during an additive manufacturing process in which another object separate from the object being scanned is formed by the additive manufacturing device and communicate the three-dimensional data to the additive manufacturing device as the other object is formed, and in combination with the other recited limitations of claim 12.
/MICHAEL P STAFIRA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2877 April 20, 2026