DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 1/21/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicants argument that claim 1 is amended to add limitation of claim 9 and is not taught by Vedovell is not persuasive since Vedovell teaches limitation of a mechanical device having an elastic element 27, a housing unit 10, a support element 18 and/or 19 for pretensioning the elastic element in the housing unit, an intermediate element (e.g. 21) for transmitting force to the elastic element, which intermediate element is arranged between the elastic element and the support element (e.g. see figures). It is noted that each and every structure of the claims are taught by Vedovell.
Applicant argument with regard to intended use (applicants’ specification p.10, 1.2-12) of a support element and/or intermediate element to a slide ring is not persuasive since applicant is broadly claiming a mechanical device having a housing unit, an elastic element, a support element and an intermediate element which are taught by Vedovell.
Applicants argument that claim 1 is amended to add limitation of claim 9 and is not taught by Dahlheimer is not persuasive since Dahlheimer teaches limitation of a mechanical device having an elastic element 48, a housing unit 20, a support element 50 for pretensioning the elastic element in the housing unit, an intermediate element 42c for transmitting force to the elastic element, which intermediate element is arranged between the elastic element and the support element (e.g. see figures). It is noted that each and every structure of the claims are taught by Dahlheimer.
Applicant argument with regard to intended use (applicants’ specification p.10, 1.2-12) of a support element and/or intermediate element to a slide ring is not persuasive since applicant is broadly claiming a mechanical device having a housing unit, an elastic element, a support element and an intermediate element which are taught by Dahlheimer.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8 and 10-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Vedovell et al (US. 2089773).
Vedovell discloses a mechanical sealing device (figures) having an elastic element (e.g. 27) and a housing unit (e.g. 10), further comprising a support element (e.g. 18 and/or 19) for pretensioning the elastic element in the housing unit. Wherein the mechanical sealing device further comprising an intermediate element (e.g. 21) for transmitting force to the elastic element, which intermediate element is arranged between the elastic element and the support element (e.g. see figures).
Regarding claim 2: Wherein the housing unit has a recess (e.g. 20) for accommodating the support element.
Regarding claim 3: Wherein the recess (e.g. 20) is formed at least in sections as an annular groove (e.g. that is the case since the recess is formed by 20 and 29).
Regarding claim 4: Wherein the housing unit (e.g. 10) has at least one surface section (e.g. end surfaces of 20) for guiding the support element (e.g. 18 and/or 19) during insertion into the housing unit (e.g. figures).
Regarding claim 5: Wherein the support element (e.g. 18 and/or 19) is deformable for insertion into the housing unit (figure 5).
Regarding claim 6: Wherein the support element has an annular shape at least in sections (e.g. see sections formed as 18 and 19).
Regarding claim 7: Wherein the support element is formed in a disc-like manner (e.g. see figure 1).
Regarding claim 8: Wherein the support element (e.g. element having 18 and 19) abuts at least in sections against an outer radial edge (e.g. edge of 29) of the housing unit.
Regarding claim 10: Wherein the support element has a direct contact with the intermediate element at least during insertion into the housing unit (e.g. that is the case since the support element and the intermediate are next to each other).
Regarding claim 11: Wherein the elastic element (e.g. 27) presses the intermediate element in the direction of the support element (e.g. see figure and 27).
Regarding claim 12: Wherein the intermediate element (e.g. 21) is movably supported relative to the support element (e.g. that is the case since the intermediate element is pushed by spring 25 inwardly relative to the support element 19).
Regarding claim 13: Wherein a mechanical seal having a mechanical sealing device of claim 1.
Regarding claim 14: Method for mounting a mechanical sealing device, having a housing unit (see rejection of claims above) and an elastic element (e.g. see rejection of claims above), which is inserted into the housing unit (e.g. see rejection of claims above) and is pretensioned in the housing unit (e.g. see rejection of claims above and entire document of Vedovell) by means of a support element (see rejection of claims above).
Claim(s) 1-8 and 10-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dahlheimer (US. 20070108705A1).
Dahlheimer discloses a mechanical sealing device (figures 3-4) having an elastic element (e.g. 48) and a housing unit (e.g. 20), further comprising a support element (e.g. 50) for pretensioning the elastic element in the housing unit. Wherein the mechanical sealing device further comprising an intermediate element (e.g. 42c) for transmitting force to the elastic element, which intermediate element is arranged between the elastic element and the support element (e.g. see figures).
Regarding claim 2: Wherein the housing unit has a recess (e.g. recess having 50 and marked by dotted lines and solid lines) for accommodating the support element.
Regarding claim 3: Wherein the recess (e.g. the recess) is formed at least in sections as an annular groove (e.g. that is the case as figures show by dotted lines for sections and solid lines for other sections).
Regarding claim 4: Wherein the housing unit (e.g. 20) has at least one surface section (e.g. inner surface of 20 adjacent to 50) for guiding the support element (e.g. 50) during insertion into the housing unit (e.g. figures).
Regarding claim 5: Wherein the support element (e.g. 50) is deformable for insertion into the housing unit (figures 3-4).
Regarding claim 6: Wherein the support element has an annular shape at least in sections (e.g. see sections of 50).
Regarding claim 7: Wherein the support element is formed in a disc-like manner (e.g. see figures 3-4).
Regarding claim 8: Wherein the support element (e.g. figures 3-4) abuts at least in sections against an outer radial edge (e.g. edge of the housing unit contacted by 50) of the housing unit.
Regarding claim 10: Wherein the support element has a direct contact with the intermediate element at least during insertion into the housing unit (e.g. that is the case since the support element and the intermediate are next to each other).
Regarding claim 11: Wherein the elastic element (e.g. 42c) presses the intermediate element in the direction of the support element (e.g. see figures 3-4).
Regarding claim 12: Wherein the intermediate element (e.g. 42c) is movably supported relative to the support element (e.g. that is the case as shown in figures 3-4).
Regarding claim 13: Wherein a mechanical seal having a mechanical sealing device of claim 1.
Regarding claim 14: Method for mounting a mechanical sealing device, having a housing unit (see rejection of claims above) and an elastic element (e.g. see rejection of claims above), which is inserted into the housing unit (e.g. see rejection of claims above) and is pretensioned in the housing unit (e.g. see rejection of claims above and entire document of Dahlheimer) by means of a support element (see rejection of claims above).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Ryan US20180017166 teaches all the claims limitations see 102, 120a/120b, 104, support ring 108 in groove of housing 102, Takenaka teaches all the limitation of claims see 13, 14, 15 and support ring above 10 that contacts 15 when assembled, Volden teaches all the limitations see 50, 54, 56 and support element adjacent to 58, Marsi teaches all the limitations see 10, 76, 82 and/or 58 and support element 70 and Borrino teaches all the limitations see 140, 146, 150, 162 and 161. Also see references on form 892.
/VISHAL A PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3675