DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 6/12/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant has claimed the invention so broadly that many rejection are possible in view of the references provided on form 892 and also see conclusion section of non-final mailed on 10/21/2025 and/or Final mailed on 2/26/2026. This was also conveyed to applicant’s representative on 7/23/2026.
Applicants’ argument that the limitation added “in an axial direction arranged entirely between the elastic element and the support element” is not persuasive since this is taught by Vedovell (e.g. 21 is axially between the spring or elastic element 27 and support element 18/19).
Applicant has added limitation “wherein…the support element”, this limitation is method and/or intended use limitation and given little or no patentable weight in an apparatus claim (see MPEP 2113-2114 and the mechanical sealing device of Vedovell is capable of this).
Applicants’ argument that the limitation added “in an axial direction arranged entirely between the elastic element and the support element” is not persuasive since this is taught by Dahlheimer (e.g. 42c is arranged in an axial direction entirely between the elastic element 48 and the support element 50).
Applicant has added limitation “wherein…the support element”, this limitation is method and/or intended use limitation and given little or no patentable weight in an apparatus claim (see MPEP 2113-2114 and the mechanical sealing device of Dahlheimer is capable of this).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Ryan US20180017166 teaches all the claims limitations see 102, 120a/120b, 104, support ring 108 in groove of housing 102, Takenaka teaches all the limitation of claims see 13, 14, 15 and support ring above 10 that contacts 15 when assembled, Volden teaches all the limitations see 50, 54, 56 and support element adjacent to 58, Marsi teaches all the limitations see 10, 76, 82 and/or 58 and support element 70 and Borrino teaches all the limitations see 140, 146, 150, 162 and 161. Also see references on form 892.
It is noted that applicant is only claiming a part of the intention or a part of a process of assembly of a mechanical sealing device, an example is shown below for reference 5529315 (another reference is also Volden 5449812, housing unit 50, elastic element 54, intermediate element 56 and support element behind element 58).
It is noted that before the sealing ring 52 is placed in the housing element 40 the intermediate element and the support element, the intermediate element and the support element would contact similarly to what is shown in reference 2724603 in figures 4 and 3 or Carmody US5354070, figure 5, where intermediate element 1 in contact with ledge 11 that is support element and then goes out of contact as shown in other figures or Kosatka US 2856219 similarly shows two state of mechanical sealing device when elastic element is in one state figure 5 and another state where the elastic element is in a second state figure 3 or Olin US 2598886 shows figure 2 when element 27 is placed into 17 and element 48 is placed thereafter and the element 48 would contact inner part of 24.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8, 11 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Vedovell et al (US. 2089773).
Vedovell discloses a mechanical sealing device (figures) having an elastic element (e.g. 27 and 37) and a housing unit (e.g. 10), further comprising a support element (e.g. 18 and/or 19) for pretensioning the elastic element in the housing unit. Wherein the mechanical sealing device further comprising an intermediate element (e.g. 21) for transmitting force to the elastic element, which intermediate element is in an axial direction arranged entirely between the elastic element and the support element (e.g. 21 is axially between the spring or elastic element 27 and support element 18/19). Wherein the support element has a direct contact with the intermediate element (e.g. 21 is in contact with 18/19) at least during insertion into the housing unit, wherein the intermediate element has a direct contact with the elastic element (e.g. 21 is in contact with 27 and 37) at least during insertion into the housing unit, wherein the intermediate element is rotatable supported relative to the support element (e.g. again intended use since applicant is only claiming a mechanical sealing device, the mechanical sealing device of Vedovell is capable of being mounted on a rotatable shaft, see intended use shown by Takenaka 4426089 or Borrino 5529315).
Regarding claim 2: Wherein the housing unit has a recess (e.g. 20) for accommodating the support element.
Regarding claim 3: Wherein the recess (e.g. 20) is formed at least in sections as an annular groove (e.g. that is the case since the recess is formed by 20 and 29).
Regarding claim 4: Wherein the housing unit (e.g. 10) has at least one surface section (e.g. end surfaces of 20) for guiding the support element (e.g. 18 and/or 19) during insertion into the housing unit (e.g. figures).
Regarding claim 5: Wherein the support element (e.g. 18 and/or 19) is deformable for insertion into the housing unit (figure 5).
Regarding claim 6: Wherein the support element has an annular shape at least in sections (e.g. see sections formed as 18 and 19).
Regarding claim 7: Wherein the support element is formed in a disc-like manner (e.g. see figure 1).
Regarding claim 8: Wherein the support element (e.g. element having 18 and 19) abuts at least in sections against an outer radial edge (e.g. edge of 29) of the housing unit.
Regarding claim 10: Wherein the support element has a direct contact with the intermediate element at least during insertion into the housing unit (e.g. that is the case since the support element and the intermediate are next to each other).
Regarding claim 11: Wherein the elastic element (e.g. 27) presses the intermediate element in the direction of the support element (e.g. see figure and 27).
Regarding claim 12: Wherein the intermediate element (e.g. 21) is movably supported relative to the support element (e.g. that is the case since the intermediate element is pushed by spring 25 inwardly relative to the support element 19).
Regarding claim 13: Wherein a mechanical seal having a mechanical sealing device of claim 1.
Regarding claim 14: Method for mounting a mechanical sealing device, having a housing unit (see rejection of claims above) and an elastic element (e.g. see rejection of claims above), which is inserted into the housing unit (e.g. see rejection of claims above) and is pretensioned in the housing unit (e.g. see rejection of claims above and entire document of Vedovell) by means of a support element (see rejection of claims above).
Claim(s) 1-8, 11 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dahlheimer (US. 20070108705A1).
Dahlheimer discloses a mechanical sealing device (figures 3-4) having an elastic element (e.g. 48) and a housing unit (e.g. 20), further comprising a support element (e.g. 50) for pretensioning the elastic element in the housing unit. Wherein the mechanical sealing device further comprising an intermediate element (e.g. intermediate element at axial back of 44, see figure below) for transmitting force to the elastic element, which intermediate element is in an axial direction arranged entirely between the elastic element and the support element (e.g. see figure below, the intermediate element). Wherein the support element has a direct contact with the intermediate element (e.g. the intermediate element is in contact with the support element 50) at least during insertion into the housing unit, wherein the intermediate element has a direct contact with the elastic element (e.g. the intermediate element is in contact with 48) at least during insertion into the housing unit, wherein the intermediate element is rotatable supported relative to the support element (e.g. again intended use since applicant is only claiming a mechanical sealing device, the mechanical sealing device of Dahlheimer is capable of being mounted on a rotatable shaft, see intended use shown by Takenaka 4426089 or Borrino 5529315).
Regarding claim 2: Wherein the housing unit has a recess (e.g. recess having 50 and marked by dotted lines and solid lines) for accommodating the support element.
Regarding claim 3: Wherein the recess (e.g. the recess) is formed at least in sections as an annular groove (e.g. that is the case as figures show by dotted lines for sections and solid lines for other sections).
Regarding claim 4: Wherein the housing unit (e.g. 20) has at least one surface section (e.g. inner surface of 20 adjacent to 50) for guiding the support element (e.g. 50) during insertion into the housing unit (e.g. figures).
Regarding claim 5: Wherein the support element (e.g. 50) is deformable for insertion into the housing unit (figures 3-4).
Regarding claim 6: Wherein the support element has an annular shape at least in sections (e.g. see sections of 50).
Regarding claim 7: Wherein the support element is formed in a disc-like manner (e.g. see figures 3-4).
Regarding claim 8: Wherein the support element (e.g. figures 3-4) abuts at least in sections against an outer radial edge (e.g. edge of the housing unit contacted by 50) of the housing unit.
Regarding claim 10: Wherein the support element has a direct contact with the intermediate element at least during insertion into the housing unit (e.g. that is the case since the support element and the intermediate are next to each other).
Regarding claim 11: Wherein the elastic element (e.g. 42c) presses the intermediate element in the direction of the support element (e.g. see figures 3-4).
Regarding claim 12: Wherein the intermediate element (e.g. 42c) is movably supported relative to the support element (e.g. that is the case as shown in figures 3-4).
Regarding claim 13: Wherein a mechanical seal having a mechanical sealing device of claim 1.
Regarding claim 14: Method for mounting a mechanical sealing device, having a housing unit (see rejection of claims above) and an elastic element (e.g. see rejection of claims above), which is inserted into the housing unit (e.g. see rejection of claims above) and is pretensioned in the housing unit (e.g. see rejection of claims above and entire document of Dahlheimer) by means of a support element (see rejection of claims above).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Ryan US20180017166 teaches all the claims limitations see 102, 120a/120b, 104, support ring 108 in groove of housing 102, Takenaka teaches all the limitation of claims see 13, 14, 15 and support ring above 10 that contacts 15 when assembled, Volden teaches all the limitations see 50, 54, 56 and support element adjacent to 58, Marsi teaches all the limitations see 10, 76, 82 and/or 58 and support element 70 and Borrino teaches all the limitations see 140, 146, 150, 162 and 161. Also see references on form 892.
It is noted that applicant is only claiming a part of the intention or a part of a process of assembly of a mechanical sealing device, an example is shown below for reference 5529315 (another reference is also Volden 5449812, housing unit 50, elastic element 54, intermediate element 56 and support element behind element 58).
It is noted that before the sealing ring 52 is placed in the housing element 40 the intermediate element and the support element, the intermediate element and the support element would contact similarly to what is shown in reference 2724603 in figures 4 and 3 or Carmody US5354070, figure 5, where intermediate element 1 in contact with ledge 11 that is support element and then goes out of contact as shown in other figures or Kosatka US 2856219 similarly shows two state of mechanical sealing device when elastic element is in one state figure 5 and another state where the elastic element is in a second state figure 3 or Olin US 2598886 shows figure 2 when element 27 is placed into 17 and element 48 is placed thereafter and the element 48 would contact inner part of 24.
/VISHAL A PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3675