Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP2017-122193 (Hitachi) .
Regarding claim 1, Hitachi teaches an adhesive film used for joining a semiconductor chip and a base and sealing a gap between the semiconductor chip and the base, the adhesive film being a single layer film formed from an adhesive composition having photocurability and thermosetting properties [0024]-[0044],[0087]-[0100].
Regarding claim 2, Hitachi teaches that the adhesive composition comprises a photopolymerizable compound, a photopolymerization initiator, a thermosetting resin, and a thermal curing agent [0024]-[0044],[0087]-[0100].
Regarding claim 3, Hitachi teaches that the photopolymerizable compound is a radically polymerizable compound, and the photopolymerization initiator is a photoradical polymerization initiator [0024]-[0044],[0087]-[0100].
Regarding claim 4, Hitachi teaches that the radically polymerizable compound comprises a (meth)acrylic compound [0024]-[0044],[0087]-[0100].
Regarding claim 5, Hitachi teaches that the thermosetting resin comprises an epoxy resin [0024]-[0044],[0087]-[0100].
Regarding claim 6, Hitachi teaches that the thermal curing agent comprises an imidazole-based curing agent [0024]-[0044],[0087]-[0100].
Claims 1-6 and 8-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP2016-122193 147930 (Showa) .
Regarding claim 1, Showa teaches an adhesive film used for joining a semiconductor chip and a base and sealing a gap between the semiconductor chip and the base, the adhesive film being a single layer film formed from an adhesive composition having photocurability and thermosetting properties [0015]-[0062],[0093]-[0104], [0114]-[0124],[0125]-[0137].
Regarding claim 2, Showa teaches that the adhesive composition comprises a photopolymerizable compound, a photopolymerization initiator, a thermosetting resin, and a thermal curing agent [0015]-[0062],[0093]-[0104], [0114]-[0124],[0125]-[0137].
Regarding claim 3, Showa teaches that the photopolymerizable compound is a radically polymerizable compound, and the photopolymerization initiator is a photoradical polymerization initiator [0015]-[0062],[0093]-[0104], [0114]-[0124],[0125]-[0137].
Regarding claim 4, Showa teaches that the radically polymerizable compound comprises a (meth)acrylic compound [0015]-[0062],[0093]-[0104], [0114]-[0124],[0125]-[0137].
Regarding claim 5, Showa teaches that the thermosetting resin comprises an epoxy resin [0015]-[0062],[0093]-[0104], [0114]-[0124],[0125]-[0137].
Regarding claim 6, Showa teaches that the thermal curing agent comprises an imidazole-based curing agent [0015]-[0062],[0093]-[0104], [0114]-[0124],[0125]-[0137]
Regarding claim 8, Showa teaches that a mass ratio of a content of the thermosetting resin with respect to a content of the photopolymerizable compound in the adhesive composition is 3 to 11 [0015]-[0062],[0093]-[0104], [0114]-[0124],[0125]-[0137].
Regarding claim 9, Showa teaches that the adhesive film according to claim 1; and a back-grinding tape provided on the adhesive film [0015]-[0062],[0093]-[0104], [0114]-[0124],[0125]-[0137].
Regarding claim 10, Showa teaches a release film provided on the adhesive tape, the release film being provided on an opposite side of the back-grinding tape as viewed from the adhesive film [0015]-[0062],[0093]-[0104], [0114]-[0124],[0125]-[0137].
Regarding claim 14, Showa a semiconductor chip having a first connecting part; a base having a second connecting part electrically connected to the first connecting part; and a sealing part adhering the semiconductor chip to the base and filling a gap between the semiconductor chip and the base, wherein the sealing part is a cured product of the adhesive film according to claim 1 [0015]-[0062],[0093]-[0104], [0114]-[0124],[0125]-[0137].
Regarding claim 11, Showa teaches a method for producing a semiconductor device, the method comprising: irradiating the adhesive film according to claim 1 with light; and heating and joining a semiconductor chip and a base for mounting the semiconductor chip, in a state in which the semiconductor chip and the base are arranged, with the adhesive film after light irradiation interposed therebetween, such that connecting parts thereof face each other, wherein the light is irradiated in a state in which the adhesive film is stuck to a connecting surface of the semiconductor chip or a precursor thereof, or a connecting surface of the base or a precursor thereof [0015]-[0062],[0093]-[0104], [0114]-[0124],[0125]-[0137].
Regarding claim 12, Showa teaches the step of preparing an adhesive tape comprising the adhesive film and a back-grinding tape provided on the adhesive film, and sticking the adhesive tape from a side of the adhesive film to a connecting surface of a precursor of the semiconductor chip or a precursor of the base; and grinding the precursor to which the adhesive tape is stuck, from an opposite side of the adhesive tape [0015]-[0062],[0093]-[0104], [0114]-[0124],[0125]-[0137].
Regarding claim 13, Showa teaches that the light is irradiated after removing the back-grinding tape after grinding the precursor [0015]-[0062],[0093]-[0104], [0114]-[0124],[0125]-[0137].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 7 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Mitsukura, UH and Fogel teaches embodiments similar to the instant invention.
/LEONARDO ANDUJAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3991