DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, 12, 15, 23 and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kanamarlapudi et al., US 2023/0246750 A1 (Kanamarlapudi hereinafter).
Here is how the reference teaches the claims.
Regarding claim 1, Kanamarlapudi discloses a method performed by a Centralized Unit, CU, of a base station (Kanamarlapudi, paragraph [0064], Techniques are also described herein for signaling ADU awareness between DUs and a centralized unit (CU) of a base station), the method comprising:
providing, information to a Distributed Unit, DU, of the base station (Kanamarlapudi, paragraph [0120], At 705, the CU 160-c may indicate an ADU to the DU 165-c via a user plane interface ( e.g., an F 1-U interface). For example, the CU 160-c may transmit an ADU indication via the Fl-U interface, where the ADU indication may identify the ADU and associated SDUs) to indicate which groups of Radio Link Control, RLC, Service Data Units, SDUs, belong to a unique Application Data Unit, ADU (Kanamarlapudi, paragraph [0111], As described herein, devices may communicate using the protocol stack 400 based on a shared awareness of the ADU 220-g. In one example, a UE may communicate (e.g., receive in a downlink communication or transmit in an uplink communication) a set of SDUs (e.g., PDCP SDUs or RLC SDUs 440) of an ADU 220. The UE may be aware of the ADU 220-g that includes the set of SDUs based on an identifier in a header ( e.g., a PDCP header 425 or an RLC header 445) of the set of SDUs. Also see paragraph [0113], In some examples, the CU 160-b may indicate an ADU to the DU 165-b via a user plane interface (e.g., an Fl-U interface 205-a). For example, the CU 160-b may transmit an ADU indication 210 via the Fl-U interface 205-a, where the ADU indication 210 may identify the ADU and associated SDUs), which needs to be delivered within a same time budget (Kanamarlapudi, paragraphs [0100]-[0101], a CU 160-a of the base station 105-a may indicate an ADU 220 to a DU 165-a via a user plane interface (e.g., an Fl-U interface 205) … The DU 165-a may identify that the SDUs 230 are included in the ADU 220 based on a header of the SDU s 230, or based on the ADU indication 210 received via the Fl-U interface 205. The DU 165-a may infer that the SDU 230-c is to be retransmitted, and proactively retransmit the SDU 230-c, for example, to satisfy an ADU delay budget); and
adding ADU related information on each of a plurality of Packet Data Convergence Protocol, PDCP, Protocol Data Unit, PDUs (Kanamarlapudi, paragraph [0108], As illustrated in FIG. 4, the protocol stack 400 may include a PDCP layer 405, an RLC layer 410, a MAC layer 415, and a physical layer 420. Packets 417 of an ADU 220-g (which may be an example of the packets 315 described with reference to FIG. 3) may be SDUs at the PDCP layer 405. The PDCP layer 405 may include the SDUs in PDCP payloads 430-a and 430-b and add corresponding PDCP headers 425-a and 425-b to form PDCP protocol data units (PDUs) 435-a and 435-b. In some examples, the PDCP headers 425 may include an indication that identifies the PDCP SDUs are associated with the ADU 220-g), to allow an RLC entity to be aware which RLC SDU belongs to which unique ADU (Kanamarlapudi, paragraph [0109], The PDCP layer 405 may provide the PDCP PDUs 435-a and 435-b to the RLC layer 410 as RLC SDUs 440-a and 440-b. The RLC layer 410 may include the RLC SDUs 440-a and 440-b in an RLC payload 450 and add an RLC header 445 to form an RLC PDU 455. In some examples, the RLC header 445 may include an indication that identifies the RLC SDU s 440-a and 440-b are associated with the ADU 220-g).
Regarding claim 4, Kanamarlapudi discloses wherein, if the groups of RLC SDUs belonging to the unique ADU are not delivered within the same time budget, one or more are dropped (Kanamarlapudi, paragraph [0103], the CU 160-a may determine a strategy for discarding SDUs 230 to reduce latency (i.e., dropping SDUs) or signaling overhead, for example, based on the ADU content policy. Also see paragraph [0098], In some examples, the UE 115-a may determine a strategy for discarding SDUs 230 to reduce latency or signaling overhead, for example, based on an ADU content policy. For example, if the ADU content policy indicates that x= 100%, where 100% of the bits of the ADU 220 are to be delivered, then if any SDU 230 of the ADU 220 is absent (i.e., not delivered within the same time/latency budget), the UE 115-a may discard the other SDUs 230 (e.g., SDUs 230-a, 230-b, and 230-d) of the ADU 220. Alternatively, if the ADU content policy indicates x<l 00%, then the UE 115-a may discard the other SDUs 230 of the ADU 220 if the percentage of absent SDUs 230 exceeds 100%-x. Also see paragraph [0148], In some examples, the absence of the SDU is identified based on a presence of a second SDU corresponding to a second ADU that is scheduled after the ADU. In some examples, the SDU includes a PDCP SDU or an RLC SDU).
Regarding claim 12, Kanamarlapudi discloses a method performed by a Distributed Unit, DU, of a base station (Kanamarlapudi, paragraph [0064], Techniques are also described herein for signaling ADU awareness between DUs and a centralized unit (CU) of a base station), the method comprising one or more of:
receiving information from a Centralized Unit, CU, of the base station (Kanamarlapudi, paragraph [0120], At 705, the CU 160-c may indicate an ADU to the DU 165-c via a user plane interface ( e.g., an F 1-U interface). For example, the CU 160-c may transmit an ADU indication via the Fl-U interface, where the ADU indication may identify the ADU and associated SDUs) to indicate which groups of Radio Link Control, RLC, Service Data Units, SDUs, belong to a unique Application Data Unit, ADU (Kanamarlapudi, paragraph [0111], As described herein, devices may communicate using the protocol stack 400 based on a shared awareness of the ADU 220-g. In one example, a UE may communicate (e.g., receive in a downlink communication or transmit in an uplink communication) a set of SDUs (e.g., PDCP SDUs or RLC SDUs 440) of an ADU 220. The UE may be aware of the ADU 220-g that includes the set of SDUs based on an identifier in a header ( e.g., a PDCP header 425 or an RLC header 445) of the set of SDUs. Also see paragraph [0113], In some examples, the CU 160-b may indicate an ADU to the DU 165-b via a user plane interface (e.g., an Fl-U interface 205-a). For example, the CU 160-b may transmit an ADU indication 210 via the Fl-U interface 205-a, where the ADU indication 210 may identify the ADU and associated SDUs), which needs to be delivered within a same time budget (Kanamarlapudi, paragraphs [0100]-[0101], a CU 160-a of the base station 105-a may indicate an ADU 220 to a DU 165-a via a user plane interface (e.g., an Fl-U interface 205) … The DU 165-a may identify that the SDUs 230 are included in the ADU 220 based on a header of the SDU s 230, or based on the ADU indication 210 received via the Fl-U interface 205. The DU 165-a may infer that the SDU 230-c is to be retransmitted, and proactively retransmit the SDU 230-c, for example, to satisfy an ADU delay budget); and
receiving added ADU related information on different Packet Data Convergence Protocol, PDCP, Protocol Data Unit, PDUs (Kanamarlapudi, paragraph [0108], As illustrated in FIG. 4, the protocol stack 400 may include a PDCP layer 405, an RLC layer 410, a MAC layer 415, and a physical layer 420. Packets 417 of an ADU 220-g (which may be an example of the packets 315 described with reference to FIG. 3) may be SDUs at the PDCP layer 405. The PDCP layer 405 may include the SDUs in PDCP payloads 430-a and 430-b and add corresponding PDCP headers 425-a and 425-b to form PDCP protocol data units (PDUs) 435-a and 435-b. In some examples, the PDCP headers 425 may include an indication that identifies the PDCP SDUs are associated with the ADU 220-g), to allow an RLC entity to be aware which RLC SDU belongs to which unique ADU (Kanamarlapudi, paragraph [0109], The PDCP layer 405 may provide the PDCP PDUs 435-a and 435-b to the RLC layer 410 as RLC SDUs 440-a and 440-b. The RLC layer 410 may include the RLC SDUs 440-a and 440-b in an RLC payload 450 and add an RLC header 445 to form an RLC PDU 455. In some examples, the RLC header 445 may include an indication that identifies the RLC SDU s 440-a and 440-b are associated with the ADU 220-g).
Regarding claim 15, Kanamarlapudi discloses wherein, if the groups of RLC SDUs belonging to the unique ADU are not delivered within the same time budget, one or more are dropped (Kanamarlapudi, paragraph [0103], the CU 160-a may determine a strategy for discarding SDUs 230 to reduce latency (i.e., dropping SDUs) or signaling overhead, for example, based on the ADU content policy. Also see paragraph [0098], In some examples, the UE 115-a may determine a strategy for discarding SDUs 230 to reduce latency or signaling overhead, for example, based on an ADU content policy. For example, if the ADU content policy indicates that x= 100%, where 100% of the bits of the ADU 220 are to be delivered, then if any SDU 230 of the ADU 220 is absent (i.e., not delivered within the same time/latency budget), the UE 115-a may discard the other SDUs 230 (e.g., SDUs 230-a, 230-b, and 230-d) of the ADU 220. Alternatively, if the ADU content policy indicates x<l 00%, then the UE 115-a may discard the other SDUs 230 of the ADU 220 if the percentage of absent SDUs 230 exceeds 100%-x. Also see paragraph [0148], In some examples, the absence of the SDU is identified based on a presence of a second SDU corresponding to a second ADU that is scheduled after the ADU. In some examples, the SDU includes a PDCP SDU or an RLC SDU).
Regarding claim 23, Kanamarlapudi discloses a Centralized Unit, CU, of a base station (Kanamarlapudi, paragraph [0064], Techniques are also described herein for signaling ADU awareness between DUs and a centralized unit (CU) of a base station), the CU comprising processing circuitry and memory, the memory comprising instructions to cause the CU (Kanamarlapudi, paragraph [0020], An apparatus for wireless communication at a CU of a base station is described. The apparatus may include a processor, memory coupled with the processor, and instructions stored in the memory. The instructions may be executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to transmit, via a user plane interface with one or more distributed units (i.e., DUs) of the base station, an indication of an ADU including a set of SDUs) to:
provide information to a Distributed Unit, DU, of the base station (Kanamarlapudi, paragraph [0120], At 705, the CU 160-c may indicate an ADU to the DU 165-c via a user plane interface ( e.g., an F 1-U interface). For example, the CU 160-c may transmit an ADU indication via the Fl-U interface, where the ADU indication may identify the ADU and associated SDUs) to indicate which groups of Radio Link Control, RLC, Service Data Units, SDUs, belong to a unique Application Data Unit, ADU (Kanamarlapudi, paragraph [0111], As described herein, devices may communicate using the protocol stack 400 based on a shared awareness of the ADU 220-g. In one example, a UE may communicate (e.g., receive in a downlink communication or transmit in an uplink communication) a set of SDUs (e.g., PDCP SDUs or RLC SDUs 440) of an ADU 220. The UE may be aware of the ADU 220-g that includes the set of SDUs based on an identifier in a header ( e.g., a PDCP header 425 or an RLC header 445) of the set of SDUs. Also see paragraph [0113], In some examples, the CU 160-b may indicate an ADU to the DU 165-b via a user plane interface (e.g., an Fl-U interface 205-a). For example, the CU 160-b may transmit an ADU indication 210 via the Fl-U interface 205-a, where the ADU indication 210 may identify the ADU and associated SDUs), which needs to be delivered within a same time budget (Kanamarlapudi, paragraphs [0100]-[0101], a CU 160-a of the base station 105-a may indicate an ADU 220 to a DU 165-a via a user plane interface (e.g., an Fl-U interface 205) … The DU 165-a may identify that the SDUs 230 are included in the ADU 220 based on a header of the SDU s 230, or based on the ADU indication 210 received via the Fl-U interface 205. The DU 165-a may infer that the SDU 230-c is to be retransmitted, and proactively retransmit the SDU 230-c, for example, to satisfy an ADU delay budget); and
add ADU related information on different Packet Data Convergence Protocol, PDCP, Protocol Data Unit, PDUs (Kanamarlapudi, paragraph [0108], As illustrated in FIG. 4, the protocol stack 400 may include a PDCP layer 405, an RLC layer 410, a MAC layer 415, and a physical layer 420. Packets 417 of an ADU 220-g (which may be an example of the packets 315 described with reference to FIG. 3) may be SDUs at the PDCP layer 405. The PDCP layer 405 may include the SDUs in PDCP payloads 430-a and 430-b and add corresponding PDCP headers 425-a and 425-b to form PDCP protocol data units (PDUs) 435-a and 435-b. In some examples, the PDCP headers 425 may include an indication that identifies the PDCP SDUs are associated with the ADU 220-g), to allow an RLC entity to be aware which RLC SDU belongs to which unique ADU (Kanamarlapudi, paragraph [0109], The PDCP layer 405 may provide the PDCP PDUs 435-a and 435-b to the RLC layer 410 as RLC SDUs 440-a and 440-b. The RLC layer 410 may include the RLC SDUs 440-a and 440-b in an RLC payload 450 and add an RLC header 445 to form an RLC PDU 455. In some examples, the RLC header 445 may include an indication that identifies the RLC SDU s 440-a and 440-b are associated with the ADU 220-g).
Regarding claim 25, Kanamarlapudi discloses a Distributed Unit, DU, of a base station (Kanamarlapudi, paragraph [0064], Techniques are also described herein for signaling ADU awareness between DUs and a centralized unit (CU) of a base station), the DU comprising processing circuitry and memory, the memory comprising instructions to cause the DU (Kanamarlapudi, paragraph [0020], An apparatus for wireless communication at a CU of a base station is described. The apparatus may include a processor, memory coupled with the processor, and instructions stored in the memory. The instructions may be executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to transmit, via a user plane interface with one or more distributed units (i.e., DUs) of the base station, an indication of an ADU including a set of SDUs) to:
receive information from a Centralized Unit, CU, of the base station (Kanamarlapudi, paragraph [0120], At 705, the CU 160-c may indicate an ADU to the DU 165-c via a user plane interface ( e.g., an F 1-U interface). For example, the CU 160-c may transmit an ADU indication via the Fl-U interface, where the ADU indication may identify the ADU and associated SDUs) to indicate which groups of Radio Link Control, RLC, Service Data Units, SDUs, belong to a unique Application Data Unit, ADU (Kanamarlapudi, paragraph [0111], As described herein, devices may communicate using the protocol stack 400 based on a shared awareness of the ADU 220-g. In one example, a UE may communicate (e.g., receive in a downlink communication or transmit in an uplink communication) a set of SDUs (e.g., PDCP SDUs or RLC SDUs 440) of an ADU 220. The UE may be aware of the ADU 220-g that includes the set of SDUs based on an identifier in a header ( e.g., a PDCP header 425 or an RLC header 445) of the set of SDUs. Also see paragraph [0113], In some examples, the CU 160-b may indicate an ADU to the DU 165-b via a user plane interface (e.g., an Fl-U interface 205-a). For example, the CU 160-b may transmit an ADU indication 210 via the Fl-U interface 205-a, where the ADU indication 210 may identify the ADU and associated SDUs), which needs to be delivered within a same time budget (Kanamarlapudi, paragraphs [0100]-[0101], a CU 160-a of the base station 105-a may indicate an ADU 220 to a DU 165-a via a user plane interface (e.g., an Fl-U interface 205) … The DU 165-a may identify that the SDUs 230 are included in the ADU 220 based on a header of the SDU s 230, or based on the ADU indication 210 received via the Fl-U interface 205. The DU 165-a may infer that the SDU 230-c is to be retransmitted, and proactively retransmit the SDU 230-c, for example, to satisfy an ADU delay budget); and
receive added ADU related information on different Packet Data Convergence Protocol, PDCP, Protocol Data Unit, PDUs (Kanamarlapudi, paragraph [0108], As illustrated in FIG. 4, the protocol stack 400 may include a PDCP layer 405, an RLC layer 410, a MAC layer 415, and a physical layer 420. Packets 417 of an ADU 220-g (which may be an example of the packets 315 described with reference to FIG. 3) may be SDUs at the PDCP layer 405. The PDCP layer 405 may include the SDUs in PDCP payloads 430-a and 430-b and add corresponding PDCP headers 425-a and 425-b to form PDCP protocol data units (PDUs) 435-a and 435-b. In some examples, the PDCP headers 425 may include an indication that identifies the PDCP SDUs are associated with the ADU 220-g), to allow an RLC entity to be aware which RLC SDU belongs to which unique ADU (Kanamarlapudi, paragraph [0109], The PDCP layer 405 may provide the PDCP PDUs 435-a and 435-b to the RLC layer 410 as RLC SDUs 440-a and 440-b. The RLC layer 410 may include the RLC SDUs 440-a and 440-b in an RLC payload 450 and add an RLC header 445 to form an RLC PDU 455. In some examples, the RLC header 445 may include an indication that identifies the RLC SDU s 440-a and 440-b are associated with the ADU 220-g).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3 and 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kanamarlapudi et al., US 2023/0246750 A1 (Kanamarlapudi hereinafter), as applied to the claims above and further in view of Dai et al., US 2025/0234237 A1 (Dai hereinafter).
Here is how the references teach the claims.
Regarding claims 2-3 and 13-14, Kanamarlapudi discloses the method of claim 1 and the method of claim 12. Kanamarlapudi does not explicitly disclose the following features.
Regarding claim 2, wherein the information is provided from a PDCP layer of the CU.
Regarding claim 3, wherein the information is provided to an RLC layer of the DU.
Regarding claim 13, wherein the information is received from a PDCP layer of the CU.
Regarding claim 14, wherein the information is received by an RLC layer of the DU.
In the same field of endeavor (e.g., communication system) Dai discloses a method related to a wireless communication technology that comprises the following features.
Regarding claim 2, wherein the information is provided from a PDCP layer of the CU (Dai, paragraph [0072], the CU 1021 may handle the ADU information 1022 before generating PDCP PDUs, and may attach the ADU information 1022 to the PDCP PDUs. The UE 101 may obtain the ADU information 1028 from the PDCP PDU of the network packet before processing the PDCP PDU).
Regarding claim 3, wherein the information is provided to an RLC layer of the DU (Dai, paragraph [0070, the DU 1023 may obtain the ADU information 1022 from the GTP-U extension header. The DU 1023 may add the ADU information 1022 in: (1) a header of existing layer 2 layer ( e.g., PDCP layer, RLC layer and MAC layer); or (2) in a new layer 2 layer, which may be an ADU layer. The DU 1023 may transmit the ADU information 1022 to the UE 101 based on the header of existing layer 2 layer or the new layer 2 layer).
Regarding claim 13, wherein the information is received from a PDCP layer of the CU (Dai, paragraph [0072], the CU 1021 may handle the ADU information 1022 before generating PDCP PDUs, and may attach the ADU information 1022 to the PDCP PDUs. The UE 101 may obtain the ADU information 1028 from the PDCP PDU of the network packet before processing the PDCP PDU).
Regarding claim 14, wherein the information is received by an RLC layer of the DU (Dai, paragraph [0070, the DU 1023 may obtain the ADU information 1022 from the GTP-U extension header. The DU 1023 may add the ADU information 1022 in: (1) a header of existing layer 2 layer ( e.g., PDCP layer, RLC layer and MAC layer); or (2) in a new layer 2 layer, which may be an ADU layer. The DU 1023 may transmit the ADU information 1022 to the UE 101 based on the header of existing layer 2 layer or the new layer 2 layer).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Kanamarlapudi by using the features, as taught by Dai, in order to support application data unit based data transmission between a central unit, distributed unit and a user equipment (see Dai, paragraph [0001]).
Claim(s) 5, 9-11, 16 and 20-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kanamarlapudi et al., US 2023/0246750 A1 (Kanamarlapudi hereinafter), as applied to the claims above and further in view of Zhang et al., US 2025/0158934 A1 (Zhang hereinafter).
Here is how the references teach the claims.
Regarding claims 5, 9-11, 16 and 20-22, Kanamarlapudi discloses the method of claim 1 and the method of claim 12. Kanamarlapudi does not explicitly disclose the following features.
Regarding claim 5, wherein a timer for discarding is signaled by a PDCP entity.
Regarding claim 9, wherein, when the timer expires, the RLC entity will discard the ADUs not transmitted.
Regarding claim 10, further comprising: informing the PDCP entity.
Regarding claim 11, further comprising one or more of:
enabling the decision of dropping of PDCP and/or RLC PDUs related to the ADU groups to be done at the RLC layer;
enabling the RLC layer to discard the received ADU/PDCP PDU when the timer for discarding has expired;
sending a new type of flow control information on an ADU level;
indicating to the DU which ADUs should be discarded by the RLC entity; and delivering the timer together with the ADU to the DU.
Regarding claim 16, wherein a timer for discarding is signaled by a PDCP entity.
Regarding claim 20, wherein, when the timer expires, the RLC entity will discard the ADUs not transmitted.
Regarding claim 21, further comprising: informing the PDCP entity.
Regarding 22, further comprising one or more of:
enabling the decision of dropping of Packet Data Convergence Protocol, PDCP, and/or RLC PDUs related to the ADU groups to be done at the RLC layer;
enabling the RLC layer to discard the received ADU/PDCP PDU when the timer for discarding has expired;
receiving a new type of flow control information on an ADU level;
receiving an indication from the CU which ADUs should be discarded by the RLC entity; and receiving the timer together with the ADU from the CU.
In the same field of endeavor (e.g., communication system) Zhang discloses a method related to a wireless communication technology that comprises the following features.
Regarding claim 5, wherein a timer for discarding is signaled by a PDCP entity (Zhang, paragraph [0026], at reception of a PDCP SDU from upper layers, the transmitting PDCP entity shall start timer discardTimer associated with this PDCP SDU (if configured). For a PDCP SDU received from upper layers, the transmitting PDCP entity shall associate the COUNT value corresponding to TX NEXT to this PDCP SDU).
Regarding claim 9, wherein, when the timer expires, the RLC entity will discard the ADUs not transmitted (Zhang, paragraph [0027], Regarding a SDU discarding operation, when timer discardTimer expires for a PDCP SDU, or the successful delivery of a PDCP SDU is confirmed by a PDCP status report, the transmitting PDCP entity shall discard the PDCP SDU along with the corresponding PDCP Data PDU … For a signaling radio bearer (SRB), when upper layers request a PDCP SDU discard, the PDCP entity shall discard all stored PDCP SDUs and PDCP PDUs).
Regarding claim 10, further comprising: informing the PDCP entity (Zhang, paragraph [0361], PDCP Rx entity 610 triggers a DCP packet discarding operation and informs PDCP Tx entity 620, e.g., as described in the embodiments of FIG. 5 (i.e., PDCP Tx entity 620 receives parameter information regarding a discarding operation from PDCP Rx entity 610)).
Regarding claim 11, further comprising one or more of:
enabling the decision of dropping of PDCP and/or RLC PDUs related to the ADU groups to be done at the RLC layer;
enabling the RLC layer to discard the received ADU/PDCP PDU when the timer for discarding has expired;
sending a new type of flow control information on an ADU level;
indicating to the DU which ADUs should be discarded by the RLC entity; and delivering the timer together with the ADU to the DU (Zhang, paragraph [0367]-[0371], According to some embodiments of FIG. 6, if the PDCP packet discarding operation is triggered by the transmitting PDCP entity itself (e.g., in a case that "timer discardTimer expires for a PDCP SDU" or "a PDCP status report indicates a missing PDCP SDU") (i.e., decision to enable dropping ot the PDCP packets), PDCP Tx entity 620 may perform any or a combination of following operations: … 1) CountToDiscard is set to a COUNT value associated with the PDCP packet in the transmission buffer which triggers the PDCP packet discarding operation … 2) ADUindexToDiscard is set to an ADU Index value associated with the PDCP packet in the transmission buffer which triggers the PDCPpacket discarding operation … 3) NumberlnUnitToDiscard is set to a number in unit value associated with the PDCP packet in the transmission buffer which triggers the PDCP packet discarding operation … 4) ImportanceToDiscard is either set to importance level value associated with the PDCP packet in the transmission buffer which triggers the PDCP packet discard, or set to an ImportanceToDiscard value configured by a network node in advance).
Regarding claim 16, wherein a timer for discarding is signaled by a PDCP entity (Zhang, paragraph [0026], at reception of a PDCP SDU from upper layers, the transmitting PDCP entity shall start timer discardTimer associated with this PDCP SDU (if configured). For a PDCP SDU received from upper layers, the transmitting PDCP entity shall associate the COUNT value corresponding to TX NEXT to this PDCP SDU).
Regarding claim 20, wherein, when the timer expires, the RLC entity will discard the ADUs not transmitted (Zhang, paragraph [0027], Regarding a SDU discarding operation, when timer discardTimer expires for a PDCP SDU, or the successful delivery of a PDCP SDU is confirmed by a PDCP status report, the transmitting PDCP entity shall discard the PDCP SDU along with the corresponding PDCP Data PDU … For a signaling radio bearer (SRB), when upper layers request a PDCP SDU discard, the PDCP entity shall discard all stored PDCP SDUs and PDCP PDUs).
Regarding claim 21, further comprising: informing the PDCP entity (Zhang, paragraph [0361], PDCP Rx entity 610 triggers a DCP packet discarding operation and informs PDCP Tx entity 620, e.g., as described in the embodiments of FIG. 5 (i.e., PDCP Tx entity 620 receives parameter information regarding a discarding operation from PDCP Rx entity 610)).
Regarding 22, further comprising one or more of:
enabling the decision of dropping of Packet Data Convergence Protocol, PDCP, and/or RLC PDUs related to the ADU groups to be done at the RLC layer;
enabling the RLC layer to discard the received ADU/PDCP PDU when the timer for discarding has expired;
receiving a new type of flow control information on an ADU level;
receiving an indication from the CU which ADUs should be discarded by the RLC entity; and receiving the timer together with the ADU from the CU (Zhang, paragraph [0367]-[0371], According to some embodiments of FIG. 6, if the PDCP packet discarding operation is triggered by the transmitting PDCP entity itself (e.g., in a case that "timer discardTimer expires for a PDCP SDU" or "a PDCP status report indicates a missing PDCP SDU") (i.e., decision to enable dropping ot the PDCP packets), PDCP Tx entity 620 may perform any or a combination of following operations: … 1) CountToDiscard is set to a COUNT value associated with the PDCP packet in the transmission buffer which triggers the PDCP packet discarding operation … 2) ADUindexToDiscard is set to an ADU Index value associated with the PDCP packet in the transmission buffer which triggers the PDCPpacket discarding operation … 3) NumberlnUnitToDiscard is set to a number in unit value associated with the PDCP packet in the transmission buffer which triggers the PDCP packet discarding operation … 4) ImportanceToDiscard is either set to importance level value associated with the PDCP packet in the transmission buffer which triggers the PDCP packet discard, or set to an ImportanceToDiscard value configured by a network node in advance).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Kanamarlapudi by using the features, as taught by Zhang, in order to support packet discarding operation in a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) layer due to a packet loss (see Zhang, abstract and paragraph [0001]).
Claim(s) 6 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kanamarlapudi et al., US 2023/0246750 A1 (Kanamarlapudi hereinafter), as applied to the claims above and further in view of FU et al., US 2024/0236215 A1 (Fu hereinafter).
Here is how the references teach the claims.
Regarding claims 6 and 17, Kanamarlapudi discloses the method of claim 1 and the method of claim 12. Kanamarlapudi does not explicitly disclose the following features.
Regarding claim 6, wherein adding the ADU related information on each PDCP PDU enables the DU and the RLC layer to efficiently apply ADU-level resource allocation or cancellation.
Regarding claim 17, wherein adding the ADU related information on each PDCP PDU enables the DU and the RLC layer to efficiently apply ADU-level resource allocation or cancellation.
In the same field of endeavor (e.g., communication system) Fu discloses a method related to data transmission in a wireless communication system that comprises the following features.
Regarding claim 6, wherein adding the ADU related information on each PDCP PDU enables the DU and the RLC layer to efficiently apply ADU-level resource allocation or cancellation (Fu, paragraph [0085], As shown in FIG. 4, after acquiring the ADU-association-control demand information, the core network device may determine the ADU-association-control parameter based on the ADU-association-control demand information and send a determined ADU-association-control parameter to the base station, such that the base station may schedule the sent data pocket, allocate the resources (i.e., enables the DU of the base station to allocate resources), or guarantee the demand of sending the associated ADU s as the whole. Also see paragraph [0059], Further, the ADU association information may also include association information between Protocol Data Unit (PDU) session types of the ADUs (i.e., ADU related information on each PDCP PDU), association information between PDU session identifiers, and association information between data pocket types, etc.).
Regarding claim 17, wherein adding the ADU related information on each PDCP PDU enables the DU and the RLC layer to efficiently apply ADU-level resource allocation or cancellation (Fu, paragraph [0085], As shown in FIG. 4, after acquiring the ADU-association-control demand information, the core network device may determine the ADU-association-control parameter based on the ADU-association-control demand information and send a determined ADU-association-control parameter to the base station, such that the base station may schedule the sent data pocket, allocate the resources (i.e., enables the DU of the base station to allocate resources), or guarantee the demand of sending the associated ADU s as the whole. Also see paragraph [0059], Further, the ADU association information may also include association information between Protocol Data Unit (PDU) session types of the ADUs (i.e., ADU related information on each PDCP PDU), association information between PDU session identifiers, and association information between data pocket types, etc.).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Kanamarlapudi by using the features, as taught by Fu, in order to support an application data unit (ADU) association method that facilitates an ADU of an audio data and an ADU of a video data played at the same time in order to meet the viewing requirement of the user equipment (see Fu, abstract and paragraphs [0002]-[0004]).
Claim(s) 7 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kanamarlapudi et al., US 2023/0246750 A1 (Kanamarlapudi hereinafter), as applied to the claims above and further in view of Guo et al., US 2024/0129791 A1 (Guo hereinafter).
Here is how the references teach the claims.
Regarding claims 7 and 18, Kanamarlapudi discloses the method of claim 1 and the method of claim 12. Kanamarlapudi does not explicitly disclose the following features.
Regarding claim 7, wherein the ADU-level resource allocation or cancellation comprises dropping in an ADU level.
Regarding claim 18, wherein the ADU-level resource allocation or cancellation comprises dropping in an ADU level.
In the same field of endeavor (e.g., communication system) Guo discloses a method related a mobile communication technology that comprises the following features.
Regarding claim 7, wherein the ADU-level resource allocation or cancellation comprises dropping in an ADU level (Guo, paragraph [0173], In an embodiment of the present disclosure, the access network device identifies data packets with the same ADU identifier. If a reference number of data packets are lost in the data packets with the same ADU identifier, other data packets that are not transmitted cannot constitute an application data unit. Therefore, the data packet located after the reference number of packets is discarded and a transmission resource is no longer scheduled (i.e., resource being not allocated or cancelled) for these packets).
Regarding claim 18, wherein the ADU-level resource allocation or cancellation comprises dropping in an ADU level (Guo, paragraph [0173], In an embodiment of the present disclosure, the access network device identifies data packets with the same ADU identifier. If a reference number of data packets are lost in the data packets with the same ADU identifier, other data packets that are not transmitted cannot constitute an application data unit. Therefore, the data packet located after the reference number of packets is discarded and a transmission resource is no longer scheduled (i.e., resource being not allocated or cancelled) for these packets).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Kanamarlapudi by using the features, as taught by Guo, in order to support successfully receiving all data packets in an application data unit so that waste of transmission resources could be prevented (see Guo, abstract and paragraphs [0002]-[0003]).
Claim(s) 8 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kanamarlapudi et al., US 2023/0246750 A1 (Kanamarlapudi hereinafter), as applied to the claims above and further in view of Chun et al., US 2023/0247476 A1 (Chun hereinafter).
Here is how the references teach the claims.
Regarding claims 8 and 19, Kanamarlapudi discloses the method of claim 1 and the method of claim 12. Kanamarlapudi does not explicitly disclose the following features.
Regarding claim 8, wherein ADU flow control indicates a different Packet Delay Budget, PDB, of the different PDCP PDUs of the ADU.
Regarding claim 19, wherein ADU flow control indicates a different Packet Delay Budget, PDB, of the different PDCP PDUs of the ADU.
In the same field of endeavor (e.g., communication system) Chun discloses a method related a wireless device communicating with and application server via a core network that comprises the following features.
Regarding claim 8, wherein ADU flow control indicates a different Packet Delay Budget, PDB, of the different PDCP PDUs of the ADU (Chun, paragraph [0418], The wireless device may receive quality of service (QoS) configurations of a QoS flow. The QoS configurations comprise a first QoS configuration for first packets associated with a first application data unit (ADU) type. The QoS configurations may comprise a second QoS configuration for second packets associated with a second ADU type. The wireless device may receive a packet. The wireless device may send the packet using the first QoS configuration based on the packet being associated with the first ADU type. The wireless device may send the packet using the second QoS configuration based on the packet being associated with the second ADU type. The QoS configurations may comprise at least one of: information of packet error rate; information of packet delay budget … The information of configuration of access stratum layer comprises at least one of: configuration of packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) entity; configuration of radio link control (RLC) entity; configuration of medium access control (MAC) entity; configuration of service data adaptation protocol (SDAP) entity; and information of identifying one or more ADU types).
Regarding claim 19, wherein ADU flow control indicates a different Packet Delay Budget, PDB, of the different PDCP PDUs of the ADU (Chun, paragraph [0418], The wireless device may receive quality of service (QoS) configurations of a QoS flow. The QoS configurations comprise a first QoS configuration for first packets associated with a first application data unit (ADU) type. The QoS configurations may comprise a second QoS configuration for second packets associated with a second ADU type. The wireless device may receive a packet. The wireless device may send the packet using the first QoS configuration based on the packet being associated with the first ADU type. The wireless device may send the packet using the second QoS configuration based on the packet being associated with the second ADU type. The QoS configurations may comprise at least one of: information of packet error rate; information of packet delay budget … The information of configuration of access stratum layer comprises at least one of: configuration of packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) entity; configuration of radio link control (RLC) entity; configuration of medium access control (MAC) entity; configuration of service data adaptation protocol (SDAP) entity; and information of identifying one or more ADU types).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Kanamarlapudi by using the features, as taught by Chun, to provide a method for supporting one or more QoS configurations prioritizing different types of packets associated with different types of ADUs in order to achieve improved quality of experience (QoE), improved throughput, reduced delay, reduction of wasted resources and/or alleviation of congestion (see Chun, abstract and paragraph [0004]).
Conclusion
/OBAIDUL HUQ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2473 Dated: 08/08/2026