DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-7, 9-10, 12-14, 16-18, 22-27 and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ianev et al (20220264505) in view of Chun et al (20240064626).
Regarding claim 1, Ianev et al discloses, a method in a wireless device (UE) for handling network slices in a telecommunication network (abstract, fig. 5), the method comprising:
sending a registration request to a network node in the telecommunication network (fig. 5, steps 501-502, ¶ 0077-0078, 0081, sends the NAS message registration request message to the selected AMF);
receiving a registration accept comprising a first list of one or more tracking areas identifiers (TAI list) of one or more tracking areas representing a registration area (RA) and associated one or more first network slices that are uniformly available across all the one or more tracking areas of the RA (fig. 5, step 504, ¶ 0082, the AMF 3 includes both S-NSSAI-1 and S-NSSAI-2 into the Conditional NSSAI. S-NSSAI-1 within the Conditional NSSAI may be associated with a subset of TAIs contained in the registration area of the UE 4. Similarly, S-NSSAI-2 within the Conditional NSSAI may be associated with a subset of TAIs contained in the registration area of the UE 4. According to the example of FIG. 3A, the TAI subset associated with S-NSSAI-1 contains TAI-1, while the TAI subset associated with S-NSSAI-2 contains TAI-2.); and
at least one second TAI list for second one or more tracking areas and associated one or more second network slices that are available across all the one or more second tracking areas of the at least one second TAI list (fig. 5, step 504, ¶ 0082, the AMF 3 includes both S-NSSAI-1 and S-NSSAI-2 into the Conditional NSSAI. S-NSSAI-1 within the Conditional NSSAI may be associated with a subset of TAIs contained in the registration area of the UE 4. Similarly, S-NSSAI-2 within the Conditional NSSAI may be associated with a subset of TAIs contained in the registration area of the UE 4. According to the example of FIG. 3A, the TAI subset associated with S-NSSAI-1 contains TAI-1, while the TAI subset associated with S-NSSAI-2 contains TAI-2.),
wherein the second one or more tracking areas are at least one of i) a subset of the one or more tracking areas included in the first TAI list representing the RA ( subset of TAIs, fig. 5).
Ianev et al does not specifically disclose wherein the one or more second network slices are not uniformly supported across all the RA represented by the one or more tracking areas of the first TAI list.
In the same field of endeavor, Chun et al wherein the one or more second network slices are not uniformly supported across all the RA represented by the one or more tracking areas of the first TAI list (¶ 0209-0211, 0219, fig. 15-17, the tracking area list may exclude TA2 because TA2 does not support slice A. The registration area may exclude TA3 because TA3 is not adjacent to TA1.). Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claim invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the device of Ianev et al by specifically adding feature in order to enhance system performance to provides reliable connectivity services to its users, the service provider set a maximum number of users accessing the dedicated network slice as taught by Chun et al.
Regarding claims 2, 17, Ianev et al and Chun et al disclose in claim 1, further, Ianev et al discloses, wherein the telecommunication network is one of a Public Land Mobile Network (PLMN) or a Stand-Alone Non-Public Network (¶ 0052, 0199).
Regarding claims 3, 18, Ianev et al and Chun et al disclose in claim 1, further, Ianev et al discloses, wherein the associated one or more first network slices corresponds to at least one of: one or more allowed first network slices available uniformly across all tracking areas of the first TAI list representing the RA and - one or more configured first network slices available uniformly across all tracking areas of the first TAI list representing the RA supported by the serving PLMN (¶ 0075); and/or
wherein the one or more second network slices associated with the second tracking areas of the at least one second TAI list correspond to at least one of: one or more allowed second network slices available uniformly across all second tracking areas of the at least one second TAI list; one or more configured second network slices available uniformly across all second tracking areas of the at least one second TAI list.
Regarding claim 6, Ianev et al and Chun et al disclose in claim 1, further, Ianev et al discloses, wherein the one or more second network slices associated with the at least one second TAI list correspond to at least one of the one or more requested network slices that are not uniformly supported in all tracking areas of the RA but are uniformly available across the tracking areas of the at least one second TAI list (¶ 0075).
Regarding claims 7, Ianev et al and Chun et al disclose in claim 1, further, Ianev et al discloses, wherein the associated one or more first network slices, the associated one or more second network slices or the requested one or more network slices are each indicated by a Single Network Slice Selection Assistance Information S-NSSAI (¶ 0075).
Regarding claims 9, 22, Ianev et al and Chun et al disclose in claim 1, further, Ianev et al discloses, wherein the method further comprises indicating to the network node a capability of the wireless device to support receiving the at least one second TAI list with the associated second network slices or support for network slice availability per secondary areas defined by a list of second TAI list (¶ 0054,0075, 0082).
Regarding claim 10, Ianev et al and Chun et al disclose in claim 1, further, Chun et al discloses, wherein the method further comprises receiving from the network node an indication that the capability of a second TAI list with the associated second network slices or the network slice availability per secondary areas defined by a list of second TAI list is enabled or disabled (¶ 0209-0210 and 0219, see claim 1 for detail).
Regarding claims 12, 26, Ianev et al and Chun et al disclose in claim 1, further, Chun et al discloses, wherein the method further comprises upon moving to a tracking area outside the RA, sending a second Registration Request including requested one or more network slices comprising the associated one or more second network slices; and receiving a Registration Accept message comprising the allowed one or more second network sliced as registered network slices (0308, 0329-0232, information that activation of a PDU session for the UE fails, information that notification of a data arrival for the UE fails, information that the UE is located outside of an area where a PDU session is supported and information that the UE is located outside of an area where a network slice is supported).
Regarding claims 13, 27, Ianev et al and Chun et al disclose in claim 1, further, Ianev et al discloses, further comprising: establishing a PDU session in an associated second network slice while in a tracking area of the second TAI list; - moving to another tracking area where the associated second network slice is no longer supported; and - performing one of deactivating or suspending user plane associated to the PDU session or releasing the PDU session (¶ 0067-0068 and also see Chun et al disclose, 0308, 0329-0232).
Regarding claim 14, Ianev et al and Chun et al disclose in claim 1, further, Chun et al disclose discloses, wherein the method further comprises re- establishing the PDU Session, or resuming or reactivating the user plane upon moving back to a tracking area of the second TAI list supporting the associated second network slice (0209-0213).
Regarding claim 16, Ianev et al and Chun et al disclose in claim 1, further, Ianev et al discloses, a method in a network node for handling network slices in a serving telecommunication network (abstract), the method comprising:
receiving a Registration Request from a wireless device in the serving telecommunication network (fig. 5, steps 501-502, ¶ 0077-0078, 0081, sends the NAS message registration request message to the selected AMF);
sending a Registration Response including - a first list of one or more tracking areas identifiers (TAI list) of one or more tracking areas representing a registration area (RA) and associated one or more first network slices that are uniformly available across all the one or more tracking areas of the RA (fig. 5, step 504, ¶ 0082, the AMF 3 includes both S-NSSAI-1 and S-NSSAI-2 into the Conditional NSSAI. S-NSSAI-1 within the Conditional NSSAI may be associated with a subset of TAIs contained in the registration area of the UE 4. Similarly, S-NSSAI-2 within the Conditional NSSAI may be associated with a subset of TAIs contained in the registration area of the UE 4. According to the example of FIG. 3A, the TAI subset associated with S-NSSAI-1 contains TAI-1, while the TAI subset associated with S-NSSAI-2 contains TAI-2.) and
at least one second TAI list for second one or more tracking areas and associated one or more second network slices that are available across all the second one or more tracking areas of the at least one second TAI list (fig. 5, step 504, ¶ 0082, the AMF 3 includes both S-NSSAI-1 and S-NSSAI-2 into the Conditional NSSAI. S-NSSAI-1 within the Conditional NSSAI may be associated with a subset of TAIs contained in the registration area of the UE 4. Similarly, S-NSSAI-2 within the Conditional NSSAI may be associated with a subset of TAIs contained in the registration area of the UE 4. According to the example of FIG. 3A, the TAI subset associated with S-NSSAI-1 contains TAI-1, while the TAI subset associated with S-NSSAI-2 contains TAI-2.);
wherein the second one or more tracking areas are at least one of i) a subset of the one or more tracking areas representing the RA (subset of TAIs, fig. 5).
Ianev et al does not specifically disclose wherein the one or more second network slices are not uniformly supported across all the RA represented by the one or more tracking areas of the first TAI list.
In the same field of endeavor, Chun et al wherein the one or more second network slices are not uniformly supported across all the RA represented by the one or more tracking areas of the first TAI list (¶ 0209-0211, 0219, fig. 15-17, the tracking area list may exclude TA2 because TA2 does not support slice A. The registration area may exclude TA3 because TA3 is not adjacent to TA1.). Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claim invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the device of Ianev et al by specifically adding feature in order to enhance system performance to provides reliable connectivity services to its users, the service provider set a maximum number of users accessing the dedicated network slice as taught by Chun et al.
Regarding claim 23, Ianev et al and Chun et al disclose in claim 1, further, Chun et al discloses, wherein the method further comprises sending to the wireless device an indication that the capability of a second TAI list with the associated second network slices or the network slice availability per secondary areas defined by a list of second TAI list is enabled or disabled (¶ 0209-0210 and 0219, see claim 1 for detail).
Regarding claim 24, Ianev et al and Chun et al disclose in claim 1, further, Ianev et al discloses, further comprises sending to an access network node serving the wireless device information indicating one or more network slices available in each tracking area of the first and second list of tracking areas (¶ 0075, fig. 3b, see claim 1 for detail and fig. 15).
Regarding claim 25, Ianev et al and Chun et al disclose in claim 1, further, Ianev et al discloses, wherein the method further comprises registering the associated one or more first network slices and the associated one or more second network slices as registered for the wireless device (¶ 0075, fig. 3b, see claim 1 for detail and fig. 15).
Regarding claim 31, Ianev et al and Chun et al disclose in claim 1, further, Ianev et al discloses, wireless device comprising one or more processor (1904) and memory (1905) for storing instructions which when executed by the one or more processors (fig. 19, ¶ 0143), the wireless device is configured to:
send a registration request to a network node in the telecommunication network (fig. 5, steps 501-502, ¶ 0077-0078, 0081, sends the NAS message registration request message to the selected AMF);
receive a registration accept comprising:
a first list of one or more tracking areas identifiers (TAI list) of one or more tracking areas representing a registration area (RA) and associated one or more first network slices that are uniformly available across all the one or more tracking areas of the RA (fig. 5, step 504, ¶ 0082, the AMF 3 includes both S-NSSAI-1 and S-NSSAI-2 into the Conditional NSSAI. S-NSSAI-1 within the Conditional NSSAI may be associated with a subset of TAIs contained in the registration area of the UE 4. Similarly, S-NSSAI-2 within the Conditional NSSAI may be associated with a subset of TAIs contained in the registration area of the UE 4. According to the example of FIG. 3A, the TAI subset associated with S-NSSAI-1 contains TAI-1, while the TAI subset associated with S-NSSAI-2 contains TAI-2.); and
at least one second TAI list for second one or more tracking areas and associated one or more second network slices that are available across all the one or more second tracking areas of the at least one second TAI list (fig. 5, step 504, ¶ 0082, the AMF 3 includes both S-NSSAI-1 and S-NSSAI-2 into the Conditional NSSAI. S-NSSAI-1 within the Conditional NSSAI may be associated with a subset of TAIs contained in the registration area of the UE 4. Similarly, S-NSSAI-2 within the Conditional NSSAI may be associated with a subset of TAIs contained in the registration area of the UE 4. According to the example of FIG. 3A, the TAI subset associated with S-NSSAI-1 contains TAI-1, while the TAI subset associated with S-NSSAI-2 contains TAI-2.),
wherein the second one or more tracking areas are at least one of i) a subset of the one or more tracking areas included in the first TAI list representing the RA ( subset of TAIs, fig. 5).
Ianev et al does not specifically disclose wherein the one or more second network slices are not uniformly supported across all the RA represented by the one or more tracking areas of the first TAI list.
In the same field of endeavor, Chun et al wherein the one or more second network slices are not uniformly supported across all the RA represented by the one or more tracking areas of the first TAI list (¶ 0209-0211, 0219, fig. 15-17, the tracking area list may exclude TA2 because TA2 does not support slice A. The registration area may exclude TA3 because TA3 is not adjacent to TA1.). Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claim invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the device of Ianev et al by specifically adding feature in order to enhance system performance to provides reliable connectivity services to its users, the service provider set a maximum number of users accessing the dedicated network slice as taught by Chun et al.
Conclusion
/KHAWAR IQBAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2643