DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-7 in the reply filed on July 9, 2026 is acknowledged. Claims 8-18 are withdrawn from consideration.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 4-6 are objected to because of the following informalities: each recites a “Tg” value without ever defining what “Tg” means in the claims, which is improper. Appropriate correction is required. “Tg” need only be defined in claim 1.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-5 and 7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3 and 6 of copending Application No. 18/854969, in view of Hoshino (US Pat. No. 4,948,772). Claim 6 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3 and 6 of copending Application No. 18/854969 in view of Hoshino, as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Koketsu (JP 2011-012216A), cited herein according to an English language translation.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the copending claims recite a coating liquid explicitly claimed to have or inherently possessing every feature of instant claims 1-5 and 7, with the exception of the copending claims not reciting details about the glass transition temperatures, Tg, of components making up the binder resin of the recited emulsion particles. However, Hoshino teaches including emulsion particles comprising a polymer (i.e. “binder resin”) and a surfactant in coating compositions (col. 3, ln. 17-56; col. 4, ln. ln. 4-5). The binder resin making Hoshino’s particles may include a structural unit derived from a “monomer (a)” (i.e. a “first monomer”), which may include one or more of ethyl acrylate, butyl acrylate, and 2-hydroxyethyl methacrylate (i.e. (meth)acrylic acid alkyl esters), and a structural unit derived from a “monomer (b)” (i.e. a “second monomer”), which may include one or more of methyl methacrylate, ethyl metharcrylate, and methacrylic acid (col. 3, ln. 29-48; col. 4, ln. 40-50). As evidenced by Applicant’s disclosure, the first and second monomers disclosed by Hoshino meet the respective first and second monomer Tg requirements of the claims (Applicant’s specification, par. 34-40). Hoshino discloses that his emulsion particles may be included in an additive for various types of coating compositions for use on various types of substrates, and that films formed from compositions including his emulsion particles show good smoothness and binding power and exhibit improvements in weight-saving, hardness, abrasion resistance, and heat resistance (col. 6, ln. 16-32). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include emulsion particles comprising a binder resin comprising structural units derived from any or all of the first and second monomers discussed above, as taught by Hoshino, in the coating composition of the copending claims in order to achieve good or improved smoothness, binding power, weight-saving, hardness, abrasion resistance, and heat resistance in the coatings formed with the taught coating liquid.
Claim 6 differs from the copending claims because the copending claims do not recite a binder resin glass transition temperature, Tg. However, Koketsu teaches that polymeric emulsion particles (i.e. particles that are substantially all-“binder resin”) for coating compositions should have a Tg in the range of -80 to 0 °C so that an emulsion composition can be obtained that yields a dry film with excellent tackiness, adhesion, and low-temperature properties (par. 37). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to configure the binder resin of the emulsion particles copending claims to have a Tg in the range of -80 to 0 °C in order to achieve a dry coating having excellent tackiness, adhesion, and low-temperature properties.
These are provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejections because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 and 6 of copending Application No. 18/854970 in view of Hoshino.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the copending claims recite a coating liquid explicitly claimed to have or inherently possessing every feature of instant claims 1-7, with the exception of the copending claims not reciting details about the glass transition temperatures, Tg, of components making up the binder resin of the recited emulsion particles. However, Hoshino teaches including emulsion particles comprising a polymer (i.e. “binder resin”) and a surfactant in coating compositions (col. 3, ln. 17-56; col. 4, ln. ln. 4-5). The binder resin making Hoshino’s particles may include a structural unit derived from a “monomer (a)” (i.e. a “first monomer”), which may include one or more of ethyl acrylate, butyl acrylate, and 2-hydroxyethyl methacrylate (i.e. (meth)acrylic acid alkyl esters), and a structural unit derived from a “monomer (b)” (i.e. a “second monomer”), which may include one or more of methyl methacrylate, ethyl metharcrylate, and methacrylic acid (col. 3, ln. 29-48; col. 4, ln. 40-50). As evidenced by Applicant’s disclosure, the first and second monomers disclosed by Hoshino meet the respective first and second monomer Tg requirements of the claims (Applicant’s specification, par. 34-40). Hoshino discloses that his emulsion particles may be included in an additive for various types of coating compositions for use on various types of substrates, and that films formed from compositions including his emulsion particles show good smoothness and binding power and exhibit improvements in weight-saving, hardness, abrasion resistance, and heat resistance (col. 6, ln. 16-32). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include emulsion particles comprising a binder resin comprising structural units derived from any or all of the first and second monomers discussed above, as taught by Hoshino, in the coating composition of the copending claims in order to achieve good or improved smoothness, binding power, weight-saving, hardness, abrasion resistance, and heat resistance in the coatings formed with the taught coating liquid.
Claims 1-5 and 7 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,435,236 in view of Hoshino. Claim 6 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,435,236 in view of Hoshino, as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Koketsu.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patented claim recites a coating liquid explicitly claimed to have or inherently possessing every feature of instant claims 1-5 and 7 with the exception of the copending claims not reciting emulsion particles of the claimed composition or with the recited binder component glass transition temperatures. However, Hoshino teaches including emulsion particles comprising a polymer (i.e. “binder resin”) and a surfactant, which may be a nonionic surfactant such as polyoxyethylene alkyl ether, in coating compositions (col. 3, ln. 17-56; col. 4, ln. ln. 4-5). The binder resin making Hoshino’s particles may include a structural unit derived from a “monomer (a)” (i.e. a “first monomer”), which may include one or more of ethyl acrylate, butyl acrylate, and 2-hydroxyethyl methacrylate (i.e. (meth)acrylic acid alkyl esters), and a structural unit derived from a “monomer (b)” (i.e. a “second monomer”), which may include one or more of methyl methacrylate, ethyl methacrylate, and methacrylic acid (col. 3, ln. 29-48; col. 4, ln. 40-50). As evidenced by Applicant’s disclosure, the first and second monomers disclosed by Hoshino meet the respective first and second monomer Tg requirements of the claims (Applicant’s specification, par. 34-40). Hoshino discloses that his emulsion particles may be included in an additive for various types of coating compositions for use on various types of substrates, and that films formed from compositions including his emulsion particles show good smoothness and binding power and exhibit improvements in weight-saving, hardness, abrasion resistance, and heat resistance (col. 6, ln. 16-32). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include emulsion particles comprising a binder resin comprising structural units derived from any or all of the first and second monomers discussed above and polyoxyethylene alkyl ether as a nonionic surfactant, as taught by Hoshino, in the coating composition of the patented claim in order achieve good or improved smoothness, binding power, weight-saving, hardness, abrasion resistance, and heat resistance in the coatings formed with the claimed coating liquid.
Claim 6 differs from the patented claim because the patented claim does not recite a binder resin glass transition temperature, Tg. However, Koketsu teaches that polymeric emulsion particles (i.e. the particles are substantially all-“binder resin”) for coating compositions should have a Tg in the range of -80 to 0 °C so that an emulsion composition can be obtained that yields a dry film with excellent tackiness, adhesion, and low-temperature properties (par. 37). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to configure the binder resin of the emulsion particles of the patented claim and Hoshino to have a Tg in the range of -80 to 0 °C in order to achieve a dry coating having excellent tackiness, adhesion, and low-temperature properties.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Togasaki (WO 2021/153764 A1), cited herein according to US PG Pub. No. 2023/0114711, which is an English language translation, in view of Hoshino (US Pat. No. 4,948,772).
Regarding claims 1, 4, 5, and 7, Togasaki teaches a coating liquid comprising aerogel particles, a water-soluble polymer having a hydrophobic group, and an liquid medium (Abstract).
The teachings of Togasaki differ from the current invention in that his coating liquid is not explicitly disclosed to include emulsion particles comprising binder resins including monomers with the recited glass transition temperatures and a nonionic emulsifier. However, Togasaki does disclose that the coating liquid may include an additive, such as an emulsion resin and surfactant (par. 168, 171), exemplifies forming an emulsion with aerogel particles and an acrylic resin (par. 193, 195, 198, etc.), and teaches that polyoxyethylene alkyl ether is a type of nonionic surfactant that can be used in aerogel production (par. 95). Togasaki also teaches that his coating may be applied to a variety of different support materials (par. 182).
Hoshino further teaches including emulsion particles comprising a polymer (i.e. “binder resin”) and a surfactant, which may be a nonionic surfactant such as polyoxyethylene alkyl ether, in coating compositions (col. 3, ln. 17-56; col. 4, ln. ln. 4-5). The binder resin making Hoshino’s particles may include a structural unit derived from a “monomer (a)” (i.e. a “first monomer”), which may include one or more of ethyl acrylate, butyl acrylate, and 2-hydroxyethyl methacrylate (i.e. (meth)acrylic acid alkyl esters), and a structural unit derived from a “monomer (b)” (i.e. a “second monomer”), which may include one or more of methyl methacrylate, ethyl methacrylate, and methacrylic acid (col. 3, ln. 29-48; col. 4, ln. 40-50). As evidenced by Applicant’s disclosure, the first and second monomers disclosed by Hoshino meet the respective first and second monomer Tg requirements of the claims (Applicant’s par. 34-40). Hoshino discloses that his emulsion particles may be included in an additive for various types of coating compositions for use on various types of substrates, and that films formed from compositions including his emulsion particles show good smoothness and binding power and exhibit improvements in weight-saving, hardness, abrasion resistance, and heat resistance (col. 6, ln. 16-32). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include emulsion particles comprising a binder resin comprising structural units derived from any or all of the first and monomers discussed above and polyoxyethylene alkyl ether as a nonionic surfactant, or emulsifier, as taught by Hoshino, in Togasaki’s coating composition because Togasaki teaches that additives such as emulsifiers and surfactants may be used in his composition and already demonstrates that he considers acrylic and polyoxyethylene alkyl ether to be appropriate materials for use in producing his product, and in order to achieve good or improved smoothness, binding power, weight-saving, hardness, abrasion resistance, and heat resistance in the coatings formed with the taught coating liquid.
Regarding claims 2 and 3, at least some of the aerogel particles in Togasaki’s coating liquid form aggregates having an average diameter that is 2 to 40 times the average diameter of the aerogel particles (par. 9).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Togasaki and Hoshino, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Koketsu (JP 2011-012216A), cited herein according to an English language translation.
Regarding claim 6, the teachings of Togasaki and Hoshino differ from the current invention in that neither discloses emulsion particles containing a binder resin having a Tg of 10 °C or lower. However, as discussed above, Hoshino teaches using various monomers in his emulsion particles that may have a Tg of less than 0 °C. Although Hoshino expresses a preference for an emulsion particle binder with a higher Tg, Hoshino also discloses that the taught Tg range is merely preferable when his emulsion particles are used in a thermal recording material and further discloses that any combination of his taught monomers may be used to form his emulsion particles, which he also teaches may be used in a variety of different compositions and for a variety of different uses (col. 1, ln. 9-15; col. 5, ln. 13-21; col. 6, ln. 28-32). Koketsu further teaches polymeric emulsion particles (i.e. which are substantially all-“binder”) similar in composition to Hoshino’s that are to be used in various applications, including as interior and exterior coatings for buildings, among many others (Abstract, par. 59). Koketsu teaches that the polymer emulsion particles should have a Tg in the range of -80 to 0 °C so that an emulsion composition can be obtained that yields a dry film with excellent tackiness, adhesion, and low-temperature properties (par. 37). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to configure the emulsion particles in the product of Togasaki and Hoshino to have a Tg in the range of -80 to 0 °C in order to achieve a dry coating having excellent tackiness, adhesion, and low-temperature properties. As Hoshino’s emulsion particles are at least 90 wt. % “binder”, including up to about 99 % binder (col. 4, ln.8-10), the binder in emulsion particles having a Tg of -80 to 0 °C is also expected to have a Tg in the range of -80 to 0 °C. Additionally, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to configure the binder in the prior art emulsion particles to have a Tg in the range of -80 to 0 °C because the particles are primarily “binder” and in order to achieve the beneficial effects disclosed by Koketsu, as discussed above.
Conclusion
/JULIA L. RUMMEL/
Examiner
Art Unit 1784
/HUMERA N. SHEIKH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1784