DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “terminal part” and “ground part” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 – 5 and 13 – 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by KOO et al. (US 20220151067 A1, “KOO”).
Regarding claim 1, KOO discloses (Figs. 3, 5, 7, 15) an electronic device (200) with a storage medium installed thereon (331), the storage medium having a first end (See annotated figure below) with a terminal part (electrical connection of 331a, para [0074]) formed thereon and a second end opposite to the first end with a ground part (See para [0089], [0091]) formed on the second end (See annotated figure below), the electronic device comprising: a circuit board (203) having a first surface (F2) and a second surface (F1); a connector (333) mounted on the first surface, the first end of the storage medium being connectable to the connector (See annotated figure below); a support structure (411a) that is positioned in a first direction along the circuit board with respect to the connector, that supports the second end (See fig. 7), and that is to be connected to the ground part provided on the second end; and a member different from the circuit board (211a, 335, 415) and electrically connected to the ground part of the storage medium through the support structure (See para [0089], [0091]).
Regarding claim 2, KOO discloses the electronic device according to claim 1, wherein the member different from the circuit board is a circuit board shield covering the second surface of the circuit board (See para [0066], [0089], fig. 7).
Regarding claim 3, KOO discloses the electronic device according to claim 2, wherein the circuit board shield has a wall standing along a side portion of the storage medium (See fig. 15).
Regarding claim 4, KOO discloses the electronic device according to claim 1, wherein the member different from the circuit board has an outer region located outside of an outer edge of the circuit board (See annotated figure below).
Regarding claim 5, KOO discloses the electronic device according to claim 1, wherein the support structure includes a spacer (411a, fig. 7).
Regarding claim 13, KOO discloses the electronic device according to claim 4, wherein the support structure (411a) is provided in the outer region (See fig. 7).
Regarding claim 14, KOO discloses the electronic device according to claim 5, wherein the spacer secures a distance between the member different from the circuit board and the second end of the storage medium (See fig. 7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 – 12 and 15 – 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KOO et al. (US 20220151067 A1, “KOO”) in view of CHEN et al. (US 20190174618 A1, “Chen”).
Regarding claim 6, KOO discloses the electronic device according to claim 5,
KOO is silent on wherein the member different from the circuit board has a mounting hole defined therein.
However, Chen discloses (Figs. 1 – 4) wherein the member different from the circuit board has a mounting hole defined therein (505a).
KOO and Chen are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of electronic device. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified KOO to incorporate the teachings of Chen and provide wherein the member different from the circuit board has a mounting hole defined therein (505a). Doing so would provide a mean to fix the second end of the storage medium (para [0026]).
Regarding claim 7, KOO in view of Chen discloses the electronic device according to claim 5, wherein Chen further discloses the member different from the circuit board has at least one positioning portion formed {(504), figs. 1 – 2}.
Regarding claim 8, KOO in view of Chen discloses the electronic device according to claim 7, wherein Chen further discloses the member different from the circuit board has a plurality of positioning portions formed thereon (See para [0026]).
Regarding claim 9, KOO in view of Chen discloses the electronic device according to claim 8, wherein Chen further discloses the at least one positioning portion (504) includes one or a plurality of protrusions (505, see figure 3) surrounding a region in which the spacer is disposed {(521), fig. 3 and para [0026]}.
Regarding claim 10, KOO in view of Chen discloses the electronic device according to claim 9, wherein Chen further discloses the member different from the circuit board has a protrusion formed thereon (see figs. 1 and 3).
Regarding claim 11, KOO discloses the electronic device according to claim 1,
KOO is silent on wherein the member different from the circuit board has a hole defined therein that is open in a direction along the circuit board.
However, Chen discloses (Figs. 1 – 4) wherein the member different from the circuit board has a hole defined therein that is open in a direction along the circuit board.
(505a).
KOO and Chen are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of electronic device. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified KOO to incorporate the teachings of Chen and provide wherein the member different from the circuit board has a hole defined therein that is open in a direction along the circuit board (505a). Doing so would Doing so would provide a mean to fix the second end of the storage medium (para [0026]).
Regarding claim 12, KOO in view of Chen discloses the electronic device according to claim 7, wherein KOO further discloses the member different from the circuit board is a circuit board shield covering the second surface of the circuit board (See fig. 15).
Regarding claim 15, KOO in view of Chen discloses the electronic device according to claim 6, wherein Chen further discloses the support structure has a fixture {(522). Fig. 3} that fixes the second end of the storage medium to the mounting hole {(521). Fig. 3}.
Regarding claim 16, KOO in view of Chen discloses the electronic device according to claim 15, wherein the fixture {(522), Chen, as per the combination of KOO in view of Chen} is held in contact with the ground part of the storage medium (para [0091], KOO).
Regarding claim 17, KOO discloses the electronic device according to claim 5,
KOO is silent on wherein the at least one positioning portion defines a position of the spacer.
However, Chen discloses (Figs. 1 – 4) wherein the at least one positioning portion {(504), Chen, as per the combination of KOO in view of Chen} defines a position of the spacer {(411a), fig. 7, KOO}.
KOO and Chen are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of electronic device. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified KOO to incorporate the teachings of Chen and provide wherein the at least one positioning portion {(504), Chen, as per the combination of KOO in view of Chen} defines a position of the spacer {(411a), fig. 7, KOO}. Doing so would support the second end of the medium.
Regarding claim 18, KOO in view of Chen discloses the electronic device according to claim 8, wherein Chen further discloses the plurality of positioning portions are arranged in the first direction, as the at least one positioning portion (See fig. 1 – 3).
Regarding claim 19, KOO in view of Chen discloses the electronic device according to claim 10, wherein Chen further discloses the protrusion extends in the first direction (see figs. 1 and 3).
Regarding claim 20, KOO in view of Chen discloses the electronic device according to claim 12, wherein Chen further discloses the at least one positioning portion is integrally formed with a surface of the circuit board shield {(504), figs. 1 – 2, para [0026]}.
Conclusion
/SIDI M MAIGA/Examiner, Art Unit 2847
/TIMOTHY J THOMPSON/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2847