DETAILED ACTION
Remarks
This Office Action is in response to the amendment filed on 03/05/26. Examiner acknowledged that claims 1 is amended. Currently, claims 1-9 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/05/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Claim 1, applicant argues (p.7 of the Remarks) that Kaneko does not teach the controller 100 to determine the frequency of the output wave based on the reflected wave group as required by claim 1.
Examiner disagrees because [0142] of Kaneko teaches “controller 100 calculates an absorption frequency that is a frequency at which the reflection coefficient Γ(f) becomes a minimum point. The controller 100 may determine whether or not maintenance is necessary or may change the power supply frequency of the microwave output device 16 on the basis of a variation of the absorption frequency.” It is clear from here the controller determines/changes the frequency based on the absorption/reflected frequency. Thus, Kaneko teaches the limitation as claimed. Therefore, the rejection of claim 1 over Kaneko is maintained.
Claims 2-9 are rejected as they depend on the rejected claim above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaneko (US 2018/0151332).
Regarding Claim 1, Kaneko teaches a plasma processing apparatus comprising: a chamber (Fig. 1: 12); microwave output device (Fig. 1; 16) configured to output microwaves provided into the chamber via a waveguide (Fig. 1: 21) and an antenna (Fig. 1; 18); and a controller (Fig. 1: 100) configured to control an operation of the microwave output device; wherein the microwaves outputted by the microwave output device include an output wave that transmits a power (Fig. 8) used for plasma generation, and a demodulator (Fig. 1: 29) configured to receive, via the waveguide. the controller is configured to determine a frequency of the output wave (Fig. 15: S40) based on the reflected wave group (Fig. 15: S37), and control (Fig. 15: S42) the microwave output device to output the output wave of the frequency.
Kaneko does not explicitly teach a broadband sweep wave group used for detection of a plasma state in the chamber and the microwave output device includes a modulator configured to modulate the microwaves and transmit the modulated microwaves to the waveguide; demodulate a reflected wave group obtained by the broadband sweep wave group being reflected by plasma in the chamber, the broadband sweep wave group being included in the microwaves transmitted to the waveguide by the modulator and provided into the chamber via the antenna. However, [0101] teaches “a frequency sweep controller 325”; [0112] “FIG. 8F illustrates frequency dependency of a power spectrum of the reflected wave obtained by the demodulation unit 29, and is a graph of reflected wave power Pra obtained by the sweep averaging”; [0059] “microwave output device 16 can generate a microwave having power corresponding to setting power while performing frequency modulation in a setting frequency range”. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kaneko in order to detect plasma state through the use of sweeping average and adjust the output frequence since this process can output a predetermined power to the power control unit [0132]. Therefore, the subject matter would have been obvious in view of Kaneko.
Regarding Claim 6, Kaneko teaches the plasma processing apparatus of claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to obtain a frequency spectrum of the reflected wave group, and control the microwave output device to determine the frequency of the output wave such that a difference between the frequency spectrum and a reference frequency spectrum obtained in advance is reduced (Fig. 15).
Regarding Claim 7, Kaneko teaches the plasma processing apparatus of claim 1, wherein the power of the output wave is 5000 W or less, and the frequency of the output wave is 2400 to 2500 MHz ([0059] “ microwave in a range of 0 W to 5000 W, can adjust the frequency of the microwave in a range of 2400 MHz to 2500 MHz”).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-5 and 8-9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Henry Luong/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2844