DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 5 states “group” in the preamble. Appropriate correction is required.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: Applicant’s Specification on page 9, lines 14-20 state “prefera-ble” which has a typographical error. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 – 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 states “has a predetermined height from the major face, between the first and the second, on which it is fixed” and “the removable connection”. Firstly this claim recites the limitation "the" in “the major surface” and “the removable connection”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, as it is unclear which major surface is being specified. Secondly, the claim states “between the first and the second”, which creates dubiousness as it is unclear if this is referencing surfaces. “Between” also makes the claim indefinite, as it is unknown as to how measurement of the height is measured between the two surfaces if the height is referencing a height from a major surface to the top of the component. The Office shall interpret this to mean ‘has a predetermined height from the major face, of the first or the second major face, on which it is fixed’.
Claims 2 – 10 are rejected due to dependency from claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Oota (US 2011/0013370 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Oota (US 2011/0013370 A1) discloses an electronic control and command electronic assembly (Fig 1) (for a groundskeeping tool), said control and command electronic assembly comprising a heat sink body (51) and a control and command electronic board (20), said electronic board comprising: a support plate (20) provided with a first major face (21) and an opposite second major face (22), a plurality of electronic components (31,33,103-105) fixed to the support plate (20) and comprising at least one electronic component (31,33) fixed to the first major face (21) or to the second major face, which electronic component (31,33) generates a heat ([0038]) that must be dissipated ([0044,0049-0050]) by means of the heat sink body (51; [0044]) and has a predetermined height (shown in Fig 1-2, 31,33 have a height) from the major face (21), between the first and the second, on which it is fixed, a connection body (109; [0038-0040]), fixed to the support plate (20) and adapted to allow the removable connection to the electronic board (20) of a cable, and/or another electronic component (102, “steering wheel”, [0038-0040]) of the plurality of electronic components, which other electronic component (103-105) is fixed to the support plate and has a predetermined height from a portion of the plate on which it is fixed that is greater than (height of 103-105 shown in Fig 1 to be greater than the height of 31,33) the predetermined height of the electronic component (31,33) whose heat is to be dissipated, said electronic assembly being characterized in that the heat sink body (51) comprises a base face (upper surface of 51) facing onto the first major face (21) of the support plate (20) and in that the connection body (109) and/or the other electronic component (103-105) is fixed to the second major face (22) of the support plate.
Claim 1 states “removable”. It has been held that the recitation that an element is “capable of” performing a function is not a positive limitation but only requires the ability to so perform. It does not constitute a limitation in any patentable sense. In re Hutchinson, 69 USPQ 138
The recitation that “for a groundskeeping tool” has not been given patentable weight because it has been held that a preamble is denied the effect of a limitation where the claim is drawn to a structure and the portion of the claim following the preamble is a self-contained description of the structure not depending for completeness upon the introductory clause. Kropa v. Robie, 88 USPQ 478 (CCPA 1951)
Regarding Claim 5, Oota further discloses the electronic control and command group (Fig 1) according to claim 1, wherein the base face (upper surface of 51) of the heat sink body (51) is totally superimposed on the first major face (21) according to a point of view perpendicular to the first major face itself.
Regarding Claim 6, Oota further discloses the electronic control and command assembly (Fig 1) according to claim 1, wherein the heat sink body (51) is single.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 – 3 and 5 – 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishiyama (US 2022/0061185 A1) in view of Stoermer (US 2016/0043485 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Ishiyama (US 2022/0061185 A1) discloses an electronic control and command electronic assembly (Fig 6) (for a groundskeeping tool), said control and command electronic assembly comprising a heat sink body (3; [0023]) and a control and command electronic board (5,8,6,7,12), said electronic board comprising: a support plate (5; [0028]) provided with a first major face (5a) and an opposite second major face (5b), a plurality of electronic components (6-8,11) fixed to the support plate (5) and comprising at least one electronic component (6,7,8,11) fixed to the first major face or to the second major face, which electronic component (6,7,8,11) generates a heat ([0026,0030]) that must be dissipated by means of the heat sink body (3) and has a predetermined height (see Fig 6 showing height of 6,7,8) from the major face (5a,5b), between the first (5a) and the second (5b), on which it is fixed (5a,5b), a connection (12; [0028]), fixed to the support plate (5), (which other electronic component (6-8,11) is fixed to the support plate (5) and has a predetermined height from a portion of the plate (5) on which it is fixed that is greater than the predetermined height of the electronic component (height of 8 shown greater than height of 6,7; height of 6 shown greater than height of 7) whose heat is to be dissipated, said electronic assembly being characterized in that the heat sink body (3) comprises a base face (3e) facing onto the first major face (5a) of the support plate (5)) and in that the connection and/or the other electronic component (8) is fixed to the second major face (5b) of the support plate (5).
Ishiyama does not explicitly disclose a connection body, fixed to the support plate and adapted to allow the removable connection to the electronic board of a cable, and/or another electronic component of the plurality of electronic components, which other electronic component is fixed to the support plate and has a predetermined height from a portion of the plate on which it is fixed that is greater than the predetermined height of the electronic component whose heat is to be dissipated, and in that the connection body and/or the other electronic component is fixed to the second major face of the support plate.
Stoermer (US 2016/0043485 A1) teaches of an electronic control and command electronic assembly (Fig 8,2-7), also in the field of circuit boards and control and motors ([0003]), said control and command electronic assembly comprising a control and command electronic board (1), said electronic board comprising: a support plate (10) provided with a first major face (11) and an opposite second major face (12), a plurality of electronic components (20,20’) fixed to the support plate (10) and comprising at least one electronic component (20) fixed to the first major face (11) or to the second major face, which electronic component (20) generates a heat ([0008]) that must be dissipated and has a predetermined height (20 is shown having a height) from the (first) major face (11), (between the first (11) and the second (12)), on which it is fixed (11), a connection body (40,60), fixed to the support plate (10) and adapted to allow the removable connection to the electronic board (1) of a cable (50; [0002-0008] “cable”), and in that the connection body (40,60) is fixed to the second major face (12) of the support plate (10).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the assembly as disclosed by Ishiyama, comprising a connection body, fixed to the support plate and adapted to allow the removable connection to the electronic board of a cable, (and/or another electronic component of the plurality of electronic components, which other electronic component is fixed to the support plate and has a predetermined height from a portion of the plate on which it is fixed that is greater than the predetermined height of the electronic component whose heat is to be dissipated), and in that the connection body (and/or the other electronic component) is fixed to the second major face of the support plate as taught by Stoermer, in order to reduce required space, reduce weight, dissipate heat, simplify design and reduce costs (Stoermer, [0004,0011,0042-0044]).
Claim 1 states “removable”. It has been held that the recitation that an element is “capable of” performing a function is not a positive limitation but only requires the ability to so perform. It does not constitute a limitation in any patentable sense. In re Hutchinson, 69 USPQ 138
The recitation that “for a groundskeeping tool” has not been given patentable weight because it has been held that a preamble is denied the effect of a limitation where the claim is drawn to a structure and the portion of the claim following the preamble is a self-contained description of the structure not depending for completeness upon the introductory clause. Kropa v. Robie, 88 USPQ 478 (CCPA 1951)
Annotated Fig 6 from Ishiyama (US 2022/0061185 A1)
Regarding Claim 2, Ishiyama further discloses the electronic control and command assembly (Fig 6) according to claim 1, wherein the electronic component (6,7,11) whose heat is to be dissipated with the heat sink body (3) is fixed (10; [0024]) to the first major face (5a) and is in contact (e.g. 7,11 is in contact with 3) with the base face (surface at callout 3e) of the heat sink body (3).
Regarding Claim 3, Ishiyama further discloses the electronic control and command assembly (Fig 6) according to claim 2, wherein the plurality of electronic components comprises only: a first set of electronic components (6,7,11), fixed to the first major face (5a), of which the electronic component (6,7) whose heat is to be dissipated is a part, and all of which have a height from the first major face (5a) of the support plate equal to or less than the predetermined height (e.g. height of 6 and 11; see Fig 1 showing the height of 7 and 11 is less than or equal to the height of 6 and 11 contacting 3e) of the electronic component (6,11) in contact with the base face (3e) and whose heat is to be dissipated, and a second set of electronic components (8) fixed to the second major face (5b) of the support plate, all of which have a height from the second major face (5b) of the support plate greater than (see Fig 1 showing the height of 8 is greater than a height of 6 and 11) the predetermined height of the electronic component (6,11) in contact with the base face of the heat sink body.
Regarding Claim 5, Ishiyama further discloses the electronic control and command assembly (Fig 6) according to claim 1, wherein the base face (3e) of the heat sink body (3) is totally superimposed on the first major face (5a) according to a point of view perpendicular to the first major face (5a) itself.
Regarding Claim 6, Ishiyama further discloses the electronic control and command assembly (Fig 6) according to claim 1, wherein the heat sink body (3) is single.
Regarding Claim 7, Ishiyama further discloses the electronic control and command assembly (Fig 6) according to claim 1, wherein the heat sink body (3) comprises a base (supportive structure about 3e) provided with a lowering (surface of 3e interfaces with 11; note that a datum of reference has not been established in the claim language) defining a receiving volume (volume between 3 and 4 receiving 2) in which at least the support plate (5) is contained and in which the base face (surface at 3e) is made available by a bottom surface of said lowering.
Claim(s) 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishiyama (US 2022/0061185 A1) in view of Stoermer (US 2016/0043485 A1) as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Kato (US 2010/0103622 A1).
Regarding Claim 4, Ishiyama in view of Stoermer teaches the limitations of the preceding claim.
Ishiyama further discloses the electronic control and command assembly (Fig 1-3) according to claim 1, wherein all the electronic components (8) of the plurality of electronic components (8) are installed on the second major face (5b) of the support plate (5).
Ishiyama does not disclose the electronic board comprises one or more bridges of thermally conductive material that cross the support plate from the second major face to the first major face and are in contact with the base face of the heat sink body.
Kato (US 2010/0103622 A1) teaches of an electronic assembly (Fig 8), wherein all electronic components (3) are installed on a second major face (upper surface of 2) of a support plate (2) and an electronic board (2) comprises one or more bridges (6; [0098]) of thermally conductive material ([0098]) that cross the support plate (2) from the second major face (upper surface of 2) to a first major face (lower surface of 2) and is in contact with a base face (surface of 4) of a heat sink body (4; [0091-0101]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the assembly with plurality of components as taught by Ishiyama in view of Stoermer, wherein all the electronic components of the plurality of electronic components are installed on the second major face of the support plate and the electronic board comprises one or more bridges of thermally conductive material that cross the support plate from the second major face to the first major face and are in contact with the base face of the heat sink body as taught by Kato, in order to reduce the distance between the heat generating component and the heat dissipating casing or sink, easily adapt to changes in layout design and provide rapid heat absorption (Kato, [0090-0101]).
Claim(s) 8 – 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishiyama (US 2022/0061185 A1) in view of Stoermer (US 2016/0043485 A1) as applied to claim 7 above and further in view of Nishiuma (US 2010/124024 A1).
Regarding Claim 8, Ishiyama in view of Stoermer teaches the limitations of the preceding claim.
Ishiyama further discloses the electronic control and command assembly (Fig 6) according to claim 7, wherein the receiving volume (volume between 3 and 4 receiving 2) of the lowering is at least partially filled with a layer of polymeric material (11; [0034]).
Ishiyama does not explicitly disclose a layer of polymeric material that fixes the electronic control and command board to the heat sink body.
Nishiuma (US 2010/124024 A1) teaches of an assembly (Fig 1-3) wherein a receiving volume (space between 50A,10A; [0027]) of a lowering (surfaces of 50A,10A) is at least partially filled with a layer of polymeric material (16A,52A; [0010-0017,0048,0065,0069,0073,0084] Claim 9) that fixes ([0034]; adhesive would provide some level of adhesion or boding or fixing between component and board) an electronic board (30; [0044]) to a heat sink body (50A,10A).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the assembly as taught by Ishiyama in view of Stoermer, comprising a layer of polymeric material that fixes the electronic control and command board to the heat sink body as taught by Nishiuma, in order to reliably and stably transfer heat, suppress heat transfer resistance and suppress temperature increases (Nishiuma, [0010-0017,0048,0065,0069,0073,0084] Claim 9).
Regarding Claim 9, Ishiyama in view of Stoermer and Nishiuma teaches the limitations of the preceding claim.
Nishiuma further teaches the electronic control and command assembly (Fig 1-3) according to claim 8, wherein the layer (16A,52A) of polymeric material includes at least a base portion (43) of the electronic components (40A) fixed to the second major face (upper surface of 30A in Fig 3).
Claim(s) 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishiyama (US 2022/0061185 A1) in view of Stoermer (US 2016/0043485 A1) as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Wachter (US 2018/0342932 A1).
Regarding Claim 10, Ishiyama in view of Stoermer teaches the limitations of the preceding claim.
Ishiyama does not explicitly disclose a groundskeeping tool comprising an electric motor and an electronic control and command assembly according to claim 1, wherein the electric motor is connected to the electronic control and command board.
Wachter (US 2018/0342932 A1) teaches of a groundskeeping ([0036]) tool (Fig 1) comprising an electric motor (104,105; [0001-0007]) and an electronic control and command assembly (200), wherein the electric motor (104,105) is connected ([0011,0034] Fig 1) to the electronic control and command board.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the assembly as taught by Ishiyama in view of Stoermer, wherein the electric motor is connected to the electronic control and command board as taught by Wachter, in order to provide convenience, provide a cordless tool, and control power to a tool and/or motor (Wachter, [0001-0005]).
The recitation that “a groundskeeping tool” has not been given patentable weight because it has been held that a preamble is denied the effect of a limitation where the claim is drawn to a structure and the portion of the claim following the preamble is a self-contained description of the structure not depending for completeness upon the introductory clause. Kropa v. Robie, 88 USPQ 478 (CCPA 1951)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Moriyama (US 2022/0104340 A1) discloses an electronic control and command electronic assembly (Fig 1) said control and command electronic assembly comprising a heat sink body (4; [0016,0039-0040]) and a control and command electronic board (2,3), said electronic board comprising: a support plate (2) provided with a first major face (8a) and an opposite second major face (8b), a plurality of electronic components (3) fixed to the support plate (2) and comprising at least one electronic component (3) fixed to the first major face or to the second major face, which electronic component (3) generates a heat ([0018]) that must be dissipated by means of the heat sink body (4) and has a predetermined height (3 is shown having a height) from the (first) major face (8a), (between the first (8a) and the second (8b)), on which it is fixed (8a), said electronic assembly being characterized in that the heat sink body (4) comprises a base face (21) facing onto the first major face (8a) of the support plate (2). This prior art reference could be used in a 103 Rejection.
/ROSHN K VARGHESE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847