DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/09/2024 and 08/08/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because instrument 7 mentioned in page 15 Para [0030], Page 44 Para [0082] and Para [0083] is not shown in figures. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: Page 13, Para [0022]: “shown by an R direction” should read “shown by a R direction”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5, 7, 8, 9 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishihara et al. (US 20180353247 A1) (Hereinafter Ishihara) in view of Overmyer et al. (US 20210093409 A1) (Hereinafter Overmyer), Kostrzewski et al. (US 20180021096 A1) (Herinafter Kostrzewski).
Regarding Claim 1, Ishihara teaches a robotic surgical system comprising:
a robot main body to which a surgical instrument is attached (See at least Para [0030] “… The patient-side system 200 includes plural surgical manipulators 201. One of the surgical manipulators 201 holds an endoscope 201b while the others hold surgical instruments (instruments 201a). The surgical manipulator 201 holding surgical instruments (instruments 201a) function as instrument arms 201A …”, Fig 1);
a control device configured or programmed to control the robot main body to transition from a current posture to a first posture (See at least Para [0035] “The action modes to be executed by the instruments 201a include a mode of actions to be taken by each instrument 201a (a series of positions and postures) and actions to be executed by the function of each instrument 201a…”); and
…
the control device is configured or programmed to control the robot main body to transition from the current posture to the first posture obtained after adjustment of the variable control parameter, based on an operation on the operation unit (See at least Para [0030] “… Each of the surgical manipulators 201 includes plural joints. Each joint includes a driver including a servo-motor and a position detector such as an encoder. The surgical manipulators 201 are configured so that medical equipment attached to each surgical manipulator 201 is controlled by a driving signal given through the controller 206, to perform a desired movement.”, Para [0035] “The action modes to be executed by the instruments 201a include a mode of actions to be taken by each instrument 201a (a series of positions and postures) and actions to be executed by the function of each instrument 201a…”, Para [0113] “… When the remote operation apparatus 100 is set to the first mode, the operator O can operate the operation handles 1 while standing up. When the remote operation apparatus 100 is set to the second mode, the operator O is able to operate the operation handles 1 while sitting down…”).
Although, Ishihara teaches instruments changing series of postures (See at least Para [0035] “The action modes to be executed by the instruments 201a include a mode of actions to be taken by each instrument 201a (a series of positions and postures) and actions to be executed by the function of each instrument 201a…”), he does not explicitly spell out …
an operation unit to receive an operation of an operator to adjust the first posture before transition of the robot main body from the current posture to the first posture is completed; wherein
the first posture is defined by a plurality of control parameters including a variable control parameter;
the variable control parameter is variable within a predetermined range by operating the operation unit; and …
Overmyer teaches …
an operation unit to receive an operation of an operator to adjust the first posture before transition of the robot main body from the current posture to the first posture is completed (See at least Para [0024] “… A plurality of robotic arms 106 (three shown) may be operatively coupled to the column 304 at a carriage 306 that can be selectively adjusted to vary the height of the robotic arms 106 relative to the base 302, as indicated by the arrow A.”); wherein …
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the apparatus of Ishihara with the teachings of Overmyer and include the feature of an operation unit to receive an operation of an operator to adjust the first posture before transition of the robot main body from the current posture to the first posture is completed, thereby surgery can be performed with ease and efficiency.
Kostrzewski teaches …
the first posture is defined by a plurality of control parameters including a variable control parameter (See at least Para [0121] “FIG. 9 illustrates an example control panel 900 of a robotic surgical system. The control panel includes a power switch 902, a status display 904, an arm configuration subpanel 906 including switches for different preset arm configurations and surgery mode subpanel 908 including switches to place the surgical robot into surgery mode. Once the surgical robot is powered on, the surgical robot checks its operational status and reflects the status in the status display 904, by highlighting one of the status fields (i.e., checking status, OK, and Error). The error codes may be shown on a display. Once status check is completed, an operator may change the arm configuration of the surgical robot from a standby mode to drape mode by pressing the drape mode switch from the arm configuration subpanel 906 as shown in FIG. 9. Once the drape mode switch is toggled, for example, arm configuration control 338 of computing system 302 as shown in FIG. 3 instructs the surgical robot arm to arrange itself into a preset configuration known as drape mode in which the surgical robot can be covered in a sterile surgical drape. Similarly, an operator may change the robot arm configuration from drape mode into surgical preparation mode after the robot has been covered with the sterile drape by pressing the Preparation mode switch…”, Para [0033] “… The control panel may be configured for engagement or disengagement of a surgery mode. The selectable preset positions of the robot arm may correspond to (i) a drape configuration, (ii) a preparation configuration, and (iii) a stand-by configuration.”);
the variable control parameter is variable within a predetermined range by operating the operation unit (See at least Para [0075] “In some implementations, the surgical robot 102 includes a robotic arm comprising joints allowing the arm to be automatically positioned upon user command into various different predetermined configurations convenient for various preparatory, readying, and storage procedures. For example, the surgical robot 102 may be arranged in a standby configuration. In a standby configuration, the robotic arm of surgical robot 102 may be arranged in a compacted standby configuration that, for example, facilitates easy and compact storage of surgical robot 102 when it is not in use. Other configurations may include a drape configuration in which the robot arm is extended to facilitate placement of a sterile surgical drape over the robot and cart, and a preparation configuration in which the robot arm is positioned prior to movement to the operating table whereupon more precise movement of the robot arm will be performed for alignment of the trajectory of the end effector (surgical tool holder).”, Para [0033] “… The control panel may be configured for engagement or disengagement of a surgery mode. The selectable preset positions of the robot arm may correspond to (i) a drape configuration, (ii) a preparation configuration, and (iii) a stand-by configuration.”); and …
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the apparatus of Ishihara with the teachings of Kostrzewski and include the feature of posture being defined by a plurality of control parameters including a variable control parameter where the variable control parameter is variable within a predetermined range by operating the operation unit, thereby increase surgical efficiency and safety with success (See at least Para [0009] “… Moreover, the disclosed technology provides the surgeon with reliable instruments and techniques to successfully perform his/her surgery. The system allows a surgeon to physically manipulate the tool holder to safely achieve proper alignment of the tool for performing crucial steps of the surgical procedure”).
Regarding Claim 2, modified Ishihara teaches all the elements of claim 1.
However, Ishihara does not explicitly spell out the robotic surgical system according to claim 1,
wherein the plurality of control parameters include a fixed control parameter.
Kostrzewski teaches the robotic surgical system according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of
control parameters include a fixed control parameter (See at least Para [0033] “… The control panel may be configured for engagement or disengagement of a surgery mode. The selectable preset positions of the robot arm may correspond to (i) a drape configuration, (ii) a preparation configuration, and (iii) a stand-by configuration.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the apparatus of Ishihara with the teachings of Kostrzewski and include the feature of plurality of control parameters including a fixed control parameter, thereby increase surgical efficiency and safety with success (See at least Para [0009] “… Moreover, the disclosed technology provides the surgeon with reliable instruments and techniques to successfully perform his/her surgery. The system allows a surgeon to physically manipulate the tool holder to safely achieve proper alignment of the tool for performing crucial steps of the surgical procedure”).
Regarding Claim 5, modified Ishihara teaches all the elements of claim 1. Ishihara further teaches robotic surgical system according to claim 1, wherein
the robot main body includes:
a robot arm to which the surgical instrument is attached (See at least Para [0030] “…
The patient-side system 200 includes plural surgical manipulators 201. One of the surgical manipulators 201 holds an endoscope 201b while the others hold surgical instruments (instruments 201a). The surgical manipulator 201 holding surgical instruments (instruments 201a) function as instrument arms 201A …”, Para [0031] “… The positioner 202 includes a column 204 and a base 205…”, Fig 1); and
a robot arm mover to move the robot arm (See at least Para [0030] “… The patient-side
system 200 includes plural surgical manipulators 201. One of the surgical manipulators 201 holds an endoscope 201b while the others hold surgical instruments (instruments 201a). The surgical manipulator 201 holding surgical instruments (instruments 201a) function as instrument arms 201A …”, Fig 1); and …
Although, Ishihara teaches instruments changing series of postures (See at least Para [0035] “The action modes to be executed by the instruments 201a include a mode of actions to be taken by each instrument 201a (a series of positions and postures) and actions to be executed by the function of each instrument 201a…”), he does not explicitly spell out …
the control device is configured or programmed to control the robot arm and the robot arm
mover to transition from the current posture to the first posture obtained after the adjustment of the variable control parameter.
Overmyer teaches …
the control device is configured or programmed to control the robot arm and the robot arm
mover to transition from the current posture to the first posture obtained after the adjustment of the variable control parameter (See at least Para [0024] “… A plurality of robotic arms 106 (three shown) may be operatively coupled to the column 304 at a carriage 306 that can be selectively adjusted to vary the height of the robotic arms 106 relative to the base 302, as indicated by the arrow A.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the apparatus of Ishihara with the teachings of Overmyer and include the feature of the control device being configured or programmed to control the robot arm and the robot arm mover to transition from the current posture to the first posture obtained after the adjustment of the variable control parameter, thereby surgery can be performed with ease and efficiency.
Regarding Claim 7, modified Ishihara teaches all the elements of claim 1.
However, Ishihara does not explicitly spell out the robotic surgical system according to claim 1,
wherein the first posture includes at least one of:
a storage posture in which the robot main body is stored;
a draping posture in which the robot main body is covered with a sterile drape;
a standby posture in which the robot main body is kept waiting before a start of surgery;
a roll-in posture in which the robot main body is moved to a patient;
a cleaning posture in which the robot main body is cleaned; or
a transportation posture in which the robot main body is transported.
Kostrzewski teaches the robotic surgical system according to claim 1,
wherein the first posture includes at least one of:
a storage posture in which the robot main body is stored (See at least Para [0075] “In some implementations, the surgical robot 102 includes a robotic arm comprising joints allowing the arm to be automatically positioned upon user command into various different predetermined configurations convenient for various preparatory, readying, and storage procedures. For example, the surgical robot 102 may be arranged in a standby configuration. In a standby configuration, the robotic arm of surgical robot 102 may be arranged in a compacted standby configuration that, for example, facilitates easy and compact storage of surgical robot 102 when it is not in use. Other configurations may include a drape configuration in which the robot arm is extended to facilitate placement of a sterile surgical drape over the robot and cart, and a preparation configuration in which the robot arm is positioned prior to movement to the operating table whereupon more precise movement of the robot arm will be performed for alignment of the trajectory of the end effector (surgical tool holder).”);
a draping posture in which the robot main body is covered with a sterile drape (See at least Para [0033] “… The control panel may be configured for engagement or disengagement of a surgery mode. The selectable preset positions of the robot arm may correspond to (i) a drape configuration, (ii) a preparation configuration, and (iii) a stand-by configuration.”);
a standby posture in which the robot main body is kept waiting before a start of surgery (See at least Para [0033] “… The control panel may be configured for engagement or disengagement of a surgery mode. The selectable preset positions of the robot arm may correspond to (i) a drape configuration, (ii) a preparation configuration, and (iii) a stand-by configuration.”);
a roll-in posture in which the robot main body is moved to a patient;
a cleaning posture in which the robot main body is cleaned; or
a transportation posture in which the robot main body is transported.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the apparatus of Ishihara with the teachings of Kostrzewski and include the feature of selecting different types of postures, thereby increase surgical efficiency and safety with success (See at least Para [0009] “… Moreover, the disclosed technology provides the surgeon with reliable instruments and techniques to successfully perform his/her surgery. The system allows a surgeon to physically manipulate the tool holder to safely achieve proper alignment of the tool for performing crucial steps of the surgical procedure”).
Regarding Claim 8, modified Ishihara teaches all the elements of claim 1.
However, Ishihara does not explicitly spell out the robotic surgical system according to claim 1, wherein the operation unit is operable to receive an operation to adjust at least one of:
a height of the robot main body in the first posture;
an amount of forward protrusion of the robot main body in the first posture;
an amount of right-left protrusion of the robot main body in the first posture; or
a right-left rotation angle of the robot main body in the first posture.
Overmyer teaches the robotic surgical system according to claim 1, wherein the operation unit is operable to receive an operation to adjust at least one of:
a height of the robot main body in the first posture (See at least Para [0024] “… A plurality of robotic arms 106 (three shown) may be operatively coupled to the column 304 at a carriage 306 that can be selectively adjusted to vary the height of the robotic arms 106 relative to the base 302, as indicated by the arrow A.”);
an amount of forward protrusion of the robot main body in the first posture;
an amount of right-left protrusion of the robot main body in the first posture; or
a right-left rotation angle of the robot main body in the first posture.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the apparatus of Ishihara with the teachings of Overmyer and include the feature of adjusting a height of the robot main body in the first posture, thereby surgery can be performed with ease and efficiency.
Regarding Claim 9, modified Ishihara teaches all the elements of claim 1.
However, Ishihara does not explicitly spell out the robotic surgical system according to claim 1, wherein
the operation unit includes a joystick;
the robotic surgical system is operable to receive an operation to adjust the variable control parameter when the operator tilts the joystick in a first direction; and
the control device is configured or programmed to control the robot main body to transition from the current posture to the first posture obtained after the adjustment of the variable control parameter when the operator tilts the joystick in a second direction intersecting with the first direction.
Overmyer teaches the robotic surgical system according to claim 1, wherein
the operation unit includes a joystick (See at least Para [0047] “… As indicated above, example user input devices that may be used in a robotic surgical system can include hand-held actuator modules, a joystick, exoskeletal gloves, a master manipulator, or any combination thereof…”);
the robotic surgical system is operable to receive an operation to adjust the variable control parameter when the operator tilts the joystick in a first direction (See at least Para [0024] “… A plurality of robotic arms 106 (three shown) may be operatively coupled to the column 304 at a carriage 306 that can be selectively adjusted to vary the height of the robotic arms 106 relative to the base 302, as indicated by the arrow A.”, Para [0047] “… As indicated above, example user input devices that may be used in a robotic surgical system can include hand-held actuator modules, a joystick, exoskeletal gloves, a master manipulator, or any combination thereof…”); and
the control device is configured or programmed to control the robot main body to transition from the current posture to the first posture obtained after the adjustment of the variable control parameter when the operator tilts the joystick in a second direction intersecting with the first direction (See at least Para [0024] “… A plurality of robotic arms 106 (three shown) may be operatively coupled to the column 304 at a carriage 306 that can be selectively adjusted to vary the height of the robotic arms 106 relative to the base 302, as indicated by the arrow A.”, Para [0047] “… As indicated above, example user input devices that may be used in a robotic surgical system can include hand-held actuator modules, a joystick, exoskeletal gloves, a master manipulator, or any combination thereof…”, Para [0073] “Element 7: wherein the user input device is selected from the group consisting of a hand-held actuator module, a joystick, an exoskeletal glove, a master manipulator, and any combination thereof…”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the apparatus of Ishihara with the teachings of Overmyer and include the feature of the robotic surgical system being operable to receive an operation to adjust the variable control parameter when the operator tilts the joystick in a first direction and the control device is configured or programmed to control the robot main body to transition from the current posture to the first posture obtained after the adjustment of the variable control parameter when the operator tilts the joystick in a second direction intersecting with the first direction, thereby surgery can be performed with ease and efficiency.
Regarding Claim 12, Ishikara teaches a control method for a robotic surgical system, the control method comprising:
… to which a surgical instrument is attached (See at least Para [0030] “… The patient-side
system 200 includes plural surgical manipulators 201. One of the surgical manipulators 201 holds an endoscope 201b while the others hold surgical instruments (instruments 201a). The surgical manipulator 201 holding surgical instruments (instruments 201a) function as instrument arms 201A …”, Fig 1)…
transitioning the robot main body from the current posture to the first posture obtained after
adjustment of the variable control parameter (See at least Para [0030] “… Each of the surgical manipulators 201 includes plural joints. Each joint includes a driver including a servo-motor and a position detector such as an encoder. The surgical manipulators 201 are configured so that medical equipment attached to each surgical manipulator 201 is controlled by a driving signal given through the controller 206, to perform a desired movement.”, Para [0113] “… When the remote operation apparatus 100 is set to the first mode, the operator O can operate the operation handles 1 while standing up. When the remote operation apparatus 100 is set to the second mode, the operator O is able to operate the operation handles 1 while sitting down…”).
However, Ishikara does not explicitly spell out …
receiving an operation of an operator to adjust a variable control parameter, which is variable
within a predetermined range, to adjust a first posture before transition of a robot main body … from a current posture to the first posture is completed; and
Kostrzewski teaches …
receiving an operation of an operator to adjust a variable control parameter, which is variable
within a predetermined range, to adjust a first posture before transition of a robot main body (See at least Para [0121] “FIG. 9 illustrates an example control panel 900 of a robotic surgical system. The control panel includes a power switch 902, a status display 904, an arm configuration subpanel 906 including switches for different preset arm configurations and surgery mode subpanel 908 including switches to place the surgical robot into surgery mode. Once the surgical robot is powered on, the surgical robot checks its operational status and reflects the status in the status display 904, by highlighting one of the status fields (i.e., checking status, OK, and Error). The error codes may be shown on a display. Once status check is completed, an operator may change the arm configuration of the surgical robot from a standby mode to drape mode by pressing the drape mode switch from the arm configuration subpanel 906 as shown in FIG. 9. Once the drape mode switch is toggled, for example, arm configuration control 338 of computing system 302 as shown in FIG. 3 instructs the surgical robot arm to arrange itself into a preset configuration known as drape mode in which the surgical robot can be covered in a sterile surgical drape. Similarly, an operator may change the robot arm configuration from drape mode into surgical preparation mode after the robot has been covered with the sterile drape by pressing the Preparation mode switch…”, Para [0033] “… The control panel may be configured for engagement or disengagement of a surgery mode. The selectable preset positions of the robot arm may correspond to (i) a drape configuration, (ii) a preparation configuration, and (iii) a stand-by configuration.”, Para [0075] “In some implementations, the surgical robot 102 includes a robotic arm comprising joints allowing the arm to be automatically positioned upon user command into various different predetermined configurations convenient for various preparatory, readying, and storage procedures. For example, the surgical robot 102 may be arranged in a standby configuration. In a standby configuration, the robotic arm of surgical robot 102 may be arranged in a compacted standby configuration that, for example, facilitates easy and compact storage of surgical robot 102 when it is not in use. Other configurations may include a drape configuration in which the robot arm is extended to facilitate placement of a sterile surgical drape over the robot and cart, and a preparation configuration in which the robot arm is positioned prior to movement to the operating table whereupon more precise movement of the robot arm will be performed for alignment of the trajectory of the end effector (surgical tool holder).”) …; and
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to combine the apparatus of Ishihara with the teachings of Kostrzewski and include the feature of receiving an operation of an operator to adjust a variable control parameter, which is variable within a predetermined range and from a current posture to the first posture is completed, thereby increase surgical efficiency and safety with success (See at least Para [0009] “… Moreover, the disclosed technology provides the surgeon with reliable instruments and techniques to successfully perform his/her surgery. The system allows a surgeon to physically manipulate the tool holder to safely achieve proper alignment of the tool for performing crucial steps of the surgical procedure”).
Overmyer teaches … to adjust a first posture before transition of a robot main body from a current posture to the first posture is completed (See at least Para [0024] “… A plurality of robotic arms 106 (three shown) may be operatively coupled to the column 304 at a carriage 306 that can be selectively adjusted to vary the height of the robotic arms 106 relative to the base 302, as indicated by the arrow A.”) …
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the apparatus of Ishihara with the teachings of Overmyer and include the feature of an operation unit to receive an operation of an operator to adjust the first posture before transition of the robot main body from the current posture to the first posture is completed, thereby surgery can be performed with ease and efficiency.
Claim(s) 3, 4, 6, 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishihara et al. (US 20180353247 A1) (Hereinafter Ishihara) in view of Overmyer et al. (US 20210093409 A1) (Hereinafter Overmyer), Kostrzewski et al. (US 20180021096 A1) (Herinafter Kostrzewski), and further in view of Kazuyoshi et al. (JP2011194510A, attached English translated copy is used for claim mapping) (Hereinafter Kazuyoshi).
Regarding Claim 3, modified Ishihara teaches all the elements of claim 2. Ishikara further teaches the robotic surgical system according to claim 2, wherein
the robot main body includes a joint (See at least Para [0030] “… Each of the surgical manipulators 201 includes plural joints.”); and …
However, Ishihara does not explicitly spell out …
the control device is configured or programmed to perform a control to change at least one of a rotation angle of the joint corresponding to one of the plurality of control parameters, or a coordinate of the robot main body corresponding to another one of the plurality of control parameters based on an adjustment operation received by the operation unit.
Kazuyoshi teaches …
the control device is configured or programmed to perform a control to change at least one of a rotation angle of the joint corresponding to one of the plurality of control parameters (See at least Para [0024] “… 10 postures and rotation operations are converted into rotation directions and rotation angles of the hand portion 3 with respect to the arm portion 2, and the postures of the second input portion 11 and the rotation operations of the operation handle 25 are changed to the movement direction and movement of the hand portion 3…”, Para [0037] “… Then, as shown in FIG. 7, the operator rotates the main body 22 at a predetermined angle around the central axis C undefined 2 while holding the main body 22 of the first input unit 10…”), or a coordinate of the robot main body corresponding to another one of the plurality of control parameters based on an adjustment operation received by the operation unit.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the apparatus of Ishihara with the teachings of Kazuyoshi and include the feature of the control device being configured or programmed to perform a control to change at least one of a rotation angle of the joint corresponding to one of the plurality of control parameters, thereby surgery can be performed with ease and efficiency (See at least Para [0006] “The present invention has been made in view of the above circumstances, and an object thereof is to provide a remote control device that allows an operator to perform an input operation while easily associating and experiencing the output operation of a manipulator.”).
Regarding Claim 4, modified Ishihara teaches all the elements of claim 1.
However, Ishihara does not explicitly spell out the robotic surgical system according to claim 1, wherein the operation unit is operable to receive an operation of the operator to adjust the variable control parameter at any time point from a start of transition to completion of the transition when the robot main body transitions from the current posture to the first posture.
Kazuyoshi teaches the robotic surgical system according to claim 1, wherein the operation unit is operable to receive an operation of the operator to adjust the variable control parameter at any time point from a start of transition to completion of the transition when the robot main body transitions from the current posture to the first posture (See at least Para [0035] “While viewing the images I0, I5 and I6 on the display unit 21, the operator holds the projecting portion 28 so as to maintain the ON state of the posture changeover switch 27, and rotates the operation handle 25 clockwise with respect to the main body 22. Or it rotates counterclockwise. The rotation angle at this time is transmitted to the control unit 17 by the wireless communication unit 18 via the rotary encoder 26, and further converted into the movement amount of the hand unit 3 by the movement amount calculation unit 32. And the hand part 3 actually moves vertically upward or downward as an output operation of the manipulator 6.”, Para [0024] “… 10 postures and rotation operations are converted into rotation directions and rotation angles of the hand portion 3 with respect to the arm portion 2, and the postures of the second input portion 11 and the rotation operations of the operation handle 25 are changed to the movement direction and movement of the hand portion 3…”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the apparatus of Ishihara with the teachings of Kazuyoshi and include the feature of the operation unit being operable to receive an operation of the operator to adjust the variable control parameter at any time point from a start of transition to completion of the transition when the robot main body transitions from the current posture to the first posture, thereby surgery can be performed with ease and efficiency (See at least Para [0006] “The present invention has been made in view of the above circumstances, and an object thereof is to provide a remote control device that allows an operator to perform an input operation while easily associating and experiencing the output operation of a manipulator.”).
Regarding Claim 6, robotic surgical system according to claim 1, modified Ishihara teaches all the elements of claim 1.
However, Ishihara does not explicitly spell out the robotic surgical system according to claim 1, wherein the operation unit is operable to receive an operation of the operator to adjust the plurality of control parameters when the robot main body starts to transition from the current posture to the first posture.
Kazuyoshi teaches the robotic surgical system according to claim 1, wherein the operation unit is operable to receive an operation of the operator to adjust the plurality of control parameters when the robot main body starts to transition from the current posture to the first posture (See at least Para [0035] “While viewing the images I0, I5 and I6 on the display unit 21, the operator holds the projecting portion 28 so as to maintain the ON state of the posture changeover switch 27, and rotates the operation handle 25 clockwise with respect to the main body 22. Or it rotates counterclockwise. The rotation angle at this time is transmitted to the control unit 17 by the wireless communication unit 18 via the rotary encoder 26, and further converted into the movement amount of the hand unit 3 by the movement amount calculation unit 32. And the hand part 3 actually moves vertically upward or downward as an output operation of the manipulator 6.”, Para [0024] “… 10 postures and rotation operations are converted into rotation directions and rotation angles of the hand portion 3 with respect to the arm portion 2, and the postures of the second input portion 11 and the rotation operations of the operation handle 25 are changed to the movement direction and movement of the hand portion 3…”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the apparatus of Ishihara with the teachings of Kazuyoshi and include the feature of the operation unit being operable to receive an operation of the operator to adjust the plurality of control parameters when the robot main body starts to transition from the current posture to the first posture, thereby surgery can be performed with ease and efficiency (See at least Para [0006] “The present invention has been made in view of the above circumstances, and an object thereof is to provide a remote control device that allows an operator to perform an input operation while easily associating and experiencing the output operation of a manipulator.”).
Regarding Claim 11, modified Ishihara teaches all the elements of claim 9.
However, Ishihara does not explicitly spell out the robotic surgical system according to claim 9,
further comprising:
an enable switch to enable or disable transition of a posture of the robot main body; wherein the robotic surgical system is operable to receive the operation to adjust the variable control
parameter when the operator tilts the joystick in the first direction while the transition of the posture of the robot main body is enabled by the enable switch; and
the control device is configured or programmed to control the robot main body to transition from the current posture to the first posture obtained after the adjustment of the variable control parameter when the operator tilts the joystick in the second direction.
Kazuyoshi teaches the robotic surgical system according to claim 9,
further comprising:
an enable switch to enable or disable transition of a posture of the robot main body (See at least Para [0018] “… A posture changeover switch (posture changeover unit) 27.”, Para [0020] “The posture changeover switch 27 is disposed on a protruding portion 28 disposed on the back surface of the first input unit 10…”); wherein …
while the transition of the posture of the robot main body is enabled by the enable switch (See at least Para [0018] “… A posture changeover switch (posture changeover unit) 27.”, Para [0020] “The posture changeover switch 27 is disposed on a protruding portion 28 disposed on the back surface of the first input unit 10…”); and
the control device is configured or programmed to control the robot main body to transition from the current posture to the first posture obtained after the adjustment of the variable control parameter (See at least Para [0024] “… 10 postures and rotation operations are converted into rotation directions and rotation angles of the hand portion 3 with respect to the arm portion 2, and the postures of the second input portion 11 and the rotation operations of the operation handle 25 are changed to the movement direction and movement of the hand portion 3…”, Para [0037] “… Then, as shown in FIG. 7, the operator rotates the main body 22 at a predetermined angle around the central axis C undefined 2 while holding the main body 22 of the first input unit 10…”) …
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the apparatus of Ishihara with the teachings of Kazuyoshi and include the feature of an enable switch to enable or disable transition of a posture of the robot main body and the control device being configured or programmed to control the robot main body to transition from the current posture to the first posture obtained after the adjustment of the variable control parameter, thereby surgery can be performed with ease and efficiency (See at least Para [0006] “The present invention has been made in view of the above circumstances, and an object thereof is to provide a remote control device that allows an operator to perform an input operation while easily associating and experiencing the output operation of a manipulator.”).
Overmyer teaches …
the robotic surgical system is operable to receive the operation to adjust the variable control
parameter when the operator tilts the joystick in the first direction (See at least Para [0024] “… A plurality of robotic arms 106 (three shown) may be operatively coupled to the column 304 at a carriage 306 that can be selectively adjusted to vary the height of the robotic arms 106 relative to the base 302, as indicated by the arrow A.”, Para [0047] “… As indicated above, example user input devices that may be used in a robotic surgical system can include hand-held actuator modules, a joystick, exoskeletal gloves, a master manipulator, or any combination thereof…”)…
when the operator tilts the joystick in the second direction (See at least Para [0024] “… A plurality of robotic arms 106 (three shown) may be operatively coupled to the column 304 at a carriage 306 that can be selectively adjusted to vary the height of the robotic arms 106 relative to the base 302, as indicated by the arrow A.”, Para [0047] “… As indicated above, example user input devices that may be used in a robotic surgical system can include hand-held actuator modules, a joystick, exoskeletal gloves, a master manipulator, or any combination thereof…”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to combine the apparatus of Ishihara with the teachings of Overmyer and include the feature of the robotic surgical system being operable to receive the operation to adjust the variable control parameter when the operator tilts the joystick in the first direction and in the second direction, thereby surgery can be performed with ease and efficiency.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishihara et al. (US 20180353247 A1) (Hereinafter Ishihara) in view of Overmyer et al. (US 20210093409 A1) (Hereinafter Overmyer), Kostrzewski et al. (US 20180021096 A1) (Herinafter Kostrzewski), Kazuyoshi et al. (JP2011194510A, attached English translated copy is used for claim mapping) (Hereinafter Kazuyoshi), and further in view of Masaki et al. (US 20210260767 A1) (Hereinafter Masaki).
Regarding Claim 10, modified Ishihara teaches all the elements of claim 9.
However, Ishihara does not explicitly spell out the robotic surgical system according to claim 9, wherein the joystick is operable to receive the operation to adjust the variable control parameter according to a magnitude of a tilt in the first direction.
Masaki teaches the robotic surgical system according to claim 9, wherein the joystick is operable to receive the operation to adjust the variable control parameter according to a magnitude of a tilt in the first direction (See at least Para [0017] “…In yet additional embodiments, the joystick is configured to accept the orientation of the bending input vector as tilting orientation, and the magnitude of the bending input vector as tilting angle.”, Claim 10. “The robotic apparatus according to claim 9, wherein the joystick is configured to accept the orientation of the bending input vector as tilting orientation, and the magnitude of the bending input vector as tilting angle.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to combine the apparatus of Ishihara with the teachings of Masaki and include the feature of the joystick being operable to receive the operation to adjust the variable control parameter according to a magnitude of a tilt in the first direction, thereby perform surgery with ease and efficiency.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Ando et al. (US 20190328469 A1) teaches a surgery assisting apparatus for controlling a
posture of a first surgical tool to be inserted into a body cavity and mechanically driven, by using a second surgical tool to be inserted into the body cavity,
/SHAHEDA HOQUE/Examiner, Art Unit 3658
/Ramon A. Mercado/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3658