DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/23/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/24/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 and 7-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Nakano (U.S. Publication No. 2021/0004947 A1).
As per claim 1, Nakano discloses an evaluation system (abstract, evaluation device 20) comprising at least one processor (figure 3: processor 201), wherein the at least one processor is configured to: acquire a target image (paragraph [0064]: capture an image of an evaluation target, and the evaluation image is transmitted to evaluation device 20) showing an object having a base material and a coating region on the base material (paragraph [0079]: “Specular reflection is sometimes caused when the evaluation target has metallic luster. Specular reflection is sometimes caused depending on the state of coating of the evaluation target”); input the target image to a trained model (figure 10, paragraph [0061]: neural network) estimating the coating region from an input image to identify the coating region of the object (paragraph [0087]); and calculate an evaluation value related to the identified coating region (paragraph [0088]: “the neural network NN uses the evaluation image as an input and outputs the match rate of each of categories.”).
As per claim 2, Nakano discloses wherein the at least one processor is configured to calculate the evaluation value related to covering of the base material by the identified coating region (figure 3 processor 201 is configured to calculate coverage % as shown in figures 11 and 12, paragraphs [0097]-[0098]).
As per claim 3, Nakano discloses wherein the at least one processor is configured to calculate, as the evaluation value, a coverage indicating a ratio at which the base material is covered by the identified coating region (paragraph [0097]).
As per claim 4, Nakano discloses wherein the at least one processor is configured to: input the target image to the trained model to identify a plurality of coating elements forming the coating region; and calculate a statistical value related to the plurality of coating elements as the evaluation value (paragraph [0108], and see statistical value in figures 11 and 12; the examiner notes the dent regions as shown in figure 8 and evaluation region Re are coated with at least metallic luster coating as explained above).
As per claim 5, Nakano discloses wherein the at least one processor is configured to: set a central region of the object shown by the target image; and calculate the evaluation value in the central region (see figure 18a).
As per claim 7, Nakano discloses wherein the at least one processor is configured to display an image showing at least the identified coating region (see figure 8).
As per claim 8, Nakano discloses wherein the at least one processor is configured to: acquire an original image showing at least one object; convert the original image into a binary image; perform distance transform on the binary image to identify, for each of the at least one object, a center and dimensions of the object; and generate the target image showing the object entirely appearing in the original image, based on the center and dimensions of each of the at least one object (see binarization process in paragraph [0070]).
As per claim 9, Nakano discloses wherein the object is a particulate material (see paragraph [0079] for at least metallic luster material).
As per claim 11, see explanation in claim 1.
As per claim 12, see explanation in claim 1, the examiner notes Nakano’s system is a computer-like system, which inherently includes a non-transitory computer readable medium.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 6 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/TOM Y LU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2667