DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maric (US Publication No. 2020/0073450) in view of Deng (CN Publication No. 204364209).
Regarding claim 1, Maric discloses a head-mountable device comprising:
a frame (Figure 2, system housing 212);
an optical module (display stack 214) comprising a display (display panel 216) and an optical module engager (Figure 15, anchors 1566), the optical module (214) being moveable (via focus mechanism 250) with respect to the frame (212);
a first heat sink (Figure 10, heat sink 224) comprising first fins (extensions 234) with a first arrangement (see Figure 9) and a first heat sink engager (pins 1570 in Figure 15 combined to 224 in Figure 10);
a second heat sink (Figure 9, heat sink 224) comprising second fins (extension 234) with a second arrangement (see Figure 9) and a second heat sink engager (pins 1570 in Figure 15 combined to 224 in Figure 9); and
a fan (Figure 16, airflow device 1676) mounted to the frame (212; see Paragraph [0055]);
wherein:
in a first assembly of the head-mountable device (see Figures 10 and 15), the first heat sink (Figure 10, heat sink 224) is coupled to the optical module (214) by the first heat sink engager (pins 1570 in Figure 15 combined to 224 in Figure 10) and the optical module engager (1566) to direct air to the fan (1676) while the optical module (214) is in a first position (along X direction); and
in a second assembly of the head-mountable device (see Figures 9 and 15), the second heat sink (Figure 9, heat sink 224) is coupled to the optical module (214) by the second heat sink engager (pins 1570 in Figure 15 combined to 224 in Figure 9) and the optical module engager (1566) to direct air to the fan (1676) while the optical module is in a second position (along X direction; see Paragraph [0043]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have combined the engagers from Figure 15 of Maric to assemble the first and second heat sinks onto the optical modules through different assemblies, as taught in Figures 9-10 in Maric. Combining the engagers would have helped secure the heat sinks to the optical modules (see Figure 15 and Paragraph [0051] in Maric). Combining/swapping the different heat sinks with different assemblies would have allow allowed a user to optimize to cooling efficiency of the device (see Paragraph [0043] in Maric).
Marci does not explicitly disclose the first heat sink in the first assembly and second heat sink in the second assembly being configured to direct air to the fan.
However, Deng teaches a heat sink (heat sink 5) being configured to direct air toward a fan (fan 7).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have arranged the fan and heat sinks of Maric such that the heat sink was configured to direct air toward the fan, as taught in Deng according to known methods to yield the predictable results of dissipating heat from a heat sink using a fan mounted within a head mounted device (see Paragraphs [0005]-[0006] in Deng).
Regarding claim 2, Maric in view of Deng teaches the head-mountable device of claim 1, and further teaches (in Maric) wherein: a pair of the first fins (Figure 10, extensions 234) extend to form a first angle (see Figure 10); and a pair of the second fins (Figure 9, extensions 234) extend to form a second angle (see Figure 9), different than the first angle (see Figure 10 and Paragraph [0043]).
Regarding claim 3, Maric in view of Deng teaches the head-mountable device of claim 1, and further teaches (in Maric) wherein a number of the second fins (Figure 9, 234) is greater than a number of the first fins (Figure 10, 234).
Regarding claim 4, Maric in view of Deng teaches the head-mountable device of claim 1, and further teaches (in Maric) wherein the second fins (Figure 9, 234) are arranged in rows (see Figure 9) with adjacent pairs of the second fins (adjacent 234) being separated from each other by gaps (space between 234).
Regarding claim 5, Maric in view of Deng teaches the head-mountable device of claim 1, and further teaches (in Maric) wherein: the first fins (Figure 10, 234) extend from the optical module (214) to a first maximum height (see Figure 10); and at least some of the second fins (see Figure 9) extend from the optical module (214) to a second maximum height (see Figure 9), less than the first maximum height (see Figures 9 and 10).
Regarding the limitation “a second maximum height less than the first maximum height”, since the heat sinks of the claimed invention has similar structure and proportion to the heat sinks of Maric as modified by Deng, the stated limitation is held to be merely a selection of optimal working parameters established through routine experimentation, and thus obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP § 2144.05(II)(A); In re Williams, 36 F.2d 436, 438 (CCPA 1929) ("It is a settled principle of law that a mere carrying forward of an original patented conception involving only change of form, proportions, or degree, or the substitution of equivalents doing the same thing as the original invention, by substantially the same means, is not such an invention as will sustain a patent, even though the changes of the kind may produce better results than prior inventions."). A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to formulate the claimed heights because doing so would have optimized the cooling efficiencies of the different heat sink assemblies (see Paragraph [0043] in Maric).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maric (US Publication No. 2020/0073450), Deng (CN Publication No. 204364209), and in further view of Hawwa (US Publication No. 2014/0020863).
Regarding claim 6, Maric in view of Deng teaches the head-mountable device of claim 1, but does not teach wherein each of the optical module engager, the first heat sink engager, and the second heat sink engager comprise a magnet.
However, Hawwa teaches an optical module (Figure 4A-4B, heated structure H, corresponding to 214 in Maric) comprising an optical module engager (magnetic pads 128), and a heat sink (heat sink 100) comprising a heat sink engager (magnetic pads 120), wherein each of the optical module engager (128) and the heat sink engager (120) comprise a magnet (see Paragraph [0023]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have substituted the optical module engager and heat sink engagers of Maric as modified by Deng for the optical module engager and heat sink engager of Hawwa according to known methods to yield the predictable results of mounting a heat sink to a heat source. Doing so would have also provided for a fast, toolless assembly process (see Paragraphs [0004]-[0008] in Hawwa).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maric (US Publication No. 2020/0073450), Deng (CN Publication No. 204364209), and in further view of Ren (US Publication No. 2019/0310477).
Regarding claim 7, Maric in view of Deng teaches the head-mountable device of claim 1, but does not teach a sensor configured to detect a feature of an eye of a user; and a processor configured to operate a motor to move the optical module based on the feature detected by the sensor.
However, Ren teaches a sensor (image sensor 409) configured to detect a feature of an eye of a user (see Paragraphs [0085]-[0096]); and a processor (control component 104) configured to operate a motor (driving mechanism 406) to move the optical module (display screen 101) based on the feature detected by the sensor (409; see Paragraphs [0085]-[0096]).
Because Maric teaches a motor (focus mechanism 250) configured to focus the display, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have combined the sensor and processor of Ren to the motor and HMD of Maric as modified by Deng. Doing so would have allowed the HMD to focus the display based on a condition of the user’s eye (see Paragraphs [0085]-[0096] in Ren)
Claims 10-11 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maric (US Publication No. 2020/0073450) in view of Balachandreswaran (US Publication No. 2017/0184863) and Bash (US Publication No. 2004/0217072).
Regarding claim 10, Maric discloses a head-mountable device comprising: a frame (system housing 212); an optical module (display stack 214) comprising a display (display 216), the optical module (214) being moveable with respect to the frame (212); a heat sink (heat sink 224) coupled to the optical module (214) and comprising fins (extensions 234); a fan (Figure 16, 1676) mounted to the frame (212), wherein the optical module (214) is capable of moving from a first position to a second position (via focus mechanism 250)
Maric does not disclose a frame comprising a frame engager, a first intake module comprising first vanes with a first arrangement and a first intake module engager; a second intake module comprising second vanes with a second arrangement and a second intake module engager; and wherein: in a first assembly of the head-mountable device, the first intake module is coupled to the frame by the first intake module engager and the frame engager to direct air to the heat sink while the optical module is in a first position; and in a second assembly of the head-mountable device, the second intake module is coupled to the frame by the second intake module engager and the frame engager to direct air to the heat sink while the optical module is in a second position.
However, Balachandreswaran teaches a frame (housing 102, corresponding to 212 in Maric) comprised of intake vent 112 and louvers; see Figure 7 and Paragraphs [0041]-[0042], [0066]-[0067]) comprising first vanes (louvers) with a first arrangement (see Figures 7-8) see Figures 7-8), the first intake module (112 and louvers) is coupled to the frame (102) inward) to the heat sink (Figure 2, fins 212) while the optical module (display 600, corresponding to 214 in Maric) is in a first position (see Figure 6);
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have combined the intake/exhaust modules of Balachandreswaran to the frame of Maric. Doing so would have allowed the device to control the direction of airflow into the frame and would have provided for weight reduction (see Paragraphs [0041]-[0042], [0066]-[0067] in Balachandreswaran).
Maric in view of Balachandreswaran does not teach a frame comprising a frame engager; a first intake module comprising a first intake module engager; a second intake module comprising second vanes with a second arrangement and a second intake module engager; wherein: in a first assembly the first intake module is coupled to the frame by the first intake module engager and the frame engager; and in a second assembly of the head-mountable device, the second intake module is coupled to the frame by the second intake module engager and the frame engager to direct air to the heat sink while the optical module is in a second position.
However, Bash teaches a frame (panel 20) comprising a frame engager (comprised of pivot members 26 and ); a first intake module (see Figure 2A) comprising second vanes (louvers 24a) with a first arrangement (see Figure 2A) and a first intake module engager (opening in louver 24a engaging 26); a second intake module (see Figure 2C) comprising second vanes (louvers 24c) with a second arrangement (see Figure 2C) and a second intake module engager (opening in 24c engaging 26); wherein: in a first assembly (see Figure 2A), the first intake module (see Figure 2A) is coupled to the frame (20) by the first intake module engager (opening in 24a engaging 26) and the frame engager (26); and in a second assembly (see Figure 2C), the second intake module (see Figure 2C) is coupled to the frame (20) by the second intake module engager (opening in 24c engaging 26) and the frame engager (26).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have substituted the louvers of Maric as modified by Balachandreswaran for the first and second louver assemblies of Bash according to known methods to yield the predictable results of regulating the intake flow of air into a frame based on different cooling needs (see Paragraphs [0041]-[0042], [0066]-[0067] in Balachandreswaran; see Paragraphs [0032]-[0035] in Bash). Doing so would have also provided intake modules with different, adjustable louvers configured to optimize airflow. Id.
Regarding claim 11, Maric in view of Balachandreswaran and Bash teaches the head-mountable device of claim 10, and further teaches (in Bash) wherein: a pair of the first vanes (see Figure 2A) extend to form a first angle (see Figure 2A); and a pair of the second vanes (see Figure 2C) extend to form a second angle (see Figure 2C), different than the first angle (see Paragraphs [0032]-[0035]).
Regarding claim 16, Maric teaches a head-mountable device comprising: a frame (system housing 212); an optical module (display stack 214) comprising a display (display 216), the optical module (214) being moveable with respect to the frame (212); a heat sink (heat sink 224) coupled to the optical module (214) and comprising fins (extensions 234).
Maric does not disclose an intake module slidably coupled to the frame and comprising vanes configured to direct air to the heat sink.
However, Balachandreswaran teaches a frame (housing 102, corresponding to 212 in Maric); and an intake module (comprised of intake vent 112 and louvers; see Figure 7 and Paragraphs [0041]-[0042], [0066]-[0067]) 102) and comprising vanes (louvers) configured to direct air (inward) to the heat sink (Figure 2, fins 212).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have combined the intake/exhaust module of Balachandreswaran to the frame of Maric. Doing so would have allowed the device to control the direction of airflow into the frame and would have provided for weight reduction (see Paragraphs [0041]-[0042], [0066]-[0067] in Balachandreswaran).
Maric in view of Balachandreswaran does not teach the intake module being slidably coupled to the frame.
However, Bash teaches a frame (panel 20); and an intake module (Figure 3A, louvers assembly 30a) being slidably coupled to the frame (20).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have substituted the louvers of Maric as modified by Balachandreswaran for the slidable louver assemblies of Bash according to known methods to yield the predictable results of regulating the intake flow of air into a frame based on different cooling needs (see Paragraphs [0041]-[0042], [0066]-[0067] in Balachandreswaran; see Paragraphs [0032]-[0035] in Bash). Doing so would have also provided intake modules with different, adjustable louvers configured to optimize airflow. Id.
Regarding claim 17, Maric in view of Balachandreswaran and Bash teaches the head-mountable device of claim 16, further comprising a fan (fan 1676) mounted to the frame (212) and configured to draw air through the intake module (louver assembly 30a in Bash combined to 212 in Maric, as taught in Balachandreswaran) and across the heat sink (214; Figure 2 in Balachandreswaran, where fan 214 directs air over fins 212).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have arranged the fan of Maric to draw air in the intake module and over the heat sink, as taught in Balachandreswaran, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950); MPEP § 2144.04(VI)(C). Doing so would have also ensured air low was capable of being drawn into the HMD and over the heat sink to dissipate heat from the device (see Paragraph [0054] and Figure 2 in Balachandreswaran).
Through an alternative interpretation of Bash, claim 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maric (US Publication No. 2020/0073450) in view of Balachandreswaran (US Publication No. 2017/0184863), Bash (US Publication No. 2004/0217072), and Dawson (US Publication No. 2020/0270937).
Regarding claim 12, Maric discloses a head-mountable device comprising: a frame (system housing 212); an optical module (display stack 214) comprising a display (display 216), the optical module (214) being moveable with respect to the frame (212); a heat sink (heat sink 224) coupled to the optical module (214) and comprising fins (extensions 234); a fan (Figure 16, 1676) mounted to the frame (212), wherein the optical module (214) is capable of moving from a first position to a second position (via focus mechanism 250)
Maric does not disclose a frame comprising a frame engager, a first intake module comprising first vanes with a first arrangement and a first intake module engager; a second intake module comprising second vanes with a second arrangement and a second intake module engager; and wherein: in a first assembly of the head-mountable device, the first intake module is coupled to the frame by the first intake module engager and the frame engager to direct air to the heat sink while the optical module is in a first position; and in a second assembly of the head-mountable device, the second intake module is coupled to the frame by the second intake module engager and the frame engager to direct air to the heat sink while the optical module is in a second position, wherein each of the frame engager, the first intake module engager, and the second intake module engager comprise a magnet.
However, Balachandreswaran teaches a frame (housing 102, corresponding to 212 in Maric) comprised of intake vent 112 and louvers; see Figure 7 and Paragraphs [0041]-[0042], [0066]-[0067]) comprising first vanes (louvers) with a first arrangement (see Figures 7-8) 112 and louvers) is coupled to the frame (102) inward) to the heat sink (Figure 2, fins 212) while the optical module (display 600, corresponding to 214 in Maric) is in a first position (see Figure 6);
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have combined the intake module of Balachandreswaran to the frame of Maric. Doing so would have allowed the device to control the direction of airflow into the frame and would have provided for weight reduction (see Paragraphs [0041]-[0042], [0066]-[0067] in Balachandreswaran).
Maric in view of Balachandreswaran does not teach a frame comprising a frame engager; a first intake module comprising a first intake module engager; a second intake module comprising second vanes with a second arrangement and a second intake module engager; wherein: in a first assembly the first intake module is coupled to the frame by the first intake module engager and the frame engager; and in a second assembly of the head-mountable device, the second intake module is coupled to the frame by the second intake module engager and the frame engager to direct air to the heat sink while the optical module is in a second position, wherein each of the frame engager, the first intake module engager, and the second intake module engager comprise a magnet.
However, Bash teaches a frame (panel 20) comprising a frame engager (Figure 3A, linkage 46); a first intake module (see Figure 2A) comprising second vanes (louvers 24a) with a first arrangement (see Figure 2A) and a first intake module engager (linkage members 44); a second intake module (see Figure 2C) comprising second vanes (louvers 24c) with a second arrangement (see Figure 2C) and a second intake module engager (linkage members 44); wherein: in a first assembly (see Figure 2A), the first intake module (see Figure 2A) is coupled to the frame (20) by the first intake module engager (44) and the frame engager (46); and in a second assembly (see Figure 2C), the second intake module (see Figure 2C) is coupled to the frame (20) by the second intake module engager (44) and the frame engager (46).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have substituted the louvers of Maric as modified by Balachandreswaran for the first and second louver assemblies of Bash according to known methods to yield the predictable results of regulating the intake flow of air into a frame based on different cooling needs (see Paragraphs [0041]-[0042], [0066]-[0067] in Balachandreswaran; see Paragraphs [0032]-[0035] in Bash). Doing so would have also provided intake modules with different, adjustable louvers configured to optimize airflow. Id.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have combined the actuation member of Bash to the first and second louver assemblies of Maric as previously modified by Balachandreswaran and Bash. Doing so would have allowed the system to actuate the louvers open/closed based on airflow needs (see Paragraph [0047] in Bash).
Maric in view of Balachandreswaran and Bash does not teach wherein each of the frame engager, the first intake module engager, and the second intake module engager comprise a magnet.
However, Dawson teaches wherein a frame engager (magnetic coupling element 154) and an intake module engager (magnetic coupling element 152) comprise a magnet (Figure 8, magnetic coupling between 152 and 154).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have substituted the engagers of Maric as modified by Balachandreswaran and Bash for the magnetic engagers of Dawson according to known methods to yield the predictable results of using a plurality of pivot joint connections to actuate a plurality of louvers (see Figures 1-2 in Dawson; see Figure 3 in Bash).
Claims 13 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maric (US Publication No. 2020/0073450), Balachandreswaran (US Publication No. 2017/0184863), Bash (US Publication No. 2004/0217072), and in further view of Ren (US Publication No. 2019/0310477).
Regarding claim 13, Maric in view of Balachandreswaran and Bash teaches the head-mountable device of claim 10, but does not teach a sensor configured to detect a feature of an eye of a user; and a processor configured to operate a motor to move the optical module based on the feature detected by the sensor.
However, Ren teaches a sensor (image sensor 409) configured to detect a feature of an eye of a user (see Paragraphs [0085]-[0096]); and a processor (control component 104) configured to operate a motor (driving mechanism 406) to move the optical module (display screen 101) based on the feature detected by the sensor (409; see Paragraphs [0085]-[0096]).
Because Maric teaches a motor (focus mechanism 250) configured to focus the display, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have combined the sensor and processor of Ren to the motor and HMD of Maric as modified by Balachandreswaran and Bash. Doing so would have allowed the HMD to focus the display based on a condition of the user’s eye (see Paragraphs [0085]-[0096] in Ren)
Regarding claim 18, Maric in view of Balachandreswaran and Bash teaches the head-mountable device of claim 16, but does not teach a sensor configured to detect a feature of an eye of a user; and a processor configured to, based on the feature detected by the sensor, operate a motor to move the optical module and slide the intake module.
However, Ren teaches a sensor (image sensor 409) configured to detect a feature of an eye of a user (see Paragraphs [0085]-[0096]); and a processor (control component 104) configured to operate a motor (driving mechanism 406) to move the optical module (display screen 101) based on the feature detected by the sensor (409; see Paragraphs [0085]-[0096]), operate a motor (406 in Ren corresponding to 250 in Maric and 40 in Bash) to move the optical module (101 in Ren, corresponding to 214 in Maric) and slide the intake module (30a in Bash).
Because Maric and Bash teach a motor (focus mechanism 250 in Maric and actuator 40 in Bash) configured to focus the display and slide in intake module, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have combined the sensor and processor of Ren to the motor and intake module of Maric as modified by Balachandreswaran and Bash. Doing so would have allowed the HMD to focus the display based on a condition of the user’s eye (see Paragraphs [0085]-[0096] in Ren)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-9, 14-15, and 19-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 8 claims the head-mountable device of claim 1, wherein: the optical module is a first optical module; the display is a first display; the optical module engager is a first optical module engager; the head-mountable device further comprises: a second optical module comprising a second display and a second optical module engager, the second optical module being moveable with respect to the frame; a third heat sink comprising third fins with a third arrangement and a third heat sink engager; and a fourth heat sink comprising fourth fins with a fourth arrangement and a fourth heat sink engager; in the first assembly of the head-mountable device, the third heat sink is coupled to the second optical module by the third heat sink engager and the second optical module engager to direct air to the fan while the second optical module is in a third position; and in the second assembly of the head-mountable device, the fourth heat sink is coupled to the second optical module by the fourth heat sink engager and the second optical module engager to direct air to the fan while the second optical module is in a fourth position.
Claim 14 claims the head-mountable device of claim 10, wherein: the frame engager is a first frame engager; the optical module is a first optical module; the display is a first display; the heat sink is a first heat sink; the fins are first fins; the frame further comprises a second frame engager; the head-mountable device further comprises: a second optical module comprising a second display, the second optical module being moveable with respect to the frame; a second heat sink coupled to the second optical module and comprising second fins; a third intake module comprising third vanes with a third arrangement and a third intake module engager; and a fourth intake module comprising fourth vanes with a fourth arrangement and a fourth intake module engager; in the first assembly of the head-mountable device, the third intake module is coupled to the frame by the third intake module engager and the second frame engager to direct air to the fan while the second optical module is in a third position; and in the second assembly of the head-mountable device, the fourth intake module is coupled to the frame by the fourth intake module engager and the second frame engager to direct air to the fan while the second optical module is in a fourth position.
Claim 19 claims the head-mountable device of claim 16, wherein: the optical module is a first optical module; the display is a first display; the heat sink is a first heat sink; the fins are first fins; the vanes are first vanes; and the head-mountable device further comprises: a second optical module comprising a second display, the second optical module being moveable with respect to the frame; a second heat sink coupled to the second optical module and comprising second fins; and a second intake module slidably coupled to the frame and comprising second vanes configured to direct air to the second heat sink.
Maric (US Publication No. 2020/0073450) does not teach two sets of optical modules and a fan that is configured to draw air into the HMD through a plurality of intake vents and over a plurality of heat sinks. Balachandreswaran (US Publication No. 2017/0184863) does not teach a plurality of slidable vents that are arranged such that a first intake vent directs air toward a heatsink on a first optical module and a second intake vent directs air toward a second heat sink on a second optical module. Bash (US Publication No. 2004/0217072) does not cure the deficiencies identified above.
Claims 9, 15, and 20 would be allowable due to their dependency.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lin (US Publication No. 2022/0100066) teaches heat sink fins directing air toward a fan.
Guan (US Publication No. 2012/0120608) teaches magnetic heat sink engagers.
Chuang (US Publication No. 2010/0048120) teaches an exchangeable vane.
Selvakumar (US Publication No. 2019/0075689), Zheng (US Patent No. 11092772), Kuo (US Publication No. 2021/0303024), and Wang (US Publication No. 2022/0373799) disclose similar HMD configurations to the claimed device.
/GAGE CRUM/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841
gsc