Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/10/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: “Testing Apparatus for Detecting Wiring Faults in Fire Detection System Base Units”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-5 & 8-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites wherein at least one of the first indicators comprises one or more light sources. However, claim 4 depends from claim 1, and claim 1 does not previously recite first indicators. Therefore, the limitation the first indicators lacks proper antecedent basis in claim 4.
Claim 8 recites from the voltage monitor, an output indicating the voltage. However, claim 8 depends from claim 1, and claim 1 does not previously recite a voltage monitor. Therefore, the limitation the voltage monitor lacks proper antecedent basis in claim 8.
Claim 8 further recites from each of the testers, a second output indicating the connection state of the corresponding base terminal. However, claim 1 recites one or more first testers, while claim 2 separately recites one or more second testers. Because claim 8 depends from claim 1 and recites the testers rather than the first testers, it is unclear whether the testers refers to the first testers of claim 1, the second testers of claim 2, or both. Therefore, the scope of claim 8 is unclear.
Claims 5 & 9-13 depend directly or indirectly, from claim 8, which is indefinite for the reasons stated above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McGuire et al. (U.S. 2014/0028323 A1) in view of Marangoni et al. (U.S. 2021/0351744 A1).
Regarding claim 1, McGuire et al. disclose a testing apparatus for use with a fire detection system having a plurality of base units (meter socket testing device 300 configured to test meter socket 100 before installation of electric meter 200, wherein meter socket 100 includes line terminals L1, L2, load terminals L3, L4, and neutral terminal N1, [0022]); the testing apparatus comprising: one or more connectors, each of the connectors configured to be connected to a corresponding base terminal of a base unit (connection system 315 adapted to engage and connect with meter socket 100; tester line terminals L9, L10 and tester load terminals L11, L12 plug into female terminals L1, L2, L3, L4 of meter socket 100, and neutral contact N3 engages neutral line terminal N1, [0021]); one or more first testers, wherein each of the first testers is configured to receive a voltage from a corresponding connector (test module 320 interfaces with meter socket 100, pulls power from the hot side of meter socket 100, ramps input voltage, monitors output voltage and current, measures current, and computes impedance, see [0028]); and a selector having a plurality of selectable configurations, each of the configurations defining a testing mode of the testing apparatus (series of switches operate to test both conductor lines and neutral for faults; switches S1, S2, S3 are reconfigured between different positions for different diagnostic tests, see [0032]); wherein each of the first testers is configured to provide an output based on the configuration of the selector and the received voltage, the output indicating the connection state of a base terminal connected to the corresponding connector (test module 320 identifies open circuit, acceptable applied load, short circuit, normal condition, pass/fail status, Line to Line fault, and Line to Neutral fault based on switch configuration, measured current, monitored voltage, and calculated impedance, [0028]).
McGuire et al. are not understood to explicitly disclose a selector having a plurality of selectable configurations, each of the configurations defining a testing mode of the testing apparatus, to the extent the selector is interpreted as a selector for selecting among different tester/filter configurations.
Marangoni et al. disclose a selector having a plurality of selectable configurations, each of the configurations defining a testing mode of the testing apparatus (input unit 24 allows the operator to control the selector of each device 9 to select a filter defining a respective pass band for each device 9 and/or start an adjustment command to scan a frequency interval to select the appropriate bandpass filter, [0179]; conditioning stage 12 has two or more bandpass filters connected in parallel and defining bands occupying different consecutive portions of a predetermined frequency interval, and the device includes a selector connected to conditioning stage 12 and configured to set one bandpass filter alternative to the other bandpass filters, [0221]; setting one bandpass filter of two or more bandpass filters is performed by means of a selector, [0236]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify McGuire et al. to incorporate Marangoni et al.’s selector having selectable configurations in order to provide selectable diagnostic configurations and improve diagnostic reliability by selecting an appropriate testing/filter configuration for the electrical condition being tested (see Marangoni’s [0179] and [0221]).
Regarding claim 2, McGuire et al. disclose a testing apparatus according to claim 1, comprising: one or more second testers, wherein each of the second testers is configured to receive a voltage from a corresponding connector and provide an output independently of the configuration of the selector and based on the received voltage, the output indicating the connection state of a base terminal connected to the corresponding connector (test module 320 performs diagnostic testing through meter socket terminals, monitors output voltage and current, measures current, computes impedance, and identifies short circuit, open circuit, normal condition, and pass/fail status, see [0027]).
McGuire et al. are not understood to explicitly disclose one or more second testers, wherein each of the second testers is configured to receive a voltage from a corresponding connector and provide an output independently of the configuration of the selector and based on the received voltage.
Marangoni et al. disclose one or more second testers, wherein each of the second testers is configured to receive a voltage from a corresponding connector and provide an output independently of the configuration of the selector and based on the received voltage (see [0040], protection device 9 comprises first sensor 10, second sensor 19 configured to detect a second signal representing a direct current or low frequency alternating component, and third sensor 26 configured to detect residual current and ground fault; processor 14 receives signals from sensors and comparators and generates a fault signal, see [0157]; selector controls bandpass filter configuration while additional sensing paths and comparators provide separate electrical-condition detection, see [0179]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify McGuire et al. to incorporate Marangoni et al.’s additional tester/sensing path that provides an output independently of a selected configuration in order to provide separate electrical-condition monitoring paths and improve diagnostic reliability by allowing one testing path to be selectable while another testing path remains available for independent monitoring (see Marangoni’s [0140] & [0154]).
Regarding claim 3, McGuire et al. & Marangoni et al. disclose a testing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein McGuire et al. further disclose one or more first indicators, wherein each of the first indicators is configured to receive the output from a corresponding tester and provide, based on the output, an indication of the connection state of the base terminal (see [0021], indication interface 330 receives diagnostic output from test module 320 and provides indication of load characteristics, safety level, pass/fail condition, and failed-result reasons such as Line to Line fault or Line to Neutral fault, see [0025] & [0027]).
Regarding claim 4, McGuire et al. & Marangoni et al. disclose a testing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein McGuire et al. further disclose at least one of the first indicators comprises one or more light sources (indication interface 330 includes a plurality of indicator displays 335, such as LEDs, that indicate a safety level using green-light and red-light conditions, see [0026]).
Regarding claim 5, McGuire et al. & Marangoni et al. disclose a testing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein McGuire et al. further disclose at least one of the first indicators comprises a first light source configured to output light of a first colour and a second light source configured to output light of a second colour (see [0044]), wherein the first light source is configured to output light based on the output received from the tester indicating that the connection state is a first connection state (see [0022]), and the second light source is configured to output light based on the output received from the tester indicating that the connection state is a second connection state (a single indicator display may indicate a passing or green light condition signifying that meter 200 may be safely connected, and a different single indicator display may indicate a failing or red light condition signifying that meter 200 may not be safely connected, [0026]).
Regarding claim 6, McGuire et al. disclose a testing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the selector comprises a switch having a plurality of selectable positions, and each of the first testers is configured to provide an output based on the position of the switch (see [0030], series of switches operate to test both conductor lines and neutral for faults; in a first test, switches S1 and S3 are closed and switch S2 is open; after completing testing, test module 320 resets and reconfigures switches S1, S2, S3 to opposite positions; in a second test, switch S1 is open, switch S2 is closed, and switch S3 is open; test module 320 measures current, computes impedance, and signals failure status based on the selected switch configuration, see [0035]).
McGuire et al. are not understood to explicitly disclose the selector comprises a switch having a plurality of selectable positions, to the extent the selector is interpreted as a selector for selecting among different filter/testing positions.
Marangoni et al. disclose the selector comprises a switch having a plurality of selectable positions (input unit 24 includes one or more pushbuttons or keyboard and allows the operator to control the selector of each device 9 to select a filter defining a respective pass band, see [0179]; selector is connected to conditioning stage 12 and configured to set one bandpass filter alternative to the other bandpass filters, see [0221]; setting one bandpass filter of two or more bandpass filters is performed by means of a selector, see [0236]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify McGuire et al. to incorporate Marangoni et al.’s selector/switch selectable positions in order to provide operator-selectable diagnostic configurations and select an appropriate testing configuration for the electrical condition being tested (see Marangoni’s [0179] and [0221]).
Regarding claim 7, McGuire et al. & Marangoni et al. disclose a testing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein McGuire et al. further disclose a voltage monitor configured to detect a voltage of wiring to which the base unit is connected and provide an output indicating whether the voltage falls within a predetermined range (test module 320 ramps voltage up from zero while monitoring output voltage and current; when voltage or current reaches a predefined limit, voltage is removed; wiring network condition is determined based on measured voltage/current, calculated impedance, and defined threshold values, [0028] & [0035]).
Regarding claim 8, McGuire et al. & Marangoni et al. disclose a testing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein McGuire et al. further disclose a fault detector configured to receive, from each of the testers, a second output indicating the connection state of the corresponding base terminal and, from the voltage monitor, an output indicating the voltage, and to provide (see 0029]), based on the received outputs, an output indicating whether a fault is present in the wiring or the connections of the base terminals (test module 320 receives measured voltage/current information, computes impedance, identifies open circuit, acceptable applied load, short circuit, normal condition, pass/fail status, and failed-result reasons such as Line to Line fault or Line to Neutral fault, [0030]).
Regarding claim 9, McGuire et al. & Marangoni et al. disclose a testing apparatus according to claim 8, wherein McGuire et al. further disclose a second indicator configured to receive the output from the fault detector (see [0025]), and to provide, based on the output received from the fault detector, an indication of whether a fault is present in the wiring or the connections of the base terminals (indication interface 330 receives signal from test module 320 after diagnostic testing and provides indication of load characteristics, safety level, pass/fail condition, and failed-result reasons such as Line to Line fault or Line to Neutral fault, see [0027]).
Regarding claim 10, McGuire et al. & Marangoni et al. disclose a testing apparatus according to claim 9, wherein McGuire et al. further disclose the second indicator comprises one or more light sources (indication interface 330 includes a plurality of indicator displays 335, such as LEDs, [0026]).
Regarding claim 11, McGuire et al. & Marangoni et al. disclose a testing apparatus according to claim 10, wherein McGuire et al. further disclose the second indicator comprises a third light source configured to output light of a third colour and a fourth light source configured to output light of a fourth colour (see [0044]), wherein the third light source is configured to output light based on the output indicating that a fault is present, and the fourth light source is configured to output light based on the output indicating that no fault is present (a passing or green light condition signifies that meter 200 may be safely connected, and a failing or red light condition signifies that meter 200 may not be safely connected, [0026]).
Regarding claim 12, McGuire et al. disclose a testing apparatus according to claim 9, wherein the second indicator comprises a sound output device (indication interface 330 provides diagnostic indications based on output from test module 320, including pass/fail indications and failed-result reasons, [0026]).
McGuire et al. are not understood to explicitly disclose wherein the second indicator comprises a sound output device.
Marangoni et al. disclose wherein the second indicator comprises a sound output device (indicator 17 may be a light indicator, for example an LED or another warning light, but may also be acoustic or of another type, [0168]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify McGuire et al. to incorporate Marangoni et al.’s acoustic indicator in order to provide an additional fault warning that alerts an operator even when a visual indication is not being viewed (see Marangoni’s [0168]).
Regarding claim 13, McGuire et al. disclose a testing apparatus according to claim 12, wherein the sound output device is configured to output a sound based on the output indicating that a fault is present (indication interface 330 provides diagnostic indications based on output from test module 320, including pass/fail indications and failed-result reasons such as Line to Line fault or Line to Neutral fault, [0027]).
McGuire et al. are not understood to explicitly disclose wherein the sound output device is configured to output a sound based on the output indicating that a fault is present.
Marangoni et al. disclose wherein the sound output device is configured to output a sound based on the output indicating that a fault is present (indicator 17 may be acoustic or of another type, [0168]; processor 14 is programmed to set indicator 17 in the on configuration if the fault signal is generated following detection of an electric arc, [0170]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify McGuire et al. to incorporate Marangoni et al.’s acoustic indicator configured to output sound based on fault output in order to improve user awareness of a detected fault condition (see Marangoni’s [0168] and [0170]).
Regarding claim 14, McGuire et al. & Marangoni et al. disclose a testing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein McGuire et al. further disclose a power input configured to receive power from one or more of the connectors and provide power for the testing apparatus (test module 320 pulls power from the hot side, the utility side, of meter socket 100 and ramps up the input voltage to a set level for diagnostic testing, [0028]).
Regarding claim 15, McGuire et al. disclose a testing apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising a power source configured to generate power for the testing apparatus (meter socket testing device 300 includes test module 320 and indication interface 330 for diagnostic testing and indication, see [0028]).
McGuire et al. are not understood to explicitly disclose a power source configured to generate power for the testing apparatus.
Marangoni et al. disclose a power source configured to generate power for the testing apparatus (protection device 9 comprises a power source 18, see [0171]; system 1 comprises a power source 25 of processing unit 22, see [0181]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify McGuire et al. to incorporate Marangoni et al.’s power source in order to power the testing circuitry, processing circuitry, and indication circuitry of the testing apparatus (see Marangoni’s [0171] and [0181]).
Regarding claim 16, McGuire et al. disclose a testing apparatus for use with a fire detection system having a plurality of base units (meter socket testing device 300 configured to test meter socket 100 before installation of electric meter 200, wherein meter socket 100 includes line terminals L1, L2, load terminals L3, L4, and neutral terminal N1, see [0023]); the testing apparatus comprising: one or more connectors, each of the connectors configured to be connected to a corresponding base terminal of a base unit (connection system 315 adapted to engage and connect with meter socket 100; tester line terminals L9, L10 and tester load terminals L11, L12 plug into female terminals L1, L2, L3, L4 of meter socket 100, and neutral contact N3 engages neutral line terminal N1, see [0024]); and one or more testers, wherein each of the testers is configured to receive a voltage from a corresponding connector and provide an output based on the received voltage, the output indicating the connection state of a base terminal connected to the corresponding connector (test module 320 interfaces with meter socket 100, pulls power from the hot side of meter socket 100, ramps input voltage, monitors output voltage and current, measures current, computes impedance, and identifies open circuit, acceptable applied load, short circuit, normal condition, pass/fail status, Line to Line fault, and Line to Neutral fault, see [0027]).
McGuire et al. are not understood to explicitly disclose a testing apparatus for use with a fire detection system having a plurality of base units, to the extent the preamble is interpreted as requiring a fire-detection base-unit testing environment.
Marangoni et al. disclose using a testing/protection device in an electrical detection system having a plurality of units and fault-detection devices (system 1 comprises a plurality of modules 2 connected to an inverter 3; system 1 comprises a plurality of protection devices 9 each inserted into a respective branch 4 to detect presence of an electric arc and generate a fault signal; processing unit 22 is connected to protection devices 9, [0173] & [0179]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify McGuire et al. to incorporate Marangoni et al.’s multi-unit electrical fault-detection environment in order to apply terminal/socket diagnostic testing to multiple electrical units and provide fault detection for electrical wiring connections in a system having plural units (see Marangoni’s [0173]-[0179]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. 2013/0110422 A1 to Zhang et al. disclose a fault detector for operating process of electric arc furnace and method thereof are disclosed, which belong to the technical field of fault detection. The fault detector includes the temperature signal acquisition equipment, the current signal acquisition equipment and a host computer. The multimode fault monitoring and diagnosis method comprises the following steps: acquiring and standardizing the data; establishing the preliminary monitoring model for the operating process to obtain common subsets of M operating modes and typical subsets of every operating mode; calculating the T.sup.2 statistics and the SPE statistics, and monitoring and diagnosing fault in the operating process. The present invention has the advantages that the colorimetric temperature measurement can improve the calculation accuracy, different equipment becomes compatible, and the fault detector is suitable for operating in industrial production process with a variety of steady modes and can diagnose faults in a certain operating mode.
U.S. 2011/0242989 A1 to Kim discloses Data associated with at least one building condition or status is sensed by one or more sensors. The data from these sensors may be sent over a data bus and received by the central computer. In addition, a modulated signal may be transmitted by one or both of the transmitters across the data bus. The modulated signal is received at the receiver, which analyzes the received modulated signal, and determines whether an intermittent fault has occurred on the data bus based upon the analyzing. For example, the receiver may compare the received signal to an expected pattern and when a discrepancy exists, an intermittent fault is determined to exist. The receiver may also determine the location of the fault based upon the analysis.
U.S. 2019/0011492 A1 to Handy et al. disclose in Fig. 1 an apparatus and method for detecting arc faults in a circuit having a switch (28), including a leakage current management device (46), an arc fault detector (30) arranged to monitor output voltage and to send a signal representative of the output voltage, and a controller (36) coupled to the arc fault detector (30). The controller (36) is configured to monitor the output voltage signal, compare the output to a threshold, and if the output exceeds the threshold, provide an arc fault indication.
Any comments considered necessary by applicant must be submitted no later than the payment of the issue fee and, to avoid processing delays, should preferably accompany the issue fee. Such submissions should be clearly labeled "Comments on Statement of Reasons for Allowance." Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to TRUNG NGUYEN whose telephone number is (571)272-1966. The examiner can normally be reached on Mon- Friday 8AM - 4:00PM Eastern Time. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Huy Phan can be reached on 571-272-7924. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
Examiner: /Trung Q. Nguyen/- Art 2858
/HUY Q PHAN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858