DETAILED ACTION
Claims 39-57 are pending for examination.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim under US PRO 63/330035 filed on 4/12/2022.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 39, 50, 54 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al (AHG11: Neural Network based in-loop filter with constrained storage and low complexity), in view of Zhang et al, US 2022/0335269 A1.
Regarding Claim 39, Wang discloses a method for generating an encoded video or a decoded video, the method comprising:
obtaining values of reconstructed samples (Wang Fig.2, page 2 – reconstructed image [rec_yuv]);
obtaining input information comprising any one or a combination of: i) information about filtered samples, the information comprising a prediction mode indicating that a filtered sample block is an intra-predicted block, an inter-predicted block that is uni-predicted, or an inter-predicted block that is bi-predicted, ii) information about predicted samples, the information indicating a number of motion vectors used for prediction, or iii) information about skipped samples (Wang Fig.2, page 2 – prediction image [pred_yuv]);
providing the values of reconstructed samples and the input information to a machine learning, ML, model, thereby generating at least one ML output data (Wang Fig.2, Sec 2.1 page 2 – Proposed NN filter shown in Fig.2 and – see inputs and output_yuv).
Even though Wang teaches a NN based in-loop filter, Wang does not explicitly disclose based at least on said at least one ML output data, generating the encoded video or the decoded video.
Zhang teaches based at least on said at least one ML output data, generating the encoded video or the decoded video (Zhang [0042] – The difference between the weights of the finetuned neural network and the weights of the neural network before finetuning is referred to as the weight-update. This weight-update needs to be encoded, provided to the decoder side together with the encoded video data, and used at the decoder side for updating the neural network filter. The updated neural network filter is then used as part of the video decoding process).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify Wang to have at least one ML output data, generating the encoded video or the decoded video, as taught by Li. One would be motivated as the means encoded/decoded video data would what is being generated with the input information and the ML model.
With regard to claim 50, the claim limitations are essentially the same as claim 39 but in a different embodiment. Therefore, the rational used to reject claim 39 is applied to claim 50.
With regard to claim 54, the claim limitations are essentially the same as claim 39 but in a different embodiment. Therefore, the rational used to reject claim 39 is applied to claim 54.
Claim(s) 45, 46, 56 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang and Zhang, in view of Li et al US 2022/0101095 A1.
Regarding Claim 45, Wang and Zhang teach the method of claim 39, as outlined above.
However, Wang does not explicitly disclose the information about filtered samples comprises values of deblocked samples.
Li teaches the information about filtered samples comprises values of deblocked samples (Li [0146] – One or more convolutional neural network (CNN) filter models are trained as an in-loop filter or post-processing method for reducing the distortion incurred during compression. The interaction between the CNN filtering and the non-deep learning-based filtering method denoted by NDLF, controlling of our CNN filtering method, CNN filter models will be discussed in this invention. In one example, the NDLF may include one or more of Deblocking filter, SAO, ALF, CC-ALF, LMCS, bilateral filter, transform-domain filtering method, etc. al; [0060] – FIG. 5 shows an example of encoder block diagram of VVC, which contains three in-loop filtering blocks: deblocking filter (DF), sample adaptive offset (SAO) and ALF).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify Wang to have the information about filtered samples comprises values of deblocked samples, as taught by Li. One would be motivated as the deblocking samples assist quality by assisting edges in the blocks.
Regarding Claim 46, Wang and Zhang teach the method of claim 39, as outlined above.
However, Wang does not explicitly disclose the information about skipped samples indicates whether samples belong to a block that did not go through a process processing residual samples, and the process comprises inverse quantization and inverse transformation
Li teaches the information about skipped samples indicates whether samples belong to a block that did not go through a process processing residual samples, and the process comprises inverse quantization and inverse transformation (Li [0138]-[0143] – The current CNN-based loop filtering has the following problems: 4. CNN-based loop filters in prior-arts are utilized on all of reconstructed frames, causing the frames coded later to be overly filtered a. For example, in the Random Access (RA) configuration, blocks in frames within high temporal layers may choose skip mode with a large probability, which means that the reconstruction of current frame is copied from the previous reconstruction frames. Since the previous frames are filtered using the CNN-based loop filter, applying the CNN-based loop filter on the current frame is equivalent to applying the CNN-filter twice on same content).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify Wang to have information about skipped samples indicates whether samples belong to a block that did not go through a process processing residual samples, and the process comprises inverse quantization and inverse transformation, as taught by Li. One would be motivated as the skipped samples reduce processing power.
Regarding Claim 56, Wang discloses an apparatus comprising: memory; and processing circuitry, wherein the apparatus is configured to: obtain machine learning, ML, input data, wherein the ML input data comprises: i) values of components of reconstructed samples; ii) values of components of reconstructed samples; iii) values of components of predicted samples; iv) values of components of predicted samples; and iv) quantization parameters, QP; provide the ML input data to a ML model, thereby generating ML output data; and generate, based at least on the ML output data, the encoded video or the decoded video (see citations from claim 39 of the Wang reference).
However, Wang does not explicitly disclose v) first block boundary strength, BBS, information indicating strength of a filtering applied to a boundary of luma components of samples; vi) second BBS information indicating strength of a filtering applied to a boundary of chroma components of samples; the values of the reconstructed and predicted samples contain luna and chroma components.
Li teaches first block boundary strength, BBS, information indicating strength of a filtering applied to a boundary of luma components of samples; second BBS information indicating strength of a filtering applied to a boundary of chroma components of samples; (Lee pages 1-2, sec 2.1 – proposed CNN uses the boundary strength (BS) as one of the inputs for the output of the module).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify Wang to have the use of block boundary strength, BBS, information indicating strength of a filtering applied to a boundary of samples, as taught by Li. One would be motivated to include the BS as a factor into the machine learning as to provide a more refined output.
Li teaches the values of the reconstructed and predicted samples contain luna and chroma components (Li p.12 2nd column [0215]-[0230] – The input of CNN filters include reconstructed samples and prediction information… containing the samples in luma and chroma)
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify Wang where the values of the reconstructed and predicted samples contain luna and chroma components, as taught by Li. One would be motivated to include data of a color space to assist the ML model.
Claim(s) 51 and 55 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang and Zhang, in view of Li et al (EE1-1.6: Combined Test of EE1-1.2 and EE1-1.4).
Regarding Claim 51, Wang discloses a method for generating an encoded video or a decoded video, the method comprising: obtaining machine learning, ML, input data, wherein the ML input data comprises: i) values of reconstructed samples; ii) values of predicted samples; and iv) quantization parameters, QP; providing the ML input data to a ML model, thereby generating ML output data; and generating, based at least on the ML output data, the encoded video or the decoded video, wherein the ML input data does not include partition information indicating how a luma picture is partitioned into coding tree units, CTUs, and how luma CTUs are partitioned into coding units, CUs (see citations from claim 39 of the Wang reference).
Wang does not explicitly disclose the use of the block boundary strength, BBS, information indicating strength of a filtering applied to a boundary of samples
Li teaches the use of block boundary strength, BBS, information indicating strength of a filtering applied to a boundary of samples (Lee pages 1-2, sec 2.1 – proposed CNN uses the boundary strength (BS) as one of the inputs for the output of the module).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify Wang to have the use of block boundary strength, BBS, information indicating strength of a filtering applied to a boundary of samples, as taught by Li. One would be motivated to include the BS as a factor into the machine learning as to provide a more refined output.
With regard to claim 55, the claim limitations are essentially the same as claim 51 but in a different embodiment. Therefore, the rational used to reject claim 51 is applied to claim 55.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 57 is allowed. The closest prior arts are the Wang, Zhang, and Li references cited above. Neither Wang, Zhang, nor Li nor other relevant art or combination of relevant art, teaches an apparatus comprising: memory; and processing circuitry, wherein the apparatus is configured to: obtain values of reconstructed samples; obtain quantization parameters, QPs; provide the reconstructed sample values and the quantization parameters to a machine learning, ML, model, thereby generating ML output data; generate, based at least on the ML output data, first output sample values; provide the first output sample values to a group of two or more attention residual blocks connected in series, thereby generating second output sample values; and generate the encoded video or the decoded video based on the second output sample values, wherein the group of attention residual blocks comprises a first attention residual block disposed at one end of the series of attention residual blocks, and the first attention residual block is configured to receive input data consisting of the first output sample values and the QPs.
Claims 40-44, 47-49, 52, 53 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The various claimed limitations mentioned in the claims are not taught or suggested by the prior art taken either singly or in combination, with emphasize that it is each claim, taken as a whole, including the interrelationships and interconnections between various claimed elements make them allowable over the prior art of record. The various claimed limitations mentioned including the interrelationships and all of the limitations of the base claim and the elements with respect to:
ML model comprises a first computational module, CM, and a second CM, the first CM comprises a first convolution layer, CL, and a first parametric rectified linear unit, PReLU, coupled to the first CL, the second CM comprises a second CL and a second PReLU coupled to the second CL, the values of the reconstructed samples are provided to the first CM, and the input information is provided to the second CM
obtaining values of predicted samples; obtaining block boundary strength information, BBS, indicating strength of filtering applied to a boundary of samples; obtaining quantization parameters, QPs; providing the values of the predicted samples to a CM, thereby generating first CM output data; providing the BBS information to a CM, thereby generating second CM output data; providing the QPs to a CM, thereby generating third CM output data; and combining at least the first CM output data, the second CM output data, and the third CM output data, thereby generating combined CM output data, and the encoded video or the decoded video is generated based at least on the combined CM output data
concatenating the values of reconstructed samples and the input information, thereby generating concatenated CM input data, wherein the concatenated CM input data are provided to a CM
the ML model comprises a first convolution layer, CL, the first CL is configured to convert the concatenated CM input data into N CM output data, and N is the number of kernel filters included in the first CL.
the ML model comprises a first CM and a second CM, the first CM comprises a first convolution layer, CL, and a first parametric rectified linear unit, PReLU, coupled to the first CL, the second CM comprises a second CL and a second PReLU coupled to the second CL, the first CM is configured to perform downsampling, and the second CM is configured to perform upsampling
Conclusion
/AMIR SHAHNAMI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2483