DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: 181 and 182 of Figs. 3-4. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Line 3: “a display module” should be amended to recite “the display module” as it is already introduced in line 2.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 recites the limitations "the temperature inside the housing" in line 2 and “the number of suction fans” in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for the limitations in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee (KR 20210099247 A).
As to Claim 1, Lee discloses:
A display device (display unit 1; Fig. 1) comprising:
a display module 1;
a housing (casing 10) including the display module 1 mounted therein (Par. 0027 “The heat-generating component (1-3) housed inside the casing (10)”);
a first opening (opening in 10 where fan 30 disposed) formed at a lower portion of the housing 10 allowing external air to be introduced into the housing 10 (Par. 0029 “in one embodiment, the heat dissipation device includes one or more fans (30) located on one surface of the casing (10), and the cyclone module (20) may be positioned at a location corresponding to the fans (30) so that outside air introduced through the fans (30) is injected into the cyclone module (20)”; disposed at lower portion of 10);
a second opening 101 formed at an upper portion of the housing 10 and allowing air inside the housing 10 to be discharged outside (Par. 0031 “within the casing (10), an airflow is formed from the fan (30) through the cyclone module (20), through the heating component (1-3), and then toward one or more outlets (101)”; 101 disposed on upper portion of 10); and
a cyclone filter 20 located at the first opening and removing dust from the air introduced into the housing 10 (Par. 0030 “The cyclone module (20) functions to remove impurities such as dust from the air introduced into the casing (10) from the outside and to supply fresh air to the heating component (1-3)”; 20 located near defined first opening),
wherein the cyclone filter 20 includes:
a cylindrical filter case 200;
a gas inlet 201 through which air is introduced into the filter case 200 (Par. 0035 “An inlet (201) into which external air is injected is formed on the side of the cone-shaped body (200)”);
a dust outlet 203 through which dust separated from the air introduced into the filter case 200 is discharged outside (Par. 0035 “a second outlet (203) for discharging impurities, such as dust collected through the cyclone phenomenon generated within the body (200), is formed in the area including the center top (i.e., the apex) of the cone-shaped body (200)”);
a gas outlet 202 located at an upper portion of the filter case 200 and supplying air into the housing 10 (Par. 0038 “the air from which dust and other particles have been removed through the cyclone phenomenon is supplied to the heating component (1-3) through the first outlet (202)”; 202 disposed on top side of 200, see Figs. 1-4); and
a suction fan 30 configured to suck in dust so that the dust is introduced through the gas inlet 201 (Par. 0038 “when air introduced from the outside through the fan (30) is introduced into the body (200) through the inlet (201)”).
As to Claim 2, Lee discloses:
wherein the housing 10 includes:
a first space located at a front surface of the display module 1 (right side of 1); and
a second space located at a back surface of the display module 1 (left side of 1),
wherein the air introduced through the first opening (location of 30) moves between the first space and the second space and circulates inside the housing 10 (air moves between left and right side of 1).
As to Claim 9, Lee discloses:
wherein:
the dust outlet 203 is located at a bottom of the filter case 200 (see Fig. 4, 203 disposed at bottom of 200); and
the filter case 200 is formed in a cone shape that extends from the bottom of the filter case 200 to the dust outlet 203 (200 is a cone/conical shape).
As to Claim 10, Lee discloses:
wherein:
the suction fan 30 is disposed at the gas outlet 202 (30 is at least in part disposed adjacent to 202).
As to Claim 11, Lee discloses:
wherein:
the gas inlet 201 is located at the bottom of the filter case 200 (201 located on bottom portion of case, e.g., below top/lid portion); and
the suction fan 30 is located at the gas inlet 201 (fan 30 located at 201).
As to Claim 12, Lee discloses:
wherein:
the dust outlet 203 is located in a side direction of the filter case 200 (203 located on underside of 200).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (KR 20210099247 A) as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Chin (US 9414516 B2).
As to Claim 3, Lee does not disclose:
further comprising:
a flow path guide located adjacent to the second opening and configured to guide air from the second space to the first space.
However, Chin discloses:
further comprising:
a flow path guide (damper 150, Figs. 5a-5b) located adjacent to the second opening 170 and configured to guide air from the second space (right side of 120; corresponds to rear/left side of 1 of Lee) to the first space (left side of 120; corresponds to front/right side of 1 of Lee; col. 6, Lines 52-55 “the flow of air introduced into the suction port 130 is similar to the flow in the previous embodiment in that the air flows from the first space 111 to the second space 112 and then leaves the case through the discharge port 170”);
in order to provide a loop of air circulation in the case (col. 6, Lines 63-64).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Lee as further suggested by Chin e.g., providing:
further comprising:
a flow path guide located adjacent to the second opening and configured to guide air from the second space to the first space;
in order to provide a loop of air circulation in the case/housing.
As to Claim 4, Lee discloses:
wherein:
the air introduced through the first opening (defined first opening near 30) moves to the second space (left side of 1; air flow to left side of 1).
Lee does not disclose:
the display device further includes a circulation fan configured to supply air from the second space to the first space.
However, Chin discloses:
the display device (100, see Fig. 5a) further includes a circulation fan 160 configured to supply air from the second space (right side of 120; corresponds to rear/left side of 1 of Lee) to the first space (left side of 120; corresponds to front/right side of 1 of Lee);
in order to assist in circulation of air in the case 110 (col. 5, Lines 4-6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Lee as further suggested by Chin e.g., providing:
the display device further includes a circulation fan configured to supply air from the second space to the first space;
in order to assist in circulation of air in the case/housing.
Claims 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (KR 20210099247 A) in view of Chin (US 9414516 B2) as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Park (KR 20090088239 A).
As to Claim 5, the obvious modification of Lee in view of Chin discloses:
further comprising:
a controller (125 of Chin) disposed in the second space (right side of 120 of Chin) and configured to control the display module (col. 2, Lines 32-33 “The circuit unit 125 (see FIG. 3) may include various circuit elements to control the screen of the display panel 120”).
Lee and Chin do not disclose:
further comprising:
a controller configured to control the suction fan, and the circulation fan.
However, Park discloses:
a controller (control module 404) configured to control the suction fan (fan array 204a,b,c), and the circulation fan 216 (Pg. 9 of attached translation “The control module (404) senses the internal temperature through a temperature sensing module (402) installed in the internal space of the cooling device (200) within the first front housing (100a, 100b) in which the display panel (422) is embedded at predetermined intervals, and if the internal temperature is above a predetermined cooling reference temperature, it drives the first fan array (210a, b, c), the second fan array (204a, b, c), the cooling unit (218), and the cooling fan (216)”);
in order to control the internal fans based on predetermined temperature values (Pg. 9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Lee in view of Chin as further suggested by Park e.g., providing:
a controller configured to control the suction fan, and the circulation fan;
in order to control the internal fans based on predetermined temperature values.
As to Claim 6, the obvious modification of Lee in view of Chin and Park discloses:
further comprising:
a temperature sensor 402 configured to measure a temperature of the housing 100 (Pg. 9 “The control module (404) senses the internal temperature through a temperature sensing module (402) installed in the internal space of the cooling device (200) within the first front housing (100a, 100b) in which the display panel (422)”; Park),
wherein the controller 402 is configured to:
control the suction fan (fan array 204a,b,c of Park) so that a revolutions per minute (RPM) increases as the temperature of the housing increases (Pg. 11 “If the above internal temperature is above a predetermined cooling standard temperature, the control module (404) drives the first fan array (210a,b,c), the second fan array (204a,b,c)”); and
control the suction fan (fan array 204a,b,c of Park) so that the revolutions per minute (RPM) decreases as the temperature of the housing decreases (Pg. 11-12 “if the internal temperature is below a predetermined 16-07-2026 - Page 11 cooling standard temperature, the control module (404) stops the operation of the first fan array (210a,b,c), the second fan array (204a,b,c)”; Park).
As to Claim 7, the obvious modification of Lee in view of Chin and Park discloses:
further comprising:
in a situation where the revolutions per minute (RPM) of the suction fan (fan array 204a,b,c of Park) is a minimum RPM (lowest operating RPM of 204a,b,c), when the temperature of the housing decreases, the revolutions per minute (RPM) of the circulation fan decreases (Pg. 11-12 “if the internal temperature is below a predetermined 16-07-2026 - Page 11 cooling standard temperature, the control module (404) stops the operation of the first fan array (210a,b,c), the second fan array (204a,b,c)”; Park).
As to Claim 8 (as best understood), the obvious modification of Lee in view of Chin and Park discloses:
further comprising:
a temperature sensor 402 configured to measure a temperature inside the housing (Pg. 9 “The control module (404) senses the internal temperature through a temperature sensing module (402) installed in the internal space of the cooling device (200) within the first front housing (100a, 100b) in which the display panel (422)”; Park),
wherein the cyclone filter is implemented as a plurality of cyclone filters (plurality of 20 of Lee);
the controller (404 of Park) is configured so that, as the temperature inside the housing increases, a number of suction fans (204a,b,c of Park, corresponding to 30 of Lee) to be driven from among the plurality of cyclone filters increases (Pg. 11 “If the above internal temperature is above a predetermined cooling standard temperature, the control module (404) drives the first fan array (210a,b,c), the second fan array (204a,b,c)”;
and the controller 404 is configured so that, as the temperature inside the housing decreases, the number of suction fans (204a,b,c of Park, corresponding to 30 of Lee) to be driven from among the plurality of cyclone filters decreases (Pg. 11-12 “if the internal temperature is below a predetermined 16-07-2026 - Page 11 cooling standard temperature, the control module (404) stops the operation of the first fan array (210a,b,c), the second fan array (204a,b,c)”; Park).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (KR 20210099247 A) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Han (US 20080028940 A1).
As to Claim 13, Lee does not disclose:
further comprising:
a dustbin configured to collect dust to be discharged from the dust outlet.
However, Han discloses:
further comprising:
a dustbin (dust-collecting case 40) configured to collect dust to be discharged from the dust outlet 102a (Par. 0043 “an exhausting hole 102a at a lower end, through which dust separated from the air by the centrifugal force is exhausted toward the dust-collecting case 40”);
in order to collect and store dust removed from air by the cyclone (Par. 0036).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Lee as further suggested by Han e.g., providing:
further comprising:
a dustbin configured to collect dust to be discharged from the dust outlet;
in order to collect and store dust removed from air by the cyclone.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (KR 20210099247 A) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Oh (US 7128770 B2).
As to Claim 14, Lee does not disclose:
wherein:
the cyclone filter includes one suction fan and a plurality of filter cases.
However, Oh discloses:
wherein:
the cyclone filter includes one suction fan (cyclone 20) and a plurality of filter cases (plurality of cyclones 30; col. 3, Lines 30-32 “the multiple cyclone unit 11 comprises a first cyclone 20 and a plurality of second cyclones 30”);
in order to improve dust collection efficiency (col. 6, Lines 40-45).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Lee as further suggested by Oh e.g., providing:
wherein:
the cyclone filter includes one suction fan and a plurality of filter cases;
in order to improve dust collection efficiency.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Dunn (US 20100238394 A1) discloses a display cooled with fans.
Nakamichi (US 20110085302 A1) discloses a display apparatus with multiple cooling fans.
Kumano (US 20200193545 A1) discloses a cyclone member.
/MATTHEW SINCLAIR MUIR/ Examiner, Art Unit 2841
/Jayprakash N Gandhi/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2841