DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 15 recites the limitation "a tuning screw or a tuning tab" in line 5. A tuning screw or a tuning tab has already been introduced previously in the claim in relation to the first resonator rod. It is unclear if the claim is introducing a second tuning screw/a second tuning tab with relation to the second resonator rod or referring to the previously mentioned tuning screw/tuning tab. Additional clarity is necessary. For examination purposes, examiner has interpreted “a tuning screw or a tuning tab” to read “a second tuning screw or a second tuning tab”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 15, & 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lindell (WO 2009/067056 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Lindell discloses, in figure 2, 4, & 5, A cavity resonator, comprising:
a metal cavity (pg. 5, “two or more individually separated rods/posts sharing one cavity, metallic and/or ceramic, inside a housing forming part of a dual mode resonator”);
a first resonator rod extending in a first direction between a first wall and a second wall of the metal cavity (first rod 3b extends in a first direction between a bottom and top wall); and
a second resonator rod extending in a second direction between a third wall and a fourth wall of the metal cavity (second rod 3a extends in a second direction between side walls of the metal cavity), the second direction being perpendicular to the first direction (first direction is perpendicular to the second direction),
wherein the first resonator rod and the second resonator rod do not intersect each other (pg. 5, “two or more individually separated rods/posts sharing one cavity”), the first resonator rod is provided with a first dielectric body (pg. 7, “asymmetries 19a and 19b in the cavity itself are used, between one or both ends of a rod and the wall, to provide coupling. The asymmetries are made of the same material as the wall or made of other dielectric material”…first dielectric body 19b on rod 3b), and the second resonator rod is provided with a second dielectric body (second dielectric body 19a on rod 3a…alternatively pg. 6 discloses a second embodiment of the rods with “regions of other dielectric constant within them such as holes or inserts 17 in one end, in both ends, or in any place of the rod”).
Regarding claim 2, Lindell discloses the cavity resonator according to claim 1, and continues to disclose, in figure 4, wherein each of the first resonator rod and the second resonator rod is grounded (pg. 7, “rods are directly attached to a cavity wall”…both resonator rods 3a, 3b are grounded to the metal cavity).
Regarding claim 3, Lindell discloses the cavity resonator according to claim 2, and continues to disclose, in figure 2 & 4, wherein:
the first resonator rod comprises a first part extending from the first wall of the metal cavity and a second part extending from the second wall of the metal cavity (pg. 6, “Figure 2…illustrate different shapes of rods making parts of a resonator…the rods can have equal or different shapes belonging to one or more groups of…partially hollowed”), with a first air gap being formed therebetween (partially hollowed rods of 15a with a formed air gap between first and second parts extending from the top and bottom of the cavity); and/or
the second resonator rod comprises a first part extending from the third wall of the metal cavity and a second part extending from the fourth wall of the metal cavity (pg. 6, “Figure 2…illustrate different shapes of rods making parts of a resonator…the rods can have equal or different shapes belonging to one or more groups of…partially hollowed”), with a second air gap being formed therebetween (partially hollowed rods of 15a with a formed air gap between first and second parts extending from the sidewalls of the cavity).
Regarding claim 4, Lindell discloses the cavity resonator according to claim 2, and continues to disclose, in figure 4, wherein:
the first resonator rod extends from the first wall of the metal cavity towards the second wall of the metal cavity (first resonator rod 3b extends from the first wall and towards the second wall of the cavity), and is spaced from the second wall with a first air gap being formed therebetween (pg. 7, “one or more gaps 18 are placed between the rod and the cavity wall. The gap or other material may occur at one or both walls”); and/or
the second resonator rod extends from the third wall of the metal cavity towards the fourth wall of the metal cavity (second resonator rod 3a extends from the third wall towards the fourth wall of the cavity), and is spaced from the fourth wall with a second air gap being formed therebetween (pg. 7, “one or more gaps 18 are placed between the rod and the cavity wall. The gap or other material may occur at one or both walls”).
Regarding claim 5, Lindell discloses the cavity resonator according to claim 3, and continues to disclose, in figure 2 & 4, wherein:
the first dielectric body is a first dielectric chip provided at the first air gap (pg. 6, “the rods can also have regions of other dielectric constant within them such as holes or inserts 17 in one end, in both ends or in any place of the rod”…thus both resonator rods with the inserts 17 are provided at the air gap 18); and/or
the second dielectric body is a second dielectric chip provided at the second air gap (pg. 6, “the rods can also have regions of other dielectric constant within them such as holes or inserts 17 in one end, in both ends or in any place of the rod”…thus both resonator rods with the inserts 17 are provided at the air gap 18).
Regarding claim 6, Lindell discloses the cavity resonator according to claim 5, and continues to disclose, in figure 2 & 4, wherein:
the first dielectric chip is grounded at one end or both ends thereof in the first direction (pg. 7, “rods are directly attached to a cavity wall…alternatively or additionally, one or more asymmetries 19a and 19b in the cavity itself are used, between one or both ends of a rod and the wall, to provide coupling”…both resonator rods 3a, 3b are grounded to the metal cavity at dielectric ends 17 or via the dielectric asymmetries 19a and 19b); and/or
the second dielectric chip is grounded at one end or both ends thereof in the second direction (pg. 7, “rods are directly attached to a cavity wall…alternatively or additionally, one or more asymmetries 19a and 19b in the cavity itself are used, between one or both ends of a rod and the wall, to provide coupling”…both resonator rods 3a, 3b are grounded to the metal cavity at dielectric ends 17 or via the dielectric asymmetries 19a and 19b.
Regarding claim 15, as best understood based on the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection made above, Lindell discloses the cavity resonator according to claim 3, and continues to disclose, in figure 4, wherein a tuning screw or a tuning tab (14) is provided at the first wall and/or the second wall (pg. 7, “Other antennas 13 and 14, dielectric and/or metallic, penetrate the cavity 2b…tuning means (antennas, gaps asymmetries) are used in purpose to achieve one or more of the following…flexible filter performance tuning”), adjacent to the first resonator rod (14 is adjacent to first rod 3b); and/or
a second tuning screw or second a tuning tab (13) is provided at the third wall and/or the fourth wall (pg. 7, “Other antennas 13 and 14, dielectric and/or metallic, penetrate the cavity 2b…tuning means (antennas, gaps asymmetries) are used in purpose to achieve one or more of the following…flexible filter performance tuning”), adjacent to the second resonator rod (13 is adjacent to second rod 3a).
Regarding claim 24, Lindell discloses the cavity resonator according to claim 1, and continues to disclose, in figure 1 & 4, a plurality of resonators (pg. 5, “an appropriate number of such or other resonators are combined into one or several filters”), wherein at least one resonator is the cavity resonator (middle cavity of figure 1 comprises the rods 3a, 3b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-9 & 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lindell.
Regarding claim 7, Lindell discloses the cavity resonator according to claim 5, but fails to disclose the first dielectric chip fixed to an end of the first resonator rod by welding; and/or
the second dielectric chip fixed to an end of the second resonator rod by welding.
However, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to weld the chips to the rods since all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art [i.e., establishing a strong connection between the chip and rod for the benefit of effective coupling in the cavity, see pg. 7]. (KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415‐421, 82 USPQ2d 1385).
Regarding claim 8, Lindell discloses the cavity resonator according to claim 7, but fails to disclose one end surface or both end surfaces of the first dielectric chip in the first direction is/are at least partially electroplated; and/or
one end surface or both end surfaces of the second dielectric chip in the second direction is/are at least partially electroplated.
However, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to electroplate the surfaces of the chips since all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art [i.e., utilizing a well-known metal deposition technique to establish a connection between the chip and rod/wall for the benefit of effective coupling in the cavity, see pg. 7 for a further disclosure of the dielectric chips comprising a conductive material identical to that of the rods]. (KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415‐421, 82 USPQ2d 1385).
Regarding claim 9, Lindell discloses the cavity resonator according to claim 8, and continues to disclose, in figure 4 & 5, wherein:
an electroplating area of the first dielectric chip is smaller than, equal to, or larger than a surface area of the first resonator rod (the circular surface area of the dielectric chips are depicted as smaller than the surface area of the resonator rod 3b); and/or
an electroplating area of the second dielectric chip is smaller than, equal to, or larger than a surface area of the second resonator rod (the circular surface area of the dielectric chips are depicted as smaller than the surface area of the second resonator rod 3a)
Regarding claim 11, Lindell discloses the cavity resonator according to claim 5, but fails to disclose the first dielectric chip fixed to an end of the first resonator rod by using conductive glue; and/or
the second dielectric chip fixed to an end of the second resonator rod by using conductive glue.
However, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to glue the chips to the rods since all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art [i.e., establishing a strong connection between the chip and rod for the benefit of effective coupling in the cavity, see pg. 7]. (KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415‐421, 82 USPQ2d 1385).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lindell in view of Puoskari et al. (US 9,768,484 B2), hereinafter Puoskari.
Regarding claim 16, Lindell discloses the cavity resonator according to claim 1, but fails to disclose a metal part or a metallization structure, which forms an angle of 30-60 degrees with the first direction and the second direction.
However, Puoskari discloses, in figure 1 & 2, a metal part or a metallization structure (Col. 4, Lines 7-9, “resonator parts in this example are elongated rods, and they are formed of a conductive material”…resonator part 204), which forms an angle of 30-60 degrees with the first direction and the second direction (Col. 4, Lines 13-15, “resonator parts in this example are located symmetrically about a 46 degree angle to the longitudinal axis of the base portion 106”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include the metal part of Puoskari in the cavity resonator of Lindell, to achieve the benefit of arranging the structures of the cavity in a way to more selectively produce the resonance width of the cavity resonator (Puoskari, Col. 4, Lines 53-59).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10, 12-14, & 17-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/TYLER J PERENY/ Examiner, Art Unit 2843