DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 24-41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 24 recites the limitation "the sea floor" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Dependent claims are rejected for depending from a rejected claim.
Claim 25 recites the limitation "the soil" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Dependent claims are rejected for depending from a rejected claim.
Claim 26 recites the limitation "the soil" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 31 recites the limitation "the axis of rotation" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 32 recites the limitation "the seabed" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Dependent claims are rejected for depending from a rejected claim.
Claim 32 recites the limitation "the circumference" in line 12. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Dependent claims are rejected for depending from a rejected claim.
Claim 37 recites the limitation "the monopile" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Dependent claims are rejected for depending from a rejected claim.
Claim 37 recites the limitation "the foot end" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Dependent claims are rejected for depending from a rejected claim.
Claim 37 recites the limitation "the sea floor" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Dependent claims are rejected for depending from a rejected claim.
Claim 37 recites the limitation "the central axis" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Dependent claims are rejected for depending from a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 24-34 and 36-41 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Arntz (WO 2020/207903).
With regards to claim 24, Arntz discloses a method for installation of an offshore wind turbine foundation monopile (1) in a seabed (page 9, line 1), the monopile having a foot end (4), a top end (3), and a longitudinal axis (figure 1), the method comprising: supporting the monopile in an upright position with the foot end on the sea floor; and revolving the monopile about the longitudinal axis, such that the monopile makes multiple revolutions while being driven into the seabed (page 9, line 15-29; figures 1-11).
As to claim 25, Arntz discloses wherein the method further comprises using gravitational forces to press the monopile into the soil by providing a weight at the top end of the monopile masses and/or wherein the method further comprises vibrating the monopile in an axial direction (abstract; “wherein at the upper end or near or at the open lower end (4) vibration means are present”; page 4, lines 31-32; “Vibration means making use of an eccentric mass are known”).
As to claim 26, Arntz discloses wherein the method further comprises fluidising the soil by injecting water into the soil at the foot end of the monopile, and allowing the fluidised soil to flow away from below the monopile (figure 2; page 12, lines 13-25; “means (6) to discharge a fluid into the interior space (20) of the tubular housing and means (7) to discharge a fluid from the lower end (4) of the tubular housing (2) in a direction which has a downward directional component.”).
As to claim 27, Arntz discloses wherein the method further comprises vibrating the monopile (eccentric masses 45) in a circumferential direction (figure 8-9).
As to claim 28, Arntz discloses wherein the frequency of the vibration is between 10 and 500 Hz (page 9, line 26; “The frequency of the vibration means is suitably between 10 and 200 Hz.”).
As to claim 29, Arntz discloses wherein the vibration device engages an outside surface of the foundation monopile (page 4, lines 14-15) and/or is mounted at the top end onto the monopile (abstract; “wherein at the upper end or near or at the open lower end (4) vibration means are present”).
As to claim 30, Arntz discloses wherein there are multiple vibration devices (5), and the multiple vibration devices are tuned such that they generate an interference pattern comprising peaks that generate a net circumferential displacement in a revolution direction, and thus revolve the monopile about the longitudinal axis of the monopile (figures 1-2 and 9; page 5, lines 6-22; “synchronized their motion”).
As to claim 31, Arntz discloses wherein the vibration is achieved by using a number of individual vibration devices each comprising a hydraulic motor connected to a rotating eccentric mass, and wherein the axis of rotation of the eccentric masses are directed in a radial direction with respect to the monopile, to enable the vibration devices to generate a circumferentially directed vibration force (page 5, lines 6-22; “The rotating eccentric masses are suitably connected to one or more electric, pneumatic or hydraulic motors. The axis of rotation of the eccentric masses are suitably directed in a radial direction with respect to the ring shaped housing.”).
As to claim 32, Arntz discloses an offshore wind turbine foundation monopile (1), the monopile having a foot end (4), a top end (3), and a longitudinal axis (figure 1), wherein the monopile is configured to be revolved about the longitudinal axis of the monopile during installation of the monopile in the seabed (figure 9), wherein: the monopile is provided with one or more fluidisation conduits (6, 7) extending in the longitudinal direction of the monopile for channelling fluidisation fluid to the foot end of the monopile and with multiple fluidisation fluid nozzles (16, 23) along the circumference of the foot end of the monopile for dispensing jets of fluidisation fluid at the foot end of the monopile during installation of the monopile (figure 1-2); and/or the monopile is configured to be engaged by a pile revolver (ring shaped element 17 includes vibrating device 8 for rotation of pile, figures 1-4).
As to claim 33, Arntz discloses wherein the monopile is provided with seats for one or more vibration devices (8) at the top end of the monopile (1) (figures 1-4; Abstract “wherein at the upper end or near or at the open lower end (4) vibration means are present”; see figure 8, clamp 46 seat on the bottom edge similar configuration can be achieved at the upper end).
As to claim 34, Arntz discloses wherein the monopile (1) has a diameter of at least 8 meters (figure 1; page 8, lines 20-23).
As to claim 37, Arntz discloses a monopile installation system, the system comprising; a monopile support for supporting the monopile in an upright position with the foot end (4) of the monopile on the sea floor (figure 1; page 9, lines 7-14); and a monopile revolver for revolving the monopile about the central axis during installation of the monopile (ring shaped element 17 includes vibrating device 8 for rotation of pile, figures 1-4).
As to claim 38, Arntz discloses wherein the monopile revolver (17) comprises multiple vibration devices (8) to be mounted on the top end of the monopile or one or more revolvers configured to engage an outside surface of the monopile and enact a circumferential pile revolving force on the outside surface (abstract; page 4, lines 14-15).
As to claim 39, Arntz discloses wherein the installation system further comprises: a pile drive for generating an axial pile driving force (ring 13 with vibrating means 8 generates an axial pile driving force; figures 1-11).
As top claim 40, Arntz discloses wherein the installation system further comprises a monopile (1), the monopile having a foot end (4), a top end (3), and a longitudinal axis (figure 1), wherein the monopile is configured to be revolved about the longitudinal axis of the monopile during installation of the monopile in the seabed, wherein: the monopile is provided with one or more fluidisation conduits (28) extending in the longitudinal direction of the monopile for channeling fluidisation fluid to the foot end of the monopile and with multiple fluidisation fluid nozzles (6, 7, 16, 23) along the circumference of the foot end of the monopile for dispensing jets of fluidisation fluid at the foot end of the monopile during installation of the monopile; and/or the monopile is configured to be engaged by a pile revolver (17 or 39) (figure 1-2 and 8-9).
As to claim 41, Arntz discloses a vessel (inherent from figure 8, umbilical 42 are known to be connected to a vessel located at the water surface) provided with the system according to claim 37 (see rejection of claim 37 above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arntz (WO 2020/207903) in view of Song (US 2015/0345098).
As to claim 35, Arntz discloses the invention substantially as claimed. However, Arntz is silent about wherein the monopile is at the foot end provided with multiple excavation blades, which excavation blades are mounted to a bottom surface of the monopile or to a flange mounted to the bottom end of the monopile, wherein the excavation blades extend at an angle with the circumference of the monopile to force soil in a radial direction away from below the monopile. Song teaches a monopile (10) including at the foot end provided with multiple excavation blades (500), which excavation blades are mounted to a bottom surface of the monopile or to a flange mounted to the bottom end of the monopile (figure 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the monopile of Arntz to include the blades as taught by Song, since it would provide grounding, increasing a tip support force. However, Song is silent about wherein the excavation blades extend at an angle with the circumference of the monopile to force soil in a radial direction away from below the monopile. It would have been an obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the angle of the blades, since it has been held that a mere reconfiguration of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950).
Conclusion
/CARIB A OQUENDO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3678