DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
Election/Restrictions
Claims 11 – 14 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on January 12, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3 – 4, 6 – 7, 9 - 10, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ye (United States Patent US 11,005,068 B1), hereinafter referenced as Ye.
Regarding Claim 1, Ye discloses “A touch sensor” (Figure 2, Column 5, Lines 38 – 40, Column 6, Lines 22 – 26 (Notice that a display with touch electrodes forming a touch sensor is shown in Figure 2.)), “comprising: a first insulating layer” (Figure 2, Item 41 ‘insulating layer’, and Column 8, Line 5), “a first wiring line located above the first insulating layer” (Figure 2, Item 42 ‘metal bridge layer’, and Column 6, Lines 11 – 12.)), “a second insulating layer located above the first wiring line” (Figure 2, Item 43 ‘second inorganic insulating layer’, and Column 8, Line 4.)), “and a second wiring line located above the second insulating layer” (Figure 2, Item 441 ‘first electrode’, and Column 7, Line 35), “wherein: an opening extending through the first insulating layer and the second insulating layer is formed” (Figure 2 and Column 8, Lines 1 – 8 (Notice that the recess or opening 431 extends through the first insulating layer 41 and second insulating layer 43.)), “the first insulating layer includes a first edge corresponding to an edge of the opening” (Figure 2 (Notice that the first insulating layer 41 includes a first edge at the recess or opening 431 that corresponds to 431.)), “the second insulating layer includes a second edge corresponding to the edge of the opening” (Figure 2 (Notice that second insulating layer 43 includes a second edge at the recess or opening 431 that corresponds to 431.)), “and a film thickness of the first edge is thinner than a film thickness of a portion other than the first edge in the first insulating layer” (Figure 2 (Notice that the curvature at the recess or opening 431 results in a film thickness at the first edge being thinner than a thickness of portions to the left and right of the first edge of first insulating layer 41.)), “or a film thickness of the second edge is thinner than a film thickness of a portion other than the second edge in the second insulating layer” (Figure 2 (Notice that the curvature at the recess or opening 431 results in a film thickness at the second edge being thinner than a thickness of portions to the left and right of the second edge of second insulating layer 43.)).
Regarding Claim 3, Ye discloses everything claimed as applied above (See Claim 1). In addition, Ye discloses “wherein the second wiring line is part of net-like wiring line” (Figure 2, Column 6, Lines 22 – 26, and Column 7, Lines 25 – 27 (Notice that second wiring part 441 is part of a mesh or net-like wiring of metal mesh layer 44.)).
Regarding Claim 4, Ye discloses everything claimed as applied above (See Claim 3). In addition, Ye discloses “wherein the opening is located in a mesh of the net-like wiring line in a plan view and functions as a light extraction portion” (Figure 2, Column 6, Lines 22 – 26, and Column 7, Lines 25 – 27 (Notice that recess or opening 431 is located in the recurring openings in the metal mesh layer 44 and function to extract light from pixel regions 202 underneath.))
Regarding Claim 6, Ye discloses everything claimed as applied above (See Claim 1). In addition, Ye discloses “wherein each of the first insulating layer and the second insulating layer is an inorganic insulating layer” (Column 8, Lines 3 – 5 (Notice that each of layer 41 and 43 are disclosed as being inorganic.)).
Regarding Claim 7, Ye discloses everything claimed as applied above (See Claim 1). In addition, Ye discloses “wherein a contact hole connecting the first wiring line and the second wiring line is formed in the second insulating layer” (Figure 2 and Column 7, Lines 37 – 43 (Notice that at least a contact hole 432 is provided in second insulating layer 43 to connect first wiring line 42(421) and second wiring line 441.)).
Regarding Claim 9, Ye discloses everything claimed as applied above (See Claim 1). In addition, Ye discloses “A display device comprising the touch sensor according to Claim 1” (Figure 2 and Column 5, Lines 38 – 40 (Notice that a display device is shown in Figure 2 that comprises the touch sensor according to the limitations of Claim 1 as argued above in the rejection of Claim 1.)).
Regarding Claim 10, Ye discloses everything claimed as applied above (See Claim 9). In addition, Ye discloses “further comprising: a light-emitting element layer” (Figure 2, Item 20 ‘OLED luminous layer’, and Column 6, Lines 56 – 61), “and a sealing layer located above the light-emitting element layer” (Figure 2, Item 30 ‘encapsulation layer’, and Column 7, Lines 4 – 7), “wherein the first insulating layer is formed on the sealing layer” (Figure 2 (Notice that first insulating layer 41 is formed on first insulating/encapsulation layer 30.)).
Regarding Claim 15, Ye discloses “A display device” (Figure 2 and Column 5, Lines 38 – 40), “comprising a touch sensor” (Figure 2, Column 5, Lines 38 – 40, Column 6, Lines 22 – 26 (Notice that the display with touch electrodes forming a touch sensor is shown in Figure 2.)), “a light-emitting element layer” (Figure 2, Item 20 ‘OLED luminous layer’, and Column 6, Lines 56 – 61), “and a sealing layer located above the light-emitting element layer” (Figure 2, Item 30 ‘encapsulation layer’, and Column 7, Lines 4 – 7), “wherein; the touch sensor comprises a first insulating layer” (Figure 2, Item 41 ‘insulating layer’, and Column 8, Line 5), “a first wiring line located above the first insulating layer” (Figure 2, Item 42 ‘metal bridge layer’, and Column 6, Lines 11 – 12.)), “a second insulating layer located above the first wiring line” (Figure 2, Item 43 ‘second inorganic insulating layer’, and Column 8, Line 4.)), “the first insulating layer is formed on the sealing layer” (Figure 2 (Notice that first insulating layer 41 is formed on first insulating/encapsulation layer 30.)), “an opening extending through the first insulating layer and the second insulating layer is formed” (Figure 2 and Column 8, Lines 1 – 8 (Notice that the recess or opening 431 extends through the first insulating layer 41 and second insulating layer 43.)), “the first insulating layer includes a first edge corresponding to an edge of the opening” (Figure 2 (Notice that the first insulating layer 41 includes a first edge at the recess or opening 431 that corresponds to 431.)), “the second insulating layer includes a second edge corresponding to the edge of the opening” (Figure 2 (Notice that second insulating layer 43 includes a second edge at the recess or opening 431 that corresponds to 431.)), “and a film thickness of the first edge is thinner than a film thickness of a portion other than the first edge in the first insulating layer” (Figure 2 (Notice that the curvature at the recess or opening 431 results in a film thickness at the first edge being thinner than a thickness of portions to the left and right of the first edge of first insulating layer 41.)), “or a film thickness of the second edge is thinner than a film thickness of a portion other than the second edge in the second insulating layer” (Figure 2 (Notice that the curvature at the recess or opening 431 results in a film thickness at the second edge being thinner than a thickness of portions to the left and right of the second edge of second insulating layer 43.)).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5 and 8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
In the prior art of record, it has been shown to provide for the limitations of Claim 1 from which Claims 5 and 8 are dependent. However, it has not been shown in the prior art of record to provide for the opening of Ye extending though an additional insulation layer. Therefore, it has not been shown in the prior art of record to provide for the limitations of Claims 5 and 8 in combination with those of Claim 1 through each claims respective chain of dependency.
Conclusion
/BRIAN M BUTCHER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2627 February 20, 2026