Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following claimed elements must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s): (A) the vacuum gripper (claim 10), and (B) the "block conveying system" (claim 1; page 12 of the specification describes this element as "a block conveying system typically includes a plurality of clamps and shuttles that move the block from the base of the machine to the laying head"). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1( as being anticipated by Wasmer (DE 197 43 717) (English translation attached).
Wasmer discloses a vehicle which incorporates a robotic block laying machine for use in constructing a block structure, the vehicle including:
a vehicle chassis 4, 4;
a base frame 2 mounted to a chassis; and,
a robotic block laying machine mounted from a base frame, a machine including:
a loading bay for receiving pallets of blocks 22, 23 stacked with one or more courses of blocks 22 wherein each course comprises a plurality of rows of blocks;
a robotic arm 14, 15, 16 configured to pick any individual block directly from a course of a pallet; and,
a block conveying system 24 that receives blocks from a robotic arm and transports them to a laying head 38, 39 of a machine that lays blocks in order to create a block structure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 3 & 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wasmer in view of Pivac (US 2019/0251210).
Wasmer does not disclose pallets are stacked with pre-sequenced blocks in accordance with a block sequence generated by a build datafile associated with a block structure. Nor does Pivac disclose blocks of different length.
With respect to claims 2 & 3, Pivac discloses selecting bricks, e.g. blocks, based on a block sequence generated by a build datafile associated with a block structure generated by "CAD software". (Paras. 72, 158). Pivac further enhances by discloses that a transfer robot, e.g. robotic arm used for unstacking blocks operates thusly: "the transfer robot is free to return to the row of dehacked bricks, to select the next brick in the sequence as determined by the brick placement database." (Para. 158) In other words, the blocks are palletized in a sequence that the robot uses to select blocks therefrom. And, Pivac discloses cutting unstacked blocks to length "in order to meet the required dimensions of wall length, void size and aperture size." (Para. 104) It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of Wasmer to provide pallets stacked with pre-sequenced blocks in accordance with a block sequence generated by a build datafile associated with a block structure as well as courses of blocks arranged in a pre-sequenced order include blocks of varying length, as taught by Pivac, which allows brick/block laying to improve by allowing for different block spacings between adjacent bricks and thicknesses of adhesive or mortar between adjacent bricks.
With respect to claim 4, Wasmer does not discloses blocks of varying length are one of: a) Pre-cut; and, b) Moulded. Pivac discloses pre-cutting blocks via a cutter such that the blocks are pre-cut of varying length. Pivac teaches cutting blocks "to length in order to meet the required dimensions of wall length, void size and aperture size." It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of Wasmer to provide pre-cut blocks of varying length, as taught by Pivac, which allows brick/block laying to improve by allowing for different block spacings between adjacent bricks and thicknesses of adhesive or mortar between adjacent bricks.
Claim(s) 5, 6, 7, 8 & 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wasmer in view of Holmes (US 3,039,233).
Wasmer discloses a gripper having fingers 39, 39 which grip a block 22 and does not disclose finger insertable into a block core. Holmes discloses a gripper (FIGS. 14, 15) having a pair of fingers 162, 162 with pads 169, 169 that are insertable into a single core and/or separate cores (block with two(2) cores shown in FIG. 10) to apply a force. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of Wasmer to provide a gripper with fingers insertable into cores of a block, as taught by Holmes, which offers the flexibility to grip blocks either internally or externally " a total time of laying up an average size basement is reduced to about from one- fourth to one-sixth of the time required by hand masonry."
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wasmer in view of Melan (US 4,708,562).
Wasmer discloses a robotic arm that includes a gripper to pick up a block from a pallet, and does not disclose a vacuum gripper to pick up a block directly from a pallet. Melan discloses a gripper 64 for picking up blocks wherein the gripper includes fingers 66, 68. However, Melan teaches that "gripping device 64 can also consist of suction cups (see 82 in FIGS. 2 and 3). Suction cups have the advantage of greater simplicity. On the other hand, the advantage of tongs is that they can grasp two superimposed bricks at the same time and thus virtually double the brick laying rate." It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of Wasmer to include a vacuum gripper, as taught by Melan, where vacuum grippers are well known substituted for gripping fingers when selecting grippers that grip and transfer blocks.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/GREGORY W ADAMS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3652