DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 & 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ochiai (JPH0643110A) [Hereinafter Ochiai].
Regarding claim 1, Ochiai teaches A resist pattern inspection method comprising performing an outer appearance inspection of a resist pattern [fig. 1, photoresist 3] based on light emission from a substrate [fig. 1, silicon wafer 2] on which the resist pattern is formed. [“After a resist pattern is formed, a light of a wavelength generating fluorescence only from a photoresist 3, such as a U exciting light 10, is applied onto the whole surface of a wafer from above vertically so as to specify the resist pattern. Thereafter a point of difference of the specified resist pattern from a resist pattern to be formed is detected.”].
Regarding claim 2, Ochiai teaches The resist pattern inspection method according to claim 1,
wherein performing the outer appearance inspection includes detecting a contour of the resist pattern based on light emission from the substrate, and
performing the outer appearance inspection of the resist pattern based on the detected contour.
Ochiai states “Here, as shown in FIG. 2, U excitation light 10 that has passed through the area other than the positive figure 5, the fluorescence 11 is irradiated on the defect portion 31 of the photoresist 3 is generated. The fluorescence 11 to identify the shape of the defect portion 31 of the photoresist 3 as the image, to detect defects.”.
Regarding claim 11 Ochiai teaches A substrate selection method comprising:
performing an outer appearance inspection of a resist pattern [fig. 1, photoresist 3] based on light emission from a substrate [fig. 1, silicon wafer 2] on which the resist pattern is formed. [“After a resist pattern is formed, a light of a wavelength generating fluorescence only from a photoresist 3, such as a U exciting light 10, is applied onto the whole surface of a wafer from above vertically so as to specify the resist pattern. Thereafter a point of difference of the specified resist pattern from a resist pattern to be formed is detected.”].
evaluating the resist pattern based on the outer appearance inspection in performing the outer appearance inspection [“Here, as shown in FIG. 2, U excitation light 10 that has passed through the area other than the positive figure 5, the fluorescence 11 is irradiated on the defect portion 31 of the photoresist 3 is generated. The fluorescence 11 to identify the shape of the defect portion 31 of the photoresist 3 as the image, to detect defects.”].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ochiai as applied to claims 1-2 & 11 and further in view of Kanai (JP2000193596A) [Hereinafter Kanai].
Regarding claim 3, Ochiai teaches The resist pattern inspection method according to claim 2.
Ochiai fails to explicitly disclose wherein performing the outer appearance inspection includes comparing the detected contour with pattern data for forming the resist pattern.
Kanai teaches wherein performing the outer appearance inspection includes comparing the detected contour with pattern data for forming the resist pattern [para 56-58 discloses a method of comparing the normal resist pattern to the defective pattern to determine defect portion 35].
Therefore it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the inspection method to comprise comparing the detected contour with the patterned data of the resist pattern to provide accurate defect classification while also being aware of shape defect classification thereby reducing false defect determination.
Regarding claim 4, Ochiai teaches The resist pattern inspection method according to claim 2.
Ochiai fails to explicitly disclose wherein performing the outer appearance inspection includes measuring a line width of the resist pattern based on the detected contour.
Kanai teaches wherein performing the outer appearance inspection includes measuring a line width of the resist pattern based on the detected contour [para 57-58].
Therefore it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the inspection method to include measuring a line width on the detected contour to capture the physical shape of the resist pattern for irregular shapes thereby enhancing the reliability in accurate defect identification.
Claim(s) 5-6, 8-9, & 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ochiai as applied to claims 1-2 & 11 and further in view of Hart et al. (US 2010/0019170) [Hereinafter Hart].
Regarding claim 5, Ochiai teaches The resist pattern inspection method according to claim 1,further comprising:
forming the resist pattern [fig. 1, photoresists 3] on the substrate [fig. 1, silicon wafer 2].
Ochiai fails to explicitly disclose impregnating the resist pattern with a light-emitting material after the forming of the resist pattern.
Hart teaches as part of performing shape measurement by embedding a luminescent layer (fig. 3, 322, para 54-56) within the object (fig. 3, 108, para 54-56).
Therefore it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the technique of embedding a light emitting material after forming the resist pattern as part of capturing precise three dimensional images of the resist pattern.
Regarding claim 6, Ochiai/Hart teaches The resist pattern inspection method according to claim 5,
wherein the forming of the resist pattern includes forming the resist pattern containing a compound that reacts with light and is converted into a light-emitting material [Hart teaches in para 54, “the object 108 may also or instead be fabricated from a luminescent material to achieve a similar effect, or may contain waveguides or the like that luminesce.”].
Regarding claim 8, A resist pattern manufacturing method comprising:
forming the resist pattern [fig. 1, photoresists 3] on the substrate [fig. 1, silicon wafer 2].
Ochiai fails to explicitly disclose impregnating the resist pattern with a light-emitting material after the forming of the resist pattern.
Hart teaches as part of performing shape measurement by embedding a luminescent layer (fig. 3, 322, para 54-56) within the object (fig. 3, 108, para 54-56).
Therefore it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to embed a light emitting material after forming the resist pattern as part of capturing precise three dimensional images of the resist pattern.
Regarding claim 9, Ochiai/Hart teaches The resist pattern manufacturing method according to claim 8,
wherein the forming of the resist pattern includes forming the resist pattern containing a compound that reacts with light and is converted into a light-emitting material [Hart teaches in para 54, “the object 108 may also or instead be fabricated from a luminescent material to achieve a similar effect, or may contain waveguides or the like that luminesce.”].
Regarding claim 13, Ochiai teaches The substrate selection method according to claim 11,
wherein the resist pattern of the substrate to be subjected to outer appearance inspection.
Ochiai fails to explicitly disclose impregnating the resist pattern with a light-emitting material.
Hart teaches as part of performing shape measurement by embedding a luminescent layer (fig. 3, 322, para 54-56) within the object (fig. 3, 108, para 54-56).
Therefore it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention utilize the technique of embedding a light emitting material after forming the resist pattern as part of capturing precise three dimensional images of the resist pattern.
Claim(s) 7 & 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ochiai as applied to claims 5-6, 8-9, & 13 and further in view of Kushi et al. (JPH04213372A).
Regarding claim 7, Ochiai/Hart teaches The resist pattern inspection method according to claim 5.
Ochiai/Hart fails to explicitly disclose wherein the forming of the resist pattern includes forming the resist pattern having a thickness of greater than or equal to 0.05 pm and less than or equal to 500 pm.
Kushi teaches wherein the forming of the resist pattern includes forming the resist pattern having a thickness of greater than or equal to 0.05 μm and less than or equal to 500 μm [“This liquid resin composition was applied on a copper-clad laminate so as to have a thickness of 50 μm,”].
Therefore it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the resist pattern to have a thickness of 50 μm where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. (MPEP 2144. 05).
Regarding claim 10, Ochiai/Hart teaches The resist pattern manufacturing method according to claim 8.
Ochiai/Hart fails to explicitly disclose wherein the forming of the resist pattern includes forming the resist pattern having a thickness of greater than or equal to 0.05 pm and less than or equal to 500 pm.
Kushi teaches wherein the forming of the resist pattern includes forming the resist pattern having a thickness of greater than or equal to 0.05 μm and less than or equal to 500 μm [“This liquid resin composition was applied on a copper-clad laminate so as to have a thickness of 50 μm,”].
Therefore it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the resist pattern to have a thickness of 50 μm where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. (MPEP 2144.05).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ochiai as applied to claims 1-2 & 11 and further in view of itself.
Regarding claim 12, The substrate selection method according to claim 11,
wherein the evaluating includes evaluating the resist pattern according to the number of defects of the resist pattern [Ochiai teaches the fluorescence 11 is irradiated on the defect portion 31 of the photoresist 3 is generated. The fluorescence 11 to identify the shape of the defect portion 31 of the photoresist 3 as the image, to detect defects.” Thereby one of ordinary skill would understand the number of defects of the resist pattern would be captured as part of the evaluation.].
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Imamura et al. (JP 2003309358A) & Ochiai.
Regarding claim 14, Imamura teaches A manufacturing method for a semiconductor package substrate or a printed circuit board comprising:
Forming a conductor pattern by performing etching process or plating process on the substrate [para 12, “A method of manufacturing a printed wiring board, wherein a first plating resist pattern is formed on the surface of the insulating substrate when the substrate for the inner layer is formed, and then an electroless pattern is formed on the surface of the insulating substrate. It is characterized in that plating is performed to form a first conductor pattern”].
Imamura fails to explicitly disclose in which the evaluation of the resist pattern in the substrate selection method according to claim 11 satisfies a reference.
However, Ochiai teaches in which the evaluation of the resist pattern in the substrate selection method according to claim 11 satisfies a reference [Ochiai teaches the method of claim 11 as disclosed above].
Therefore it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the inspection method as taught by Ochiai within manufacturing of printed circuit boards to identify defective boards to ensure the reliability of devices manufactured on the circuit boards.
Conclusion
/FELIX B ANDREWS/Examiner, Art Unit 2812
/William B Partridge/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2812