DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "the Message 3" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The examiner notes that there are “Message 3” in claim 11 and claim 12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5, 6, 8-12, 14, 15 and 18-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hu et al. (US Pub. 2024/0224274).
Regarding claims 1 and 19, Hu teaches a terminal device, comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory comprising computer program code, the at least one memory and the computer program code being configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the terminal device to perform: determining whether to transmit a message indicating an uplink transmission failure based on a condition relating to at least an uplink transmission time offset for scheduled uplink transmissions and a timing advance value for the scheduled uplink transmissions (see step 1003 in Figure 10, “a difference between koffset and the TA is less than or equal to a first threshold, koffset is an offset parameter for enhancing a scheduling timing relationship, and the TA is a TA currently used by the terminal” in [0179], see also step 1102 in Figure 11 and “compares a currently used koffset with a currently used TA value” in [0208]); and transmitting to a network device, the message, in a case where the condition is satisfied (see step 1008 in Figure 10, “SR is transmitted” in [0188], see also step 1103 in Figure 11 and “perform uplink transmission according to a resource allocation instruction for the uplink transmission in case that the TA value currently used by the terminal is less than or equal to the koffset currently used by the terminal” in [0209]).
Regarding claims 2 and 20, Hu teaches the uplink transmission time offset is configured by the network device and is between receiving a downlink transmission and performing a corresponding uplink transmission (“offset parameter koffset configured by the network device” in [0004]), and the timing advance value is calculated by the terminal device (“a terminal having positioning capacity may usually estimate the TA value” in [0003]).
Regarding claim 3, Hu teaches the condition is satisfied in a case where the uplink transmission time offset is less than the timing advance value (“a condition that a TA of the terminal exceeds koffset” in [0211]).
Regarding claim 5, Hu teaches the at least one memory and the computer program code are further configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the terminal device to further perform: stopping the scheduled uplink transmissions, in a case where the condition is satisfied (“In case that the terminal triggers the TA report and the PUSCH resource satisfies the unavailable condition and the third condition, the terminal triggers the SR” in [0183]).
Regarding claim 6, Hu teaches the at least one memory and the computer program code are further configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the terminal device to further perform: transmitting, to the network device, a scheduling request as the message, in a case where the condition is satisfied, wherein the scheduling request is transmitted based on a scheduling request configuration corresponding to the message (see step 1007 and 1008 in Figure 10).
Regarding claim 8, Hu teaches the scheduling request configuration is specific to the terminal device (“a SR configuration corresponding to the TA report to the terminal, that is, the TA report corresponds to a specific SR configuration in this configuration manner” in [0225]).
Regarding claim 9, Hu teaches the scheduling request configuration is shared by the terminal device and at least one other terminal device (“common SR configuration” in [0115]).
Regarding claim 10, Hu teaches the at least one memory and the computer program code are further configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the terminal device to further perform: initiating a random access procedure to transmit the message, in a case where the condition is satisfied (see step 1010 in Figure 10).
Regarding claim 11, Hu teaches the message corresponds to a preamble of the random access procedure, and a cell-radio network temporary identifier is included in Message 3 (“the msgA includes the contents of the msg1 and the msg3, i.e., the msgA includes: a random access preamble and a UE ID, the UE ID may be one of a C-RNTI, a temporary C-RNTI” in [0055]).
Regarding claim 12, Hu teaches the message corresponds to a cause value associated with the uplink transmission failure (“an establishment cause are carried in the msg3” in [0047]), and the cause value and a cell-radio network temporary identifier are included in Message 3 (“the msgA includes the contents of the msg1 and the msg3, i.e., the msgA includes: a random access preamble and a UE ID, the UE ID may be one of a C-RNTI, a temporary C-RNTI” in [0055]).
Regarding claim 14, Hu teaches a network device, comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory comprising computer program code, the at least one memory and the computer program code being configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the network device to perform: receiving, from a terminal device, a message indicating an uplink transmission failure associated with an uplink transmission time offset for scheduled uplink transmissions (“In case that the terminal triggers the TA report and the PUSCH resource satisfies the unavailable condition and the third condition, the terminal triggers the SR” in [0183] and “The third condition includes that a difference between koffset and the TA is less than or equal to a first threshold, koffset is an offset parameter for enhancing a scheduling timing relationship, and the TA is a TA currently used by the terminal” in [0179]); and stopping scheduling the terminal device with the uplink transmission time offset for the scheduled uplink transmissions (“avoiding the TA from being larger than a value of a offset parameter koffset, and ensuring that the terminal can normally perform an uplink transmission” in [0097]).
Regarding claim 15, Hu teaches the at least one memory and the computer program code are further configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the network device to further perform: configuring for the terminal device a scheduling request configuration corresponding to the message (“a SR configuration corresponding to the TA report to the terminal, that is, the TA report corresponds to a specific SR configuration in this configuration manner” in [0225]).
Regarding claim 18, Hu teaches the at least one memory and the computer program code are further configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the network device to further perform: adjusting the uplink transmission time offset to be larger than a timing advance value for the scheduled uplink transmissions; and instructing the terminal device to apply the adjusted uplink transmission time offset (see “avoiding the TA from being larger than a value of a offset parameter koffset” in [0097] and “the terminal receives a reconfiguration signaling for reconfiguring koffset, and a difference between the reconfigured koffset and the TA is greater than or equal to a second threshold” in [0124]).
Regarding claim 21, Hu teaches the condition is satisfied in a case where the uplink transmission time offset is less than the timing advance value; (“a condition that a TA of the terminal exceeds koffset” in [0211]) or in a case where the uplink transmission time offset is less than the timing advance value plus a duration for processing a downlink transmission and preparing a corresponding uplink transmission.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu et al. in view of Cheng et al. (US 11,985662).
Regarding claim 4, Hu teaches the limitations in claim 1 as shown above. Hu also teaches the condition is satisfied in a case where the uplink transmission time offset is less than the timing advance value (“a condition that a TA of the terminal exceeds koffset” in [0211]). Hu, however, does not teach the timing advance value added a duration for processing a downlink transmission and preparing a corresponding uplink transmission. Cheng teaches the timing advance value added a duration for processing a downlink transmission and preparing a corresponding uplink transmission (“an additional offset that is added to a required timing advance (TA) to compensate for a processing delay” in claim 1). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hu to have the timing advance value added a duration for processing a downlink transmission and preparing a corresponding uplink transmission as taught by Cheng in order to compensate for a processing delay (claim 1).
Regarding claim 17, Cheng teaches the at least one memory and the computer program code are further configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the network device to further perform: instructing the terminal device to apply an uplink transmission time offset specific to a cell the terminal device is associated with (“Koffset may be configured per Bandwidth part (BWP) per serving cell” in Column 12 Lines 33-34).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu et al. in view of Hu et al. (US Pub. 2023/0224840, hereinafter Hu2).
Regarding claim 13, Hu teaches the limitations in claim 1 as shown above. Hu, however, does not teach the timing advance value is included in the Message 3. Hu2 teaches the timing advance value is included in the Message 3 (“the UE performs TA upload through the msgA, the network device can then be informed of the TA value of the UE” in [0147]). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hu to have the timing advance value is included in the Message 3 as taught by Hu2 in order to have the same understanding of the TA value of the UE [0057].
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu et al. in view of Hu et al. (US Pub. 2024/0188017, hereinafter Hu3).
Regarding claim 16, Hu teaches the limitations in claim 1 as shown above. Hu, however, does not teach the at least one memory and the computer program code are further configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the network device to further perform: instructing the terminal device to apply a maximum uplink transmission time offset of a cell the terminal device is associated with. Hu3 teaches the at least one memory and the computer program code are further configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the network device to further perform: instructing the terminal device to apply a maximum uplink transmission time offset of a cell the terminal device is associated with (“configure the k offset based on the maximum TA supported within a cell range” in [0072]). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hu to have the at least one memory and the computer program code are further configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the network device to further perform: instructing the terminal device to apply a maximum uplink transmission time offset of a cell the terminal device is associated with as taught by Hu3 in order to configure a cell-level k offset [0069].
Conclusion
/CLEMENCE S HAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2414