DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed on July 21, 2026, have been entered. Claims 1, 9, 16, and 17 have been amended. Claims 1-20 remain pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments filed on July 21, 2026, in response to the Final Office Action dated May 22, 2026, have been fully considered.
Applicant argues, in page 8 of the Remarks, “First, Lehane does not teach or suggest receiving a service specification that comprises a network slice type (NEST) specification or a network slice profile. Lehane's service policies are high-level behavioral policies for desired network behavior (e.g., disable gaming). (Lehane at paragraphs [0117] and [0187]). These are not standardized NEST specifications or network slice profiles, which define specific technical characteristics and requirements for a network slice in a wireless communications system. Lehane does not mention network slices, NEST, or slice profiles at all. Its output is a "domain specific service policy," not a control loop goal produced by translating a NEST or slice profile.”
In responses, Lehane is not applied to teach a network slice type (NEST) specification or a network slice profile. Paragraph 0117 of Lehane discloses receiving service policy comprising service requirements like overall end-to-end bandwidth and aggregated throughput requirements of applications. Paragraph 0118 discloses translating the received service policy to domain specific service policy (first control loop goal). Paragraph 0119 discloses configuring the UE domain 706 as per the domain specific service policy. Paragraph 0056 discloses configuring includes creating a closed control loop. Lehane discloses all the elements of the claims except a network slice type (NEST) specification or a network slice profile. It is important to note, simple substitution of the network slice type (NEST) specification or a network slice profile in place of Lehane’s service requirement would produce domain specific service policy for the network slice. Zhang is applied to teach a network slice type (NEST) specification or a network slice profile.
Applicant argues, in page 8 of the Remarks, “Second, Zhang does not discuss or suggest "translating the received service specification to produce a first control loop goal associated with a management domain of a wireless communications system." While Zhang discloses that a service requirement may include a network slice profile (Zhang at paragraphs [0180]-[0181]) and shows receiving such a profile in connection with generating a control loop (Zhang at FIG. 7, step S701; paragraph [0362]), Zhang does not describe translating a NEST specification or network slice profile to produce a control loop goal that is then used to configure a closed control loop. Zhang's control-loop teachings are not shown in the context of the specific translation step required by amended claim 1.” .
In response, Zhang is not applied to teach the limitation. Zhang is used to teach a network slice type (NEST) specification or a network slice profile.
Applicant argues, in page 9 of the Remarks, “Third, there is no motivation to combine Lehane and Zhang in the manner claimed, and the combination requires hindsight reconstruction. The Examiner's motivation, which is that network slices support differentiated services is a generic statement about the benefits of network slicing itself. It does not provide a reason why a person of ordinary skill would modify Lehane's continuum orchestrator (which receives behavioral service policies and produces domain- specific service policies for closed control loops) to instead receive a NEST specification or network slice profile as the service specification, translate that specification to produce a control loop goal, and configure a closed control loop in accordance with the produced goal. Lehane is directed to multi-domain service policy coordination and feedback loops for service-level compliance across heterogeneous domains. It is not a network-slicing reference. Zhang's slice- profile teachings are not shown integrated with Lehane's orchestrator architecture or the specific "translate ... to produce a first control loop goal" mechanism of claim 1. Any such combination is the product of hindsight, using the claim language as a roadmap.”
In response, Lehane and Zhang are in the same field of endeavor of cellular mobile communication. Lehane discloses generating domain specific service policy (first control loop goal) based on the requirement of an application and closed loop control. Zhang discloses closed loop control in terms of network slice. Paragraph 0117 of Lehane discloses the application can be prioritized video conferencing. Paragraph0134 of Zhang discloses different slice types tailored for different applications/services. One would be motivated to use network slice because it provides specific network capability and network attribute to support plurality of differentiated service type like prioritized video conferencing of Lehane.
Examiner’s Note about the Format of 35 U.S.C. 102/103 Rejections
Generally, limitations of a claim are reproduced identically and followed by examiner’s explanation with citation from prior art in Italic enclosed by a parenthesis, (), for each limitation. In examiner’s explanation, the mapping of the key elements of a limitation to the disclosed elements of prior art is shown by stating the disclosed element immediately followed by the claimed element inside a parenthesis. Specific quotation from prior art is delineated with quotation mark, ““. If primary art fails to teach a limitation or part of the limitation, the limitation or the part of the limitation is placed inside double square brackets, [[ ]], for better understandability, and appropriate secondary art(s) is/are applied later addressing the deficiency of the primary art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lehane et al. (US PGPUB No. US 20120275573 A1), hereinafter, Lehane, in view of Zhang et al. (US PGPUB No. US 20240259267 A1), hereinafter, Zhang.
Regarding claim 1:
Lehane teaches:
A network entity for wireless communication, comprising: at least one memory; and
at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the network entity to (Fig. 7B shows continuum orchestrator 702 (network entity). See paragraph 0240 for hardware detail of the continuum orchestrator 702 ):
receive a service specification [[comprising a network slice type (NEST) specification or a network slice profile for a wireless communications system]] (paragraph 0117 discloses receiving service policy. Paragraph 0117 also discloses service policy comprises service requirement (service specification). Fig. 1 shows a wireless communication system as explained in paragraph 0060);
translate the received service specification to produce a first control loop goal associated with a first management domain of the wireless communications system (paragraph 0118 discloses translating the received service policy to domain specific service policy (first control loop goal) associated with UE domain 706 (first management domain). Also see paragraph 0187 stating “In an embodiment, the user may configure policies in terms of high-level goals or profiles.”); and
configure a closed control loop in accordance with the first control loop goal (paragraph 0119 discloses configuring the UE domain 706 as per the domain specific service policy. Paragraph 0056 discloses configuring includes creating a closed control loop. Also see paragraph 0080 stating “In an embodiment, the continuum orchestrator 302 may form a feedback control loop with one or more of the domain orchestrators 306a-e in which the monitoring and adjustment operations are repeated until the measured level of service is approximately equal to the intended level of service.”.).
Lehane does not teach comprising a network slice type (NEST) specification or a network slice profile for a wireless communications system.
Zhang teaches comprising a network slice type (NEST) specification or a network slice profile for a wireless communications system (Fig. 7, step S707, shows receiving slice requirement (network slice profile) for generating control loop as explained in paragraph 0379. Fig. 7, step S708, shows generating closed loop process as explained in paragraph 0388. Paragraphs 0180 and 0181 disclose the service requirements including network slice profile. Paragraph 0134 discloses different slice types).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lehane to incorporate the teaching of Zhang receiving service requirement/profile of network slice. One would be motivated to do that because network slice provides specific network capability and network attribute to support plurality of differentiated service type (see paragraph 0134 of Zhang).
As to claim 2, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Lehane in view of Zhang all the limitations of claim 1 as shown above.
Lehane further teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the network entity to: generate a second control loop goal associated with a second management domain of the wireless communication system based at least in part on the received service specification; and transmit the second control loop goal to the second management domain (paragraph 0118 discloses generating domain specific service policy (second control loop goal) associated with mobile packet core domain 708 (second management domain). Fig. 7B, step 758, shows sending the domain specific service policy).
As to claim 3, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Lehane in view of Zhang teach all the limitations of claim 1 as shown above.
Lehane further teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the network entity to: determine a partial service specification for a second management domain of the wireless communication system based at least in part on the received service specification; and transmit the partial service specification to the second management domain (paragraph 0118 discloses decomposing the service policy in to distinct subsets of service policies for different domains as stated “In block 754, the continuum orchestrator 702 may decompose the set of service policies 714 into three distinct subsets of service policies, and send one of these subsets to each of the user equipment domain 706 (in block 756), the mobile packet core domain 708 (in block 758), and the fixed line domain 710 (in block 760). Thus, the continuum orchestrator 702 effectively delegates service policies to each of the domains.” ).
As to claim 4, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Lehane in view of Zhang teach all the limitations of claim 1 as shown above.
Lehane further teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the network entity to generate the first control loop goal from the received service specification in combination with network operator specified preferences, constraints, or requirements (paragraph 0117 discloses bandwidth and throughput requirement).
As to claim 5, the rejection of claim 4 is incorporated. Lehane in view of Zhang teach all the limitations of claim 4 as shown above.
Lehane further teaches wherein the network operator specified preferences, constraints, or requirements are configured in a mapping table or a machine learning model, wherein one or both of the mapping table or the machine learning model correlates one or more parameters of the received service specification to the first control loop goal (paragraph 0160 discloses using machine leaning technique. Paragraph 0134 discloses correlating parameters. Also see paragraph 0205 discussing correlating parameters to create, modify service policy).
As to claim 6, the rejection of claim 5 is incorporated. Lehane in view of Zhang teach all the limitations of claim 5 as shown above.
Lehane further teaches wherein the machine learning model is trained based on historical information of a network associated with one or both of the first management domain or the second management domain (paragraph 0165 discloses using previous data for machine learning).
As to claim 7, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Lehane in view of Zhang teach all the limitations of claim 1 as shown above.
Lehane further teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the network entity to: send a request for one or more assurance goals to a management entity of the first management domain; receive information associated with the one or more assurance goals; and determine the first control loop goal based at least in part on the received information associated with the one or more assurance goals (paragraph 0167 discloses the UE domain reports quality parameters to the continuum orchestrator. Paragraphs 0168 and 0169 disclose generation domain specific service policy based on the reported quality).
As to claim 8, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Lehane in view of Zhang teach all the limitations of claim 1 as shown above.
Lehane further teaches wherein the received service specification further comprises a service type, a service profile, or a combination thereof (paragraph 0187 discloses service policy comprises service profile).
Regarding claim 9:
Claim 9 is directed towards a method performed by the apparatus of claim 1. Accordingly, it is rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 10 is directed towards a method performed by the apparatus of claim 2. Accordingly, it is rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 11 is directed towards a method performed by the apparatus of claim 3. Accordingly, it is rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 12 is directed towards a method performed by the apparatus of claim 5. Accordingly, it is rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 13 is directed towards a method performed by the apparatus of claim 6. Accordingly, it is rejected under similar rationale.
As to claim 14, the rejection of claim 12 is incorporated. Zhang in view of Zhang teach all the limitations of claim 12 as shown above.
Zhang further teaches further comprising: obtaining one or both of the mapping table or, the machine learning model from an operator (paragraph 0221 disclose operator defines the parameters).
Claim 15 is directed towards a method performed by the apparatus of claim 7. Accordingly, it is rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 16 is directed towards a method performed by the apparatus of claim 8. Accordingly, it is rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 17:
Claim 17 recites limitations similar to claim 1. Accordingly, it is rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 18 recites limitations similar to claim 2. Accordingly, it is rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 19 recites limitations similar to claim 3. Accordingly, it is rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 20 recites limitations similar to claim 4. Accordingly, it is rejected under similar rationale.
Conclusion
September 2, 2026
/KAMAL M HOSSAIN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2444