DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 45 – 47, 51 – 54 and 58 – 61 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al (US 2025/0330218) in view of Liu et al (US 2022/0167199).
Re claim 45, Yang teaches of a method performed by a user equipment configured for use in a communication network, the method comprising: transmitting, for each of one or more antenna port groups into which antenna ports of the user equipment are grouped, information characterizing the antenna port group (the UE may report its capability to BS, Paragraph 0054, With a notation as CC (x,y) to denote the U coherence capability, where x is the number of coherent antenna ports per group, and y the number of groups, the signaling of CC (2,4) and/or CC (4,2) can be reported by the UE, Paragraph 0054), wherein the information characterizing the antenna port group includes information indicating a coherence capability of one or more antenna ports included in the antenna port group as being fully coherent or as being partially coherent (the UE may report whether it supports full-coherent, partially-coherent transmission and level of partial coherence, or non-coherent transmission, Paragraph 0054); and receiving, from the communication network, signaling (precoding information, #310, Fig.3 and Paragraphs 0047 and 0052, TPMI, Paragraph 0053) indicating an uplink codebook associated with a fully coherent user equipment or associated with a partially coherent user equipment (separate codebooks, e.g. one for coherent antenna configurations and another for non-coherent antenna configurations, yet another for partially coherent antenna configurations, Paragraphs 0043 and 0047). However, Yang does not specifically mention of the signaling indicating an uplink codebook which consists only of a set of candidate transmit precoding matrices associated with the user equipment.
Liu teaches of signaling indicating an uplink codebook which consists only of a set of candidate transmit precoding matrices associated with the user equipment (a TPMI index value indicating an uplink codebook which consists only of a set of candidate TPMI indexes associated with the user equipment, Paragraphs 0416 – 0419, codebooks as shown in Tables 1 – 7).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the uplink codebook consist a set of candidate TPMI index values associated with the user equipment so as to allow the transmitted TPMI value of Yang to perform the selection of the corresponding precoding matrix for uplink transmission.
Re claim 52, Yang teaches of a user equipment (UE 101, Fig.1 and Fig.3) configured for use in a communication network, the user equipment comprising: communication circuitry (#110, #115, Fig.1); and processing circuitry (#105, Fig.1) configured to: transmit, via the communication circuitry, for each of one or more antenna port groups into which antenna ports of the user equipment are grouped, information characterizing the antenna port group (the UE may report its capability to BS, Paragraph 0054, With a notation as CC (x,y) to denote the U coherence capability, where x is the number of coherent antenna ports per group, and y the number of groups, the signaling of CC (2,4) and/or CC (4,2) can be reported by the UE, Paragraph 0054), wherein the information characterizing the antenna port group includes information indicating a coherence capability of one or more antenna ports included in the antenna port group as being fully coherent or as being partially coherent (the UE may report whether it supports full-coherent, partially-coherent transmission and level of partial coherence, or non-coherent transmission, Paragraph 0054), and receive, from the communication network, signaling (precoding information, #310, Fig.3 and Paragraphs 0047 and 0052, TPMI, Paragraph 0053) indicating an uplink codebook associated with a fully coherent user equipment or associated with a partially coherent user equipment (separate codebooks, e.g. one for coherent antenna configurations and another for non-coherent antenna configurations, yet another for partially coherent antenna configurations, Paragraphs 0043 and 0047). However, Yang does not specifically teach of the signaling indicating an uplink codebook which consists only of a set of candidate transmit precoding matrices associated with the user equipment.
Liu teaches of signaling indicating an uplink codebook which consists only of a set of candidate transmit precoding matrices associated with the user equipment (a TPMI index value indicating an uplink codebook which consists only of a set of candidate TPMI indexes associated with the user equipment, Paragraphs 0416 – 0419, codebooks as shown in Tables 1 – 7).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the uplink codebook consist a set of candidate TPMI index values associated with the user equipment so as to allow the transmitted TPMI value of Yang to perform the selection of the corresponding precoding matrix for uplink transmission.
Re claim 59, Yang teaches of a method performed by a network node (BS, Figures 1 and 3) configured for use in a communication network, the method comprising: receiving, for each of one or more antenna port groups into which antenna ports of a user equipment are grouped, information characterizing the antenna port group (the UE may report its capability to BS, Paragraph 0054, With a notation as CC (x,y) to denote the U coherence capability, where x is the number of coherent antenna ports per group, and y the number of groups, the signaling of CC (2,4) and/or CC (4,2) can be reported by the UE, Paragraph 0054), wherein the information characterizing the antenna port group includes information indicating a coherence capability of one or more antenna ports included in the antenna port group as being fully coherent or as being partially coherent (the UE may report whether it supports full-coherent, partially-coherent transmission and level of partial coherence, or non-coherent transmission, Paragraph 0054); and based on the received information, transmitting, to the user equipment, signaling (precoding information, #310, Fig.3 and Paragraphs 0047 and 0052, TPMI, Paragraph 0053) indicating an uplink codebook associated with a fully coherent user equipment or associated with a partially coherent user equipment (separate codebooks, e.g. one for coherent antenna configurations and another for non-coherent antenna configurations, yet another for partially coherent antenna configurations, Paragraphs 0043 and 0047). However, Yang does not specifically teach of the signaling indicating an uplink codebook which consists only of a set of candidate transmit precoding matrices associated with the user equipment.
Liu teaches of signaling indicating an uplink codebook which consists only of a set of candidate transmit precoding matrices associated with the user equipment (a TPMI index value indicating an uplink codebook which consists only of a set of candidate TPMI indexes associated with the user equipment, Paragraphs 0416 – 0419, codebooks as shown in Tables 1 – 7).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the uplink codebook consist a set of candidate TPMI index values associated with the user equipment so as to allow the transmitted TPMI value of Yang to perform the selection of the corresponding precoding matrix for uplink transmission.
Re claims 46, 53 and 60, Yang teaches of wherein the information characterizing an antenna port group includes information indicating a coherence capability of one or more antenna ports included in the antenna port group as being fully coherent, meaning that the one or more antenna ports included in the antenna port group are capable of being configured with an uplink codebook which consists of a set of candidate transmit precoding matrices associated with a fully coherent user equipment and which excludes candidate transmit precoding matrices associated with a partially coherent user equipment and excludes candidate transmit precoding matrices associated with a non-coherent user equipment, and wherein the received signaling indicates an uplink codebook which consists only of a set of candidate transmit precoding matrices associated with a fully coherent user equipment (separate codebooks, e.g. one for coherent antenna configurations and another for non-coherent antenna configurations, yet another for partially coherent antenna configurations, Paragraph 0043).
Re claims 47, 54 and 61, Yang teaches of wherein the information characterizing an antenna port group includes information indicating a coherence capability of one or more antenna ports included in the antenna port group as being partially coherent, meaning that the one or more antenna ports included in the antenna port group are capable of being configured with an uplink codebook which consists of a set of candidate transmit precoding matrices associated with a partially coherent user equipment and which excludes candidate transmit precoding matrices associated with a fully coherent user equipment and excludes candidate transmit precoding matrices associated with a non-coherent user equipment, and wherein the received signaling indicates an uplink codebook which consists only of a set of candidate transmit precoding matrices associated with a partially coherent user equipment (separate codebooks, e.g. one for coherent antenna configurations and another for non-coherent antenna configurations, yet another for partially coherent antenna configurations, Paragraph 0043).
Re claims 51 and 58, Yang teaches further comprising transmitting information indicating into how many antenna port groups the antenna ports of the user equipment are grouped (x is the number of antenna ports per group, y is the number of groups, Paragraph 0054).
Claims 48, 55 and 62 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang and Liu in view of Gao et al (US 2024/0137091).
Re claims 48, 55 and 62, Yang and Liu teach all the limitations of claims 45, 52 and 59 except of wherein the information characterizing the antenna port group further includes one or more of: information indicating into how many columns antenna ports in the antenna port group are arranged; information indicating into how many rows antenna ports in the antenna port group are arranged ;information indicating a maximum oversampling factor supported by the antenna port group; information indicating how many transmit chains are associated with the antenna port group; and/or information indicating into how many orthogonal polarizations antenna ports in the antenna port group are arranged.
Gao teaches of the information characterizing the antenna port group further includes one or more of: information indicating into how many columns antenna ports in the antenna port group are arranged; information indicating into how many rows antenna ports in the antenna port group are arranged; information indicating a maximum oversampling factor supported by the antenna port group; information indicating how many transmit chains are associated with the antenna port group; and/or information indicating into how many orthogonal polarizations antenna ports in the antenna port group are arranged (information comprising at least one of: the number of port groups, the number of ports per port group, the number of horizontal antenna elements on one polarization, the number of vertical antenna elements on one polarization, information related to distance between two antenna elements or two port groups, coherent type, number of antenna ports for a port group, combination of one or more port groups, number of ranks, number of ranks for a port group, combination of ranks, granularity of precoding information, number of precoding information, number of subbands, size of a subband, or codebook type, Paragraph 0006).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the information include specific information characterizing the antenna port group for improved signal reliability, capacity and speed.
Claims 49, 56 and 63 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang and Liu in view of Li et al (US 2025/0038817).
Re claims 49, 56 and 63, Yang and Liu teach all the limitations of claims 45, 52 and 59, except of wherein the information characterizing the antenna port group further comprises: information indicating whether one or more antenna ports included in the antenna port group are arranged in a non-linear array or a non-planar array; and/or information indicating whether or not antenna ports included in the antenna port group are arranged in a linear or planar equidistance way.
Li teaches of: information indicating whether one or more antenna ports included in the antenna port group are arranged in a non-linear array or a non-planar array (the antenna array information meets at least one of the following: if the antenna panel is a uniform linear array or planar array, Paragraph 0197 – 0198); and/or information indicating whether or not antenna ports included in the antenna port group are arranged in a linear or planar equidistance way.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the information further indicate whether one or more antenna ports included in the antenna port group are arranged in a non-linear array or a non-planar array for determining how radio waves are directed, shaped, and amplified for improved antenna performance.
Claims 50, 57 and 64 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang and Liu in view of Park et al (US 2020/0267661).
Re claims 50, 57 and 64, Yang and Liu teach all the limitations of claims 45, 52 and 59, except of wherein the information characterizing the antenna port group further comprises information indicating a set of precoding weights supported by the antenna port group.
Park teaches of information characterizing the antennas comprises information indicating a set of precoding weights supported by the antennas (Paragraphs 0517 – 0518, 0537 – 0541, 0547 – 0553, Table 23).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have information indicate a set of precoding weights supported by the antenna port group so as to optimize uplink performance.
Conclusion
/ARISTOCRATIS FOTAKIS/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2633