DETAILED ACTION
The instant office action is in response to communication filed on 10/22/2024.
Claims 1-20 are pending, of which claims 1, 9, 17 and 18 are independent.
The IDS(s) submitted on is relevant and applied in the instant office action and will continue to be considered for future actions.
Internet Communications
Applicant is encouraged to submit a written authorization for Internet communications (PTO/SB/439, http://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/sb0439.pdf) in the instant patent application to authorize the examiner to communicate with the applicant via email. The authorization will allow the examiner to better practice compact prosecution. The written authorization can be submitted via one of the following methods only: (1) Central Fax which can be found in the Conclusion section of this Office action; (2) regular postal mail; (3) EFS WEB; or (4) the service window on the Alexandria campus. EFS web is the recommended way to submit the form since this allows the form to be entered into the file wrapper within the same day (system dependent). Written authorization submitted via other methods, such as direct fax to the examiner or email, will not be accepted. See MPEP § 502.03.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: Line 8, “according the first SSSG…” needs to be replaced by - - - according to the first SSSG- - -
Dependent claims 2-8 are objected for having some flaws. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lin et al (US 20210250153 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Lin discloses a method (Figs. 1-12 and in particular Figs. 1, 8, 11 and 120) performed by a user equipment, UE, (UE in Fig. 1 shown as UE 111, UE 112, …UE 116 per paragraph 31 ) for search-space set group, SSSG, switching, the method comprising:
transmitting UE capability information to a network node (i.e. Base Station in Fig. 1 gNB 102 with coverage area 120 per paragraph 31) wherein the transmitted UE capability information determines an application delay (It is stated in [0207]: "the application delay is reported from UE to NW as UE capability." );
monitoring physical downlink control channel, PDCCH, candidates
according to a first SSSG (Fig. 11, step 1101; Per paragraph 199 states: "the UE monitors PDCCH in search space sets associated with a search space set group, i in an active BWP k, at step 1101" ; paragraph 5 state : “one or more search space sets provide parameters for one or more candidate PDCCH receptions." See also paragraph 24);
receiving an indication, from the network node, to switch from
monitoring PDCCH candidates according to the first SSSG, to monitor PDCCH
candidates according to a second SSSG (Fig. 11, see step 1103; per paragraph 199 states: “…The DCI format includes a search space set switching indicator, and the search space set switching indicator indicates a search space set group, j. at step 1103…”);
monitoring PDCCH candidates according to a second SSSG after the
application delay (see Fig. 11, step 1105 and paragraph 199 states: "…the UE stops PDCCH monitoring in search space sets associated with search space set group i in BWP k and starts PDCCH monitoring in search space sets associated with search space set group j in BWP L after D1 slots/symbols from the last slot/symbol of the PDCCH providing the DCI format, at step 1105". Note per paragraph 207 D1 is an application delay reported to the network as UE capability ).
Regarding claim 9, Lin discloses a method (Figs. 1-12 and in particular Figs. 1, 8, 11 and 120) performed by a network node(i.e. Base Station in Fig. 1 gNB 102 with coverage area 120 per paragraph 31) for search-space set group, SSSG, switching, the method comprising:
receiving UE capability information from a user equipment (UE in Fig. 1 shown as UE 111, UE 112, …UE 116 per paragraph 31 ), UE, the transmitted UE capability information determining an application delay(It is stated in [0207]: "the application delay is reported from UE to NW as UE capability."), the application delay determining a delay when the UE switches from monitoring PDCCH candidates according to a first SSSG to monitoring physical downlink control channel, PDCCH, candidates according to a second SSSG; (see Fig. 11, step 1105 and paragraph 199 states: "…the UE stops PDCCH monitoring in search space sets associated with search space set group i in BWP k and starts PDCCH monitoring in search space sets associated with search space set group j in BWP L after D1 slots/symbols from the last slot/symbol of the PDCCH providing the DCI format, at step 1105". Note per paragraph 207 D1 is an application delay reported to the network as UE capability ) and
transmitting an indication, to the UE, to switch from monitoring according the first SSSG to monitor PDCCH candidates according to a second SSSG. (Fig. 11, see step 1103; per paragraph 199 states: “…The DCI format includes a search space set switching indicator, and the search space set switching indicator indicates a search space set group, j. at step 1103…” That is the network/gNB 120 transmits PDCCH includes DCI indicating to switch from monitoring according to the first SSSG/ search space set group i in BWP k to monitor PDCCH candidates according to a second SSSG/ search space set group j in BWP L.)
Regarding claim 17, Lin discloses a user equipment, UE (See Fig. 1 UE 116 detailed in Fig. 3), for search-space set group, SSSG, switching, comprising: processing circuitry (i.e. RX processing circuitry 325 and TX processing circuitry 315 in Fig. 3 for UE in Fig. 1 shown as UE 111, UE 112, …UE 116 per paragraph 31 ) configured to:
transmit UE capability information to a network node (i.e. Base Station in Fig. 1 gNB 102 with coverage area 120 per paragraph 31) wherein the transmitted UE capability information determines an application delay (It is stated in [0207]: "the application delay is reported from UE to NW as UE capability." );
monitor physical downlink control channel, PDCCH, candidates
according to a first SSSG (Fig. 11, step 1101; Per paragraph 199 states: "the UE monitors PDCCH in search space sets associated with a search space set group, i in an active BWP k, at step 1101" ; paragraph 5 state : “one or more search space sets provide parameters for one or more candidate PDCCH receptions." See also paragraph 24);
receive an indication, from the network node, to switch from
monitoring PDCCH candidates according to the first SSSG, to monitor PDCCH
candidates according to a second SSSG (Fig. 11, see step 1103; per paragraph 199 states: “…The DCI format includes a search space set switching indicator, and the search space set switching indicator indicates a search space set group, j. at step 1103…”);
monitor PDCCH candidates according to a second SSSG after the
application delay (see Fig. 11, step 1105 and paragraph 199 states: "…the UE stops PDCCH monitoring in search space sets associated with search space set group i in BWP k and starts PDCCH monitoring in search space sets associated with search space set group j in BWP L after D1 slots/symbols from the last slot/symbol of the PDCCH providing the DCI format, at step 1105". Note per paragraph 207 D1 is an application delay reported to the network as UE capability ).
Regarding claim 18, Lin discloses a network node (Fig. 1 gNB 102 with coverage area of 120 and structurally detailed in Fig.2. See paragraphs 31 and 36) for search-space set group, SSSG, switching (see paragraph 24), the network node comprising: processing circuitry (i.e. processing circuitry 215 and 220) configured to:
receiving UE capability information from a user equipment (UE in Fig. 1 shown as UE 111, UE 112, …UE 116 per paragraph 31 ), UE, the transmitted UE capability information determining an application delay(It is stated in [0207]: "the application delay is reported from UE to NW as UE capability."), the application delay determining a delay when the UE switches from monitoring PDCCH candidates according to a first SSSG to monitoring physical downlink control channel, PDCCH, candidates according to a second SSSG; (see Fig. 11, step 1105 and paragraph 199 states: "…the UE stops PDCCH monitoring in search space sets associated with search space set group i in BWP k and starts PDCCH monitoring in search space sets associated with search space set group j in BWP L after D1 slots/symbols from the last slot/symbol of the PDCCH providing the DCI format, at step 1105". Note per paragraph 207 D1 is an application delay reported to the network as UE capability ) and
transmitting an indication, to the UE, to switch from monitoring according the first SSSG to monitor PDCCH candidates according to a second SSSG. (Fig. 11, see step 1103; per paragraph 199 states: “…The DCI format includes a search space set switching indicator, and the search space set switching indicator indicates a search space set group, j. at step 1103…” That is the network/gNB 120 transmits PDCCH includes DCI indicating to switch from monitoring according to the first SSSG/ search space set group i in BWP k to monitor PDCCH candidates according to a second SSSG/ search space set group j in BWP L.)
Regarding claim 2, Lin discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving, from the network node, a radio resource control, RRC, configuration related to the SSSG switching, wherein the application delay value is comprised in the RRC configuration related to the SSSG switching. (i.e. per paragraph 207 it is disclosed that the application delay D1 is provided to the UE by higher layer signaling and per paragraph 61 it is disclosed RRC signaling is a higher layer signaling.)
Regarding claim 10, claim 10 is rejected in the same scope as claim 2.
Regarding claim 6, Lin discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the UE capability information comprises information about the search space set group, SSSG, switching. (Per paragraph 207 the UE capability information comprises application delay and in paragraphs 208 and 199 it is disclosed that the application delay is information about the search space set group, SSSG ,switching.)
Regarding claim 14, claim 14 is rejected in the same scope as claim 6.
Regarding claim 20, claim 20 is rejected in the same scope as claim 6.
Regarding claim 7, Lin discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the indication to switch from monitoring according to the first SSSG to monitor PDCCH candidates according to a second SSSG is received in a DCI message. (See paragraph 199 indicating the received DCI format includes a search space set switching indicator, and the search space set switching indicator indicates a search space set group, j, at step 1103 of Fig. 11)
Regarding claim 15, claim 15 is rejected in the same scope as claim 7.
Regarding claim 8, Lin discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: providing user data; and forwarding the user data to a host via the transmission to the network node.(See Fig. 11 step 1106 and paragraph 199. Per paragraph 199 the UE receives the scheduled PDSCH or transmits the scheduled PUSCH in target BWP L at step 1106 in Fig. 11)
Regarding claim 16, claim 16 is rejected in the same scope as claim 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-5, 11-13 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin in view of R1-2104224 (R1-2104224, 3GPP, retrieved from IDS and herein after referred to as 3GPP)
Regarding claim 3, Lin discloses the method of claim 2, but fails to disclose wherein the application delay value is limited by a minimum predetermined value.
3GPP, in the same endeavor, discloses wherein the application delay value is limited by a minimum predetermined value.(See section 4 and table 1 wherein the application delay value is limited by a minimum predetermined value in symbols like Applicant’s disclosure.)
In view of the above, having Lin’s techniques for reduced PDCCH monitoring and then given the well- established teaching of 3GPP’s conditions for determining application delay value, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Lin’s techniques for reduced PDCCH monitoring as taught by 3GPP’s conditions for determining application delay value, since 3GPP states in Section 5, 1st paragraph that the modification results in allowing the UE to exercise DCI-based power saving adaptation in connected mode.
Regarding claim 11, claim 11 is rejected in the same scope as claim 3.
Regarding claim 4, Lin discloses the method of claim 1 but fails to disclose wherein the minimum predetermined value is dependent on the numerology and on UE processing capability.
3GPP, in the same endeavor, discloses wherein the minimum predetermined value is dependent on the numerology and on UE processing capability. (See section 4 and table 1 wherein the application delay value is limited by a minimum predetermined value in numerology expressed in symbols and UE processing capability like Applicant’s disclosure.)
In view of the above, having Lin’s techniques for reduced PDCCH monitoring and then given the well- established teaching of 3GPP’s conditions for determining application delay value, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Lin’s techniques for reduced PDCCH monitoring as taught by 3GPP’s conditions for determining application delay value, since 3GPP states in Section 5, 1st paragraph that the modification results in allowing the UE to exercise DCI-based power saving adaptation in connected mode.
Regarding claim 12, claim 12 is rejected in the same scope as claim 4.
Regarding claim 5, Lin discloses the method of claim 1 but fails to disclose wherein UE capability information comprises information whether the UE supports UE processing capability 1 or UE processing capability 2.
3GPP, in the same endeavor, discloses wherein UE capability information comprises information whether the UE supports UE processing capability 1 or UE processing capability 2. (See section 4 and table 1 UE capability information comprises information whether the UE supports UE processing capability 1 or UE processing capability 2.)
In view of the above, having Lin’s techniques for reduced PDCCH monitoring and then given the well- established teaching of 3GPP’s conditions for determining application delay value, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Lin’s techniques for reduced PDCCH monitoring as taught by 3GPP’s conditions for determining application delay value, since 3GPP states in Section 5, 1st paragraph that the modification results in allowing the UE to exercise DCI-based power saving adaptation in connected mode.
Regarding claim 13, claim 13 is rejected in the same scope as claim 5.
Regarding claim 19, claim 19 is rejected in the same scope as claim 5.
Conclusion
/HABTE MERED/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2474