DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 8-10, 13, 16, 18-20, and 27-32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Huang et al. (hereinafter referred to as “Huang”, US 2024/0365154).
As to claim 1, Huang teaches a method in a wireless device, WD, configured to communicate with a network node (Figs. 2 and 5, terminal device and network device), the method comprising: determining an autocorrelation estimate for a channel between the WD and the network node for each time delay of M time delays, M being an integer (claim 3, paragraphs [0041], [0053], and [0057]-[0058]); and quantizing, for each time delay of the M time delays, an amplitude and phase of the autocorrelation estimate determined for the corresponding time delay (claim 4, paragraphs [0068]-[0071]); and reporting to the network node an indication of an amplitude the quantized amplitude and phase of each of the autocorrelation estimates for the M time delays (Figs. 2 and 5, step/process 210).
As to claims 2 and 27, Huang further teaches that the M time delays are selected from a group of N configured time delays, N being an integer greater than or equal to M (paragraphs [0041], [0053]-[0054], and [0057]-[0058]).
As to claims 4 and 28, Huang further teaches receiving from the network node an indication of: the N configured time delays, or the M time delays (Fig. 5, step/process 240, paragraphs [0124]-[0129]).
As to claims 8 and 29, Huang further teaches estimating the channel at multiple time instances based at least in part on at least one reference signal, wherein the multiple time instances are associated with the M time delays (Fig. 5, step 230, paragraphs [0121], [0053]-[0054], [0057]-[0058], and [0060]).
As to claims 9, 30, and 31, Huang further teaches the autocorrelation estimate for the channel for a time delay is determined based at least in part on channel estimates at least at two time instances of the multiple time instances, wherein the two time instances are separated by a time duration equal to the time delay (paragraphs [0053]-[0054], [0057]-0058], and [0060]).
As to claim 10, Huang further teaches each of the at least one reference signal is a tracking reference signal, TRS (paragraphs [0060] and [0121]).
As to claim 13, Huang further teaches determining the autocorrelation estimate for each of the M time delays based at least in part on channel estimates at the multiple time instances (paragraphs [0053]-[0054], [0057]-[0058], and [0060]).
As to claims 16 and 32, Huang further teaches that the autocorrelation estimates are determined for each of the M time delays based at least in part on at least one of a channel state information reference signal, CSI-RS, and a demodulation reference signal, DMRS, separated in time (paragraphs [0060] and [0121]).
As to claim 18, Huang further teaches receiving a configuration of at least one reference signal and a channel state information, CSI, report for reporting the autocorrelation estimates for the M time delays based on the at least one reference signal (Fig. 5, steps 210-240, paragraphs [0040], [0060], [0068], and [0120]-[121]).
As to claim 19, Huang teaches a wireless device, WD, having processing circuitry (Fig. 9, processor 910) and a radio interface (Fig. 9, input and output interfaces 930 and 940, paragraphs [0239]-[0245]) that configure the WD to: determine an autocorrelation estimate for a channel between the WD and the network node for each time delay of M time delays, M being an integer (claim 3, paragraphs [0041], [0053], and [0057]-[0058]); and quantize, for each time delay of the M time delays, an amplitude and phase of the autocorrelation estimate determined for the corresponding time delay (claim 4, paragraphs [0068]-[0071]); and report to the network node an indication of an amplitude the quantized amplitude and phase of each of the autocorrelation estimates for the M time delays (Figs. 2 and 5, step/process 210).
As to claim 20, Huang teaches a method in a network node configured to communicate with a wireless device, WD, (Figs. 2 and 5, terminal device and network device) the method comprising: configuring the WD with an autocorrelation report configuration, the autocorrelation report configuration including an indication of M time delays, M being an integer (claim 3, paragraphs [0041], [0053], and [0057]-[0058]); and configure the WD to quantize, for each of time delay of the M time delays, an amplitude and phase of an autocorrelation estimate for a channel between the WD and the network node for the corresponding time delay (claim 4, paragraphs [0068]-[0071]); and receiving from the WD an indication of an amplitude a quantized amplitude and phase of an autocorrelation estimate for a channel between the WD and the network node for each time delay of the M time delays (Figs. 2 and 5, step/process 210).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 17 and 33-34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang in view of Shibaike et al. (hereinafter referred to as “Shibaike”, US 2025/0274799).
As to claims 17 and 33, Huang does not expressly teach reporting to the network node the indication of the autocorrelation estimates is one of semi-persistent and aperiodic.
Shibaike further teaches that the report is one of semi-persistent and aperiodic (paragraphs [0032] and [0026], based on report type information specified by the network device).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to report to the network node the indication of the autocorrelation estimates is one of semi-persistent and aperiodic based on the report type information specified by the network device in order to increase flexibility and/or efficiency in reporting to the network the indication of the autocorrelation estimates.
As to claim 34, Huang further teaches receiving a configuration of at least one reference signal for reporting the autocorrelation estimates for the M time delays based on the at least one reference signal (paragraphs [0060] and [0121]).
Huang does not expressly teach receiving a configuration of a channel state information, CSI, report for reporting the autocorrelation estimates for the M time delays based on the at least one reference signal.
Shibaike further teaches receiving a configuration of a channel state information, CSI, report for reporting the autocorrelation estimates for the M time delays based on the at least one reference signal (paragraphs [0060] and [0121]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to receive a configuration of a channel state information, CSI, report (i.e., aperiodic CSI (A-CSI) or semi-persistent CSI (SP-CSI)) for reporting the autocorrelation estimates for the M time delays based on the at least one reference signal in order to increase flexibility and/or efficiency in reporting to the autocorrelation estimates the autocorrelation estimates for the M time delays based on the at least one reference signal.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Dai et al., US 2026/0059368, Figs. 6-7
Rahman et al., US 2024/0113756, abstract, Figs. 11 and 16
Irfan et al., US 2026/0074758, paragraph [0246]
/FRESHTEH N AGHDAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2632 5/26/2026