DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to claims filed on 22 October 2024.
Claims 1, 16-17, 31-32, and 34-48 are pending for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 24 October 2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 39 and 48 objected to because of the following informalities: In Claim 39 and 48, line 3, the phrase “the request” lacks proper antecedent basis and appears to be a typographical error. Applicant is advised to amend Claim 39 and 48 to recite “a request” instead of “the request”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
A person shall be entitled to a patent unless –(a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claims 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Jung (US 20230412341 A1).
With regarding Claim 1, Jung disclosed a method in a network node configured to communicate with a wireless device, WD, the method comprising (See FIG. 1, and ¶[0033]-[0039], Claim 13. Disclosed a method performed by a network entity 104 in wireless communication with a remote unit 102.): configuring a tracking reference signal, TRS, resource set for one of (See FIG. 4, and ¶[0097], [0110]. Discloses the network entity providing a cell-specific tracking reference signal (TRS) configuration (e.g., TRS-ResourceSetCommon), which configures a set of NZP CSI-RS resources as a TRS resources set): semi-persistent TRS signaling (See ¶[0104]-[0105]. Disclosed the network entity dynamically configuring and switching to semi-persistent TRS via Layer 1/Layer 2 signaling (DCI or MAC-CE).); aperiodic TRS signaling unassociated with periodic reference signaling; and TRS signaling upon request by the WD; and transmitting the TRS resource set configuration to the WD (See FIG. 8, and ¶[0097], [0135]. Discloses the network entity transmitting the TRS configuration to the UE via System information or dedicated signaling).
Claims 31-32, 37 and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bai (US 20210359812 A1). With regarding Claim 31, Bai disclosed a method in a wireless device, WD, configured to communicate with a network node, the method comprising (See FIG. 1-2, and ¶[0004], [0141]. Disclosed a method performed by a User (UE) communicating with a base station): receiving a tracking reference signal, TRS, resource set configuration for one of (See FIG. 7¶[0114], [0130], [0146], [0081]. Disclosed that a TRS is configured on a CSI-RS resources set, and the UE receives this configuration via higher-layer signaling or MAC-CE.): semi-persistent TRS signaling (See ¶[0048]. Disclosed signaling is defined as an RRC-configured resource that is dynamically activated/deactivated via Layer 1 (DCI) or Layer 2 (MAC-CE).); aperiodic TRS signaling unassociated with periodic reference signaling (See ¶[0047], [0149], [0129]. Disclosed configuring TRS resource set in an independent “aperiodic triggering state” meaning it is triggered dynamically via DCI without being tied to or associated with an ongoing periodic TRS configuration.); and TRS signaling upon request by the WD (See ¶[0040], [0214]. Disclosed the TRS signaling transmitted with UE based request); and configuring at least one TRS resource set according to the TRS resource set configuration (See ¶[0162], [0136]. Disclosed that upon receiving the indication/configuration, the UE configures to monitor for and receive the TRS according to that specific pattern/resource set.). With regarding Claim 32, Bai disclosed the method of Claim 31, further comprising receiving from the network node one or both of: an instruction to one of activate and deactivate at least one semi-persistent TRS resource set by one of L1 and L2 signaling (See [0141], [0146]. Disclosed the receiving an instruction (indication of a triggering state) to activate/deactivate a TRS resource set via Layer 1(DCI) or Layer 2 (MAC-CE) signaling), and a validity timer indicating a duration of activation of a semi-persistent resource set and activating the semi-persistent resource set for the duration (See ¶[0098]-[01000], [0146], [0149], [0081]-[0083], [0128], [0132]-[0134]. Disclosed TRS are transmitted in a given time period, and interval between TRS transmissions.).
With regarding Claim 37, Bai disclosed the method of any of Claims 3, further comprising transmitting to the network node a repetition pattern request requesting a repetition pattern of TRS resources (See ¶[0147]-[0148], [0082]-[0083], [0008], [0040]. Disclosed UE transmitting a request for an enhanced TRS pattern, which inherently constitutes a request for a specific repetition/density pattern of TRS resources, that this second portion reduces the symbol gap between TRS transmissions.).
With regarding Claim 40, Bai disclosed a wireless device, WD, configured to communicate with a network node, the WD comprising (See FIG. 1-2, and ¶[0004], [0141]. Disclosed a method performed by a User (UE) communicating with a base station): a radio interface configured to receive a tracking reference signal, TRS, resource set configuration for one of (See FIG. 7¶[0114], [0130], [0146]-[0149], [0081]. Disclosed that a TRS is configured on a CSI-RS resources set, and the UE receives this configuration via higher-layer signaling or MAC-CE.): semi-persistent TRS signaling (See ¶[0048]. Disclosed signaling is defined as an RRC-configured resource that is dynamically activated/deactivated via Layer 1 (DCI) or Layer 2 (MAC-CE).);; aperiodic TRS signaling unassociated with periodic reference signaling ; and TRS signaling upon request by the WD (See ¶[0047], [0149], [0129]. Disclosed configuring TRS resource set in an independent “aperiodic triggering state” meaning it is triggered dynamically via DCI without being tied to or associated with an ongoing periodic TRS configuration.); and processing circuitry in communication with the radio interface and configured to configure at least one TRS resource set according to the TRS resource set configuration (See FIG. 8, and ¶[0162], [0136], [0222], [0314], [0146]. Disclosed that upon receiving the indication/configuration, the UE configures to monitor for and receive the TRS according to that specific pattern/resource set.).
With regarding Claim 41, through of a different scope, the limitations of claim 41 are substantially similar or identical to those of claim 32, and is rejected under the same reasoning.
With regarding Claim 42, through of a different scope, the limitations of claim 42 are substantially similar or identical to those of claim 32, and is rejected under the same reasoning.
With regarding Claim 46, through of a different scope, the limitations of claim 46 are substantially similar or identical to those of claim 37, and is rejected under the same reasoning.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung et. al. (US 20210359812 A1) in view of Bai et. al. (US 20210359812 A1).
With regarding Claim 16, Jung disclosed a network node configured to communicate with a wireless device, WD, the network node comprising(See FIG. 1, and ¶[0033]-[0039], Claim 13. Disclosed a method performed by a network entity 104 in wireless communication with a remote unit 102.): processing circuitry configured to configuring a tracking reference signal, TRS, resource set for one of (See FIG. 3-4, and ¶ [0033]-[0039], [0097], [0110]. Discloses a processor 302 (processing circuitry) configured to generate and transmit a TRS configuration (e.g., TRS-ResourceSetCommon), which configures a set of NZP CSI-RS resources as a TRS resources set): semi-persistent TRS signaling (See ¶[0104]-[0105]. Disclosed the network entity dynamically configuring and switching to semi-persistent TRS via Layer 1/Layer 2 signaling (DCI or MAC-CE).); aperiodic TRS signaling unassociated with periodic reference signaling; and TRS signaling upon request by the WD; and a radio interface in communication with the processing circuitry and configured to transmit the TRS resource set configuration to the WD (See FIG. 1, 3, and ¶[0049], [0134][0033]-[0039], Claim 13. Disclosed a method performed by a network entity 104 in wireless communication with a remote unit 102.). Bai may not explicitly aperiodic TRS signaling unassociated with periodic reference signaling; and TRS signaling upon request by the WD; However, in analogous art, Bai disclosed aperiodic TRS signaling unassociated with periodic reference signaling (See ¶[0047], [0146]-[0149], [0129]. Disclosed configuring TRS resource set in an independent “aperiodic triggering state” meaning it is triggered dynamically via DCI without being tied to or associated with an ongoing periodic TRS configuration.); and TRS signaling upon request by the WD (See ¶[0040], [0214], [0148], [0008]. Disclosed the TRS signaling transmitted with UE based request ); and Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Bai to modify Jung teachings. Jung teaches the network node can configure TRS resource sets for semi-persistent and aperiodic TRS to manage overhead and UE power saving ¶[0104], Bai teaches that the UE triggered TRS tracking and aperiodic TRS triggering. This combination optimizes both tracking accuracy for high-speed UEs and overall network signaling overhead.
With regarding Claim 17, Jung disclosed the network node of Claim 16, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to configure the WD with at least one semi-persistent non-zero power channel state information reference signal, NZP-CSI-RS, resource set (See FIG. 3, ¶[0078], [0107]-[0108], [0049], [0158]. Disclosed UE includes an NZP-CSI-RS-ResourceSet, and configured for a semi-persistent CSI-RS.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Bai to modify Jung teachings. Jung teaches the network node can configure TRS resource sets for semi-persistent and aperiodic TRS to manage overhead and UE power saving ¶[0104], Bai teaches that the UE triggered TRS tracking and aperiodic TRS triggering. This combination optimizes both tracking accuracy for high-speed UEs and overall network signaling overhead.
14. Claims 34-36, and 38-39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bai et. al (US 20210359812 A1)in view of 3GPP TS 38.124 V16.4.0. R16. (2021-01) (hereinafter TS 38.214). With regarding Claim 34, Bai disclosed the method of Claim 32, Bai may not explicitly disclose wherein the duration of activation is relative to a system frame number. However, in analogous art, TS 38.214 disclosed wherein the duration of activation is relative to a system frame number (See Page 63, [Section 5.2.1.5.2], Page 40,[Section 5.1.6.1.1]. Disclosed activation of Semi-Persistent CSI-RS. It explains the duration of activation or application delay, stating that activation applies starting from a specific slot offset. Page 40 clause 4.3 of [4, TS 38.211]. Disclose that the slot number(ns) mathematically derived from the System Frame Number (SFN).). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine TS 38.214 to modify Bai teachings. Bai teaching TRS pattern activation and periodicity ¶[0129], [0146], [0148]. TS 38.214 teaching Semi-Persistent CSI-RS MAC-CE activation timing (TS 38.214 Page 63) and the standardized slot/periodicity framework. This combination ensure the UE power saving during the DRX cycle. Resulting activation duration is necessarily relative to the SFN.).
With regarding Claim 35, Bai disclosed the method of Claim 31, Bai may not explicitly disclose further comprising receiving from the network node a minimum scheduling threshold before which an aperiodic TRS is not expected to be received by the WD. However, in analogous art, TS 38.214 disclosed further comprising receiving from the network node a minimum scheduling threshold before which an aperiodic TRS is not expected to be received by the WD (See Page 39 [Section 5.1.6.1.1], Page 40 [Section 5.1.6.1]
Page 61, [Section 5.2.1.5.a]
Disclosed BeamSwitchTiming as referred to in related MAC/PHY procedures is the minimum scheduling threshold.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine TS 38.214 to modify Bai teachings. Bai teaching TRS pattern activation and periodicity ¶[0003], [0149]. TS 38.214 teaching beamSwitchingTiming scheduling offset threshold. UE had adequate processing time for beam switching and QCL. This combination ensure the aperiodic TRS scheduling mechanism.
With regarding Claim 36, Bai disclosed the method of Claims 31, further comprising receiving from the network node a repetition parameter indicating a number of repetitions of an aperiodic TRS resource set (See ¶[0146]-[0149], [0083]. Disclosed receiving an aperiodic TRS resource set configuration from the network node via higher layer signaling. And enhanced TRS pattern specifically to increase the density of TRS transmission states. TRS may be transmitted in symbols 3,5, and 7 with both portions of the TRS pattern.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine TS 38.214 to modify Bai teachings. Bai teaching TRS pattern activation and periodicity ¶[0003], [0149]. TS 38.214 Page 97, 39[section 5.2.2.3.1, Page 39 [Section 5.1.6.1.1]]teaching number of reputations for the aperiodic TRS resource set. This combination ensure the high-mobility tracking benefits. With regarding Claim 38, Bai disclosed the method of Claims 31, further comprising selecting a TRS periodicity from a set of TRS periodicities and transmitting to the network node an indication of the selected TRS periodicity (See ¶[0129], [0148]. Disclosed the UE transmitting a recommendation or request to the network node regarding TRS configurations based on its detected speed.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine TS 38.214 to modify Bai teachings. Bai teaching that the high-speed UEs experience high Doppler shifts and require denser or more frequent TRS pattern to maintain time/frequency tracking ¶ [0082]-[0083], [0129], [0148]. TS 38.214 Page 40[section 5.1.6.1.1]teaching UE select the most appropriate TRS periodicity from the standardized set {10, 20, 40, 80 slots} based on its current speed/Doppler state, and transmit an indication of selected periodicity to the network node via standard UE assistance signaling. This combination optimizing This combination ensure the high-mobility tracking benefits.
With regarding Claim 39, Bai disclosed the method of Claims 31, further comprising receiving from the network node a prohibition timer and refraining from transmitting the request for TRS signaling before expiry of the prohibition timer (See ¶[0148]. Disclosed that the device 210 may transmit a request for the second portion of the TRS pattern 220, based on detecting the high speed).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine TS 38.214 to modify Bai teachings. Bai teaching that the high-speed UEs experience high Doppler shifts and require denser or more frequent TRS pattern to maintain time/frequency tracking ¶ [0082]-[0083], [0129], [0148]. TS 38.214 Page 11 [section 5.1], teaching scheduling requests, or timers and CSI reporting. This combination optimizing This combination ensure the high-mobility tracking benefits.
With regarding Claim 43, through of a different scope, the limitations of claim 43 are substantially similar or identical to those of claim 34, and is rejected under the same reasoning.
With regarding Claim 44, through of a different scope, the limitations of claim 44 are substantially similar or identical to those of claim 35, and is rejected under the same reasoning.
With regarding Claim 45, through of a different scope, the limitations of claim 45 are substantially similar or identical to those of claim 36, and is rejected under the same reasoning.
With regarding Claim 47, through of a different scope, the limitations of claim 47 are substantially similar or identical to those of claim 38, and is rejected under the same reasoning.
With regarding Claim 48, through of a different scope, the limitations of claim 48 are substantially similar or identical to those of claim 39, and is rejected under the same reasoning.
Conclusion
/S.V./Examiner, Art Unit 2468
/Thomas R Cairns/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2468