DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 3, the claim recites that the block further contains a structural unit derived from an aromatic hydrocarbon compound, and in the block (b2), a content ratio of the structural unit derived from the conjugated diene compound to the structural unit derived from the aromatic hydrocarbon compound is as claimed. Claim 3 is dependent from claim 1, which recites a structural unit derived from an aromatic hydrocarbon compound. Since claim 3 recites that the block further contains a structural unit derived from an aromatic hydrocarbon compound, there are two structural units derived from an aromatic hydrocarbon compound. However, even though the claim references (b2), the claim references only “the structural unit derived from the aromatic hydrocarbon compound.” It is unclear which structural unit is referenced in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over JP 2021-176926 to Ishibashi, as evidenced by the machine translation.
Regarding claims 1-14, Ishibashi teaches a resin composition that can express excellent dielectric properties while having excellent heat resistance, a prepreg including the resin composition, a laminate, a resin film, a multilayer printed wiring board, and a semiconductor package (Ishibashi, Abstract). Ishibashi teaches that the resin composition has (A) a polyphenylene ether derivative having an ethylenically unsaturated bond-containing group, (B) at least one selected from the group consisting of a maleimide compound having two or more N-substituted maleimide groups and a derivative thereof, (C) a conjugated diene polymer or a modified conjugated diene polymer, (D) a styrenic thermoplastic elastomer, and (E) an imidazole compound or a modified imidazole compound (Id., Abstract, claims 1-15). Ishibashi teaches a maleimide compound (b1) having two or more N-substituted maleimide groups, such as MIR-3000, and a polyaminobismaleimide compound having structural units derived from maleimide compound (b1) and structural units derived from diamine compound (b2), such as 3,3'-dimethyl-5,5'-diethyl-4,4'-diphenylmethanebismaleimide (Id., paragraphs 0049, 0171). Ishibashi teaches that component D is a hydrogenated styrene-based thermoplastic elastomer such as a styrene ethylene butylene styrene copolymer, having a weight-average molecular weight particularly preferably 70,000 to 100,000, wherein the structural units are derived from butadiene and isoprene (Id., paragraphs 0120-0122, 0173).
Regarding claim 3, Ishibashi teaches that from the viewpoints of dielectric properties, adhesion to a conductor, heat resistance, glass transition temperature and thermal expansion coefficient, the content of each of the monomer units is preferably 5 to 80 mass % (Ishibashi, paragraph 0121). Therefore, the claimed ratio appears met by the overlapping mass% ranges.
Regarding claims 6 and 7, Ishibashi teaches that b1 includes bis(4-maleimidophenyl)methane, m-phenylenebismaleimide, polyphenylmethanemaleimide, and biphenyl aralkyl-type maleimide (Ishibashi, paragraphs 0050, 0177). Additionally, Ishibashi teaches the maleimide compound having three or more N-substituted maleimide groups in the molecule, such as polyphenylmethanemaleimide and biphenyl aralkyl-type maleimide (Id., paragraphs 0050, 0171).
Regarding claim 8, Ishibashi teaches that the resin composition contains an inorganic filler (Ishibashi, paragraph 0132-0134).
Regarding claims 10-14, Ishibashi teaches a prepreg or a cured product, including a resin film, a laminated with a metal foil, a printed circuit board, and a semiconductor package (Ishibashi, claims 10-15).
Regarding claims 1-14, in the event it is shown that Ishibashi does not disclose the claimed invention with sufficient specificity, the invention is obvious because Ishibashi discloses the claimed constituents and discloses that they may be used alternatively or in combination.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over JP 2021-176926 to Ishibashi, as applied to claims 1-14 above, in view of US Pub. No. 2018/0002485 to Tanigawa.
Regarding claim 3, Ishibashi teaches that the component (D) may include styrene-butadiene-styrene block copolymer (SEBS, SBBS) (Ishibashi, paragraph 0120). Additionally, Tanigawa teaches a similar resin composition, prepreg, laminate, and multilayered printed wiring board having a maleimido group (Tanigawa, Abstract) and a thermoplastic resin, such as styrene-ethylene-butylene copolymers (Id., paragraphs 0118-0123). Tanigawa teaches that the content ratio of the styrene unit is preferably 10 to 80%, and being 20 to 70% by mass is more preferable (Id., paragraph 0122). Tanigawa teaches that when the content ratio of the styrene unit is in the above range, the thermoplastic elastomer is excellent in the film appearance, heat resistance and adhesiveneness (Id.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the resin composition of Ishibashi, and adjusting and varying the amount of styrene, such as within the claimed ratio, as taught by Tanigawa, motivated by the desire of forming a conventional resin composition suitable for use in prepregs and wiring boards, comprising amounts of styrene known in the art to predictably result in an elastomer excellent in the film appearance, heat resistance and adhesiveneness.
Conclusion
/PETER Y CHOI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786