DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. § 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. JP2022-074096, filed on 04/28/2022.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are: “a moving image acquisition unit configured to acquire a moving image,” “an image processor configured to perform processing, “an evaluation processor configured to perform processing”1 in claim 1.
Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification (e.g., referring to Applicant’s Spec. ¶42, he discloses that his imaging apparatus comprises an image processor 1020 and an evaluation processor 1030 in Fig. 1) as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1–9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The limitations, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, cover mental process (concept performed in a human mind, including as observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion, organizing human activity and mathematical concepts and calculations). The claims recite “acquire a moving image of a subject’s eyelid,” “identifying a meibomian gland area from the moving image,” “generating evaluation information relating to a predetermined disease” in claims 1 and 8–9. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the steps do not add meaningful limitations to be considered specifically applied to a particular technological problem to be solved. The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the claimed language can be analyzed by an ophthalmologist without machine learning aid2—i.e., this process is the quintessential “mental process” exception. See Alice/Mayo test under MPEP § 2106, II. ESTABLISH BROADEST REASONABLE INTERPRETATION OF CLAIM AS A WHOLE.3
According to the USPTO guidelines, a claim is directed to non-statutory subject matter if:
STEP 1: the claim does not fall within one of the four statutory categories of invention (process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter), or
STEP 2: the claim recites a judicial exception, e.g., an abstract idea, without reciting additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception, as determined using the following analysis:
STEP 2A (PRONG 1): Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon?
STEP 2A (PRONG 2): Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?
STEP 2B: Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
Using the two-step inquiry, it is clear that claims 1–9 are directed to an abstract idea as shown below:
STEP 1: Do the claims fall within one of the statutory categories? Yes. Claims 1–7 are directed to an apparatus; claim 8 is a method; and claim 9 is a computer-readable non-transitory recoding medium.
STEP 2A (PRONG 1): Is the claim directed to a law of nature, a natural phenomenon or an abstract idea? Yes. The claims are directed toward a mental process (i.e., abstract idea).4
With regard to STEP 2A (PRONG 1), the guidelines provide three groupings of subject matter that are considered abstract ideas:
Mathematical concepts – mathematical relationships, mathematical formulas or equations, mathematical calculations;
Certain methods of organizing human activity – fundamental economic principles or practices (including hedging, insurance, mitigating risk); commercial or legal interactions (including agreements in the form of contracts; legal obligations; advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors; business relations); managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions); and
Mental processes – concepts that are practicably performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion).
These limitations, as drafted, is a simple process that, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitations in the mind or by a human. Examiner notes that under MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III), the courts consider a mental process (thinking) that “can be performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper" to be an abstract idea. CyberSource Corp. v. Retail Decisions, Inc., 654 F.3d 1366, 1372, 99 USPQ2d 1690, 1695 (Fed. Cir. 2011). As the Federal Circuit explained, "methods which can be performed mentally, or which are the equivalent of human mental work, are unpatentable abstract ideas the ‘basic tools of scientific and technological work’ that are open to all.’" 654 F.3d at 1371, 99 USPQ2d at 1694 (citing Gottschalk v. Benson, 409 U.S. 63, 175 USPQ 673 (1972)). See also Mayo Collaborative Servs. v. Prometheus Labs. Inc., 566 U.S. 66, 71, 101 USPQ2d 1961, 1965 ("‘[M]ental processes and abstract intellectual concepts are not patentable, as they are the basic tools of scientific and technological work’" (quoting Benson, 409 U.S. at 67, 175 USPQ at 675)); Parker v. Flook, 437 U.S. 584, 589, 198 USPQ 193, 197 (1978) (same). As such, a person could mentally analyze an image and determine a fill level, either mentally or using a pen and paper. The mere nominal recitation that the various steps are being executed by a device/in a device (e.g., processing unit) does not take the limitations out of the mental process grouping. Thus, the claims recite a mental process.
STEP 2A (PRONG 2): Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application? No. The claims do not recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
With regard to STEP 2A (prong 2), whether the claim recites additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application, the guidelines provide the following exemplary considerations that are indicative that an additional element (or combination of elements) may have integrated the judicial exception into a practical application:
an additional element reflects an improvement in the functioning of a computer, or an improvement to other technology or technical field;
an additional element that applies or uses a judicial exception to affect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition;
an additional element implements a judicial exception with, or uses a judicial exception in conjunction with, a particular machine or manufacture that is integral to the claim;
an additional element effects a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing; and
an additional element applies or uses the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception.
While the guidelines further state that the exemplary considerations are not an exhaustive list and that there may be other examples of integrating the exception into a practical application, the guidelines also list examples in which a judicial exception has not been integrated into a practical application:
an additional element merely recites the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely includes instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea;
an additional element adds insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception; and
an additional element does no more than generally link the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use.
These limitations are recited at a high level of generality (i.e., as a general action or change being taken based on the results of the acquiring step) and amounts to mere post solution actions, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity. Further, the claims are claimed generically and are operating in their ordinary capacity such that they do not use the judicial exception in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception. Accordingly, even in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
STEP 2B: Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception? No. The claims do not recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.5
With regard to STEP 2B, whether the claims recite additional elements that provide significantly more than the recited judicial exception, the guidelines specify that the pre-guideline procedure is still in effect. Specifically, examiners should continue to consider whether an additional element or combination of elements:
adds a specific limitation or combination of limitations that are not well-understood, routine, conventional activity in the field, which is indicative that an inventive concept may be present; or
simply appends well-understood, routine, conventional activities previously known to the industry, specified at a high level of generality, to the judicial exception, which is indicative that an inventive concept may not be present.
Claims 2–8 do not recite any additional elements that are not well-understood, routine or conventional. For example, even if Applicant discloses “identifying the meibomian gland area from a frame of the moving image by using a trained model” after processing multiple images thereof, a technical improvement would have involved an advancement where his processor discloses a proprietary deep learning architecture and/or a unique geometric transformation that provides a superior result compared to existing methods.6 However, these claims can be done by a human—who looks a grayscale image of an eyelid—naturally finds target areas in the gland image.
Thus, since claims 1–9 are: (a) directed toward an abstract idea, (b) do not recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application, and (c) do not recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception, it is clear that claims 1–9 are not eligible subject matter under the 35 U.S.C. § 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1–2 and 8–9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Arita et al. (U.S. 9,320,439 B2).
Regarding claim 1, Arita discloses an ophthalmic apparatus comprising:
a moving image acquisition unit configured to acquire a moving image of a subject's eyelid; (Per Fig. 1B, Arita’s image acquire 121 discloses an image illuminating an eyelid. Arita col. 6 lines 33–47. The image acquirer 21 acquires a photographed palpebral image (image data) of an eye through the interface from the ophthalmologic apparatus 6 or the storage 3 in accordance with the input from the operation part 42.)
an image processor configured to perform processing of identifying a meibomian gland area from at least one frame of the moving image; and (Per Fig. 1B, Arita’s designator 22 retrieves specifics of Meibomian glands from the image. Ibid. col. 6 lines 49–56. [a]nd shows a region from which the extractor 23 extracts information of Meibomian glands.)
an evaluation processor configured to perform processing of generating evaluation information relating to a predetermined disease based on the meibomian gland area. (Per Fig. 1B, Arita’s designator 22 analyzes an area segmenting boundary regions according to pixel difference values. Ibid. col. 6 line 65 – col. 7 line 21. [t]he designator 22 specifies the periphery of an image area that corresponds to the rear side of the eyelid in the photographed image, on the basis of the luminance value of each pixel.)
Regarding claim 8, Arita discloses a method of processing an ophthalmic image, the method comprising:
performing processing of identifying a meibomian gland area from at least one frame of a moving image of a subject's eyelid; and (Per Fig. 1B, Arita’s designator 22 retrieves specifics of Meibomian glands from the image. Arita col. 6 lines 49–56. [a]nd shows a region from which the extractor 23 extracts information of Meibomian glands.)
performing processing of generating evaluation information relating to a predetermined disease based on the meibomian gland area. (Per Fig. 1B, Arita’s designator 22 analyzes an area segmenting boundary regions according to pixel difference values. Ibid. col. 6 line 65 – col. 7 line 21. [t]he designator 22 specifies the periphery of an image area that corresponds to the rear side of the eyelid in the photographed image, on the basis of the luminance value of each pixel.)
Regarding claim 9, Arita discloses a computer-readable non-transitory recording medium in which a program is recorded, the program being configured to cause a computer to perform processing of an ophthalmic image, wherein the program is configured to cause the computer to perform:
processing of identifying a meibomian gland area from at least one frame of a moving image of a subject's eyelid; and (Per Fig. 1B, Arita’s designator 22 retrieves specifics of Meibomian glands from the image. Arita col. 6 lines 49–56. [a]nd shows a region from which the extractor 23 extracts information of Meibomian glands.)
processing of generating evaluation information relating to a predetermined disease based on the meibomian gland area. (Per Fig. 1B, Arita’s designator 22 analyzes an area segmenting boundary regions according to pixel difference values. Ibid. col. 6 line 65 – col. 7 line 21. [t]he designator 22 specifies the periphery of an image area that corresponds to the rear side of the eyelid in the photographed image, on the basis of the luminance value of each pixel.)
Regarding claim 2, Arita discloses the ophthalmic apparatus, wherein the image processor identifies a meibomian gland area from each of plurality of frames of the moving image by sequentially processing the plurality of frames. (Per Fig. 1B, Arita’s extractor discloses photographed images. Arita col. 8 lines 7–31. The threshold value is stored in advance as a constant value in the storage 3 or can be specified for each of the photographed images from which Meibomian-gland subareas are extracted,)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3–7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Arita in view of Huang (CN 113706564 A).
Regarding claim 3, Arita fails to specifically disclose the ophthalmic apparatus, wherein the image processor performs at least a part of the processing of identifying the meibomian gland area from a frame of the moving image by using a trained model constructed by means of machine learning with training data including an eyelid image.
In related art, Huang discloses the ophthalmic apparatus, wherein the image processor performs at least a part of the processing of identifying the meibomian gland area from a frame of the moving image by using a trained model constructed by means of machine learning with training data including an eyelid image. (Huang discloses a supervised learning where a first gland image is rendered. Huang Spec. ¶69. The loss acquisition module is also used to determine the fully supervised learning loss based on the prediction result of the first meibomian gland sample image and the real image label;)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Huang into the teachings of Arita to reduce an impact of label noise while performing a segmentation network performance. Ibid. ¶12.
Regarding claim 4, Arita as modified by Huang, discloses the ophthalmic apparatus, wherein the image processor performs processing of determining an analysis target area from the frame using the trained model, and identifies a meibomian gland area based on the analysis target area. (Per Fig. 1 at step 104, Huang discloses a region of interest in the gland sample image. Huang Spec. ¶113. Determine the region of interest in the first meibomian gland sample image based on the real image labels,)
Regarding claim 5, Arita as modified by Huang, discloses the ophthalmic apparatus, wherein the image processor performs segmentation of dividing at least a part of the frame into a plurality of image areas using the trained model, and identifies a meibomian gland area based on the plurality of image areas. (Huang discloses region of interests in his segmentation network processing the first sample image. Huang Spec. ¶139. Regions of interest (ROIs) in the first meibomian gland sample image are determined based on the real image labels, and regions of interest in the second meibomian gland sample image are determined based on the pseudo-image labels.)
Regarding claim 6, it has been rejected in the same manner as claim 4.
Regarding claim 7, it has been rejected in the same manner as claim 5.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Abou Shousha et al. (U.S. 10,468,142 B1) discloses a method of predicting a disease of an anterior segment of an eye.
Contact
/BENEDICT E LEE/Examiner, Art Unit 2665
/Stephen R Koziol/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2665
1 Examiner construed that the claimed language “configured to perform processing of…” is modified by functional language (i.e., surrogate for “means for” in this context reciting a generic, nonce term that does not denote a specific, well-known structure to a person of ordinary skill in the art) without providing any structural details how the hardware is specifically constructed or configured to achieve the recited outcome.
2 Imagine he reads a textbook to squarely determine whether a meibomian gland exists in an image.
3 The court disagreed, because it interpreted the claims as encompassing nothing other than pure mental steps (and thus falling within an abstract idea grouping) because the claims did not include any limitations requiring computer implementation.
4 Per Applicant’s Spec. ¶51, he states that a related gland area in an image is identified by “a part having relatively high brightness from the entirety of an image of an eyelid depicted in an eyelid image.” Examiner determined that this process is a fundamental, well-known, and conventional data in the person of ordinary skill in the art. And, the last limitation, “generating evaluation relating to a predetermined disease” can be achieved by an ophthalmologist without a computer.
5 To be patent-eligible, the claim must include an inventive concept that is “significantly more” than the abstract idea. If the identification of the meibomian gland area is performed by a routine technique (e.g., brightness thresholding) that anyone skilled in the art could implement without any specialized technical innovation, the hardware (i.e., a processor) is a merely a tool used in a conventional way.
6 Claims 2–9 recite merely “identifying a meibomian gland area” in multiple frames.