DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-9, and 11-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishimura (JP 2020-128501) in view of Yamada et al. (JP 2014-187358).
Note: citations refer to the machine translation of JP ‘501 and JP ‘358 filed by Applicant on 1/8/2025.
Regarding claims 1-2:
Nishimura discloses a resin sheet for use in printed wiring boards which is formed from a resin composition comprising (A) a maleimide compound (thermosetting resin), (B) a liquid curing agent, (C) a high molecular weight component, and (D) an inorganic filler [abstract; 0001; 0007-0010; 0186]. The (B) liquid curing agent comprises a variety of disclosed materials, which contain reactive groups that cure the resin [0053-0130; also see chemical formulas in original JP ‘501 document]. Specific liquid curing agents include those having molecular weights within the claimed range, such as NK Ester DCP bifunctional methacrylate (MW: 332), NK Ester A-DOG bifunctional methacrylate (MW: 326), triallyl isocyanurate (MW: 249), ortho-diallyl phthalate (MW: 246), etc. [0298; 0300; 0317; 0318].
Nishimura is silent with regard to a primer layer formed on the insulation layer.
Such materials were known in the art to have utility. For example, Yamada discloses a resin composition for use as a primer layer between an insulating resin layer and a metal layer [abstract; 0001; 0014-0015; 0041].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to add a primer layer to the insulation layer of Nishimura to provide improved adhesion between the insulation layer and a metal layer.
Regarding claims 4-6:
Nishimura teaches the (B) liquid curing agent comprises specific bifunctional (meth)acrylates and diallyl compounds as disclosed above. Note the reference further teaches maleimide-, amine-, butadiene- and epoxy-containing curing agents [0053; 0054].
Regarding claim 7:
Nishimura teaches the (B) liquid curing agent comprises 0.5-15% by mass of solids [0129].
Regarding claim 8:
Yamada discloses a primer as previously explained. Yamada teaches the use of an alumina filler (D) in an amount of 1-10% by mass [0033]. Furthermore, Nishimura teaches filler (D) comprises 50% by mass or more of the resin composition of the insulation layer [0197].Therefore, the combination of references suggests ranges of amounts of inorganic filler in each layer, including amounts wherein Nishimura’s insulation layer has a higher content than the content in Yamada’s primer. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to vary the amounts the filler in each layer, including amounts falling within the claimed range, to provide layers in accordance with the teachings of the prior art having the desired properties for a given end use.
Regarding claim 9:
Yamada teaches the primer comprises (A) a multifunctional epoxy resin (thermosetting resin) and (B) a curing agent [abstract; 0015]. Suitable (B) curing agents include methyl himic acid anhydride, which inherently contains a reactive functional group, is liquid, and has a molecular weight in the claimed range.
Regarding claim 11:
Yamada teaches a primer thickness of 1-10 µm [0041].
Regarding claim 12:
Although Nishimura is silent with regard to the mass reduction rate under the claimed conditions, the examiner submits Nishimura’s film meets the claimed requirements because it otherwise comprises the same materials as presently claimed.
Regarding claims 13-14:
Nishimura discloses printed wiring boards and semiconductors comprising the film [0248-0250; 0284-0287].
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishimura (JP 2020-128501) in view of Yamada et al. (JP 2014-187358) as applied above, and further in view of Tsurui (JP 2022-146808).
Note: citations refer to the machine translation of JP ‘501; JP ‘358; and JP ‘808 filed by Applicant on 1/8/2025.
Regarding claim 3:
Nishimura and Yamada disclose a resin film as previously explained. Nishimura discloses a maleimide compound comprising a biphenyl structure [0015-0017].
Nishimura is silent with regard to a maleimide resin comprising a condensed ring comprising an aromatic ring and an aliphatic ring as claimed.
Such resins were known in the art to have utility. For example, Tsurui discloses a resin sheet having excellent mechanical strength and dielectric properties [abstract; 0001; 0007]. The resin comprises two or more types of resins, including maleimide resins [0022-0027]. Suitable maleimide resins include those having a biphenyl structure [0039-0050; also see chemical formulas in original JP ‘808]. Additional resins include those having indane structures [0094-0121]. The use of such structures can improve the glass transition temperature [0119].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use additional maleimide resins, including those containing indane structures as taught by Tsurui, in the resin composition taught by Nishimura to provide their known properties to insulating resin layers as known in the art.
Rejections continue on the next page.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishimura (JP 2020-128501) in view of Yamada et al. (JP 2014-187358) as applied above, and further in view of Kawabe et al. (JP 2015-189926).
Note: citations refer to the machine translation of JP ‘501; JP ‘358; and JP ‘926 filed by Applicant on 1/8/2025.
Regarding claim 10:
Nishimura and Yamada disclose a resin film as previously explained. Nishimura discloses “The thickness of the resin composition layer is preferably 50 μm or less, more preferably 40 μm or less, and even more preferably 30 μm or less, from the viewpoint of making the printed wiring board thinner and being able to provide a cured product having excellent insulating properties even if the cured product of the resin composition is a thin film” at [0252].
Although the reference teaches thinner films are preferred, the reference does not describe any negative effects occur at larger thicknesses. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the thickness of the layer could be adjusted as needed. A change in size (dimension) is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). Additionally, Kawabe discloses an insulation material for electronics which is formed from a resin composition comprising (A) a thermosetting resin, (B) a curing agent, and (E) an inorganic filler [abstract; 0001; 0014-0016; 0071]. The reference teaches the thickness of the insulation layer is not particularly limited but can be up to 200 µm [0101]. As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to vary the thickness of the film, including over values falling within the claimed range, to provide a film in accordance with Kawabe’s teaching that provides the mechanical properties and dimensional desired for a given end use.
Claim(s) 1-2 and 4-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawabe et al. (JP 2015-189926) in view of Yamada et al. (JP 2014-187358).
Note: citations refer to the machine translations of JP ‘926 and JP’358 filed by Applicant on 1/8/2025.
Regarding claim 1:
Kawabe discloses an insulation material for electronics which is formed from a resin composition comprising (A) a polyvinylbenzyl ether compound (thermosetting resin), (B) a vinyl compound having a molecular weight of 100 or more, and (E) an inorganic filler [abstract; 0001; 0014-0016; 0071]. Additional thermosetting resins can be added [0075]. An example (B) vinyl compound includes benzyl acrylate which inherently is a liquid at room temperature and has a molecular weight of less than 1,000 [0164].
Kawabe is silent with regard to a primer layer formed on the insulation layer.
Such materials were known in the art to have utility. For example, Yamada discloses a resin composition for use as a primer layer between an insulating resin layer and a metal layer [abstract; 0001; 0014-0015; 0041].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to add a primer layer to the insulation layer of Kawabe to provide improved adhesion between the insulation layer and a metal layer.
Regarding claim 2:
Kawabe teaches the thermosetting resin can further comprise bismaleimide resins [0075].
Regarding claims 4-6:
Kawabe teaches additional diacrylates which are liquid and have molecular weights of less than 1,000 including 1,4-butanediol diacrylate, 1,6-hexanediol diacrylate, etc. [0049].
Regarding claim 7:
Kawabe teaches 1-80% by mass of component (B) [0058]. As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to vary the amount of component (B), including over amounts falling within the claimed range, to provide a composition in accordance with Kawabe’s teaching that provides the electrical properties, heat resistance, and linear expansion coefficient desired for a given end use.
Regarding claim 8:
Yamada discloses a primer as previously explained. Yamada teaches the use of an alumina filler (D) in an amount of 1-10% by mass [0033]. Furthermore, Kawabe teaches the filler (E) comprises 10-80% by mass of the resin composition of the insulation layer [0073]. Therefore, the combination of references suggests ranges of amounts of inorganic filler in each layer, including amounts wherein Kawabe’s insulation layer has a higher content than the content in Yamada’s primer. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to vary the amounts the filler in each layer, including amounts falling within the claimed range, to provide layers in accordance with the teachings of the prior art having the desired properties for a given end use.
Regarding claim 9:
Yamada teaches the primer comprises (A) a multifunctional epoxy resin (thermosetting resin) and (B) a curing agent [abstract; 0015]. Suitable (B) curing agents include methyl himic acid anhydride, which contains a reactive functional group, is liquid, and has a molecular weight in the claimed range.
Regarding claim 10:
Kawabe teaches the thickness of the insulation layer is not particularly limited but can be up to 200 µm [0101]. As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to vary the thickness of the film, including over values falling within the claimed range, to provide a film in accordance with Kawabe’s teaching that provides the mechanical properties and dimensional desired for a given end use.
Regarding claim 11:
Yamada teaches a primer thickness of 1-10 µm [0041].
Regarding claim 12:
Although Kawabe is silent with regard to the mass reduction rate under the claimed conditions, the examiner submits Nishimura’s film meets the claimed requirements because it otherwise comprises the same materials as presently claimed.
Regarding claims 13-14:
Kawabe discloses printed wiring boards and semiconductors comprising the film [0088-0089].
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawabe et al. (JP 2015-189926) in view of Yamada et al. (JP 2014-187358) as applied above, and further in view of Tsurui (JP 2022-146808).
Regarding claim 3:
Kawabe and Yamada discloses a resin film as previously explained. Kawabe discloses additional resins, including maleimide resin, can be added to the resin composition [0075].
Kawabe is silent with regard to a maleimide resin comprising a condensed ring comprising an aromatic ring and an aliphatic ring as claimed.
Such resins were known in the art to have utility. For example, Tsurui discloses a resin sheet having excellent mechanical strength and dielectric properties [abstract; 0001; 0007]. The resin comprises two or more types of resins, including maleimide resins [0022-0027]. Suitable maleimide resins include those having a biphenyl structure [0039-0050; also see chemical formulas in original JP ‘808]. Additional resins include those having indane structures [0094-0121]. The use of such structures can improve the glass transition temperature [0119].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use additional maleimide resins, including those containing indane structures as taught by Tsurui, in the resin composition taught by Kawabe to provide their known properties to insulating resin layers as known in the art.
Conclusion
/JOHN D FREEMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1787