DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to application 18859630 filed 10/24/24.
Claim(s) 1-2,6-10,15-25,27 and 30 is/are presented for examination.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 1-2,6-10,15-25,27 and 30 is/are objected to because of the following informalities: and/or. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim(s) 1-2,6-10,15-25,27 and 30 is/are unclear to the examiner; what does it mean by stating “the determination of the time period is at least partially based on at least a first obtained parameter and one or more NTN parameters defining a time and/or location relationship between the terminal node and the serving cell”? the claim languages are not very clear what is the claim invention? Since it’s an “or” condition, how does the system work if the claim limitation based on the location? Then what? Would the serving cell still do the selection? Please clarify
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 6-10, 15, 17-19, 21-23, 25, 27 and 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Li, U.S. Pub/Patent No. US 2024/0196294 A1.
As to claim 1, Li teaches a method at a terminal node for performing a cell selection procedure in a non-terrestrial network, NTN, system, the method comprising:
determining whether a serving cell meets a cell selection criterion at time instance T1 (Li, page 4, paragraph 53-54 & 65-68; page 6, paragraph 109-110; i.e., [0053] the NTN may determine information to stop serving an area and/or timing information
(such as a timer or an absolute time) about a new upcoming cell. NTN may provide information for assisting the terminal to perform the cell reselection. The information may be time information when the serving cell may provide a service/stop a service, and the information is used to trigger the UE to measure the neighboring cell. The
information may also be time information of the neighboring cell that are about to provide the service to the terminal or may provide the service to the terminal, so as to assist the terminal to select an appropriate neighboring cell; [0068] the frequency priority of the neighboring cell is lower than the frequency priority of the serving cell or the frequency priority of the neighboring cell is the same as the frequency priority of the serving cell, even if the signal quality of the serving cell is higher than a predefined signal quality threshold, the measurement is performed based on time information); and
in response to determining that a serving cell does not meet a cell selection criterion at time instance T1, determining a time period after which the terminal node initiates a cell selection procedure to find a cell meeting the cell selection criterion (Li, page 5, paragraph 71 & 87; i.e., [0071] in case that the frequency priority of the neighboring cell is lower than the frequency priority of the serving cell, or the frequency
priority of the neighboring cell is equal to the frequency priority of the serving cell, and the signal quality of the serving cell is lower than the predefined signal quality
threshold, that is, srxlev,,,sintraSearchP, the terminal measures the neighboring cell based on the first time; [0087] in response to the first time information being the first service duration, in case that the first service duration is greater than or equal to the service time threshold, it is determined to measure the neighboring cell. in case that the first service duration is less than or equal to the service time threshold, it is determined to measure the neighboring cell), wherein
the determination of the time period is at least partially based on at least a first obtained parameter and one or more NTN parameters defining a time and/or location relationship between the terminal node and the serving cell (Li, page 4, paragraph 53-54 & 65-68; page 6, paragraph 109-110; i.e., [0053] the NTN may determine information to stop serving an area and/or timing information (such as a timer or an absolute time) about a new upcoming cell. NTN may provide information for assisting the terminal to perform the cell reselection. The information may be time information when the serving cell may provide a service/stop a service, and the information is used to trigger the UE to measure the neighboring cell. The information may also be time information of the neighboring cell that are about to provide the service to the terminal or may provide the service to the terminal, so as to assist the terminal to select an appropriate neighboring cell; [0068] the frequency priority of the neighboring cell is lower than the frequency priority of the serving cell or the frequency priority of the neighboring cell is the same as the frequency priority of the serving cell, even if the signal quality of the serving cell is higher than a predefined signal quality threshold, the measurement is performed based on time information).
As to claim 2, Li teaches the method as recited in claim 1, wherein
the method further comprises the UE receiving system information, and
during the time period the UE searches for and measures one or more cells using the intra-frequency, inter-frequency, and inter-RAT information indicated in the system information (Li, page 5, paragraph 71 & 87; i.e., [0071] in case that the frequency priority of the neighboring cell is lower than the frequency priority of the serving cell, or the frequency priority of the neighboring cell is equal to the frequency priority of the serving cell, and the signal quality of the serving cell is lower than the predefined signal quality threshold, that is, srxlev,,,sintraSearchP, the terminal measures the neighboring cell based on the first time; [0087] in response to the first time information being the first service duration, in case that the first service duration is greater than or equal to the service time threshold, it is determined to measure the neighboring cell. in case that the first service duration is less than or equal to the service time threshold, it is determined to measure the neighboring cell).
As to claim 6, Li teaches the method as recited in claim 1, wherein the one or more NTN parameters comprise:
a service time parameter that indicates the time when the serving cell is going to stop serving an area it is currently covering (Li, page 4, paragraph 53-54 & 65-68; i.e., [0054] the NTN may provide information for assisting the terminal to perform the cell reselection. The information may be time information when the serving cell may provide a service/stop a service, and the information is used to trigger the UE to measure the neighboring cell. The information may also be time information of the neighboring
cell that are about to provide the service to the terminal or may provide the service to the terminal, so as to assist the terminal to select an appropriate neighboring cell), and/or
a location parameter that indicates a distance threshold between the terminal node and a reference location of the serving cell.
As to claim 7, Li teaches the method as recited in claim 1, wherein
the one or more NTN parameters comprises a service time parameter, STP, that indicates the time when the serving cell is going to stop serving an area it is currently covering (Li, page 5, paragraph 77 & 82; i.e., [0077] In step S61, a timer duration is determined based on the first service duration, and it is determined to measure
the neighboring cell in response to determining that the timer duration expires; [0082] the first service moment at which the serving cell provides the service, a moment at which the serving cell stops the service is further determined through received first time information. The terminal determines its own current moment, or the system time provided by the network, and compares it with the first service moment),
the first obtained parameter comprises a time threshold, Thr, (Li, page 5, paragraph 71 & 87; i.e., [0071] in case that the frequency priority of the neighboring cell is lower than the frequency priority of the serving cell, or the frequency priority of the neighboring cell is equal to the frequency priority of the serving cell, and the signal quality of the serving cell is lower than the predefined signal quality threshold, that is, srxlev,,,sintraSearchP, the terminal measures the neighboring cell based on the first time; [0087] in response to the first time information being the first service duration, in case that the first service duration is greater than or equal to the service time threshold, it is determined to measure the neighboring cell. in case that the first service duration is less than or equal to the service time threshold, it is determined to measure the neighboring cell) and
the duration of the time period is the lower of Thr and (STP - T1) (Li, page 7, paragraph 126; i.e., [00126] in case that neighboring cell satisfies the S criterion, that is,
S=zev>0 and Squaz>0, the R values of neighboring cells are calculated based on the R criterion, and the ranking is performed based on calculation results of the R values. The
at least one neighboring cell with the maximum R value is determined as the candidate cell. the neighboring cells include 100 cells, of which 50 cells satisfy the S criterion and 50 cells do not satisfy the S criterion).
As to claim 8, Li teaches the method as recited in claim 1, wherein
the one or more NTN parameters comprises a service time parameter, STP, that indicates the time when the serving cell is going to stop serving an area it is currently covering (Li, page 5, paragraph 77 & 82; i.e., [0077] In step S61, a timer duration is determined based on the first service duration, and it is determined to measure
the neighboring cell in response to determining that the timer duration expires; [0082] the first service moment at which the serving cell provides the service, a moment at which the serving cell stops the service is further determined through received first time information. The terminal determines its own current moment, or the system time provided by the network, and compares it with the first service moment), and
if the service time parameter is larger than T1, then the time period starts at T1 and has a duration of D, where D is the first obtained parameter (Li, figure 12).
As to claim 9, Li teaches the method as recited in claim 1, wherein
the one or more NTN parameters comprises a service time parameter, STP, that indicates the time when the serving cell is going to stop serving an area it is currently covering (Li, page 5, paragraph 77 & 82; i.e., [0077] In step S61, a timer duration is determined based on the first service duration, and it is determined to measure
the neighboring cell in response to determining that the timer duration expires; [0082] the first service moment at which the serving cell provides the service, a moment at which the serving cell stops the service is further determined through received first time information. The terminal determines its own current moment, or the system time provided by the network, and compares it with the first service moment), and
if the service time parameter is less than or equal to T1, then then the time period starts at the service time parameter and has a duration of D, where D is the first obtained parameter (Li, page 5, paragraph 88; i.e., [0088] the neighboring cell is lower than or equal to the frequency priority of the serving cell, the first service duration is greater than or equal to the service time threshold, and the signal quality of the serving cell is lower than the predefined signal quality threshold, it is determined
to measure the neighboring cell).
As to claim 10, Li teaches the method as recited in claim 1, wherein
the one or more NTN parameters comprises a service time parameter, STP, that indicates the time when the serving cell is going to stop serving an area it is currently covering (Li, page 5, paragraph 77 & 82; i.e., [0077] In step S61, a timer duration is determined based on the first service duration, and it is determined to measure
the neighboring cell in response to determining that the timer duration expires; [0082] the first service moment at which the serving cell provides the service, a moment at which the serving cell stops the service is further determined through received first time information. The terminal determines its own current moment, or the system time provided by the network, and compares it with the first service moment),
the first obtained parameter comprises a time threshold, Thr, (Li, page 5, paragraph 71 & 87; i.e., [0071] in case that the frequency priority of the neighboring cell is lower than the frequency priority of the serving cell, or the frequency priority of the neighboring cell is equal to the frequency priority of the serving cell, and the signal quality of the serving cell is lower than the predefined signal quality threshold, that is, srxlev,,,sintraSearchP, the terminal measures the neighboring cell based on the first time; [0087] in response to the first time information being the first service duration, in case that the first service duration is greater than or equal to the service time threshold, it is determined to measure the neighboring cell. in case that the first service duration is less than or equal to the service time threshold, it is determined to measure the neighboring cell) and
the duration of the time period is zero if STP ≤ (T1 + Thr) (Li, page 2, paragraph 44; i.e., [0044] The S criterion includes that a cell selection level s,x/ev, is greater than zero, and a cell selection quality squal is greater than zero. That is, Srxzev>O and Squaz>O. A cell selected/reselected by the terminal needs to satisfy the above-mentioned S criterion.).
As to claim 15, Li teaches the method as recited in claim 1, further comprising:
initiating a cell selection procedure for a selected Public Land Mobile Network, PLMN, if no cell is found during the determined time period (Li, page 3, table 1); or
initiating (s130) a cell selection procedure for a selected PLMN immediately after T1 if the time period is determined to be zero.
As to claim 23, Li teaches the method as recited in claim 21, wherein the at least one additional parameter comprises a time threshold after which the terminal node initiates the cell selection procedure (Li, page 4, paragraph 53-54 & 65-68; i.e., [0068] the frequency priority of the neighboring cell is lower than the frequency priority of the serving cell or the frequency priority of the neighboring cell is the same as the frequency priority of the serving cell, even if the signal quality of the serving cell is higher than a predefined signal quality threshold, the measurement is performed based on time information).
Claim(s) 17, 18-19 is/are directed to a method claims and they do not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claim(s) 1, 6-7. Therefore, claim(s) 17, 18-19 is/are also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claim(s) 1, 6-7.
Claim(s) 21, 22 is/are directed to a method claims and they do not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claim(s) 1, 6. Therefore, claim(s) 21, 22 is/are also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claim(s) 1, 6.
Claim(s) 25, 27 & 30 is/are directed to a device claims and they do not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claim(s) 1 Therefore, claim(s) 25, 27 & 30 is/are also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claim(s) 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16 & 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li, U.S. Pub/Patent No. US 2024/0196294 A1 in view of Dhanapal, U.S. Patent/Pub. No. US 2023/0076738 A1.
As to claim 16, Li teaches the method as recited in claim 1. But Li failed to teach the claim limitation wherein the terminal node operates in a low activity RRC state, comprising RRC IDLE mode or RRC INACTIVITE mode.
However, Dhanapal teaches the limitation wherein the terminal node operates in a low activity RRC state, comprising RRC IDLE mode or RRC INACTIVITE mode (Dhanapal, figure 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Li to substitute CA from Dhanapal for (OFDMA from Li to determine whether a data-intensive application or service (such as a voice-over-Internet Protocol (VoIP) application, data streaming application etc.) is achieving a data throughput relative to a specified threshold (Dhanapal, page 1, paragraph 20).
As to claim 20, Li teaches the method as recited in claim 17. But Li failed to teach the claim limitation wherein the time period has a duration of 10 seconds.
However, Dhanapal teaches the limitation wherein the terminal node operates in a low activity RRC state, comprising RRC IDLE mode or RRC INACTIVITE mode (Dhanapal, page 8, paragraph 63; i.e., [0063] initiate a BWP switch time, which may include a predetermine duration of time ( e.g., 10 seconds, 15 seconds, 20 seconds, etc.) for UE 110 to switch from the higher BWP to the lower BWP (at 510)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Li to substitute CA from Dhanapal for OFDMA from Li to determine whether a data-intensive application or service (such as a voice-over-Internet Protocol (VoIP) application, data streaming application etc.) is achieving a data throughput relative to a specified threshold (Dhanapal, page 1, paragraph 20).
Claim(s) 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li, U.S. Pub/Patent No. US 2024/0196294 A1 in view of Kodali, U.S. Patent/Pub. No. US 2021/0345185 A1.
As to claim 24, Li teaches the method as recited in claim 21. But Li failed to teach the claim limitation wherein the at least one additional parameter comprises a rule defining a way to consider a DRX cycle length or an eDRX cycle length in determining the time period.
However, Kodali teaches the limitation wherein the at least one additional parameter comprises a rule defining a way to consider a DRX cycle length or an eDRX cycle length in determining the time period (Kodali, page 11, paragraph 89; i.e., [0089] DRX).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Li to substitute VoLTE from Kodali for OFDMA from Li to cover potential new spectrum offerings from 410 MHz to 7125 MHz (Kodali, page 1, paragraph 4).
Listing of Relevant Arts
Lee, U.S. Patent/Pub. No. US 20240244517 A1 discloses NTN and cell reselection criteria; time point.
Hong, U.S. Patent/Pub. No. US 20230403593 A1 discloses transmission delay, NTN, base stion, threshold value.
Contact Information
THUONG NGUYEN whose telephone number is (571)272-3864. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday 9:00-6:00.
/THUONG NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2416