DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
Abstract is objected to because there is more than 150 words.
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
Appropriate action is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 3 and 16 are objected.
Claim 3: “A sample preparation system according to claim 1,” should be amended to be read as” “The sample preparation system according to claim 1,”
Claim 16, last paragraph “in a mechanical processing unit mechanical processing unit using said transfer unit.” should be amended to be read as “in a mechanical processing unit using said transfer unit.”
Appropriate action is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7, 9-10, 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Geiger , US 5099465 A, in view of Gotkis, US 6994609 B1, and Yap, US 20200017317 A1.
Claim 1
Geiger teaches :
A sample system comprising a surface selection module 4 for identifying one or more discs 5 having a surface (e.g., fig.1 and col.1 lines 10-25, a magazine 4 holding CDs in compartments — a disc-holding module, the discs are compact discs are not materialographic , however preamble is interpreted as intended use not differentiating claim from prior art1),
the surface selection module 4 comprises a support system having three or more shelves (6a-6d), each arranged to support a disc 5 having a surface,
for each shelf 6a-6d, the surface selection module 4 comprises a reflecting surface (in figs.1-2 the electromagnetic waves reflect from disc’s rims or 14, in figs.4-8: reflect from 41 then 35 of disc for scanning position N, in figs.4-7: 37,38 arranged to direct electromagnetic waves 8) arranged to direct electromagnetic waves reflected from a surface correspond to the disc 5 to a sensing position 1,10 located external to the support system (1 is external to 4, col.5 lines 40-65: light conductors 30 (convey a beam from an external source 8/receiver 10 mounted on optics support 31/44, which travels up/down outside the magazine — i.e., an external sensing position fed by per-compartment reflectors/conductors),
the surface selection module 4 further comprises:
an optical sensor (10 in figs.1-2) arranged to sense the absence and presence of disk in the sensing position 1 and to provide an identification output (10 senses reflected light and outputs a voltage U —this signals "disc present/absent," and in figs.7-8 is identifying small or large disc),
the sample system further comprises a transfer unit (cited as “unillustrated means” or “a slide controlled by a Bowden cable”) for transferring a disc 5 (turntable 2 holds the disc, not sample prep, Bowden-cable mechanism moves disc from compartment to turntable, direction 7/e.g., col.2 lines 32-35),
and
a control unit 11 arranged to control the transfer unit in response to the identification output (control of disc selection/ejection in response to an optical signal/e.g., col.2 L.39-42/ last para through col.3 first para, 19-21).
Geiger does not teach:
A sample preparation2 system … for identifying one or more preparation discs having a preparation surface for materialographic sample preparation,
a reflecting surface arranged to direct electromagnetic waves reflected from a characteristic identification mark2, an optical sensor arranged to sense the characteristic identification mark, (Geiger teaches reflecting EWs from 30,37/38/41 built to reflect light off disc geometry, rim, side surface, size off differentiating not off information-bearing mark, also Geiger teaches optical sensor to sense but not sensing the information mark)
the sample preparation system further comprises: a mechanical processing unit comprising a support arrangement with a plane support surface on which the preparation discs may be held in place during sample preparation by means of a fixation arrangement, a transfer unit for transferring a preparation disc having a preparation surface from the support system to the plane support surface of the mechanical processing unit.
Regarding limitation 1 and 3
First of all, there is no limitation in the body of claim further limiting the sample preparation system to a function that is related to a preparation surface for materialographic sample preparation and Geiger’s sample system for Geiger’s discs can have the same claimed function on discs having a preparation surface for materialographic sample preparation. Secondly: In the similar field of endeavor, Gotkis3 in figs.2-4 teaches:
A sample preparation system comprising a surface selection module for one or more preparation discs having a preparation surface for materialographic sample preparation (polishing pad is a disc-like consumable used for materialographic-type surface prep: the core mechanics of Chemical Mechanical Planarization (CMP)—lapping, grinding, and polishing a flat surface—are the exact same physical processes used to prepare material specimens for microscopic examination/e.g., col.4 lines 55-57),
the surface selection module comprises a support system 120 having three or more shelves (e.g., 120a,b,c), each arranged to support a preparation pad 136,142 having a preparation surface (136a),
the sample preparation system further comprises:
a mechanical processing unit comprising a support arrangement 138,150 with a plane support surface 138 on which the preparation discs 136,140,142 may be held in place during sample preparation by means of a fixation arrangement (permanent support element 138, clamps 146a/b + receiving members 148a/b secure the replaceable pad assembly during CMP),
a transfer unit 118 for transferring a preparation disc 136,140,142 having a preparation surface from the support system 120 to the plane support surface 138 of the mechanical processing unit (robot 118 w/ arms 122a/b moves pad assembly between storage garage and permanent support element).
It would have been obvious to use Gotkis’ preparation discs having a preparation surface for materialographic sample preparation for Geiger’s discs to yield the predictable result of a sample preparation system … for identifying one or more preparation discs having a preparation surface for materialographic sample preparation, Gotkis discloses a disc-shaped consumable (polishing pad) handled via multi-shelf storage, robotic transfer, and a clamped plane support surface during genuine surface-finishing operations, a PHOSITA would have been motivated for this modification to apply an automated, sensor-gated disc-selection-and-transfer architecture to materialographic sample preparation for actual surface processing, for a suitable materialographic processing station, combining Gotkis's clamped support-surface/fixation-arrangement teaching with Geiger's shelf/reflecting-surface/sensor-gated transfer architecture is a predictable application of known techniques to achieve the expected result of selecting and mechanically fixturing a disc for processing, motivated by the shared need to reliably locate, retrieve, and mechanically secure disc-shaped articles from multi-position storage.(see MPEP 2143 (A)).
Regarding limitation 2
In the similar field of endeavor, Yap in e.g., fig.12 teaches: A system for identifying (e.g., identifying barcode of articles then making sorting decision) one or more articles 1210 having a surface, a reflecting surface 1212,1214 arranged to direct electromagnetic waves (light/image of barcode) reflected from a characteristic identification mark (barcode ¶0332), an optical sensor 1010 arranged to sense the characteristic identification mark (e.g., ¶0332). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Yap‘s characteristic identification mark for the modified Geiger‘s sample preparation system … for identifying one or more preparation discs having a preparation surface for materialographic sample preparation, a reflecting surface arranged to direct electromagnetic waves reflected from a characteristic identification mark of the modified Geiger’s preparation disc to a sensing position located external to the support system, an optical sensor arranged to sense the characteristic identification mark in the modified Geiger’s sensing position and to provide an identification output accordingly. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to sorting and placing objects to multiple destinations, also reflecting from a characteristic identification mark which are not directly visible to the sensor, increasing the probability of capturing the barcode as suggested by Yap. Furthermore, based on MPEP 2143 (A), courts have ruled that Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results is within the purview of a skilled artisan. See KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421,82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Claim 2
Geiger in view of Gotkis and Yap teaches the sample preparation system according to claim 1, Yap teaches wherein the control unit is arranged, from the identification output, to be able to distinguish between articles of different article types (different barcodes for different grip strategy e.g., ), the motivation is the ability of auto sorting of the articles.
Claim 4
Geiger in view of Gotkis and Yap teaches the sample preparation system according to claim 1, Geiger teaches wherein the support system 4 comprises a plurality of shelves arranged in a stacked configuration (compartments 6a–6d in magazine 4 — CD magazines are conventionally vertically stacked).
Claim 5
Geiger in view of Gotkis and Yap teaches the sample preparation system according to claim 4, wherein the shelves are arranged, so that when each shelf contains a preparation disc, but does not teach the distance (D) between neighboring preparation discs is less than 85 mm, Nonetheless, the skilled artisan would know too that the distance would change the number of disks and therefore the dimensions dictated to robotic instructions. The specific claimed less than 85 mm, absent any criticality, is only considered to be the “optimum” distance disclosed by prior art that a person having ordinary skill in the art would have been able to determine using routine experimentation (see In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)) based, among other things, on the desired configuration or number of articles, manufacturing costs, etc. (see In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)), and neither non-obvious nor unexpected results, i.e. results which are different in kind and not in degree from the results of the prior art, will be obtained as long as the less than 85 mm is used, as already suggested by prior art. Since the applicant has not established the criticality (see next paragraph) of the claimed range stated and since these are in common use in similar devices in the art, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to use these values in the device of Geiger. Please note that the specification contains no disclosure of either the critical nature of the claimed range or any unexpected results arising therefrom. Where patentability is said to be based upon particular chosen dimensions or upon another variable recited in a claim, the applicant must show that the chosen dimensions are critical. In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Claim 7
Geiger in view of Gotkis and Yap teaches the sample preparation system according to claim 1, Yap teaches wherein the characteristic identification mark (barcode) are focused but not expressly cite protrudes less than 0.2 mm from a surface of the preparation disc at which the characteristic identification mark is provided, nonetheless this limitation is rejected based on obviousness and result effective variable unaffected by Yap and as cited above, as cited for claim 5: Where patentability is said to be based upon particular chosen dimensions or upon another variable recited in a claim, the applicant must show that the chosen dimensions are critical. In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Claim 9
Geiger in view of Gotkis and Yap teaches the sample preparation system according to claim 1, Yap teaches wherein the optical sensor is an image sensor (cameras), with same motivation as cited above, besides based on MPEP 2143 (E), courts have ruled that choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success, is within the purview of a skilled artisan. See KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421,82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Claim 10
Geiger in view of Gotkis and Yap teaches the sample preparation system according to claim 1, combined with Yap teaches further comprising a light source arranged to illuminate the characteristic identification mark (barcodes), when a preparation disc is supported by said support system (external lighting configured to shine light onto the object /intelligently controlling the external lighting to improve the visibility of the barcode).
Claim 13
Geiger in view of Gotkis and Yap teaches the sample preparation system according to claim 1, Geiger teaches wherein the reflecting surface is attached to said support system 4 and limitation “arranged above or below said preparation disc 5 when supported by said support system 4 does not change the function of system, nothing in the disclosed specification suggests above/below produces a criticality or unexpected result distinct from side position, under Japikse/Kuhle rearrangement-of-parts reasoning, reinforced by KSR's finite-predictable-solutions framework, Geiger discloses the function and the general reflecting-surface concept; relocating that reflecting surface from side the disc to above or below it is a routine mechanical rearrangement that doesn't alter the device's function, and a skilled artisan would have found it obvious to try one of the small number of available positions to accommodate different system constraints.
Claim 14
Geiger in view of Gotkis and Yap teaches the sample preparation system according to claim 1, although does not disclose wherein the reflecting surface is arranged to provide an angle of reflection (α_r) of the electromagnetic waves between 40-85 degrees, as cited above: Where patentability is said to be based upon particular chosen dimensions or upon another variable recited in a claim, the applicant must show that the chosen dimensions are critical. In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Claim 15
Geiger in view of Gotkis and Yap teaches the sample preparation system according to claim 1, Geiger teaches comprising a displacement system arranged to provide a mutual displacement between the optical sensor (on station 1) and the support system 4 (Playback section 1... is positioned such that it can be displaced... relative to a stationary magazine 4... It is also possible for disk player 1 to be stationary and the magazine to move"— explicitly discloses relative motion in either direction).
Claims 3 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Geiger , US 5099465 A, in view of Gotkis, US 6994609 B1, and Yap, US 20200017317 A1 and Hagen, US 20120029687.
Claim 3
Geiger in view of Gotkis and Yap teaches the sample preparation system according to claim 1, but does not teach wherein the control unit is arranged to control from which shelf the transfer unit transfers a preparation disc from, based on said identification output. In the similar field of endeavor, Hagen teaches the control unit 550 is arranged to control from which shelf (in racks 102 of 100) the transfer unit 112 transfers an article (article holders 1301) from, based on said identification output (scanning database, targeted retrieval as cited e.g., ¶0007,0075,0076,0079, Abstract). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Hagen‘s control unit for the modified Geiger‘s sample preparation system wherein the modified Geiger’s control unit is arranged to control from which shelf the transfer unit transfers a preparation disc from, based on said identification output. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to tie the identifier to a specific rack position, and to drives the robot/transfer mechanism to retrieve that specific item and move it to a dispensing/use location as taught by Hagen, based on MPEP 2143 (A), courts have ruled that Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results is within the purview of a skilled artisan. See KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421,82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Claim 6
Geiger in view of Gotkis and Yap teaches the sample preparation system according to claim 1, combine with Hagen teaches the limitation, as Hagen teaches wherein the characteristic identification mark (barcode) comprises a 2-dimensional (2D) code (Hagen teaches article holder identifiers explicitly include "a one-dimensional or a two-dimensional barcode¶0053), It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Hagen‘s 2-dimensional (2D) code for the modified Geiger‘s characteristic identification mark wherein the modified Geiger’s characteristic identification mark is an image provided at a surface of the modified Geiger’s preparation disc and comprises a 2-dimensional (2D) code as taught by Hagen. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to have a distinguishable, machine-readable disc identifier.
Claim 8 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Geiger , US 5099465 A, in view of Gotkis, US 6994609 B1, and Yap, US 20200017317 A1 and Miller, US10,706,247 B1.
Claim 8
Geiger in view of Gotkis and Yap teaches the sample preparation system according to claim 1, but does not teach wherein the characteristic identification mark is provided on a back surface of the preparation disc opposite to the preparation surface thereof. In the similar field of endeavor, Miller teaches wherein the characteristic identification mark is provided on a back surface of the preparation disc opposite to the preparation surface thereof (laboratory tube's 2D barcode is explicitly on the bottom end of the tube, read through a bottom aperture, while the tube's functional/access opening, its "working surface," analogous to the preparation surface, is at the top. This is a direct structural analog: identification mark deliberately placed on the surface opposite the functional surface, specifically so it doesn't interfere with the functional surface and can be read without disturbing the item in use/, e.g., Abstract/claim 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Miller‘s characteristic identification mark is provided on a back surface of for the modified Geiger‘s preparation disc opposite to the preparation surface thereof. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to have a distinguishable identifier when the best location for identifier limited to the bottom of article as the case for Miller.
Claim 11 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Geiger , US 5099465 A, in view of Gotkis, US 6994609 B1, and Yap, US 20200017317 A1 and Carnavile, US7431251 B2.
Claim 11
Geiger in view of Gotkis and Yap teaches the sample preparation system according to claim 1, but does not teach wherein said fixation arrangement includes magnetic means in the support arrangement as well as in the preparation discs, and wherein the preparation discs are held in place on the plane support surface due to mutual magnetic attraction between the support arrangement and the preparation discs. In the similar field of endeavor, Carnavile teaches fixation arrangement includes magnetic means 18,34 in the support arrangement 12 as well as in the device H, and wherein the structure 22 are held in place on the plane support surface 20 due to mutual magnetic attraction between the support arrangement 12 and the structure (22: A flat support surface (support pad 12) with a permanent magnet (18) embedded/retained close to that surface.(The item to be held (handheld device H) is retained by magnetic attraction thin sheet or plate of ferrous material (34) affixed to the device via adhesive tape...is thereby removably retained against the support pad by magnetic attraction… and is held flat/flush). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Carnavile‘s magnetic means for the modified Geiger‘s fixation arrangement includes magnetic means in the modified Geiger‘s support arrangement as well as in the modified Geiger‘s preparation discs, and wherein the modified Geiger‘s preparation discs are held in place on the modified Geiger‘s plane support surface due to mutual magnetic attraction between the support arrangement and the preparation discs as taught by Carnavile. One of ordinary skill in the art knows magnetic means as known mechanism of fixation would have been motivated to make this modification in order to provide a fast, non-destructive connection that requires no drilling or permanent structural changes, and based on based on MPEP 2143 (B), courts have ruled that Simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results, is within the purview of a skilled artisan. See KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421,82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Claim 12 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Geiger , US 5099465 A, in view of Gotkis, US 6994609 B1, and Yap, US 20200017317 A1 and Richter, US 6749160 B1.
Claim 12
Geiger in view of Gotkis and Yap teaches the sample preparation system according to claim 1, but does not teach wherein said fixation arrangement includes suction means arranged to provide a low pressure region in contact with the preparation disc and wherein the preparation disc is held in place on the plane support surface due to the low pressure region. In the similar field of endeavor, Richter teaches fixation arrangement includes suction means (Suction disc/cup 2, operating rod 4, actuating member 9, biasing spring 7 — the whole vacuum-generating mechanism) arranged to provide a low pressure region in contact with the housing 1 and wherein the preparation disc is held in place on the plane support surface (smooth surface) due to the low pressure region (a vacuum is generated between the suction cup and the smooth surface by which the suction cup and, together therewith the housing is firmly attached to the smooth surface"). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Richter‘s suction means for the modified Geiger‘s preparation disc wherein the modified Geiger’s fixation arrangement includes suction means arranged to provide a low pressure region in contact with the modified Geiger’s preparation disc and wherein the preparation disc is held in place on the modified Geiger’s plane support surface due to the low pressure region. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to use a known fixation technique for its high clamping force without mechanical distortion and based on based on MPEP 2143 (B), courts have ruled that Simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results, is within the purview of a skilled artisan. See KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421,82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Geiger , US 5099465 A, in view of Gotkis, US 6994609 B1, and Hagen, US 20120029687.
Claim 16
Geiger teaches:
A method of identifying one or more preparation discs for materialographic sample preparation (preamble of claim is interpreted as intended use4), wherein the method comprises the steps of
providing a support system 4 having three or more shelves (6a-6d) and one or more discs 5 each comprising a surface, wherein the discs 5 are distributed into said shelves 6a-6d,
providing an optical sensor 10 in a sensing position 1, wherein the sensing position 1 is provided with electromagnetic waves (9 from 8 then reflected from rim or side surface of disc) from a one of the discs 5, by reflecting the electromagnetic waves using a reflecting surface (light conductor 30 diverts beam onto disc, reflected beam returned to photoelectric element 10 at sensing position on optics support 31 — external to magazine/ in figs.1-2 the electromagnetic waves reflect from disc’s rims or 14, in figs.4-8: reflect from 41 then 35 of disc for scanning position N, figs.4-7: 37,38 arranged to direct electromagnetic waves from 8),
detecting a presence/reflectivity/being small or large identity of disc by the optical sensor 10 and providing an identification output (voltage Us, signal e.g., col.6 lines 40-41/col.3 line 19-21) accordingly, wherein the identification output contain data of its associated shelf (photoelectric signal confirms presence/reflectivity at whatever shelf is currently being scanned),
controlling (by 11) a selection of a disc 5 by a transfer unit (cited as “unillustrated means” or “a slide controlled by a Bowden cable”) controlled by a control unit 11 based on said identification output (control of disc selection/ejection in response to an optical signal), and
placing the selected disc using said transfer unit (disc conveyed to turntable 2 via unillustrated slide/Bowden-cable mechanism).
Geiger does not teach :
preparation discs each comprising a preparation surface,
wherein the sensing position is provided with electromagnetic waves from a characteristic identification mark of one of the preparation discs5,
detecting the characteristic identification mark by the optical sensor and providing an identification output accordingly, wherein the identification output contain data on the identified preparation disc and its associated shelf4, placing the selected disc in a mechanical processing unit mechanical processing unit, controlling a selection of a preparation disc,
placing the selected disc in a mechanical processing unit mechanical processing unit using said transfer unit.
First of all, there is no limitation in the body of claim further limiting the method to a function that is related to a preparation surface for materialographic sample preparation and Geiger’s sample system and method can have the same claimed function on discs having a preparation surface for materialographic sample preparation. Secondly: In the similar field of endeavor, Gotkis teaches: A method of identifying one or more preparation discs for materialographic sample preparation (polishing pad is a disc-like consumable used for materialographic-type surface prep, and controlling (control unit 124) a preparation disc (pads 140,142), placing (using 118) the disc (pad 142) in a mechanical processing unit 138 mechanical processing unit using said transfer unit 118.It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Gotkis‘ preparation discs for materialographic sample preparation and mechanical processing unit for Geiger‘s method. One of ordinary skill in the art knows the system is not limited to the disks and would have been motivated to make this modification in order to combine known automated methods and have a predictable result of an automated system which controlling a preparation disc by a transfer unit controlled by a control unit based on said identification output, and placing the preparation disc in a mechanical processing unit mechanical processing unit using said transfer unit as based on MPEP 2143 (A), courts have ruled that Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results is within the purview of a skilled artisan. See KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421,82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
The combination of Geiger and Gotkis does not teach wherein the sensing position is provided with electromagnetic waves from a characteristic identification mark of one of the preparation discs, detecting the characteristic identification mark by the optical sensor and providing an identification output accordingly, wherein the identification output contain data on the identified preparation disc and its associated shelf, placing the selected disc in a mechanical processing unit mechanical processing unit, controlling a selection of a preparation disc, placing the selected disc in a mechanical processing unit mechanical processing unit using said transfer unit.
In the similar field of endeavor, Hagen in e.g., figs. 13-1 to 13-4 besides figs.1-5 teaches:
A method of identifying one or more object 1301 (article holders e.g., 1301 and identifiers 940, including 2D barcode/RFID, are scanned and associated via system database with a specific rack row/column 102 at the time of cataloging/storage, before any retrieval request, Hagen further teaches: wherein the sensing position (reader 1306 ) is provided with information from a characteristic identification mark (identifier 940) of one of the objects 1301, detecting the characteristic identification mark 940 by the reader 1306 and providing an identification output accordingly (article holder identifiers, including 2D barcode/RFID, are scanned and associated via system database with a specific rack row/column at the time of cataloging/storage, before any retrieval request — this pre-built identity-to-location association is what the claimed "identification output" requires), wherein the identification output contain data on the identified preparation disc and its associated shelf (article holder identifiers, including 2D barcode/RFID, are scanned and associated via system database with a specific rack row/column at the time of cataloging/storage), controlling (using 550: system controller looks up database entry from scanned identifier, directs robot to retrieve that specific holder from its known shelf) a selection of an article holder 1301, placing the selected (article holder robot delivers holder to dispensing/use station) article holder 1301 in a unit 100 using said transfer unit (112).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Hagen‘s characteristic identification mark for the modified Geiger‘s preparation discs and providing a characteristic identification mark of one of the modified Geiger’s preparation discs, detecting the modified Geiger’s characteristic identification mark by the optical sensor and providing an identification output accordingly, wherein the identification output contain data on the modified Geiger’s identified preparation disc and its associated shelf, placing the modified Geiger’s selected disc in a mechanical processing unit mechanical processing unit, controlling a selection of a preparation disc, placing the modified Geiger’s selected disc in a mechanical processing unit mechanical processing unit using said transfer unit. One of ordinary skill in the art knows database-association technique of Hagen would have been motivated to make this modification in order to yield the predictable result of a method wherein the identification output is generated to contain data on both the identified disc and its associated shelf, consistent with ordinary skill and common sense rather than any unexpected or non-obvious technical achievement, as based on MPEP 2143 (A), courts have ruled that Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results is within the purview of a skilled artisan. See KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421,82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Conclusion
/FATEMEH ESFANDIARI NIA/Examiner, Art Unit 2855
1 the examiner notes that typically no patentable distinction is made by an intended use or result unless some structural difference is imposed by the use or result on the structure or material recited in the claim, or some manipulative difference is imposed by the use or result on the action recited in the claim. Such intended use limitations would not distinguish a claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus that satisfies all the structural limitations of the claimed apparatus, in this case, the intended use (preparation discs for materialographic sample preparation) did not impose any limit on the interpretation of the claim. see MPEP 2111.04.
2 Emphasis added to note Greig teaches limitations 1 and 2 except where it is shown with bold
3 Prior art of record
4 the examiner notes that typically no patentable distinction is made by an intended use or result unless some structural difference is imposed by the use or result on the structure or material recited in the claim, or some manipulative difference is imposed by the use or result on the action recited in the claim. Such intended use limitations would not distinguish a claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus that satisfies all the structural limitations of the claimed apparatus, in this case, the intended use (preparation discs for materialographic sample preparation) did not impose any limit on the interpretation of the claim. see MPEP 2111.04.
5 Emphasis added to note Geiger teaches limitations 2,3, and 4 except for the parts of claimed limitation shown as bold