DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-8, 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S Publication number 2023/0243302 A1 to PRETINI (PRETINI) in view of U.S Publication number 2013/0068284 A1 to BEARDSWORTH et al. (BEARDSWORTH), U.S Patent number 5449568 to MICHELI et al. (MICHELI), and U.S Patent number 8250847 B2 to RAPP et al. (RAPP).
Re: Claim 1:
PRETINI discloses:
A low emission compression station for pipe line (¶0001, ¶0033: compressors for compressing gas in pipeline for transportation and optimization of emissions as explained in ¶0033, therefore using compressor for its intended use in transporting and optimization of emission for a pipe line is therefore explicitly taught by PRETINI), wherein the compression station comprises :
one or more compressors (¶0001, ¶0033: compressors), each compressor being coupled with an electric machine (See Fig. 1: ¶0033: gas turbines, electric motors/generators, and compressors/pumps may be coupled together and as recited in claim 15), wherein the electric machine (See Fig. 1: ¶00085-¶0086: electric motor/generator 32 can be connected to a solar panel power plant 432, to a wind power plant 433, to a hydrothermal power plant 434, or to a thermal power plant 435, or to any general power grid, such a grid is not a requirement as it has been specified as one of the options, therefore it is implied that the system is operable as an off-grid power plant) is coupled with at least one mechanical drive gas turbine and/or at least one fuel cell, wherein the electric machine and/or the mechanical drive gas turbine and/or the at least one fuel cell are sized to comply with both process needs and electric loads (See Fig. 1: ¶00085-¶0086: the sizing to comply with both process needs and electric loads are inherent/implied to regulate the system as a matter of design choice depending on the system requirement) and are controlled by a supervision system (See Fig. 1: control logic unit 2), the station lacking a connection to a power grid of power generation island (See Fig. 1: ¶00085-¶0086: it implicitly discloses a grid-independent operation , since PRETINI discloses that the electric motor/generator 32 may be connected to a solar panel power plant 432 or to a wind power plant 433 or to a hydrothermal power plant 434 or thermal power plant 435 or to a grid , therefore grid is only one of the options not necessity for the claimed low emission compression station).
As regards sizing and as explained above, such a sizing of off-grid power plants is well known in the art as explicitly taught by U.S Publication number 2013/0068284 A1 to BEARDSWORTH et al. (BEARDSWORTH: See Figs. 1-5: ¶0003: discloses Off-grid systems are typically small (e.g., 10s of kilowatts at most) and tied closely to an energy storage system such as a system of deep-cycle lead acid batteries or, in some cases, to a fueled gen-set. In an off-grid configuration, the energy stored in the battery acts as a buffer between energy production and demand, therefore, short-term variability, such as peak collection, in the solar resource may not be an issue) , therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to size the claimed apparatus in accordance to the off-grid system requirement, because such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of the claimed apparatus, therefore one of ordinary skill in the art would have sized the electric machine accordingly. Furthermore, a change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.04 IV A.
As regards deploying fuel cells coupled with compressor and gas turbine system, this is well known in the art to deploy fuel cells instead of electric machines/electric generators, such a system is explicitly taught by U.S Patent number 5449568 to MICHELI et al. (MICHELI: See Fig.1: col. 5 lines 33-36).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to employ solid oxide fuel cells as explicitly taught by MICHELI, because MICHELI discloses deploying fuel cells can be provided either before or after gas turbines, since such turbine systems will provide an indirect-fired gas-turbine cycle bottomed with a fuel-cell cycle whereby the gas turbine can be operated at optimum pressures for efficient power conversion (MICHELI: See Fig.1: col. 1 lines 61-66).
PRETINI , BEARDSWORTH and MICHELI are silent regarding:
However, it is well known in the art that hydrogen storage system is configured to generate hydrogen to supply hydrogen to a pipe line and onward to a mechanical drive gas turbine, such a system is explicitly taught by U.S Patent number 8250847 B2 to RAPP et al. (RAPP: See Fig. 1, discloses hydrogen storage 122 supplying hydrogen via a pipe line to a mechanical drive gas turbine 111).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to position a hydrogen storage in the low emission compressor station to supply hydrogen via pipe to a mechanical drive gas turbine, which is beneficial since using hydrogen in gas turbines reduces upfront construction costs of such a gas turbine system (RAPP: col. 2 lines 41-56).
Re: Claim 2:
PRETINI modified by BEARDSWORTH , MICHELI and RAPP discloses:
The low emission compression station according to claim 1, modified PRETINI discloses all the limitations of claim 1, and wherein the supervision system is interfaced with the compression station components digital optimizers (PRETINI : See Fig. 1: ¶0043, ¶0045-¶0048: control system interfaces compression station components digital optimizers which includes driven compressor outlet pressure or temperature or inlet flow or outlet temperature of outlet pressure).
Re: Claim 3:
PRETINI modified by BEARDSWORTH , MICHELI and RAPP discloses:
The low emission compression station according to claim 1, modified PRETINI discloses all the limitations of claim 1, and wherein the supervision system includes a digital optimizer (PRETINI : See Fig. 1: ¶0035: the control logic unit 2 is configured to receive data from several sources 4, and therefore as much types of variables and data, used as input of the monitoring and controlling method, based on an optimization algorithm).
Re: Claim 4:
PRETINI modified by BEARDSWORTH , MICHELI and RAPP discloses:
The low emission compression station according to claim 1, modified PRETINI discloses all the limitations of claim 1, and wherein the compression station is integrated with energy storage devices (PRETINI : See Fig. 1: ¶0040: grid energy storage 431).
Re: Claim 6:
PRETINI modified by BEARDSWORTH , MICHELI and RAPP discloses:
The low emission compression station according to claim 1, modified PRETINI discloses all the limitations of claim 1, and wherein the compression station is integrated with auxiliary energy sources (PRETINI : See Fig. 1: ¶0040: discloses solar or wind energy plants 432, 433).
Re: Claim 7:
PRETINI modified by BEARDSWORTH , MICHELI and RAPP discloses:
The low emission compression station according to claim 6, modified PRETINI discloses all the limitations of claim 1, and wherein the auxiliary energy sources include renewable energy sources (PRETINI : See Fig. 1: ¶0040: discloses renewable energy auxiliary sources such as solar or wind energy plants 432, 433).
Re: Claim 8:
PRETINI modified by BEARDSWORTH , MICHELI and RAPP discloses:
The low emission compression station according to claim 1, modified PRETINI discloses all the limitations of claim 1, and wherein the supervision system is configured to manage the at least one mechanical drive gas turbine (PRETINI : See Fig. 1: as recited in claim 1) and/or at least one fuel cell.
Re: Claim 10:
PRETINI modified by BEARDSWORTH , MICHELI and RAPP discloses:
The low emission compression station according to claim 1, modified PRETINI discloses all the limitations of claim 1, and wherein the electric machines coupled with the mechanical drive gas turbines form hybrid mechanical drive gas turbines (PRETINI : See Fig. 1: ¶0034, ¶0040: discloses hybrid gas turbine system).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable BEARDSWORTH, PRETINI in view of MICHELI and RAPP as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of U.S Patent number 3866433 A to KRUG (KRUG).
Re: Claim 5:
PRETINI modified by BEARDSWORTH , MICHELI and RAPP discloses:
The low emission compression station according to claim 1, modified PRETINI discloses all the limitations of claim 1, and modified PRETINI is silent regarding:
wherein the compression station is integrated with a battery pack . however it is well known in the art to position storage battery to power pumps or compressor motors , such a system is explicitly taught by b U.S Patent number 3866433 A to KRUG (KRUG: col. 8 lines 55-68 and col. 9 lines 1-10). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify PRETINI to position a storage batter for operating compressor in the event of motor failure as explicitly taught by KRUG which would have been advantageous and yielded similar advantages in the system of PRETINI.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable BEARDSWORTH, PRETINI in view of MICHELI and RAPP as applied to claim 1 above, and as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of U.S Publication number 2007/0100503 A1 to BALAN et al. (BALAN).
Re: Claim 9:
PRETINI modified by BEARDSWORTH , MICHELI and RAPP discloses:
The low emission compression station according to claim 1, modified PRETINI discloses all the limitations of claim 1, and wherein the electrical supervision system is configured to manage the loads shedding although PRETINI is silent regarding electrical supervision system is configured to manage the loads shedding, however such a supervision is well known in the art, such a controller supervision is explicitly taught by b U.S Publication number 2007/0100503 A1 to BALAN et al. (BALAN: ¶0021: uncontrollable loads are included to facilitate making decisions about load shedding by the controller 17). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify control logic disclosed by PRETINI as explicitly taught by BALAN which would have been advantageous and yielded similar advantages in the system of PRETINI.
PRIOR ART
The examiner notes that U.S Patent 9404623 to KAPOOR prior art of record is also pertinent to claim 1 in the logical intended use of compression system for pipelines in well-sites for transporting gas more efficiently.
Conclusion
/SHAFIQ MIAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746 June 17, 2026