DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on October 24, 2024 has been considered by the examiner.
Drawings
Five sheets for formal drawings were filed October 24, 2024 and have been accepted by the Examiner.
Specification
Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
The claims are objected to for the following reasons(s):
Regarding claim 1, “an-other” should be replaced with “another” and “op-tics” should be replaced with “optics” for grammatical purposes.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Abe (US 2012/0230669 A1 from Applicant’s Information Disclosure Statement).
Regarding claim 1, Abe discloses a micro-optics (11 in Fig. 2), in particular for connection to an optical fiber or a substrate (paragraph 0040 discloses electrodes 21 connected to a mounting board, which is a substrate), comprising an optics module (14), wherein the optics module has at least one optical element (27a) and at least one cavity (space directly below 27a) directly adjacent to one side of the optical element, and a sleeve (16) completely surrounding the optics module, wherein the sleeve and the optics module are connected to one another with a light-impermeable adhesive (15), and wherein the light-impermeable adhesive forms an aperture (region between “B” on each side is an aperture) of the optics module.
Regarding claim 2, Abe discloses a first end face of the optics module is directly connected to an optical fiber or a substrate in paragraph 0040, which discloses electrodes 21 connected to a mounting board.
Regarding claim 3, Abe discloses an annular gap is formed between the optics module and the sleeve, wherein the annular gap is filled by the adhesive (15) and in particular completely surrounds the optics module in Fig. 2.
Regarding claim 5, Abe discloses the sleeve is a metal sleeve and/or a light-impermeable sleeve in paragraph 0037.
Regarding claim 6, Abe discloses the aperture is formed by an annular recess of the optics module which is filled by the adhesive in Fig. 2.
Regarding claim 7, Abe discloses the annular recess has a ventilation hole (hole between end surface “B” and electrode 21 in Fig. 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 8 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abe (US 2012/0230669 A1 from Applicant’s Information Disclosure Statement).
Regarding claim 4, Abe teaches the claimed invention except for the optics module has spacer elements. However, spacer elements are ubiquitous in the art of optical devices and as such, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to use spacer elements, wherein the spacer elements extend radially outwards and are in direct contact with the sleeve, for the purpose of forming a frictional attachment, enhancing the alignment and connection.
Regarding claims 8 and 14, Abe further discloses a manufacturing method comprising providing an optics module (14), providing a sleeve (16), inserting the optics module into the sleeve, and inserting a light-impermeable adhesive between the sleeve and the optics module in Figs. 8-10. Abe teaches the claimed invention except for specifically stating the adhesive is spread between the optics module and the sleeve by capillary force. However, capillary force as a means of spreading a liquid material is a natural phenomenon and is well known in the art of optical devices and as such, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to use capillary force in order to spread the adhesive without external assistance, simplifying the manufacturing process.
Claims 9-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abe (US 2012/0230669 A1 from Applicant’s Information Disclosure Statement) in view of Thiele et al. (US 10,654,232 B2 from Applicant’s Information Disclosure Statement).
Regarding claims 9-13, Abe teaches the claimed invention except for the cavity having at least one opening. Thiele discloses a micro-optics (50 in Fig. 3a), comprising an optics module (14), wherein the optics module has at least one optical element (10, 20, 30) and at least one cavity (13) directly adjacent to one side of the optical element, wherein the at least one cavity has at least one opening (15). Since both inventions relate to optical devices, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to use a cavity having at least one opening as disclosed by Thiele in the micro-optics of Abe, for the purpose of permitting non-hardened or non-polymerized paint to drain, allowing for manufacturing by a 3D printing process. Further, various methods for suppressing the capillary effect are well known and commonly used in the art and as such, one of ordinary skill would find it obvious to create a pressure in the cavity, to form a contact element with a weakly wetting surface, or to form a contact element with an angle to the axial direction which is less than or equal to the contact angle of the adhesive to substantially suppress or compensate for the capillary effect in order to prevent the adhesive from entering the cavity, which would block or degrade the transmission of light.
Conclusion
Any inquiry of a general or clerical nature should be directed to the Technology Center 2800 receptionist at telephone number (571) 272-1562.
Chris H. Chu
/CHRIS H CHU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874 September 29, 2026