Status of Claims
This is a FINAL Rejection to Amendments and Arguments filed by Applicant on 05/15/2026. Claims 1 and 8 have been amended. Currently pending for review are Claims 1-8.
Response to Amendment
Regarding the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) Rejections made in the Office Action filed on 02/18/2026. Amendments/Remarks & Arguments filed by Applicant on 05/15/2026 correct the rejection and/or are persuasive. Therefore, the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) Rejections made in the Office Action filed on 02/18/2026 has been withdrawn unless otherwise indicated below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sarkozi (US 5009417).
Regarding Claim 1, Sarkozi teaches a lower body exercise equipment that is disposed on a bed, the lower body exercise equipment comprising: a first support element 13 comprising a plate disposed on an upper surface of the bed; a second support element 16 comprising a plate spaced apart from the first support element in a longitudinal direction; a connection element 14,15 disposed between the first support element and the second support element in the longitudinal direction, connecting the first support element to the second support element and having a variable length (Refer to Fig. 1&2 to depict that the connection element 14,15 change lengths by being folded); and a stand 11,12 comprising a body 29 arranged at one side of the first support element 14,15 the body 29 being supported by a support panel 11 disposed at an end of the bed 25,26.
Regarding Claim 2, Sarkozi continues to teach wherein a distance between the first support element 13 and the second support element 16 changes as the variable length of the connection element 14,15 changes (Refer to Figs. 1&2 to depict that the connection element 14,15 changes length via folding and changes the distance between first support element 13 and second support element 16).
Regarding Claim 3, Sarkozi continues to teach wherein the first support element 13 and the second support element comprise a plastic material slidable with respect to the upper surface of the bed 25,26 (Refer to Cols 2-3 Lines 68-2:” When using sheets constructed of an inflexible material such as hard plastics, wood or chipboard, the fold lines 17-21 may be hinged.”).
Regarding Claim 7, Sarkozi continues to teach wherein the stand 11,12 comprises one or more length adjustment members (hinge) on a surface of the stand in contact with the support panel 25,26 (Refer to Fig. 1-3, the Office takes the position that the hinge changes the length of the stand).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sarkozi (US 5009417) in view of Essex et al (US 20200282257 A1).
Regarding Claim 4, Sarkozi teaches the claimed invention as noted above but fails to teach wherein the connection element comprises a deformable fabric material. Essex et al teaches an exercise board comprising foldable hinges made of fabric (Refer to Paragraph [0047]:” The hinge may be configured with padding, beveling, protective fabric and the like to reduce the chance of pinching or other injuries to the user during use.”). Essex et al is analogous with Applicants invention in that they both teach exercise platforms and therefore it would have been obvious to modify the connection element 14,15 such that they comprise fabric at the hinges since Essex et al teaches that such material is known in the art for the intended use and therefore does not patentably distinguish the invention over prior arts.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 6, and 8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: Sarkozi is the closest prior art to the claimed invention but fails to teach the claimed invention as a whole being further comprising a pair of guides detachably disposed on an upper surface of the first support element and arranged parallel to each other at both edges of the first support element in a width direction and/or wherein the stand further comprises an angle adjustment member comprising: a footrest; a pair of first links extending from both sides of the footrest and supported by a support surface; a pair of second links rotating integrally with the footrest and extending diagonally toward the second support element; and a third link connecting the pair of second links to each other.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 05/15/2026 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NYCA T NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3784