DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 2 and 4-5 include performing steps “for a predetermined duration”. This is indefinite and does not sufficiently describe what is claimed.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the intermediate solution being incubated". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. This claim should depend upon claim 2.
Claims 6-15 describe analytical techniques, not a coating method. It is unclear how taking a sample occurs and how it is necessary for the coating method in the claims. Further, it is noted, that any result from a commercially available analytical method would naturally flow from the claimed method, thus making it neither novel nor obvious.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the one or more samples". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (WO 2022/098528 A1) in view of Limketkai et al. (US 2017/0274097 A1)
As to claim 1, Wang et al. teaches a method for developing an antimicrobial fabric (p8), the method comprising: coating a metal organic framework solution on a polypropylene fabric (fibers p 7, line 10-30); forming an MOF-coated fabric (p7-8); and loading a benzalkonium chloride (BAC)-based surfactant on the MOF-coated fabric to develop the antimicrobial fabric (p 5). Wang et al. does not teach the metal organic framework is a cyclodextrin-based metal organic framework (CD-MOF-1).
Limketkai et al. teaches a metal organic framework that includes an antibacterial molecule (para 0007-0008). The metal organic framework is a cyclodextrin-based metal organic framework (abstract) that is widely used for various applications due to their abilities to form inclusion compounds (para 0003) that can be coated on a wide variety of materials, including fabrics/patches (para 0064).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Wang et al. to include that its metal organic framework is a cyclodextrin-based metal organic framework (CD-MOF-1) as taught by Limetkai et al. teaches they hold antibacterial molecules as inclusion compounds and can be coated on a wide variety of materials, including fabrics/patches.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2 or 5 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The prior art does not teach the particular method steps.
Conclusion
KELLY M. GAMBETTA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1718
/KELLY M GAMBETTA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1718