20DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Morita (JP2021126860).
Re claim 1, Morita discloses thermal recording linerless label comprising adhesive layer and undercoat layer, i.e. insulation layer [12]. The undercoat layer comprises heat expandable hollow particles (corresponding to claimed first hollow particles), non-heat-expandable hollow particles (corresponding to claimed second hollow particles), and styrene/butadiene copolymer, i.e. matrix polymer [86]. The heat expandable hollow particles are organic [23].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishibashi (JP2008149623) in view of Morita (JP2021126860).
Re claim 1, Ishibashi discloses thermal recording material [1] comprising a multilayer structure of two or more undercoats [49] where the undercoat layers comprise organic hollow particles, thermally expandable particles, and adhesive resin, i.e. matrix polymer [51]. One of the undercoat layers would correspond to the claimed insulation layer and the other undercoat layer would correspond to he claimed adhesive layer. The undercoat layer comprises 20-90 wt.% organic hollow particles [54] and 1-80 wt.% thermally expandable particles [55].
Ishibashi does not disclose that the thermally expandable particles are hollow.
Morita discloses undercoat layer comprising heat expandable organic hollow particles [22-23]. The heat expandable organic hollow particles produce a thermal recording material with high heat insulation and excellent color sensitivity [21].
In light of the motivation for using heat expandable organic hollow particles disclosed by Morita as described above, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the heat expandable organic hollow particles as the thermally expandable particles of Ishibashi in order to produce thermal recording material with high heat insulation and excellent color sensitivity.
Re claim 2, while Ishibashi in view of Morita disclose the use of 1-80 wt.% heat expandable organic hollow particles in the undercoat or insulation layer, there is no disclosure of the amount of heat expandable organic hollow particles in vol.% as presently claimed. However, given the broad range in wt% disclosed by Ishibashi in view of Morita and given the broad range in vol% presently claimed, it is clear that the amount of heat expandable organic hollow particles in Ishibashi in view of Morita would overlap that presently claimed.
Re claim 3, while Ishibashi in view of Morita disclose the use of 20-90 wt.% organic hollow particles and 1-80 wt.% heat expandable organic hollow particles in the undercoat or insulation layer, there is no disclosure of the volume ratio of organic hollow particles to heat expandable organic hollow particles as presently claimed. However, given the broad ranges in wt% disclosed by Ishibashi in view of Morita and given the broad volume ratio presently claimed, it is clear that the volume ratio of organic hollow particles to heat expandable organic hollow particles in Ishibashi in view of Morita would overlap that presently claimed.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishibashi (JP2008149623) in view of Morita (JP2021126860) and further in view of Fukunaga (US 2018/0326772).
The references are relied upon above.
Re Claim 4, Ishibashi discloses the use of adhesive resin in the undercoat layer including polyacrylic acid ester [58-59], however, there is no disclosure of a compound of formula (1) as claimed.
Fukunaga discloses thermal recording medium comprising undercoat layer [16] where the undercoat layer comprises acrylic resin [31] that is a polyethylene glycol di(meth)acrylate ester [45, 54] and would therefore be necessarily be made from monomer corresponding to claimed formula (1). The acrylic resin is essential to achieve dye barrier properties and solvent resistance [31].
In light of the motivation for using polyethylene glycol di(meth)acrylate ester disclosed by Fukunaga as described above, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the polyethylene glycol di(meth)acrylate ester as the polyacrylic acid ester of Ishibashi in view of Morita in order to produce thermal recording material with dye barrier properties and solvent resistance.
In view of the forgoing, the above claims have failed to be patently distinguishable over prior art.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments are moot in view of the amendment and new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
TAMRA L. DICUS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1787
/TAMRA L. DICUS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1787