Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/28/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to applicant’s arguments beginning on page 9, the examiner disagrees that Van der Schaar fails to disclose identifying a first and second Moire interference component. The applicant argues that the referenced sections of Van der Schaar disclose the grating pitches with p1 and p2. The examiner agrees. However, within that same disclosure in P.0064 and P.0065 discloses that with those grating pitches of p1 and p2, Moire pitches pM are defined, a first pM based on a first pitch p1 and a second pM based on second pitch p2. The pitches define the grating sizes (P.0063) but those pitches are used to calculate the Moire interference pattern signal (P.0061).
The rejection is maintained as previously presented but updated to include the claim amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10 and 21-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Van der Schaar U.S. Publication 2022/0035255.
With respect to claim 1, Van der Schaar discloses a target for measuring parameter comprising:
Obtaining an interference pattern for a measurement structure, wherein the interference pattern arises from interference of radiation from a first grating of the measurement structure at a first pitch in a first layer and a second grating at a second pitch in a second layer of the measurement structure (P.0043, P.0070, P.0063)
Identifying a first Moire interference component in the interference pattern, the first Moire interference component being other than the first pitch and the second pitch (P.0064, Moire pitch component = pM based on p1, P.0070)
Identifying a second Moire interference component in the interference pattern (P.0065, Moire pitch component = pM based on p2, P.0070)
Determining a measurement of a parameter of interest in a manufacturing process based on the first Moire interference component and the second Moire interference component (P.0072, measurement parameter = overlay)
With respect to claim 2-6, 8, VAN DER SCHAAR discloses all of the limitations as applied to claim 1 above. In addition, VAN DER SCHAAR discloses:
2, 21- illuminating the measurement structure with incident radiation; and detecting the interference pattern at a detector (P.0070)
3, 22- the determining comprises determining the parameter of interest based on a relationship between the first Moire interference component and the second Moire interference component (P.0071, pairs of orders imply a relationship between them)
4, 23- the determining comprises determining the parameter of interest based on a phase shift between the first Moire interference component and the second Moire interference component (P.0070, phase of Moire fringe)
5, 24- wherein the parameter of interest in the manufacturing process comprises at least one selected from: of an overlay offset, an overlay offset error, a measure of focus, a dose, a measure of geometrical variation, a measure of geometric dimension, a measure of symmetry, a measure of asymmetry, or a combination selected therefrom thereof (P.0072, an overlay offset error = overlay measurement)
6, 25- identifying a first Moire interference component along an additional direction in the interference pattern; identifying a second Moire interference component along the additional direction in the interference pattern; and determining a measure of a parameter of interest in the manufacturing process in the additional direction based on the first Moire interference component along the additional direction and the second Moire interference component along the additional direction (Figure 6, 7, wherein the first Moire interference component 632 is in one direction x, second Moire interference component 635 along a second direction y, P.0070)
8, 27- identifying the first Moire interference component comprises identifying the first Moire interference component in a frequency transform of the interference pattern and wherein identifying the second Moire interference component comprises identifying the second Moire interference component in a frequency transform of the interference pattern (P.0072, Fourier analysis = frequency transform, “of the combined signals” = first interference component and second interference component)
With respect to claim 7 and 26, VAN DER SCHAAR discloses all of the limitations as applied to claim 1 above. In addition, VAN DER SCHAAR discloses:
The first grating is a composite grating (P.0043) with grating elements at the first pitch and a third pitch (P.0009, first grating = 1st sub-target, wherein first pitch = first pitch, third pitch = second pitch)
The first Moire interference component arising from the first pitch and the second pitch (P.0062, P.0063, wherein the interference is between the top gratings = 1st pitch and 2nd pitch, 2nd pitch = bottom grating, 1st pitch = top grating p1)
The second Moire interference component arising from the second pitch and the third pitch (P.0063, 2nd pitch = bottom grating, 3rd pitch = top grating p2)
3. With respect to claims 9 and 10, VAN DER SCHAAR discloses all of the limitations as applied to claim 1 above. In addition, VAN DER SCHAAR discloses:
• A processor (P.0082, processor)
• At least one non-transitory, machine readable medium having instructions thereon, the instructions when executed by a processor system being configured to cause the processor system to perform at least the method of claim 1 (P.0082-83)
With respect to claim 28 and 29, VAN DER SCHAAR discloses all of the limitations as applied to claim 9 above. In addition, VAN DER SCHAAR discloses:
The first Moire interference component comprises a component of the interference pattern at a first periodicity and the second Moire interference component comprises a component at a second periodicity (inherent that the patterns have a periodicity by definition)
The first and second periodicity is a multiple of at least one of the Moire pitch, the first/second pitch, or a combination thereof (P.0065, P.0066, inherent that the Moire interference pattern has a periodicity as a multiple of the Moire pitch and first/second pitch)
Conclusion
/REBECCA C BRYANT/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2877