DEATILED ACTION
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it exceeds 150 words. Correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 25-26, 28 36-37, 49 and 73 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (US 2011/0305295).
Regarding claim 1, Kim teaches a wireless device, WD, configured to communicate with a network node, the WD comprising processing circuitry configured to: receive a first signaling from the network node, the first signaling including a first channel state information reference signal, CSI-RS, measurement configuration, the first CSI-RS measurement configuration indicating a first plurality of ports to measure (Paragraphs [0096]-[0097]; [0099]; [0121] describes the UE receives signaling contains a CSI-RS pattern indicator identifying the CSI-RS pattern the UE uses. This is the first CSI-RS measurement configuration. Each CSI-RS pattern consists of Res labeled 0 through 7, which correspond to antenna ports 0 to 7. The configuration therefore indicates a first plurality of ports. These are ports to measure because the UE performs channel estimation on the CSI-RS at those positions);
receive a second signaling from the network node, the second signaling including a CSI-RS port muting pattern indication indicating a modified CSI-RS measurement configuration muting at least one muted port of the first plurality of ports (Paragraphs [0052]; [0096]; [0111]; [0113] describes separate notification of the muting pattern after the CSI-RS pattern has been configured. Also discloses dedicated muting signals, namely a 1-bit on/off signal and an N-bit muting signal. Any of these is a “second signaling” distinct from the signaling that transmitted the CSI-RS Pattern);
and perform at least one CSI-RS measurement on at least one port of the first plurality of ports using the modified CSI-RS measurement configuration and omitting measurements on the at least one muted port (Paragraphs [0093]; [0095]; [0121]-[0122] describes the UE determines both the CSI-RS positions and the muting positions from the received signaling. Its controller passes both sets of positions to the RS decimator. The UE then extracts the CSI-RS and performs channel estimation producing CQI/PMI/RI. This measurement uses the configuration as modified by the muting pattern. REs identified as muted carry no signal and are treated as muted. The RS decimator therefore does not extract CSI-RS from them. Measurement is performed only on the non-muted CSI-RS ports and is omitted on the muted ports ).
Regarding claim 25, Kim teaches A method implemented in a wireless device, WD, configured to communicate with a network node, the method comprising: receiving a first signaling from the network node, the first signaling including a first channel state information reference signal, CSI-RS, measurement configuration, the first CSI-RS measurement configuration indicating a first plurality of ports to measure (Paragraphs [0096]-[0097]; [0099]; [0121] describes the UE receives signaling contains a CSI-RS pattern indicator identifying the CSI-RS pattern the UE uses. This is the first CSI-RS measurement configuration. Each CSI-RS pattern consists of Res labeled 0 through 7, which correspond to antenna ports 0 to 7. The configuration therefore indicates a first plurality of ports. These are ports to measure because the UE performs channel estimation on the CSI-RS at those positions);
receiving a second signaling from the network node, the second signaling including a CSI-RS port muting pattern indication indicating a modified CSI-RS measurement configuration muting at least one muted port of the first plurality of ports (Paragraphs [0052]; [0096]; [0111]; [0113] describes separate notification of the muting pattern after the CSI-RS pattern has been configured. Also discloses dedicated muting signals, namely a 1-bit on/off signal and an N-bit muting signal. Any of these is a “second signaling” distinct from the signaling that transmitted the CSI-RS Pattern);
and performing at least one CSI-RS measurement on at least one port of the first plurality of ports using the modified CSI-RS measurement configuration and omitting measurements on the at least one muted port (Paragraphs [0093]; [0095]; [0121]-[0122] describes the UE determines both the CSI-RS positions and the muting positions from the received signaling. Its controller passes both sets of positions to the RS decimator. The UE then extracts the CSI-RS and performs channel estimation producing CQI/PMI/RI. This measurement uses the configuration as modified by the muting pattern. REs identified as muted carry no signal and are treated as muted. The RS decimator therefore does not extract CSI-RS from them. Measurement is performed only on the non-muted CSI-RS ports and is omitted on the muted ports).
Regarding claim 26, Kim teaches wherein the method further comprises determining the modified CSI-RS measurement configuration based on the CSI-RS port muting pattern indication (Paragraphs [0093]; [0098]-[0099]; [0114]-[0115]; [0121] describes the UE receives the muting signaling and determines the muting positions by interpreting that signaling. The result is a set of CSI-RS positions with the muted positions removed. That set is the modified CSI-RS measurement configuration, and the UE determines it based on the received muting indication. The UE’s controller derives the muting pattern from the received muting pattern indicator. Indication carries port identifiers, as shown in Table 1 (antenna port identifier field 4, 5). The UE therefore determines which ports of its configured CSI-RS are muted ).
Regarding claim 28, Kim teaches wherein method further comprises receiving a third signaling including a first list of CSI-RS port muting options; and the CSI-RS port muting pattern indication including an index value corresponding to one of the first list of CSI-RS port muting options (Paragraphs [0050]; [0098]; [0108]; [0113]; [0115] describes for the UE to resolve an identifier or an identifier of mapping information, the set of muting patterns and their identifiers must already be shared between eNB and UE. Muting patterns are established through negotiation between the transmitter and receiver or are notified by the eNB by physical layer or higher layer signaling ).
Regarding claim 36, Kim teaches wherein the omitting comprises omitting sampling of CSI-RS symbols associated with the at least one muted port (Paragraphs [0057]; [0093]; [0122]; describes omitting sampling of CSI-RS symbols associated with the at least one muted port).
Regarding claim 37, Kim teaches wherein the first CSI-RS measurement configuration configures a first plurality of resource elements for measurements; and the method further comprising determining at least one empty resource element of the first plurality of resource elements based on the CSI-RS port muting pattern indication (Paragraphs [0012]; [0057]; [0093];[0099]; [0114]; [0121] describes the signaled CSI-RS pattern is a defined set of Res, numbered 0-7 per the antenna ports. The UE extracts CSI-RS at those Res for channel estimation. The UE’s controller determines the muted (empty) RE positions by interpreting the received muting signaling. In the port-based case, it derives the RE positions from the signaled port information. This determines at least one empty resource element based on the CSI-RS port muting pattern indication ).
Claims 49 and 73 are rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 25 respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Shahmohammadian (US 2023/0336225).
Regarding claim 27, Kim doesn’t teach wherein the method further comprises: receiving correlation information indicating that a first plurality of CSI-RS measurements associated with the first CSI-RS measurement configuration is not correlated in time with a second plurality of CSI-RS measurements associated with the modified CSI-RS measurement configuration, the correlation information being received in one of: the first signaling; the second signaling; and
at least one additional signaling from the network node.
However, in analogous art Shahmohammadian teaches wherein the method further comprises: receiving correlation information indicating that a first plurality of CSI-RS measurements associated with the first CSI-RS measurement configuration is not correlated in time with a second plurality of CSI-RS measurements associated with the modified CSI-RS measurement configuration, the correlation information being received in one of: the first signaling; the second signaling; and at least one additional signaling from the network node (Paragraphs [0070]; [0089]; [0092]; [0112]-[0115] describes non-correlation between measurements under the first configuration and measurements under the modified configuration).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kim to incorporate the teachings of Shahmohammadian the UE reports an estimated Doppler shift value, derived from pairing CSI acquisition with TRS transmission, to help the network predict channel evolution. (Shahmohammadian , [0005]-[0014]).
Claim 34 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Lee et al. (US 2013/0194931).
Regarding claim 34, Kim doesn’t teach wherein the second signaling is one of a downlink control information, DCI, signaling and medium access control, MAC, control element, CE, signaling, and wherein the DCI signaling includes at least one of an application delay and a validity timer.
However, in analogous art Lee teaches wherein the second signaling is one of a downlink control information, DCI, signaling and medium access control, MAC, control element, CE, signaling, and wherein the DCI signaling includes at least one of an application delay and a validity timer (Paragraphs [0344]; [0345]; [0348]; [0349]; [0427] describes DCI signaling includes at least one of an application delay and a validity timer).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kim to incorporate the
teachings of Lee a wireless device to receive and decode an enhanced downlink control channel to enable correct channel estimation (Lee, Paragraphs [0398]-[0412]).
Claim(s) 30-31, 38, 41-44 and 45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Wang et al. (US 2025/0351068).
Regarding claim 30, Kim doesn’t teach wherein the method further comprises: determining a muted port estimate; and transmitting, to the network node, a third signaling including an indication of the muted port estimate.
However, in analogous art, Wang teaches wherein the method further comprises: determining a muted port estimate; and transmitting, to the network node, a third signaling including an indication of the muted port estimate (Paragraphs [0038]-[0039]; [0284]; [0299]; [0306]; [0319]; [0322] describes transmitting an indication of the muted port estimate).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kim to incorporate the
teachings of Wang an indication of the muted port estimate to Compres signaling and selects one active pattern dynamically (Wang, Paragraphs [00309]-[00316]).
Regarding claim 31, Kim in view of Wang, Kim teaches wherein the method further comprises receiving the CSI-RS port muting pattern indication from the network node in response to the transmission of the indication of the muted port estimate; and interpreting the CSI-RS port muting pattern indication from the network node as an implicit indication of a confirmation of the muted port estimate (Paragraphs [0038]-[0039]; [0284]; [0299]; [0306]; [0319]; [0322] describes interpreting the CSI-RS port muting pattern indication from the network node as an implicit indication of a confirmation of the muted port estimate).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Kim into the combination of Wang for the same reason as claim 30 above.
Regarding claim 38, Kim in view of Wang, Wang teaches wherein: the method further comprises receiving, from the network node, a resource element indication indicating the at least one empty resource element is usable for at least one of: a data reception; inter-cell interference measurements; and an inaction; and wherein the resource element indication is one of: statically preconfigured by higher layer signaling; dynamically indicated in one of a muting command and a skipping command; associated with a single slot; and associated with a periodic pattern of slots (Paragraphs [0242]; [0256]; [0294]-[0296] describes REs that no longer carry any signal (empty). The signaling from the network node indicates that particular REs are punctured, and the UE treats them as non-existent. This is an indication that the empty REs are for inaction).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Kim into the combination of Wang for the same reason as claim 30 above.
Regarding claim 41, Kim in view of Wang, Kim teaches wherein the method further comprises: receiving a deactivation indication; and deactivating the resource element indication responsive to receiving the deactivation indication (Paragraphs [0052]; [0111]; [0113]; [0120]-[0121] describes the UE determines the muting positions from the most recently received muting signaling. When that signaling is off or No muting the UE operates regardless of a muting pattern. It no longer treats the previously indicated Res as empty or muted, and those Res revert to the no-muting configuration of Fig.1 (b) where they carry data. This is deactivating the resource element indication in response to the deactivation indication).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Kim into the combination of Wang for the same reason as claim 30 above.
Regarding claim 42, Kim in view of Wang, Kim teaches wherein the method further comprises entering a sleep state during a first complete symbol period based on: the at least one empty resource element corresponding to the first complete symbol period; and the resource element indication indicating the at least one empty resource element is usable for an inaction during the first complete symbol period (Paragraphs [0009]; [0118] describes indicating the at least one empty resource element is usable for an inaction during the first complete symbol period).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Kim into the combination of Wang for the same reason as claim 30 above.
Regarding claim 43, Kim in view of Wang, Kim teaches wherein the method further comprises: determining a data reception configuration for the at least one empty resource element based on the resource element indication indicating the at least one empty resource element is usable for data reception during the first complete symbol period (Paragraphs [0067]; [0013]; [0044]; [0093]; [0118]; [0123] describes the resource element indication indicating the at least one empty resource element is usable for data reception during the first complete symbol period).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Kim into the combination of Wang for the same reason as claim 30 above.
Regarding claim 45, Kim in view of Wang, wang teaches wherein the method further comprises resetting at least one channel estimation filter for the first plurality of ports responsive to receiving the CSI-RS port muting pattern indication (Paragraphs [0269]; [0319]; [0328] describes channel estimation filter for the first plurality of ports responsive to receiving the CSI-RS port muting pattern indication).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Kim into the combination of Wang for the same reason as claim 30 above.
Claim 44 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Behravan et al. (US 2015/0208263).
Regarding claim 44, Kim doesn’t teach wherein the method further comprises transmitting a fourth signaling to the network node indicating a request for a different CSI-RS muting pattern based on an uplink buffer state of the WD.
However, in analogous art Behravan wherein the method further comprises transmitting a fourth signaling to the network node indicating a request for a different CSI-RS muting pattern based on an uplink buffer state of the WD (Paragraphs [0039]; [0122]-[0131]; [0181] describes signaling to the network node indicating a request for a different CSI-RS muting pattern based on an uplink buffer state of the device).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kim to incorporate the teaching of Behravan the network control node first determines the current conditions that may affect performance in the cluster cell, then chooses the best type of reference signals and measurements for those conditions, and finally uses the resulting measurements to configure a UE-specific transmission-point set (Behravan, Paragraphs [00014]-[00018]).
Claim 46 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Khoryaev et al. (US 2022/0191830).
Regarding claim 46, Kim doesn’t teach wherein the CSI-RS port muting pattern indication indicates a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state; and the at least one muted port being associated with the TCI state.
However, in analogous art Khoryaev teaches wherein the CSI-RS port muting pattern indication indicates a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state; and the at least one muted port being associated with the TCI state (Paragraphs [0038]; [0172]-[0173] describes a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state; and the at least one muted port being associated with the TCI state).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kim to incorporate the teaching of Khoryaev sending downlink positioning reference signals, or PRS, in a 5G wireless network so a device can determine its location more accurately (Khoryaev, Paragraphs [0021]-[0022]).
Claim 47 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Bontu et al. (US 2018/0241521).
Regarding claim 47, Kim doesn’t teach wherein the method further comprises autonomously adjusting at least one parameter of the first CSI-RS measurement configuration for the modified CSI-RS measurement based on a number of muted ports indicated by the CSI-RS port muting pattern indication being less than a number of ports configured for the first CSI-RS measurement configuration, wherein autonomously adjusting the at least one parameter includes adjusting a first number of symbols configured for the first CSI-RS measurement configuration to a second number of symbols configured for the modified CSI-RS measurement configuration, the second number of symbols being less than the first number of symbols.
However, in analogues art Bontu teaches wherein the method further comprises autonomously adjusting at least one parameter of the first CSI-RS measurement configuration for the modified CSI-RS measurement based on a number of muted ports indicated by the CSI-RS port muting pattern indication being less than a number of ports configured for the first CSI-RS measurement configuration, wherein autonomously adjusting the at least one parameter includes adjusting a first number of symbols configured for the first CSI-RS measurement configuration to a second number of symbols configured for the modified CSI-RS measurement configuration, the second number of symbols being less than the first number of symbols (Paragraphs [0042]; [0049]; [0068] describes adjusting at least one parameter of the first CSI-RS measurement configuration for the modified CSI-RS measurement based on a number of muted ports indicated by the CSI-RS port muting pattern indication being less than a number of ports configured for the first CSI-RS measurement configuration ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kim to incorporate the teaching of Bontu by reusing muted resources for other users and splitting large clusters into sub-clusters when antenna counts exceed eight. Overall, the invention is aimed at better coordination, better scheduling, and more reliable CSI in coordinated multi-cell LTE/LTE-Advanced networks (Bontu, Paragraphs [0024]-[0026]).
Conclusion
/M.W.K./Examiner, Art Unit 2464
/KAN YUEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2464