Specification
2. The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: There are multiple instances of "statis TDD feature" which should be corrected to "static TDD feature.".
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
3. Claim 14 is objected to because of the following informality: There is a spelling error in "statis time-division duplexing (TDD) feature ". This should be corrected to "static time-division duplexing (TDD) feature." Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 20 is objected to because of the following informality: There is a spelling error in "statis time-division duplexing (TDD) feature ". This should be corrected to "static time-division duplexing (TDD) feature." Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-4, 6-7, 13, 16, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Xu et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 20230354362 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Xu teaches a method, comprising: receiving, by a processor of a user equipment (UE), a configuration in a subband-fullduplex (SBFD) radio access network (RAN) ([0005]: Techniques relate to improved methods that support resource block set allocation for subband full duplex operation. The base station may communicate one or more aspects of the configuration to a user equipment (UE).); and applying, by the processor, the configuration ([0160]: The processor 1040 may be configured to cause the device 1005 to perform various functions (e.g., functions or tasks supporting resource block set allocation for subband full duplex operation).), wherein, in an event that the configuration comprises a downlink (DL) or uplink (UL) cluster configuration, the applying of the configuration comprises applying the DL or UL cluster configuration to a set of groups of resource blocks (RBs) ([0005]: The base station may transmit a downlink control information message to the UE that indicates, for each resource block set of the multiple resource block sets, a communication direction for the resource block set. Examiner note: the broadest reasonable interpretation of a method (or process) claim having contingent limitations requires only those steps that must be performed and does not include steps that are not required to be performed because the condition(s) precedent are not met (MPEP 2111.04 II Contingent Limitations). Accordingly, patentable weight may not be given because this applying step is not performed when the configuration does not comprise a downlink or uplink cluster configuration.).
Regarding claim 3, Xu teaches the method of claim 1 and further teaches wherein the DL or UL cluster configuration comprises a single cluster with one group of RBs of the set of groups of RBs ([0089]: The configuration may indicate a first resource block set of the of the multiple resource block sets has an uplink communication direction.) spanning an entire allocation of RBs to a DL or UL bandwidth part (BWP) ([0094]: The available resource blocks in each LBT bandwidth may be referred to as a resource block set. [0021]: Each resource block set of the set of resource block sets may be included within a listen before talk bandwidth. [0022]: Each listen before talk bandwidth may be a bandwidth part.).
Regarding claim 4, Xu teaches the method of claim 1 and further teaches wherein the applying of the configuration comprises applying DL or UL clusters ([0102]: guard band configuration 405 may include UL resource block set 415-a, UL resource block set 415-b, DL resource block set 415-c, and DL resource block set 415-d.) each spanning a subband ([0053]: For full duplex operation, the resource block sets may be used and configured for a time period as uplink (UL) or downlink (DL). ) of a DL or UL bandwidth part (BWP) ([0070]: a single BWP for a carrier may be active at a given time and communications for the UE 115 may be restricted to one or more active BWPs. [0068]: UE 115 may be configured for operating over portions (e.g., a sub-band, a BWP) or all of a carrier bandwidth. ).
Regarding claim 6, Xu teaches the subject matter disclosed in claims 1 and 4, and further teaches wherein a guard band (GB) size is zero ([0100]: a guard band may have a zero frequency size or zero bandwidth.).
Regarding claim 7, Xu teaches the subject matter disclosed in claims 1 and 4, and further teaches wherein a guard band (GB) size is non-zero ([0100]: each DL guard band may be configured to have some frequency size or bandwidth.).
Regarding claim 13, Xu teaches the method of claim 1 and further teaches wherein the applying of the configuration comprises applying a dynamic time-division duplexing (DTDD) feature ([0104]: a direction bitmap may be transmitted in a downlink control information message (e.g., DCI format 2_0). Examiner note: DCI format 2_0 is the mechanism used to dynamically switch flexible time slots via slot form indicators.) that selects between a DL bandwidth part (BWP) and an UL BWP ([0021]: Each resource block set of the set of resource block sets may be included within a listen before talk bandwidth. [0022]: Each listen before talk bandwidth may be a bandwidth part. [0089]: The configuration may indicate a first resource block set of the of the multiple resource block sets has an uplink communication direction and the configuration may indicate that a second resource block set of the of the multiple resource block sets has a downlink communication direction.) in one or more slots or symbols ([0053]: For full duplex operation, the resource block sets may be used and configured for a time period as uplink (UL) or downlink (DL). [0088]: DCI 215 indicates a slot format.).
Regarding claim 16, Xu teaches an apparatus implementable in an application server side network, comprising: a transceiver configured to communicate with one or more network nodes of the network [0157]: The transceiver 1020 may communicate bi-directionally, via one or more antennas, wired, or wireless links.; and a processor coupled to the transceiver and configured to perform operations comprising ([0007]: An apparatus for wireless communications at a UE is described. Examiner note: A UE necessarily contains a processor that is coupled to a UE.): receiving, via the transceiver, a configuration in a subband-fullduplex (SBFD) radio access network (RAN) ([0005]: Techniques relate to improved methods that support resource block set allocation for subband full duplex operation. The base station may communicate one or more aspects of the configuration to a user equipment (UE).); and applying the configuration ([0160]: The processor 1040 may be configured to cause the device 1005 to perform various functions (e.g., functions or tasks supporting resource block set allocation for subband full duplex operation).), wherein, in an event that the configuration comprises a downlink (DL) or uplink (UL) cluster configuration, the applying of the configuration comprises applying the DL or UL cluster configuration to a set of groups of resource blocks (RBs) ([0005]: The base station may transmit a downlink control information message to the UE that indicates, for each resource block set of the multiple resource block sets, a communication direction for the resource block set.).
Regarding claim 19, Xu teaches the subject matter disclosed in claim 16 and further teaches wherein the applying of the configuration comprises applying a dynamic time-division duplexing (DTDD) feature ([0104]: a direction bitmap may be transmitted in a downlink control information message (e.g., DCI format 2_0). Examiner note: DCI format 2_0 is the mechanism used to dynamically switch flexible time slots via slot form indicators.) that selects between a DL bandwidth part (BWP) and an UL BWP ([0021]: Each resource block set of the set of resource block sets may be included within a listen before talk bandwidth. [0022]: Each listen before talk bandwidth may be a bandwidth part. [0089]: The configuration may indicate a first resource block set of the of the multiple resource block sets has an uplink communication direction and the configuration may indicate that a second resource block set of the of the multiple resource block sets has a downlink communication direction.) in one or more slots or symbols ([0053]: For full duplex operation, the resource block sets may be used and configured for a time period as uplink (UL) or downlink (DL). [0088]: DCI 215 indicates a slot format.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 5, 8-12, 14-15, 17-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 20230354362 A1) in view of Grant et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 20250254018 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Xu teaches the subject matter of claim 1, but Xu fails to teach the subject matter disclosed in claim 2.
However, Grant does teach wherein the receiving of the configuration comprises receiving the configuration in a radio resource control (RRC) information element (IE) defining a set of clusters ([0128]: in one embodiment, the received information is provided via RRC signaling using one or more IEs (e.g., TDD-DL-UL-ConfigCommon IE and TDD-DL-UL-ConfigDedicated IE including one or more SBFD parameters. [0090]: A new parameter is defined in order to configure a new SBFD capable UE. This parameter is described herein as being contained within the UE-specific IE TDD-DL-UL-ConfigDedicated, this should be viewed as a non-limiting example. [0092]: new parameter for SBFD capable UEs enables indication of at least two sets of contiguous RBs, called RB sets for each symbol configured for SBFD operation. [0096]: the new parameter additionally enables explicit indication of the transmission direction for each of the configured RB sets). Xu teaches a subband full duplex configuration and scheduling method in which carriers are divided into multiple resource block sets separated by guard bands, and bitmaps are used to indicate the cluster, resource block set direction, and availability. Grant teaches a subband full duplex scheduling method that extends the existing Rel-17 time division duplex configuration IEs by specifying a new parameter defining RB sets, each with an assigned direction. Grant also amends the existing TDD procedures to operate per RB set rather than per whole symbol, and specifies UE behavior. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Xu's teachings with that of Grant's in order to extend the existing Rel-17 TDD configuration procedures to support subband operation while maintaining legacy UE operationality (Grant [0079]).
Regarding claim 5, Xu teaches the subject matter of claims 1 and 4, but Xu fails to teach claim 5.
However, Grant does teach wherein the receiving of the configuration comprises receiving the configuration in a system information block (SIB) ([0014]: The first IE is cell specific (common to all UEs) and is provided by broadcast signaling. It provides the number of slots in the TDD pattern via a reference subcarrier spacing and a periodicity such that the S-slot pattern repeats every S slots. ) or via a semi-static radio resource control (RRC) signaling (0025]: the DL/UL direction for some or all of the ‘F’ symbols in a particular slot can be provided to the UE in a semi-static manner by Radio Resource Control (RRC). Xu teaches a subband full duplex configuration and scheduling method in which carriers are divided into multiple resource block sets separated by guard bands, and bitmaps are used to indicate the cluster, resource block set direction, and availability. Grant teaches a subband full duplex scheduling method that extends the existing Rel-17 time division duplex configuration IEs by specifying a new parameter defining RB sets, each with an assigned direction. Grant also amends the existing TDD procedures to operate per RB set rather than per whole symbol, and specifies UE behavior. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Xu's teachings with that of Grant's in order to extend the existing Rel-17 TDD configuration procedures to support subband operation while maintaining legacy UE operationality (Grant [0079]).
Regarding claim 8, Xu teaches the subject matter of claim 1 but fails to teach claim 8.
However, Grant does teach wherein the applying of the configuration comprises applying a combination of one or more restrictions from a list of restrictions, and wherein the list of restrictions comprises restrictions on one or more of: a number of configured DL and UL cluster combinations ([0098]: In another variation, a restricted set of combinations is defined, and an index indicates which combination from the restricted set is configured.[0099]:For the example of three RB sets, and exemplary restricted set consists of two combinations {D-U-D, U-D-U} and an index selects which combination is configured.). Xu teaches a subband full duplex configuration and scheduling method in which carriers are divided into multiple resource block sets separated by guard bands, and bitmaps are used to indicate the cluster, resource block set direction, and availability. Grant teaches a subband full duplex scheduling method that extends the existing Rel-17 time division duplex configuration IEs by specifying a new parameter defining RB sets, each with an assigned direction. Grant also amends the existing TDD procedures to operate per RB set rather than per whole symbol, and specifies UE behavior. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Xu's teachings with that of Grant's in order to extend the existing Rel-17 TDD configuration procedures to support subband operation while maintaining legacy UE operationality (Grant [0079]).
Regarding claim 9, Xu teaches the subject matter of claim 1 but fails to teach claim 9. However, Grant does teach wherein the applying of the configuration comprises applying a subband layout pattern in which ([0092]: The new parameter for SBFD capable UEs enables indication of at least two sets of contiguous RBs, called RB sets for each symbol configured for SBFD operation.): a subband partitioning is constant over all slots ([0104]: if there are 100 RBs in each SBFD symbol and there is a D-U-D split in each SBFD symbol, the same RB sets (or subbands) are used for the D-U-D split in all of the SBFD symbols. Examiner note: under BRI, “constant over all slots” is interpreted to mean constant over the slots in which the subband partitioning occurs, the SBFD slots.); or the subband partitioning varies periodically ([0014]: The first IE is cell specific provides the number of slots in the TDD pattern via a reference subcarrier spacing and a periodicity such that the S-slot pattern repeats every S slots.) following the subband layout pattern ([0104]: In another embodiment, the subbands, or RB sets, for which SBFD operation is configured may be different for different SBFD symbols in the TDD pattern. So, for example, if there are 100 RBs in each SBFD symbol and there is a D-U-D split in each SBFD symbol, different RB sets (or subbands) may be used for the D-U-D split in two or more of the SBFD symbols). Xu teaches a subband full duplex configuration and scheduling method in which carriers are divided into multiple resource block sets separated by guard bands, and bitmaps are used to indicate the cluster, resource block set direction, and availability. Grant teaches a subband full duplex scheduling method that extends the existing Rel-17 time division duplex configuration IEs by specifying a new parameter defining RB sets, each with an assigned direction. Grant also amends the existing TDD procedures to operate per RB set rather than per whole symbol, and specifies UE behavior. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Xu's teachings with that of Grant's in order to extend the existing Rel-17 TDD configuration procedures to support subband operation while maintaining legacy UE operationality (Grant [0079]).
Regarding claim 10, Xu in view of Grant teaches the subject matter disclosed in claims 1 and 9. Grant further teaches wherein the UE is configured with a number of cluster combinations ([0097]: In one variation, each RB set is configured as either ‘D’, ‘U’, or ‘F’ leading to N3 possible combinations where N is the number of RB sets.) and the subband layout pattern which is applied periodically over multiple slots ([0104]: In another embodiment, the subbands, or RB sets, for which SBFD operation is configured may be different for different SBFD symbols in the TDD pattern. [0014]: The first IE is cell specific provides the number of slots in the TDD pattern via a reference subcarrier spacing and a periodicity such that the S-slot pattern repeats every S slots.). Xu teaches a subband full duplex configuration and scheduling method in which carriers are divided into multiple resource block sets separated by guard bands, and bitmaps are used to indicate the cluster, resource block set direction, and availability. Grant teaches a subband full duplex scheduling method that extends the existing Rel-17 time division duplex configuration IEs by specifying a new parameter defining RB sets, each with an assigned direction. Grant also amends the existing TDD procedures to operate per RB set rather than per whole symbol, and specifies UE behavior. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Xu's teachings with that of Grant's in order to extend the existing Rel-17 TDD configuration procedures to support subband operation while maintaining legacy UE operationality (Grant [0079]).
Regarding claim 11, Xu in view of Grant teaches the subject disclosed in claims 1 and 9. Xu further teaches wherein each flag of the sequence of flags indicates when a respective cluster is enabled or disabled ([0090]: bitmap 220 may indicate availability of the resource block sets. In some examples, a binary 0 in bitmap 220 may indicate a resource block set is available and binary 1 in bitmap 220 may indicate a resource block set is unavailable). Grant further teaches wherein each cluster with which the UE is configured is either a DL cluster or an UL cluster ([0089]: The configuration may indicate a first resource block set of the of the multiple resource block sets has an uplink communication direction and the configuration may indicate that a second resource block set of the of the multiple resource block sets has a downlink communication direction.), wherein each cluster has a sequence of flags equal in length to a periodicity of the subband layout pattern ([0103]: the SBFD indication parameter is a bitmask, wherein each bit represents a slot or a symbol in the corresponding TDD pattern (or only the ‘F’ slots or symbols in the TDD pattern) in a time-ascending order, with 1 indicating a SBFD slot or symbol and 0 indicating a ‘F’ slot or symbol. [0014]: The first IE is cell specific provides the number of slots in the TDD pattern via a reference subcarrier spacing and a periodicity such that the S-slot pattern repeats every S slots.). Xu teaches a subband full duplex configuration and scheduling method in which carriers are divided into multiple resource block sets separated by guard bands, and bitmaps are used to indicate the cluster, resource block set direction, and availability. Grant teaches a subband full duplex scheduling method that extends the existing Rel-17 time division duplex configuration IEs by specifying a new parameter defining RB sets, each with an assigned direction. Grant also amends the existing TDD procedures to operate per RB set rather than per whole symbol, and specifies UE behavior. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Xu's teachings with that of Grant's in order to extend the existing Rel-17 TDD configuration procedures to support subband operation while maintaining legacy UE operationality (Grant [0079]).
Regarding claim 12, Xu in view of grant teaches the subject matter disclosed in claims 1 and 9. Grant further teaches wherein the UE is configured with a single pool of clusters common to UL and DL transmissions ([0092 - 0094]: The new parameter for SBFD capable UEs enables indication of at least two sets of contiguous RBs, called RB sets for each symbol configured for SBFD operation. In one non-limiting example (see FIG. 12 ), three RB sets are configured, where the configuration for each RB set consists of the following: Start RB index, and Number of contiguous RBs.), and wherein a direction of each cluster in the pool of clusters is selected individually ([0096]: the new parameter additionally enables explicit indication of the transmission direction for each of the configured RB sets). Xu teaches a subband full duplex configuration and scheduling method in which carriers are divided into multiple resource block sets separated by guard bands, and bitmaps are used to indicate the cluster, resource block set direction, and availability. Grant teaches a subband full duplex scheduling method that extends the existing Rel-17 time division duplex configuration IEs by specifying a new parameter defining RB sets, each with an assigned direction. Grant also amends the existing TDD procedures to operate per RB set rather than per whole symbol, and specifies UE behavior. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Xu's teachings with that of Grant's in order to extend the existing Rel-17 TDD configuration procedures to support subband operation while maintaining legacy UE operationality (Grant [0079]).
Regarding claim 14, Xu teaches the subject matter disclosed in claim 1. Xu further teaches to select between DL and UL directions per cluster ([0089]: a binary 0 in bitmap 220 may indicate an uplink communication direction of a resource block set and binary 1 in bitmap 220 may indicate a downlink communication direction of a resource block set.). Xu does not teach wherein the applying of the configuration comprises adapting a statis time-division duplexing (TDD) feature.
However, Grant does teach wherein the applying of the configuration comprises adapting ([0079]: current (Rel-17) specifications are restricted such that cell-specific and (UE)-specific configuration of the downlink (DL)/uplink (UL) pattern via TDD-DL-UL-ConfigCommon and TDD)-DL-UL-ConfigDedicated. It is an open problem how to configure the UE with subbands with different directions. [0090]: This embodiment discloses an approach to enable SBFD operation in which a new parameter is defined in order to configure a new SBFD capable UE with DL and UL subband(s). While this parameter is described herein as being contained within the UE-specific IE TDD-DL-UL-ConfigDedicated) a statis time-division duplexing (TDD) feature ([0025]: the DL/UL direction for some or all of the ‘F’ symbols in a particular slot can be provided to the UE in a semi-static manner by Radio Resource Control (RRC) configuring the UE with TDD-DL-UL-ConfigDedicated.). Xu teaches a subband full duplex configuration and scheduling method in which carriers are divided into multiple resource block sets separated by guard bands, and bitmaps are used to indicate the cluster, resource block set direction, and availability. Grant teaches a subband full duplex scheduling method that extends the existing Rel-17 time division duplex configuration IEs by specifying a new parameter defining RB sets, each with an assigned direction. Grant also amends the existing TDD procedures to operate per RB set rather than per whole symbol, and specifies UE behavior. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Xu's teachings with that of Grant's in order to extend the existing Rel-17 TDD configuration procedures to support subband operation while maintaining legacy UE operationality (Grant [0079]).
Regarding claim 15, Xu teaches the subject matter disclosed in claim 1. Xu further teaches to select between DL and UL directions per cluster ([0089]: a binary 0 in bitmap 220 may indicate an uplink communication direction of a resource block set and binary 1 in bitmap 220 may indicate a downlink communication direction of a resource block set.). Xu does not teach wherein the applying of the configuration comprises adapting a dynamic time-division duplexing (TDD) feature.
However, Grant does teach wherein the applying of the configuration comprises adapting ([0105]: These procedures require modification to support SBFD. An exemplary modification of a procedure is as follows: [0106-0108]: In the preface to the procedure, change the wording “for a set of symbols of a slot that are indicated to the UE as (flexible/downlink/uplink) . . . [Procedure text]” to “for a set of symbols of a slot that are indicated to the UE as (flexible/downlink/uplink), or for RB sets for a set of symbols of a slot indicated to the UE as (flexible/downlink/uplink), . . . [Procedure text]”. In this way Rel-17 procedures are extended naturally to include SBFD operation.) a dynamic time-division duplexing (TDD) feature ([0088]: configures a set of symbols in the TDD pattern as flexible (‘F’). [0024]: the network can make use of the ‘F’ symbols flexibly by scheduling/triggering either an uplink or a downlink. the direction is not known to the UE a priori; rather, the direction becomes known once the UE detects a DCI scheduling/triggering a particular DL or UL signal/channel.). Xu teaches a subband full duplex configuration and scheduling method in which carriers are divided into multiple resource block sets separated by guard bands, and bitmaps are used to indicate the cluster, resource block set direction, and availability. Grant teaches a subband full duplex scheduling method that extends the existing Rel-17 time division duplex configuration IEs by specifying a new parameter defining RB sets, each with an assigned direction. Grant also amends the existing TDD procedures to operate per RB set rather than per whole symbol, and specifies UE behavior. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Xu's teachings with that of Grant's in order to extend the existing Rel-17 TDD configuration procedures to support subband operation while maintaining legacy UE operationality (Grant [0079]).
Regarding claim 17, Xu teach the subject matter disclosed in claim 16 but fails to teach claim 17. However, Grant does teach wherein the applying of the configuration comprises applying a combination of one or more restrictions from a list of restrictions, and wherein the list of restrictions comprises restrictions on one or more of: a number of configured DL and UL cluster combinations ([0098]: In another variation, a restricted set of combinations is defined, and an index indicates which combination from the restricted set is configured.[0099]:For the example of three RB sets, and exemplary restricted set consists of two combinations {D-U-D, U-D-U} and an index selects which combination is configured.). Xu teaches a subband full duplex configuration and scheduling method for an apparatus in which carriers are divided into multiple resource block sets separated by guard bands, and bitmaps are used to indicate the cluster, resource block set direction, and availability. Grant teaches a subband full duplex scheduling method that extends the existing Rel-17 time division duplex configuration IEs by specifying a new parameter defining RB sets, each with an assigned direction. Grant also amends the existing TDD procedures to operate per RB set rather than per whole symbol, and specifies UE behavior. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Xu's teachings with that of Grant's in order to extend the existing Rel-17 TDD configuration procedures to support subband operation while maintaining legacy UE operationality (Grant [0079]).
Regarding claim 18, Xu teaches the subject matter disclosed in claim 16 but fails to teach claim 18.
However, Grant does teach wherein the applying of the configuration comprises applying a subband layout pattern in which ([0092]: The new parameter for SBFD capable UEs enables indication of at least two sets of contiguous RBs, called RB sets for each symbol configured for SBFD operation.): a subband partitioning is constant over all slots ([0104]: if there are 100 RBs in each SBFD symbol and there is a D-U-D split in each SBFD symbol, the same RB sets (or subbands) are used for the D-U-D split in all of the SBFD symbols. Examiner note: under BRI, “constant over all slots” is interpreted to mean constant over the slots in which the subband partitioning occurs, the SBFD slots.); or the subband partitioning varies periodically ([0014]: The first IE is cell specific provides the number of slots in the TDD pattern via a reference subcarrier spacing and a periodicity such that the S-slot pattern repeats every S slots.) following the subband layout pattern ([0104]: In another embodiment, the subbands, or RB sets, for which SBFD operation is configured may be different for different SBFD symbols in the TDD pattern. So, for example, if there are 100 RBs in each SBFD symbol and there is a D-U-D split in each SBFD symbol, different RB sets (or subbands) may be used for the D-U-D split in two or more of the SBFD symbols). Xu teaches a subband full duplex configuration and scheduling method for an apparatus in which carriers are divided into multiple resource block sets separated by guard bands, and bitmaps are used to indicate the cluster, resource block set direction, and availability. Grant teaches a subband full duplex scheduling method that extends the existing Rel-17 time division duplex configuration IEs by specifying a new parameter defining RB sets, each with an assigned direction. Grant also amends the existing TDD procedures to operate per RB set rather than per whole symbol, and specifies UE behavior. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Xu's teachings with that of Grant's in order to extend the existing Rel-17 TDD configuration procedures to support subband operation while maintaining legacy UE operationality (Grant [0079]).
Regarding claim 20, Xu teaches the subject matter disclosed in claim 16. Xu further teaches to select between DL and UL directions per cluster ([0089]: a binary 0 in bitmap 220 may indicate an uplink communication direction of a resource block set and binary 1 in bitmap 220 may indicate a downlink communication direction of a resource block set.). Xu does not teach wherein the applying of the configuration comprises adapting a statis time-division duplexing (TDD) feature or a dynamic time-division duplexing (TDD) feature.
However, Grant does teach wherein the applying of the configuration comprises adapting ([0105]: These procedures require modification to support SBFD. An exemplary modification of a procedure is as follows: [0106-0108]: In the preface to the procedure, change the wording “for a set of symbols of a slot that are indicated to the UE as (flexible/downlink/uplink) . . . [Procedure text]” to “for a set of symbols of a slot that are indicated to the UE as (flexible/downlink/uplink), or for RB sets for a set of symbols of a slot indicated to the UE as (flexible/downlink/uplink), . . . [Procedure text]”. In this way Rel-17 procedures are extended naturally to include SBFD operation.) a statis time-division duplexing (TDD) feature ([0025]: the DL/UL direction for some or all of the ‘F’ symbols in a particular slot can be provided to the UE in a semi-static manner by Radio Resource Control (RRC) configuring the UE with TDD-DL-UL-ConfigDedicated.) or a dynamic time-division duplexing (TDD) feature ([0088]: configures a set of symbols in the TDD pattern as flexible (‘F’). [0024]: the network can make use of the ‘F’ symbols flexibly by scheduling/triggering either an uplink or a downlink. the direction is not known to the UE a priori; rather, the direction becomes known once the UE detects a DCI scheduling/triggering a particular DL or UL signal/channel.). Xu teaches a subband full duplex configuration and scheduling method for an apparatus in which carriers are divided into multiple resource block sets separated by guard bands, and bitmaps are used to indicate the cluster, resource block set direction, and availability. Grant teaches a subband full duplex scheduling method that extends the existing Rel-17 time division duplex configuration IEs by specifying a new parameter defining RB sets, each with an assigned direction. Grant also amends the existing TDD procedures to operate per RB set rather than per whole symbol, and specifies UE behavior. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Xu's teachings with that of Grant's in order to extend the existing Rel-17 TDD configuration procedures to support subband operation while maintaining legacy UE operationality (Grant [0079]).
Conclusion
/VIJAY K MANNAVA/Examiner, Art Unit 2479 /JAE Y LEE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2479