DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8, 13-23 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khoshnevisan et al (US 2023/0318768, hereinafter Khoshnevisan) and in view of John Wilson et al (US 2018/0278467, hereinafter Wilson).
Regarding claim 1, Khoshnevisan discloses a network node (network entity, Para [0018]) in communication with a wireless device, the network node comprising: processing circuitry (processor, Para [0018]) configured to: cause transmission of a configuration to a wireless device for sounding reference signal, SRS, transmission over a plurality of symbols in one or more slots (UE receives SRS configuration from network entity, Para [0091], SRS configures multiple SRS Tx occasions, which correspond to symbols within a slot or symbols across multiple slots, Para [0110]), the configuration indicating: a SRS resource set including at least one SRS resource (the network configure the UE with SRS resources and resource sets identifying resources and parameters to be used for SRS transmissions, Para [0094]); and temporal hopping of the SRS transmission over the plurality of symbols (SRS configuration indicates a hopping pattern for SRS transmissions across multiple SRS transmission occasions, and a comb offset hopping configuration, Para [0092]); receive the SRS transmission according to the configuration (receiving SRS across the SRS Tx occasions according to the configuration, Para [0017]); but does not explicitly disclose perform SRS measurements based on the received SRS transmission. Wilson discloses the base station can monitor the SRS transmission and perform SRS measurements on the received SRS transmissions, Para [0080]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Wilson in the system of Khoshnevisan in order to improve techniques for UL resource allocation for beam recovery and beam failure identification.
Regarding claims 2 and 14, Khoshnevisan discloses the network node/device of claim 1/13, wherein the temporal hopping is according to a configured hopping pattern over an allocated number of at least one of cyclic shifts and comb offsets for hopping, wherein a subset of the allocated number of at least one of cyclic shifts and comb offsets is applied at each hop (hopping pattern includes a different comb offset applied for each SRS transmission occasion, Para [0007]).
Regarding claims 3 and 15, Khoshnevisan discloses the network node/device of claim 2/14, wherein the configured hopping pattern is: configured one of per SRS resource and SRS resource set; and applied to a plurality of SRS ports associated with one of the at least one SRS resource and SRS resource set; and the subset of the allocated number of at least one of cyclic shifts and comb offsets is applied to the plurality of SRS ports at each hop (comb offset may be configured per SRS resource, Para [0096], all ports may be configured on the same REs/comb offset, Para [0100]).
Regarding claims 4 and 16, Khoshnevisan discloses the network node/device of claim 2/14, wherein the configured hopping pattern is defined by a hopping offset applied at each hop to a set of initial at least one of cyclic shifts and comb offsets configured for the plurality of SRS ports. (hopping pattern includes a different comb offset applied for each SRS transmission occasion, Para [0007], all ports may be configured on the same REs/comb offset, Para [0100]).
Regarding claims 5 and 17, Khoshnevisan discloses the network node/device of claim 4/16, wherein the hopping offset is a function of at least one of a symbol index and a slot index (SRS comb offset hopping formula is a function of time (e.g. slot number, symbol number), Para [0109]).
Regarding claims 6 and 18, Khoshnevisan discloses the network node/device of claim 2/14, wherein the configured hopping pattern is applied within each of the one or more slots, wherein the hopping is performed per symbol or per every integer number of symbols (SRS configuration indicates a hopping pattern for SRS transmissions across multiple SRS transmission occasions, Para [0092], SRS configures multiple SRS Tx occasions, which correspond to symbols within a slot or symbols across multiple slots, Para [0110]).
Regarding claims 7 and 19, Khoshnevisan discloses the network node/device of claim 2/14, wherein the configured hopping pattern is applied per slot, wherein the hopping is performed from slot to slot (SRS configuration indicates a hopping pattern for SRS transmissions across multiple SRS transmission occasions, Para [0092], SRS configures multiple SRS Tx occasions, which correspond to symbols across multiple slots, Para [0110]).
Regarding claims 8 and 20, Khoshnevisan discloses the network node/device of claim 2/14, wherein the configured hopping pattern is applied over the plurality of symbols in the one or more slots, wherein the hopping is performed per symbol or every integer number of symbols across the one or more slots (SRS configuration indicates a hopping pattern for SRS transmissions across multiple SRS transmission occasions, Para [0092], SRS configures multiple SRS Tx occasions, which correspond to symbols within a slot or symbols across multiple slots, Para [0110]).
Regarding claim 13, Khoshnevisan discloses a wireless device in communication with a network node, the wireless device comprising: processing circuitry configured to: receive a configuration for sounding reference signal, SRS, transmission over a plurality of symbols in one or more slots (UE receives SRS configuration from network entity, Para [0091], SRS configures multiple SRS Tx occasions, which correspond to symbols within a slot or symbols across multiple slots, Para [0110]), the configuration indicating: a SRS resource set including at least one SRS resource (the network configure the UE with SRS resources and resource sets identifying resources and parameters to be used for SRS transmissions, Para [0094]); and temporal hopping of the SRS transmission over the plurality of symbols (SRS configuration indicates a hopping pattern for SRS transmissions across multiple SRS transmission occasions, and a comb offset hopping configuration, Para [0092]); and perform SRS transmission according to the configuration (transmitting the SRS across the SRS Tx occasions according to the configuration, Para [0017]).
Regarding claim 21, Khoshnevisan discloses the wireless device of claim 14, wherein the configured hopping pattern is a pseudo random hopping pattern (SRS comb offset hopping pattern is based on pseudo random sequence, Para [0109], SRS hopping based on pseudo-random sequence, Para [0101]).
Regarding claim 22, Khoshnevisan discloses the wireless device of claim 21, wherein the pseudo random hopping pattern is used to perform temporal hoping of the SRS transmission over the allocated number of at least one of cycle shifts and comb offsets (SRS comb offset hopping pattern is based on pseudo random sequence, Para [0109]).
Regarding claim 23, Khoshnevisan discloses the wireless device of claim 21, wherein a starting position of the pseudo random hopping pattern for the at least one SRS resource is one of: based on a configured SRS sequence for the at least one SRS resource (the comb offset defines the SRS REs (e.g. starting RE), Para [0096], SRS hopping based on pseudo-random sequence, Para [0101]); and based on a radio network temporary identifier, RNTI, associated with the wireless device.
Regarding claim 26, Khoshnevisan discloses a method implemented by a wireless device that is configured to communicate with a network node, the method comprising: receiving a configuration for sounding reference signal, SRS, transmission over a plurality of symbols in one or more slots (UE receives SRS configuration from network entity, Para [0091], SRS configures multiple SRS Tx occasions, which correspond to symbols within a slot or symbols across multiple slots, Para [0110]), the configuration indicating: a SRS resource set including at least one SRS resource (the network configure the UE with SRS resources and resource sets identifying resources and parameters to be used for SRS transmissions, Para [0094]); and temporal hopping of the SRS transmission over the plurality of symbols (SRS configuration indicates a hopping pattern for SRS transmissions across multiple SRS transmission occasions, and a comb offset hopping configuration, Para [0092]); and performing SRS transmission according to the configuration (transmitting the SRS across the SRS Tx occasions according to the configuration, Para [0017]).
Conclusion
/KEVIN M CUNNINGHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461